Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink

Zondervan NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink

Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
4
111 out of 12490%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Review 1 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

one annoying problem

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
PresbPastor
Location:Wichita, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The NIV is always solid. The NIV Study Bible is good to have. BUT. Why can't Zondervan (and other publishers) learn that printing "red-letter-editions" is, frankly, silly? It is just fine to "color-ize" Jesus' words, but why RED? Red ink is not eye-friendly, for anyone. Tradition, smadition. My eyesight is still terrific, but those of us in older middle age don't need more challenges. AND THINK ABOUT IT: If you print Large Print editions to HELP people read more easily, why make it more DIFFICULT by printing in RED? Color is fine - but pick a different color. How about "ROYAL purple"?
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
inceptor
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was better than expected and arrived sooner than expected.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
John
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This edition and earlier editions have served me well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is an excellent bible study resource

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MarnN
Location:Syracuse, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this study bible as a Christmas gift for my husband and he loves it!!!! It contains lots of helpful information and the color in it adds to its appeal!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!!

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barbie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very, very good! I love it! It is just what I was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful with many wonderful features

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Auntiejae
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful Bible with many wonderful features inside. Great Study Bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Complete Bible

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChicagoMac
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bible meets all of my needs.
Inscription on the cover came out perfect.
I would highly recommend this bible to those that want to learn and or study.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
product more than meets my expectations..what's not to love about it...a study Bible in large print, and indexed. wondering why I haven't had one long before now. Do yourself a huge favor and treat yourself to this choice Bible.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Bible

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mrs W
Location:NS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love everything about this product. The maps, the large print, the fact that it is a lay-flat Bible which is perfect for studying the Word. There was also a feature to have the name engraved. Very nice!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the color but too large to carry around

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
4WORD1
Location:Shepherdstown, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User submitted photo
The color is beautiful and easy to coordinate with a matching journal for bible notes--but the size was a little larger than what I expected. Too large to carry to Church and Bible Study Classes. My husband said it looked like a Pulpit bible. However, I love the LARGE easy to read print and the study notes are full of current information. Excellent for at home studying and lesson preparations. Thumbs up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
harry
Location:Connecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great Bible for students who want to know more about the Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ricky
Location:Austin, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it and highly recommend the niv study bible.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Frank Schipani
Location:White Lake, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really wanted to like this bible. I really like the 2011 NIV and prefer it to other translations. The notes in this bible are extensive and the use of color photos and maps really liven it up. It is in many ways a very nice study bible. The problems I have with it are as follows: (1) The print is crooked. It’s as if someone didn’t line the paper up correctly. The top margin towards the binding is greater than the top margin toward t outside of the book. I’m paying this much for a Bible and they can’t line it up correctly. (2) There isn’t a lot of room for notes. I love to write notes in my bible such as comments, Greek words, etc. and there is not a lot of room for that. (3) The binding doesn’t seem as if it will hold up. It feels somewhat cheap. I compare it to my 1984 Thompson’s Chain Reference Bible and the quality is noticeably different. As much as I want a good 2011 NIV study bible now, I guess I will just want until Kirkbride prints the Thompson’s with the 2011 update next year.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
This review is fromNIV Study Bible - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Technical Problems

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Well
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CB was quick to cooperate, refunding the price when I was unable to successfully download to my tablet. We already use the hard copy of this Bible, but I was really looking forward to using the digital version.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Doesn't live up to the hype

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MichelleTherese
Location:Scotland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The multi-color layout, with loads of photos and maps, is very nice. The large print type is great on the eyes and the pages are thick with minimal bleed. The introductions to each book have a breakdown of the various sections of each book: I found this very useful.
But the thumb indexing is frustrating: the books are indexed in groups of three, rather then each individual book. And the half-moons cut out for the thumb indexing are too small for the fingers so you can't really hold them down while you flip the bible open to that area.
The "top grain leather" is rough and stiff, feeling more like plastic. Granted, the bible does lay flat when open, and the covers flex when opened. They just don't feel or smell like top grain leather.
This large print bible is massively heavy, not something you want to haul around, better suited for desk reference. However...
...the helpful study notes are quite simplistic. Not very deep. I often find myself saying, "Well thank you, Captain Obvious!" Also the study notes are often non-existent with some of the more confusing and baffling passages: exactly where they are needed the most. I find that the "Life Application Study Bible" has far better study notes.
I feel that the content of this bible did not live up to all of the hype in the advertising. It's not awful but it's not the deep thought-provoking and soul-nourishing study bible that I expected it to be.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Product meets expectations

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
WhitsEnd
Location:Sebago Lake, Maine
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Large Print for my 65 year old wife and she loves it. The Turquoise Caribbean Blue is more appropriate for our Cocoa, FL home, but its become her companion even here in Maine. Great purchase, Great value, Very pleased.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great pictures and larger print makes it great!

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joseph Morgan
Location:Dudley, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older Zondervan standard print study Bible that is falling apart. My new one is great and with the large print it is much easier to read and navigate throughout the Bible. I have had several positive comments on my new Bible and am quick to show it and share it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
student
Location:Worthington, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has a wealth of information. A great study bible for digging deep into scripture. The pictures are a great help to see how things were then. This is my second NIV bible, I have the Life Application as well. Both are great Bibles.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much more than I expected.

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bobby
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The features on this product far exceeded my expectations. Excellent grade of paper, tabs cut with great care, Printing and
binding is excellent. The information at the beginning of each book is great, especially for those of us that are not where we should be on our knowledge of the Bible.
I read this book daily and the ease of reading, the notes, and the way the messages are broken down to events really helps in understanding the meaning of God's Words.
Thanks for a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Study Bible, Personal Size, Imitation Leather, Charcoal Pink
This review is fromNIV Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linette
Location:New Ulm, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Study Bible - full of wonderful study helps
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>