Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Beyond These Hills - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Beyond These Hills - eBook

It's 1935, and Laurel Jackson fears the life she's always known is about to become a memory. The government is purchasing property to establish the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and nearly all the families in Cades Cove have decided to sell. Laurel is determined to save the land her family has lived on for a hundred years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Review 1 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Showcase for the Ministry of Hospitality

Date:May 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Andrew Brady enters the shrinking community of Cades Cove an enemy, determined to close down the remainder of the settlement and move everyone off their land. He is mostly met with hostility, except for Laurel Jackson's family, who open their homes and hearts to him. As they share their food and their faith, Andrew wants to know why they can be so nice to someone they should hate. They point him to Jesus as the reason, This story is a wonderful tribute to lifestyle evangelism - just by being nice Christians, practicing generous hospitality, a soul is saved. There is plenty of drama, a gentle, sweet romance, some feisty arguments and lots of beautiful scenery in this lovely conclusion to Sandra Robbin's Smoky Mountain Dreams series. Together they make an enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

coming of age tale

Date:April 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
pudy68
Location:Fitchburg, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I received a free copy of Sandra Robbins' work, Beyond These Hills. It was my first exposure to Sandra's writings. Although I did find it to move along a bit slowly, especially during the first half, I found the story much more enjoyable by mid-way. I enjoyed the weaving of Scripture throughout, without being too heavy-handed. I thought the characters were lively and likeable. The plot was a bit simple, but spiced up a bit with the forest fire scenario. All in all, I would read another of Sandra's writings before deciding on whether to follow her more extensive collection.
I will be passing it along to a young lady in my junior high group I lead, as it does seem a bit more fitting for the coming-of-age women who are learning to wait on the Lord to bring all that He desires for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Smoky Mountain Love Story

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first book by Sandra Robbins and I loved it, couldn't put it down. I had a peek at the Smoky Mountains from the balcony of Biltmore Estate in North Carolina. As I was reading the book I could picture a little bit because of seeing the clouds so low over those mountains.
I learned so much about the setting of the story and the different things that went on during those times. It seemed so real to me, like I was really there in that valley with the family. I felt like Sandra did a great job of developing the characters and there were so many twists and turns it was exciting.
I would love to read more of Sandra's books in the future and will recommend this book to all my friends. Thank you to Sandra Robbins and Harvest House Publishers for sharing this book with me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's 1935, and Laurel Jackson fears the life she's always known is about to become a memory. The government is purchasing property to establish the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and nearly all the families in Cades Cove have decided to sell. Laurel is determined to save the land her family has lived on for a hundred years.
Andrew Brady, the son of a wealthy Virginia congressman, arrives in the Cove to convince the remaining landowners to sell. Sparks fly when he meets Laurel, the outspoken young woman who is determined to thwart his every effort. Will they ever be able to put aside their differences and accept what their hearts already know?
In the third and final book in the Smoky Mountain Dreams series, acclaimed author Sandra Robbins brings a dramatic conclusion to the story of the families of Cades Cove.
My Review:
While a romance between opposite sides of a war, religion or culture is a very common theme, I found Robbins's fresh look at this scenario very refreshing indeed. This novel is a continuation of a series that started with Laurel's grandmother in Angel of the Cove, and Laurel's mother in Mountain Homecoming. There were enough twists and turns in the story to keep it exciting, and I really loved how the family is so closely knit.
I have yet to read the first two books, but I'm sure that would have added to my reading enjoyment. Now I really want to backtrack and find out their stories for myself, as I enjoyed Laurel's story immensely. I am not very familiar with the Smoky Mountains, but I really got into the setting of this novel. I really appreciated how Robbins pulls you into the story by giving us characters we can really admire and look up to, and I look forward to more excellent work from this author.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cades Cove vs The Government and Romance

