Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Life Support, The Santee Series #1

Thomas Nelson Life Support, The Santee Series #1

When a tragic accident leaves Baxter Richardson in a coma, a fierce legal battle erupts between his wife, who wants to terminate life support, and his father, who wants to keep Baxter alive at all costs. Before long, attorney Alexia realizes her client's husband isn't the only person in need of lifesaving measures. 400 pages, softcover from W.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Review 1 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Shouldn't be labeled as a thriller

Date:January 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In this novel, a bright young divorce lawyer is assigned to represent a woman whose husband remains in a vegetative state after an accident. But this woman doesn’t want a divorce; she wants to unplug his life support.
Although Life Support is billed as a legal thriller, it lacks the tension and conflict required of the genre, and moves much slower than suspense-lovers expect. The focus on the ups and downs in the protagonist’s life and the impact this case has on her make this book more of a drama or perhaps women’s fiction than suspense.
The author's writing is very good, with good sentence structure and flow and a nice voice. Unfortunately, it didn’t pull me into the story. Backstory and rambling internal thoughts regularly interrupted the flow and slowed the pace of the story to a crawl at many places. I actually found the antagonist's point of view to be much more interesting than the protagonist's, probably because the tension and conflict were much more pronounced from her perspective.
The lack of conflict and the slowdowns had me skipping pages. Eventually I gave up and moved on to other books in my To-Be-Read pile in search of something that would pull me into the story and hold my attention.
As much as I would like to give a 3 to this book because the author is obviously an excellent wordsmith, I simply can't. To me, the story is king, and this story did not pull me in. There just wasn’t enough tension and conflict to make me want to keep reading the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love Robert Whitlow!

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Connie Westrup
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
His books keep you interested from the first word to the last.
Love his books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life-Supoort Issues

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book, Life Support, has all the tentacles of the Terri Sciavo case, only with differing medical conditions.
The emotional upheavals and shenanigans of Baxter Richardson’s father, Ezra; the inexplicable behaviors and comments of Baxter’s wife, Rena; the calculating and mysterious behaviors of Baxter’s brother, Jeffrey; the perplexing position of attorney Alexia Lindale working to remove Baxter’s life support, mixed with the romantic tension between Alexia and Ted Morgan, all take you for the tailspin ride of your life. And wait until you meet the short, scarred-face Detective Giles Porter!
The constant twists at every conceivable moment forces you to keep abreast of the situations unfolding. Yet, though there are constant twists and turns, I found the writing style to be relaxed and woven methodically throughout the book. I thoroughly enjoyed the flow of the story line.
The characters are all believable in each episode of the circumstances. The emotions and tension are palpable. I was able to connect emotionally with each of the main characters revolving around Baxter’s medical condition, some of which were good and some that weren’t.
You will become acquainted with musical worship and music therapy. I found this aspect so comforting, as I get into music much the same as Ted.
This is my first book by Robert Whitlow, and I’ve already purchased the second in this series! Can’t wait to read that it!
This book was provided by BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LIFE SUPPORT - I enjoyed this book!

