Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook

Bethany House Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook

Jericho "J.T." Tucker wants nothing to do with Coventry, Texas's new dressmaker. He's all too familiar with her kind--shallow women more devoted to fashion than true beauty. Yet, except for her well-tailored clothing, this seamstress is not at all what he expected. Hannah Richards is confounded by the man who runs the livery. The unsmiling fellow riles her with his arrogant assumptions and gruff manner while at the same time stirring her heart with unexpected acts of kindness. Which side of Jericho Tucker reflects the real man?
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 3197%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
Review 1 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get it before it dissapears

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:Norway
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I laughed 4 times during one page, that's promesing. Get it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the way God brought the two of them together

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marilynspete
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love how two strong personalities tried to hide their feelings for each other. And how God used different situations to bring them together and I fell in love with the two main characters and really enjoyed the story and had a hard time putting the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read!

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Emzee
Location:Alberta
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I have found a new favourite author! From start to finish, this was a story built around humour, Christian love, and finding new friends. I'm looking forward to reading more books from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charm, history and redemption

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
AKn music
Location:Alaska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A Tailor-Made Bride" charmed me, not only with the details of dress-making and fashion in the Old West, but also with the pluck and inner strength of the protagonist. The livery man (of intrigue and trouble for the heroine) had to come to grips with his wrong-headedness and need for grace and redemption which added depth and truth to the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet and Enjoyable

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, as I am a fan of Karen Witemeyer, (I LOVED her book, "Short-Straw Bride") I decided that this book would be worth reading, and I wasn't disappointed. Not that it was one of most thrilling and original novels out there, but still a sweet story. I consider it an evening well spent, although I don't think I'll be reading it again.
Recommended to fans of Karen's and those who want a light, historical romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Is beauty a sin or a gift from God?

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
J.T. Tucker is of the opinion that beauty, or at least the pursuit of it, is evil. It was all his mother pined for. . .which had the affect of ending his parents' marriage. So when a sweet young lady (pretty, too) comes to Coventry, Texas, to open a dressmaking shop, J.T. is upset. What's wrong with women like his younger sister wearing serviceable, decent clothing? Why fill their heads with notions they don't need?
Hannah Richards knows God brought her to Coventry, but it's hard to break into the women's circles in the small town. The liveryman across the way isn't the only one who gives her a wide berth, but even so, sullen J.T. seems to be looking out for her in quiet ways. When Hannah hatches a plan to sew a new dress for J.T.'s sister and help her snag the man of her dreams, life will never be the same as various villagers get caught in the drama. At some point, J.T. must realize God created beauty, and not every beautiful, fashionable woman is like his mother.
If you enjoy Christian historical romance with a strong, opinionated heroine and a hero who is in turn stubborn and sweet, you may like A Tailor-Made Bride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
clueless
Location:South Dakota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a great read. I loved it a lot . Credits to the author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed the book

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jules
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delightful read.I thoroughly enjoy this author.This was my first book I read by Karen Witemeyer.I am in the process of reading all of her books.Highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not read such a cute romance in months. I couldn't find really anything wrong with the characters or the plot. The author did a great job of keeping the story line going. I wasn't disappointed at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

IT WAS GREAT

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda Nichol
Location:hastings, ne
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAD TO HURRY WITH THE HOUSE WORK SO THAT I COULD FINISH THE BOOK. IT WAS HARD TO PUT DOWN
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
gab155
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a good book that really held my interest. I would share it with friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moomaw
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had already read this story in ebook form, but I enjoyed it so much, I wanted a print copy. When it came, I sat right down and read it again and it did not disappoint. It has just the right amount of everything to make a perfect story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I read this author and she was amazing! I didn't tire from the story and really loved the things she brought out in the book such as being vain and God's beauty in creation! I also really enjoyed Hannah Richards character! Great read and look forward to more by this author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

wholesome light reading

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Location:Toronto
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this fictional story as it was a lighthearted story, yet the feelings of the characters were believable. I also appreciated the fact that it included the characters' faith in a realistic manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story. Thought very applicable to today.

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom69
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This would be a very good book for younger women who struggle with apperances and beauty in todays modern fashion world. The truth and values do not change with the times. Can't wait to finnish the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

O MY GOSH! Such a GREAT book!

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lord have mercy! I think the tiltle says it all!
I finished this book in two days and ended up staying late to do so (+ I reread some parts over and over again!) ... needless to say I could NOT put it down!
BRAVO to the author! Looking foward to reading more SWEET SWEET romance stories from her!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is set in the day when women did not run businesses or speak their mind. When Hannah tries to open a dress shop and make clothing she meets a number of roadblocks. She is faced with the livery man who helps her but refuses to see that God could be with her in this venture. She befriends several towns folk and is kind when mistreated. She befriends the livery mans sister and that upsets him all the more. After reading about the woman in Acts he sees that maybe Hannah can be a woman of God and a business woman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hepp
Location:Crossfield, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 1/3 of the way through reading this book and I already do not want to put it down. Looking forward to finishing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Codie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is a well written romantic story. It centers around a couple who must overcome difficulties of accepting their jobs. Many come from childhood experiences. This book has a good storyline and a good amount of romance, adventure, and the butting of the heads of the couple. A definate read for anyone who loves a historical romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tailor-Made Bride, A - eBook
This review is fromA Tailor-Made Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good to read at the end of a busy day.

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marline
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked it! An easy read in which the teasing and schemes often made me laugh out loud. Though it's not very deep going, it teaches a valuable life lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.