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Robbins in her new book, “Beyond These Hills” Book Three in the Smoky Mountain Dreams series published by Harvest House Publishers takes us into the life of Laurel Jackson.
From the Back Cover: “I don’t know what the future holds for us, but I do know one thing. God won’t abandon us. He’s got good things coming our way.”
It’s 1934, and Laurel Jackson fears the life she’s always known is about to become a memory. The government is purchasing property to establish the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and nearly all the families in Cades Cove have decided to sell. Laurel is determined to save the land her family has lived on for a hundred years.
Andrew Brady, the son of a wealthy Virginia congressman, arrives in the Cove to convince the remaining landowners to sell. Sparks fly when he meets Laurel, the outspoken young woman who is determined to thwart his every effort. Will they ever be able to put aside their differences and accept what their hearts already know?
In the third and final book in the Smoky Mountain Dreams series, acclaimed author Sandra Robbins brings a dramatic conclusion to the story of the families of Cades Cove.
Return with us now to Cades Cove, TN. This is the third and last book in this series, of which I am sorry to say I have not read the first two. However I can say this Ms. Robbins is such a good author that I did not feel I missed a whole lot. The people of Cades Cove are wonderful people and they are fighting to keep their home their home. It always is a battle between the wishes of the government and the wishes of the people, will the town continue or will it turn into the new national park for the whole country to visit? Laurel represents the people and Andrew represents the government and the two of them will have a romance. There is so much going on that is so very interesting and the characters are so much fun that it is sad that this series is ending. I enjoyed this book a lot and am looking forward to the next series from this talented duo.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Harvest House Publishers for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet story.

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Robbins captures the life of farming in the Smoky Mountains in the 1930's in her writing perfectly. Even though the Depression is raging all around the rest of the country, the everyday life has thrived in Cades Cove. That is until the government decided it wants preserve these mountain ranges for the people of America. Making promises to the people who live there, saying they can keep their farms, that have been in their family for generations...but, the promises have proven to be false. The people of Cades Cove now face the unknown as the government decides that their land is better fitted to suit the needs of the rest of the country as a vacation spot.
Laurel is the third generation born in Cades Cove. It's the only home she has ever known. She is content and happy to live off of the land with her family. Her dad and grandpa have filed court cases against the government to keep their land. The family waits on the verdict and until they know, they live their lives like normal. Ever so slowly, families in the area sell their lands and move off. It hurts Laurel to see so many friends leave their lives behind. Trying to preserve the memories, Laurel snaps picture after picture, trying to preserve the past. Laurel hopes that the suits her grandpa and dad have filed will pull though and she won't have to leave.
Andrew Brady is fresh out of college. He was give his appointment from strings his father, a congressman, pulled for him. When Andrew arrives, he is a bit cocky, very sure of himself, that his task will only take a month, six weeks at the most. He's in for a rude awakening when he sees other wise. Andrew hasn't had a loving family relationship. His father is pushing him to the fast track of politics. The Cades Cove job is just a stepping stone in Andrew's fathers plan. As Andrew spends time in Cades Cove and gets to know Laurel and her family, Andrew's ideas of life start to change. He has long believed he hasn't had much of a choice in what he could do, or who he will become. His assignment opens his eyes to many things.
Beyond These Hills is a sweet story on growing up. Laurel and Andrew each face decisions that will change their future, for the best or the worst. They must each decide who or what they will rely on to help them through it, themselves, parents, or God.
Thank you to Harvest House, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's 1935, and Laurel Jackson fears the life she's always known is about to become a memory. The government is purchasing property to establish the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and nearly all the families in Cades Cove have decided to sell. Laurel is determined to save the land her family has lived on for a hundred years.
Andrew Brady, the son of a wealthy Virginia congressman, arrives in the Cove to convince the remaining landowners to sell. Sparks fly when he meets Laurel, the outspoken young woman who is determined to thwart his every effort. Will they ever be able to put aside their differences and accept what their hearts already know?
In the third and final book in the Smoky Mountain Dreams series, acclaimed author Sandra Robbins brings a dramatic conclusion to the story of the families of Cades Cove.
My Review:
While a romance between opposite sides of a war, religion or culture is a very common theme, I found Robbins's fresh look at this scenario very refreshing indeed. This novel is a continuation of a series that started with Laurel's grandmother in Angel of the Cove, and Laurel's mother in Mountain Homecoming. There were enough twists and turns in the story to keep it exciting, and I really loved how the family is so closely knit.
I have yet to read the first two books, but I'm sure that would have added to my reading enjoyment. Now I really want to backtrack and find out their stories for myself, as I enjoyed Laurel's story immensely. I am not very familiar with the Smoky Mountains, but I really got into the setting of this novel. I really appreciated how Robbins pulls you into the story by giving us characters we can really admire and look up to, and I look forward to more excellent work from this author.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Finale

