Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower

Zondervan NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower

An Italian Duo-Tone™ study Bible for students of the Bible with notes and articles written by Philip Yancey and Tim Stafford. Includes the full text of the NIV Bible, the world’s most popular modern English Bible translation.

This Bible's proven, common-sense approach to studying the Scriptures appeals to high school students and college readers. Its thoughtful, carefully researched features will help overcome common obstacles to reading and understanding the Bible. Written and edited by award-winning authors Philip Yancey and Tim Stafford.

Features
  • Complete NIV text, 2011 update
  • Book introductions and overviews
  • Insights provide background information on key passages
  • Guided Tours offer a bird's-eye view of the Bible
  •  Highlights present short commentary on specific verses
  • 100 People You Should Know
  • Indexes, glossaries, and study helps
  • Subject guide
  • Eight pages of maps with index
  • Three-track Bible-reading plan
  • Presentation page
  • Silver page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower
Review 1 for NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Bible Too Large and Heavy

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
DShoe
Location:Jersey City, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a student (teen or college) bible however, it is much to large to think a young person would carry it. It will likely be of value only to read at home.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for!

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
jtcccmom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I was looking for as a gift for my daughter! My only negative is that the words of Jesus are not in "red" and she had asked about getting a Bible that had that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this bible!

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
dbtischer
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was looking for a bible, I looked at numerous different types/translations/formats, etc. My goal was to find a bible that made me WANT to read it. Since the bible is like a love letter from God to us, I wanted it to read like one, look like one, and be personal as if it was written just for me. After days and days of looking for the right bible, I chose this one because it's really cute, it's written in a format that is easy to read, and the translation is accurate, but still easy to read/understand. I really love that it has some explanation in it, but not so much that it takes away from the bible itself. I already have study bibles, so I didn't want a lot of explanation. This explains only what must be explained, and still has book explanations, "how to read this book" sections, and the "characters u will meet in this book" pages, too. Every time I read it, I really do feel like it was written just for me, and that it is a love letter to me from God, which is my favorite part. The bible itself is a very nice bible, and it's not made cheaply at all. The cover is very nice, and has a worn, soft leather feel, which is awesome :-) The pages have a silver lining which is very beautiful. I think anyone could appreciate the student bible, even if ur not a student, or a new Christian. It doesn't explain everything, only the things that almost no one would know much about... I highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vecie Tait
Location:Mobile, Al
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Bible with a little more depth for the College age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jollyjewel
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My father gave me the NIV student Bible back in 1989. The one he gave me was worn out. I was delighted to find the exact Bible but with updated introductions and explanations! I'm thrilled to have found the same thing, but better! Don't hesitate if you're thinking about it. It's a great deal and wonderful companion!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a Christian, it seems quite odd reviewing a bible , as for me this is a book that is and should be my essential guidebook to life , and funnily enough when it comes to bibles I find that Zondervan is the best publishers and if you are just starting out as a Christian or have been one for a while and are a bit like me, then your preference for reading the word is in the language of NIV which translates into New International Version, this is the most common type of biblical language used in today's society. One thing that always stands out for me when it comes to bibles, is that no matter what you enjoy, whether you are female or male , old or young - there is a bible made especially for you and today's bible which is an appropiate topic to talk about as it's Sunday , is one made especially for all those students out there. .When you make the decision to purchase a bible, as there are so many out there now, you tend to scour through the different versions and types till you find the one that screams God's perfection for you and if you are studying and at the stage where you are just not quite ready to take the next step into buying a Dad's Bible/Mother's Bible or even the step of moving into a Men's /Women's Bible then the NIV Student Bible is the Book for you.
Something I was taught when I was younger was that Bible stood for Best Instructions Before Leaving Earth.
The NIV Student's Bible also includes:
Complete NIV text
Three-track reading plan
Book introductions and overviews
Insights provide background information on key passages
Guided Tours offer a bird's-eye view of the Bible
Highlights present short commentary on specific verses
100 People You Should Know
Indexes, glossaries, and study helps
Subject guide
Eight pages of maps with index
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My wife loves her new Bible

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tom T
Location:Austin, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my wife and gave it to her as a Christmas gift. She loves her new Bible and likes the fact that it contains commentary by Yance and Stafford.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Student Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Espresso/Turquoise Flower
This review is fromNIV Student Bible, Softcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent study bible

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Largo, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I have looked for a great study bible to help me in my bible study group. This is the book I was looking for. The additional information gives an insight that a standard bible does not have. I am enjoying my bible study more since I purchased this book. Thank you for offering this book at a great price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.