Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy

Zondervan Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy

A superb Bible study tool just got even better; this Burgundy Bonded Leather edition of the Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible sets the complete texts of four popular Bible translations, each acclaimed for its distinctive translational features, side by side for fast, easy comparison.

The Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible lets you benefit from the rich nuances offered by different versions of Scripture. It presents four of today’s most popular versions side-by-side for you to compare and contrast:
  1. The authenticity and accessibility of the New International Version
  2. The stylistic beauty of the New King James Version
  3. The readability of the New Living Translation
  4. The contemporary and conversational style of The Message.

Passages and verses from these versions are aligned in parallel columns for easy study. A valuable resource for gaining insight into scriptural truths, the Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible helps you to compare four Bible versions at a glance.

Features

  • Each two-page spread contains a complete Scripture portion from these versions:
    • New International Version
    • New King James Version
    • New Living Translation
    • The Message
  • Footnotes and subject headings for each version
  • 8-point readable type
  • Ribbon marker
  • Presentation page
  • Gold page edges
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 2.25"
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Review 1 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fab 4

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cassie Hale
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my absolute favorite compilation of modern versions. The very best! I was surprised at the durability of the bonded leather, which was my only concern, for such a large volume. I know it's big, but I love carrying it with me and digging deeper. I have an old parallel containing KJV/LB/NIV/RSV that I also consider a powerhouse of the "classic" versions. I love both and use both daily. Thanks for a great product! Would like to see this available in genuine leather and Smyth sewn for maximum durability, with some maps included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High quality and organized well

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Dothan, Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this for a few weeks and it is greatly enhancing my study time. I read several of the same verses out of each translation (along with a KJV on the side) and it is really helping me understand the Bible better. Sometimes what I miss in one translation I get in another. This Bible also has notes that help further elaborate things such as the value of money, etc. I ordered the leather version with initials. I am pleased with this purchase and will use it for many years!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for making Scripture personal in meaning

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
yewneek
Location:Overland Park, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like many I use apps like MySword and You Version to always have scripture handy, but there are places where gadgets aren't allowed (like in prison ministry) and where an open book can be shared together in study and discipleship. It has been a wonderful blessing to me to have a scripture touch me or someone else in a more personal way when reading in a different translation. For instance 2 Timothy 3:16 NIV I use when I speak about the Bible, but the same scripture in NLT seems to make it more personal for me and many I work with.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great bible

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
jaydee
Location:kansas City, mo
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the comparative bible really helps as you study the word. It allows you to compare four different translations all at one time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is great for comparing the translations.

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stella
Location:Toronto
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for comparing the different translations and exposes the ones influenced by the Hag Hammedi pieces and the cut-and-slash method of paraphrasing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great tool; iIm not abanjomaniac; I'm Jillybean

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
abanjomaniac
Location:Fort Plain, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible will help me to compare translations without having to use 4 different sources.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect combination, all versions are the ones I use regularly and to have them all in one volume is the greatest !!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an awesome Bible.

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
ganny
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible because I can get a better understanding of God's Word with 1 Bible containing 4 different references at hand. I do not have to have 4 different Bibles in front of me to be able to study God's Word.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Four bibles for the price of one!

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
DonDon
Location:Bermuda
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bible is an awesome tool for students of the word who want the ability to understand what they are reading. I love that it offers the poetic style of the King James, but gives you the convenience of other translations that are not old english. The purpose of reading the bible is for individuals to gain a greater understanding of the word of God and this bible takes the guess word out of comprehending. You will walk away with greater revelation. It is a must have for those seeking to gain clarity. The bible says:"man can not live by bread alone,but by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doctor Earnest
Location:Greenwood, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is excellent for study and comparison. I highly reccomend it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love having the four versions right next to each other, it helps with Bible study or just reading to get a better understanding of God's word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Contemporary Comparative Side-by-Side Bible: NIV/NKJV/NLT/The Message, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It expands our understanding of God's Word

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
abigail
Location:Iola, KS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other than it's size and weight (both necessary!) I "love" this Bible! I thought I would just use it here at home for my own use in studying the Bible, but find that it is greatly appreciated when I share it at Bible Study Group and Sunday School, etc! Am recommending it's purchase for use at our Church's Wed. nite Bible Study. It often expands and clarifies our understanding of God's Word - both what it means and how it applies to our own lives.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.