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
n the year 1934, the government starts purchasing property in the Cades Cove to establish the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Many of the families have already sold and moved out, but the Martin's and Jackson's are determined to save their land.
In this book we find a group of firm believers learning to trust God with their future. They learn to show love to others, even when it seems hard. Each character holds such rich christian morals that were very edifying to the reader. I enjoyed reading all three books in the Smoky Mountain Dreams series. Each book focused on the next generation of woman in the Martin family, drawing one closer to the family.
The only fault found in this book is the speed in which Laurel and Andrew fell in love. It did not feel genuine. With that said there romance was still sweet and God fearing.
I received this book for free, from First Wild Cards, in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is book three of the series Smoky Mountain Dreams. The end of Cades Cove is in sight as the land is being bought up to turn into a national park and there are only a few hold outs the main ones being Laurel’s family. The government sends in Andrew Brady to get the last few hold outs to sell. As he gets to know Laurel and her family he not only falls in love with her he struggles to do the job he was sent to do.
Laurel is the granddaughter of Anna from book one and the daughter of Rani from book two. I enjoyed the last book of the series.
What I liked: This series is very intertwined and its important to read all three books in order. Laurel is a likable character and so is Andrew. I also enjoyed how the characters from the first two books were included in this book. These books are very much about a family and I liked that.
What I did not like: My only real problem with this story was how fast Laurel and Andrew fell in love. They really did not get to know each other that well so it seemed unbelievable to me.
Overall this was a good book and it did a great job wrapping up the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

three generation series ~ great!!

Date:September 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sunday, September 22, 2013
Beyond These Hills by Sandra Robbins, ©2013
Beyond These Hills is book 3 in the Smoky Mountain Dreams series and I was eager to find out what happens after reading the first two books in the series. Angel of the Cove is the story of how Laurel's grandparents met and Mountain Homecoming is Laurel's parents' story. Beyond These Hills is now Laurel's story. These three generation stories may be read as stand-alones but you will want to meet the families of Cades Cove, Tennessee.
He glanced once more at the pickup truck that still sat in front of the store and pictured how Laurel had looked standing there. When he'd grasped her hand, he'd had the strange feeling that he'd known her all his life. How could a mountain girl he'd just met have such a strange effect on him?
--Beyond These Hills, 17
Mountain Laurel... I have just arrived in Gatlinburg. How can one meeting change all I stand for ~ Andrew Brady, single, single-minded, here to gain the few properties not surrendered to the Park Service. Just meeting, she remembers my name as she talks to the proprietor. I have helped her taking her mother's pottery crates in from the back of the truck ~ Mountain Laurel Pottery ~ Laurel. We only said our first names...
When I check into the hotel there is a message for me from the new superintendent of the park that I am to meet him in the dining room for the evening meal. He has just returned from visiting the park sites. I will be going out to the CCC camp to stay while I am at Cades Cove. It is the Civilian Conservation Corps. Mr. Eakin suggests I go early to meet the preacher and his son-in-law who have part of the land I am coming to encourage the owners to resign to the park development. As I am walking into church I am queasy about attending. As I back up and turn, I come face to face with... Laurel! She invites me to sit with her family as I am visiting. Laurel introduces me to her grandfather and her father ~ by name, the very people I have come to meet. Laurel's family is part of the twenty-four remaining families I am to talk to about selling their land! They misunderstand about my going to the CCC camp. I am going to be staying there but not working with the men on work crews. (The sermon you ask? It is about Judas and the thirty pieces of silver.) Laurel's grandparents invite me home with them to dinner and I tell them they may not want me to come if they knew why I was at church today. I tell them and they invite me anyway, saying we can talk today after the meal, both he and Laurel's father together, instead of waiting until tomorrow. I am to follow Laurel's father to Reverend Martin's home. Mr. Jackson tells me we are getting acquainted today, not talking business until the work week. I am relieved, but uncertain how Laurel and I can become friends. She hasn't taken too kindly to the revelation of my appointment in the Cove. After dinner I explain to her I couldn't have come and misled her family. That there wasn't time to tell her while being introduced to everyone. She leaves me standing on the porch.
I am invited for a trail walk at Gregory's Bald. Come along as I venture among these hills.
***Special thanks to author Sandra Robbins and to Ginger Chen at Harvest House Publishers for sending me a review copy.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming historical fiction set in Appalachia