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Support by Robert Whitlow is truly an intriguing novel. From the very first chapter, I was hooked. I wanted to know what happened to the characters - all of them. Life Support is a legal thriller -- a story about the law, love, hate, rejection, deceit, trust, manipulation and how God's love can overcome a hardened heart.
Alexia Lindale is an attorney. Aside from her career and her pets, there isn't much for her in the small town of Santee, South Carolina. She's a self-sufficient woman who longs for more deep down inside.
The tag line for this novel is: How can Attorney Alexia Lindale support the wishes of her client when the goal is a near-certain death?
Life Support centers on the life of Baxter Richardson. He seems to have it all. But then he plummets off a cliff and his life and the lives of everyone in the story are literally changed forever. Alexia is hired to represent Baxter's wife, Rena, in a case against Baxter's father, in which she wants to unplug Baxter from life support. His father wants to use his legal rights to overrule her wishes. Everyone connected to Baxter has selfish motives for wanting him either dead or alive. No one can agree, not even the doctors, on what to do with him. He's a pawn in the Richardson family game. People are easily manipulated and bought. The interesting thing is that everyone seems to think that if Baxter's life support is terminated, he will die.
Of course, there is more to the story than just the Baxter Richardson case. Alexia Lindale has her hands full with career complications, other clients, her life outside of work and her softening heart. So caught up in living the life of an attorney, she never expects the changes that begin to occur in her private life.
Robert Whitlow puts some awesome twists in this book. He also uses symbolism quite well. His characterization is amazing. I like his attention to detail without overdoing it. He leaves a lot to the imagination. He makes you care for the characters and some of the events that happen in the book actually caused me to feel for them. It was very real.
There are questions raised in this book that do not get answered and I was glad to know there is a sequel. At first I thought the sequel was just about Alexia, the attorney, and was relieved to know that it was the continuing drama of the Richardson family. There is so much growth and change that needs to occur in all of them that the story simply could not end with one book. I immediately ordered the follow-up, Life Everlasting.
This is the first book I have ever read of his and plan to read all of them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
This review is fromLife Support - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Save time; buy the whole series!

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The opening book of a series is always pivotal, as it sets the tone for the rest. If I were an author, I don’t know that I would ever intentionally set out to write a series, unless I had a great plan for the other books. At this point, I don’t know where Robert Whitlow plans to take this series – but I intend to come along!
Alex is a female attorney in a small town, who likes classical music, traveling, and championing for justice. Rena is the wife of a rich man who is in a coma. When Alex agrees to represent Rena in a case to determine the fate of her husband, things get complicated. This book has a lot of interesting ethical, medical, and legal facets, but it also has a profoundly spiritual aspect as well. One of my favorite parts of the book is the side story about Ted Duncan, a music minister who prays by playing the piano. There is something so real about the way he connects with God through original compositions, and the fact that his faith is so honest makes it powerful.
I liked this book very much, and I can’t wait to read the next one in the series. This book ends with a cliff hanger, so if you don’t like waiting for resolution, you might just want to go ahead and buy books 1 & 2 at the same time to save yourself the wait.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally, “Christian” fiction with a bite!