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
With Beyond These Hills, the third and final book in the Smoky Mountain Dreams series, Sandra Robbins brings a dramatic conclusion to the story of the families of Cades Cove. Spanning the years from the late 1800s to 1935, this series skillfully evokes the beauty and atmosphere of the Cades Cove, Tennessee region, while creating a multi-generational story arc of an endearing family who worked hard and ministered to the people there. This series is one that I will always remember and I recommend it highly.
From early childhood on, I have spent many family vacations and fall foliage trips in the Smoky Mountains of North Carolina and Tennessee, so this book immediately touched my heart with the way Sandra made Cades Cove come alive, almost like a major character. It's fun to learn something new, and through Sandra's research, I learned that a "bald" is a type of mountain whose peak is covered with a meadow of wild grass instead of trees like other peaks in the range. Beyond These Hills can stand alone, but readers will get so much more out of it if they read the series in order.
This story is both heartwarming and bittersweet at the same time. It was great to be reunited with previous characters - Granny, Simon, Anna, Matthew and Rani - and then to continue on with Laurel, Matthew and Rani's daughter. But at the heart of this story is the controversy and heartbreak over the government's acquisition of Cades Cove property in order to establish the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
The attraction between Laurel and Andrew is immediate, and I loved the way Laurel's family offered warm friendship and acceptance even though Andrew's mission was in opposition to everything they were fighting for.
As the son of Congressman Richard Brady, Andrew has a lot of baggage that includes his father's control and political aspirations for him. But rather than improving his political resume, Andrew had other motives for the Cades Cove assignment. "I came because I wanted to be a part of preserving this great wilderness for generations to come. And I thought while I was here I could figure out what I wanted to do with my life."
From now on, I will be even more appreciative of God's creation when I get to enjoy the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains, but I will be ever mindful of what the families of the Cades Cove region sacrificed in order for us to have that enjoyment. Families were initially assured that their homes wouldn't be touched, yet that promise was forgotten once the final bill was passed to create the park. Not only did these people give up land that had been in their families for generations, but it was the end of a way of life, a close community that took care of its own.
But in Matthew's words, I sense a double meaning in the title, Beyond These Hills: "I don't know what's going to happen in the future, but I do know God will take care of me and my family no matter where we are, and that gives me the peace and strength to face each day that I live." I believe readers will appreciate the spiritual message and uplifting ending of this story.
I highly recommend Beyond These Hills to all who enjoy inspirational fiction. Sandra Robbins did a great job with the Smoky Mountain Dreams series and I hope she will write more stories set in the Great Smoky Mountains.
This book was provided by FIRST Wildcard Tours and Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Look Back At Yesterday

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The year is 1935 and we are now on our third visit with these loving people who reside in Cades Cove, TN. We are with Laurel Jackson, the Granddaughter of the first book in this series, Anna Prentiss. There is a visit with beloved Granny.
The Cove is in real danger now, so many families are gone. The CCC is clearing the area and creating the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. There is a lot of heartache in what is happening to their beloved, and beautiful home. How do you fight the Government? The feeling of hopelessness, and yet they have such a strong faith in God.
Laurel has a chance meeting with Andrew Brady, and it is life changing. Unknown to Laurel, Andrew is here to finish buying up the few remaining properties for the Government.
Do Laurel and Andrew have a chance? He comes from such a different background than her. She has a strong faith, he doubts God. Will these two young people be able to overcome their differences, or will Laurel end up with her childhood friend, Jimmy?
Enjoy this wonderful look into our Countries past, and how adversity is overcome or accepted and embraced. I am so glad to have read all three of these books. Thank you Sandra Robbins.
I received this book through the First Wild Card Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A test of faith and family

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
JRichards
Location:Brush Prairie, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only does this book have a love story, great conflict and obstacles, but is also a heartwarming and touching story of people living their faith under extreme circumstances. This book has it all: great writing, wonderful description of the beautiful and inspiring setting in the mountains, and engaging characters and emotions to draw you in. Don't miss this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to say Goodbye

Date:September 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beyond These Hills is the third and final book of the Smokey Mountain Dreams Series. I really liked this story. I loved the characters and really felt a connection with them. In this installment, you are introduced to Laurel Jackson and Andrew Brady. Granny, Anna, Simon, Matthew and Rani from the first two books of the series are also a big part of the story.
I loved how the author describes the mountains and surrounding areas. Making me feel like I am really there experiencing the scenery.
It is sad to read how the landowners were forced to sell the property to the government and forced to leave the only home they have ever known. I now find myself looking up the history of Cades Cove to learn more about the area. One day, I hope to visit there and see how these characters lived.
It's hard to say goodbye to these characters and the series. I highly recommend this book, as well as, the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful read!

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kim in NC
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book. This was the first book by Sandra Robbins that I have read. I would like to read the rest of the series now. I love historical fiction and I did learn a lot of history while reading this book. Sandra made the characters come alive. I visited Cades Cove 10 years ago with my family so I was able to visual myself in the story too with her descriptions. It made me want to go back again. I feel like I have so much more knowledge of the area and I think I would appreciate it so much more now. I also appreciated the Christian message that Sandra has throughout the book. There are some "Christian" authors that I don't like because the message of Christ is barely in the novels. Sandra doesn't skim over the Good News! I appreciate that! I am an avid reader and I stick to either Christian non-fiction or Christian fiction. I would have to say that Beyond These Hills is a great read! I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deborah Holbert
Location:GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had already read book one and two. I had really enjoyed them and was anxious to read this one. It was a good conclusion to the series although I hated for it to end. It was a good history lesson also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fulfilling Ending to an Enchanting Series.

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again I am awestruck at the descriptions of the beautiful Cades Cove that Ms. Robbins has painted. Since childhood I have loved the Great Smokey Mountains, it was also a favorite spot for my father. Whether it was for a daytrip or a week’s vacation this was his place to go, to him this was the spot closest to Heaven on Earth. Ms. Robbins bought back pleasant memories for me with her beautiful descriptive writing. This story takes us back to the 1930’s when the Great Smokey Mountain National Park was being completed and how the last of the wonderful folks of Cades Cove were fighting a losing battle with the government to keep from being torn from their beloved Cove.
Laurel, daughter of Matthew and Rani Jackson was born and raised in the magnificent Cades Cove, now it seems life as she has known it is quickly coming to a close. The US government has decided that The Smokey Mountains needs to be made into a National Park and all the residents of Cades Cove has to give up the land that has been in their families for generations. Her father and her grandfather Simon Martin are trying to fight the process with a lawsuit but will it be enough? Will it only postpone the inevitable?
When Andrew Brady was sent to Cades Cove to get the last of the “holdouts” to give up their land, he thought it would be a simple enough job; it shouldn’t take anymore than a few weeks. While in Gatlinburg where the headquarters for the Park is located, Andrew has a chance meeting with a beautiful young woman who needs help unloading some boxes. He doesn’t know this is the daughter and granddaughter of the very men he has to convince to drop their lawsuits and leave the Cove.
When Andrew arrives at Cades Cove he decides he might as well visit the church where Rev. Martin pastors, maybe he could arrange a meeting with him and his son-in-law. When he walks in the church to his surprise there is the beautiful woman that has haunted his days and nights since he first laid eyes on her. Before he can explain who he really is he finds church has started and he is sitting in the middle of the family he is going to have to send away from the place they have called home for generations. He is a little afraid that he might not be welcome when they find out who he really is, but to his amazement Rev. Martin and his wife even invite him to lunch. What could these mountain folk possess to make them welcome their “enemies” into their home and treat them like family?
The more time Andrew spends with this family the more he is drawn to the One that created this magnificent area they call home. Will things work out for Andrew and Laurel or are there too many circumstances for them to overcome?
Once again Sandra Robbins has written a book that is extremely engaging from the storyline to the descriptions she uses to help you “see” the beauty of Cades Cove. All the characters are back we have come to love in this series. If you love historical stories with fascinating locations then this is a book you will utterly enjoy. This series is a continuation and I had missed reading book two but I found I was quickly able to figure out what was going on. I will say you can read this and be introduced to the characters from the other two without a problem but I promise you will want to read them also. I can’t wait to read another book by Ms. Robbins as she is very talented and her work is always engaging.
I would like to express thanks to Harvest House and NetGalley for providing me a copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beyond These Hills - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Enjoyable Read!

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mimiladybug
Location:Delaware
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEYOND THESE HILLS is the first book I've read by Sandra Robbins. I did not know what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. I do not like sappy romances so I was hoping this would not be that type of novel. It is not - the conflicts that arise are realistic and so are the resolutions. The book had a good plot that moves quickly and also has believable characters that one can identify with. I enjoyed the setting as I love the beautiful, majestic Smoky Mountains. I liked the fact that Cades Cove was bought to life in the novel. The historical facts were woven into the story seamlessly and made for a very enjoyable read. I highly recommend this book. I enjoyed it so much I decided to purchase the first 2 novels in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.