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Jeff
Location:Dunellen, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ll admit it up front. Although I’m a pastor, I have never been much of a fan of “Christian Fiction.” All too often the characters are two-dimensional, the plot is linear and predictable, and the message is spiritually simplistic and heavy handed. Far too many authors feel that for it to be a Christian book, the gospel must be overtly explained and every moral question must be black and white. So, it was with some reluctance that I sat down to read Life Support by Robert Whitlow. Well, I’m happy to tell you that I was pleasantly surprised.
Life Support is a legal mystery that will grab your attention and keep you up most of the night. The question isn’t “Who done it?” We learn that in the first chapter. The question is, “Will she get away with it? And what will she do next?” But it’s even more complicated than that.
The heroine is Alexia “Alex” Lindale, a bright young divorce attorney with her eyes on a partnership at her law firm in the southern town of Santee. But soon the law becomes a matter of life and death as one man clings to life in intensive care, while his wife and father battle over who will decide whether, or when to remove life support. Greed, insanity, guilt, and fear drive Alex into an ever deepening web of deceit.
Meanwhile, Alex starts to fall in love with a local pastor who shares her love of classical music. The romance is realistic, tentative, and satisfying. Whitlow manages to write the pastor character as a real human being instead of the typical caricature of a saint, a buffoon, or a hypocrite found in so many other stories.
While there are clear Christian themes throughout the novel, Whitlow succeeds in weaving the spiritual with the temporal in a way that feels as natural as breathing. What pleased me most was Whitlow’s comfort with moral ambiguity. This isn’t to say that there’s no sense of right and wrong. It’s just that, as in the real world, we sometimes have to make judgments between shades of gray. Because Alex is such a well-written and sympathetic character, you can’t help rooting for her even when she is (unknowingly) working on behalf of a client who is up to no good – even murder!
Go ahead! Take the plunge! Life Support is a satisfying journey that will leave you asking, “I wonder if that could happen to me?”
The publisher, Thomas Nelson, provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Catheryn Fleming
The story was gripping, never boring. We appreciated the spiritual values presented and the power of God over the work of the evil one. Looking forward to #2!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vicki
I came to the last page of this book and actually got angry, as I felt it was a horrible way to end a book. I did not know this was a series. I felt sure there had to be a sequel - but no mention was made of one. It was only by coming back to the CBD website and reading customer reviews to see how other readers felt about the ending, that I learned there IS a sequel - and I am sure glad. Don't buy Life Support without buying Life Everlasting, or you'll be placing another book order real soon! And you'll be very frustrated until it arrives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laura
Robert Whitlow is becoming one of my favorite authors. I knew it was the beginning of a series when I turned that first page and still cried out that proverbial "NOOOO!" as I turned the last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
T.E. George
Let me say first that I like Robert Whitlow a lot. Jimmy is one the best books I've read in a long while. This was an excellent story with insight to the legal world and the complexities of the attorney-client privilege. But, this could have easily been told in one book. Life Support cannot stand on its own without Life Everlasting and vice-versa. Sequels are great but only when the story can't be told in one novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2006
This book intrigued me throughout. I was annoyed at the villainess, but sometimes found myself rooting for her. That was strange, but lets you know Robert Whitlow is a writer that sucks you in without you realizing it. Buy the book with the sequel or you'll be screaming for it at the end of book one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2005
Customer Avatar
Debbie J.
I liked Whitlow's previous books, particularly "The Trial", but I can't recommend this one. It's intriguing...and then it just stops cold. A year after I read this, Whitlow came out with "Life Everlasting", which is actually a continuation of "Life Support". I found "Life Everlasting" lagged as well, because I didn't remember the details from the earlier book. I don't mind series books, in fact I usually buy and read all the books in a series, but I like books that are complete in themselves even when they are part of a series. "Life Support" just abruptly drops the story without any explanation, and I found it extremely unsatisfying. Both "Life Support" and "Life Everlasting" are noticeably shorter than Whitlow's other books, and I can't help but feel the story was deliberately split in two to increase sales. I resent that, especially since these books are priced at the top end of the scale for Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2004
Customer Avatar
Holly
OUTSTANDING!!! I really enjoy Whitlow's work and this story was great with an amazing ending that left me screaming for more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jenny
It's a great story. The characters are complex and the story is intriguing. The ending leaves questions so you can't wait for the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2003
Customer Avatar
Benson
Good, but not as good as his other books. Has some real intriguing characters and a great storyline. It appears the main character converts to Christianity without coming to a place of repentance and faith in Christ. It is not very clear. Also, there is too much left hanging at the end of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sandi K.
Your beloved spouse or family member has been in a tragic fall that causes acute head trauma, what WOULD you do? In the beginning we meet Rena and Baxter Richardson. Tragedy befalls Baxter that sends him over a falls and onto a rock. During a time when family should come together, Rena and father-in-law Ezra debate over just who has the ultimate power of attorney and along with the best legal firm money can buy, Ezra will fight Rena to have a say when it comes to the medical support that has helped keep his son Baxter amongst the living. We meet Jeffrey, Baxter's brother, who seems to be playing both sides of the issue. Is he truly interested in what is best for Baxter or are there ulterior motives that Jeffrey seeks? Attorney Alexia Linsdale hoped to have moderated to honor Baxter's own wishes and give him peace. Along the journey she ends up splitting from the legal group in hopes of fighting for what is just. Then she meets Ted the music minister from Sandy Flats who seems to be a calm refuge in the storm both personally and professionally. When hope is all but gone, Ted asks for time for music therapy in order to bring God and His healing into the room. Is a situation ever really hopeless or how can God change a tragic outcome? This book is in the league of a John Grisham novel. I would have loved to had this book be in at least a two installment book series as the end left me for wanting to know more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2003
Customer Avatar
L Burns
This is one of the best books I've ever read!! Read it, you won't be sorry! Great story, true characters and beautiful writing!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Life Support, The Santee Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2003
Customer Avatar
L Burns
This is the perfect book!!!! Real characters, great story and beautiful writing!! You won't be able to put it down!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.