Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sheaf House Publishers Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)

Sheaf House Publishers Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)

The daughter of Boston Tories, Elizabeth Howard is living a life of secrets and lies. She loves her parents but hates the rule of the British---so joins the Sons of Liberty. Their cause drives her to daring escapades---until she meets British major Jonathan Carleton. Can her love for him tame her willful heart?
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
Review 1 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daughter of Liberty, book I by J. M. Hochstetler

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daughter of Liberty, book 1, American Patriot Series by J. M. Hochstetler*****
American Colonist Oriole, wanted for crimes against the King, barely escapes after a harrowing race through the night fleeing British officers who are determined to catch him-this time. Hiding behind shrubs he waits till they give up once again before he rides to his fellow loyalists meeting place and turns over the documents he is carrying. Oriole is part of the sons of liberty who have banded together to get out from under the British king's rule. Once he returns home he changes out of his disguise, hiding the clothing/wig in the bottom of a trunk in his room and gets ready for bed. Only a few of the sons of liberty knows his identity, “he” is actually a young woman, Elizabeth Howard. Elizabeth's parents are loyal to the king and do not know that their daughter sneaks out at night to spy for the sons of liberty.
Elizabeth is warned by fellow sons of liberty to be very careful around the new British officer of the Seventh Light Dragoons, Johnathan Carleton. Confident in her success in learning British military secret plans from the other officers in Boston, she does not see any problems with a new officer. However, she finds she is attracted to Johnathan and must guard her heart if she is to carry out her missions. Despite her attempts to harden her heart, she falls in love with Johnathan.
Johnathan appears to be a dedicated British officer and is not as easily lead by Elizabeth in sharing military plans with her. He too is drawn to Elizabeth and fights his ever growing feelings for her. He tries to avoid her but finds that they are thrown together more often than he would like, or not as much as he would like if he is honest with himself. One of Jonathan’s orders is to find the ever elusive Oriole and capture him. In his investigation, the clues seem to point to Elizabeth’s involvement but he is not sure how. Until he can find out positive evidence of where her true allegiance lies, he must guard any romantically involvement with her despite being in love with her.
As things heat up between the British and the Americans, it is hard to know who to trust on either side. There are spies on both sides, even among their own ranks. Along with the spy Oriole, the British seek to find another notorious spy known as Patriot. Finally a trap is set to capture Oriole and Patriot together. By this time, Johnathan is positive that Elizabeth is Oriole and sets out to help her escape. This is her first face-to-face meeting with Patriot, as she gets away he is captured. Later when she is with the sons of liberty she learns that Johnathan is Patriot and devices a plan to help him escape before he is hanged.
I was drawn into this book from the first page to the last and didn’t want to put it down until I finished it. I am not much on a political story but the setting in Americas 1776 time period has always interested me. There is so much to our great country’s founding and this book certainly explores that as well as being full of adventure, suspense, conflict, terror, romance and much more.
~~I received a free e-copy of this book~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Romance and Adventure

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kennedy
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hooked from the first book in the series. As a history major, I've always enjoyed books that were accurately written and exciting to read, such as Kenneth Roberts' novels.
The American Patriot Series is great, because it follows the characters through the various events in history and gives a scrupulously accurate picture as well as an exciting story. What would it be like to be a spy for Washington (the original GW, that is) or be captured by Indians and be adopted by the tribe? I recommend them all highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A female patriot spy falls for a British military officer and wonders if he will turn her in if he finds out the truth. The first book of many that follow the Civil War and this romance from town to town and battle to battle. I have the first four ebooks of the series and I hope that the rest will be available soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new prospective on an old topic

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Winda
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a fan of history and have read other books about the war for independence. This book shows the tremendous struggle that many had with the idea of "change". Some were very loyal to what they had always known, but others found the courage to respond to the need for change and independence. The characters are well defined and you cannot help "rooting" for them as they meet their daily experiences and the risks that they encountered. Seeing the influence of God in their lives made it realistic and encouraging. I would definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am loving this series. Have read all three books. Why is book # 2 discontinued? I can't wait for the next book. Hurry with it J. M.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mema
Location:Vermont
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put it down. It was exciting, sad, discouraging, romantic, everything I look for in a book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jo Bearsley
A fascinating book, and one that I would recommend to historical fiction fans. The plot was somewhat predictable, but I did appreciate the way the author included a lot of historical information to give an authentic background without neglecting the flow of the story. I'm looking forward to reading the next of Jonathan's and Elizabeth's adventures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Drewry
Very enjoyable read, especially if you like historical fiction. It gives a different perspective of Boston during the Revolution and the Battle of Bunker Hill than I have read before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joann Joyce
Once the characters were defined the read was fast. Couldn't put it down. Being an American History buff just made it that more enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Toews
Re-acquainting Americans with their RootsIn "Daughter of Liberty," J.M. Hochstetler brings to life that unique period of history when Americans won their independence from the British. In 1775, the English king has enslaved his colonies with such excessive taxation on imported goods they can't earn decent livings to support themselves. Though the puritanical Loyalists follow scripture by submitting what they demand to the king and his governors, a growing number of colonists believe the tyrant king has forfeited his right to rule, also according to God's directions in scripture, and they band in rising rebellion against their British masters. Central to the success of this resistance movement is Boston's Elizabeth Howard, a stunning beauty who, by day, tantalizes British officers to charm them into revealing military plans and then, by night, transforms herself into the boy courier, Oriole, who delivers secret intelligence to the leader of the American troops. There is a high price on Oriole's head. Conflict and terror escalate when Elizabeth meets British officer Jonathan Carleton and loses her heart to him, only to face the hopelessness of their love because of their opposing loyalties. When the British capture the notorious spy, Patriot, however, Elizabeth discovers it's actually Jonathan and helps him to escape hanging. Together at last, but are they really? This extraordinary novel set in the onset of the American Revolution is not only a Five-Star read but it also belongs in every library across the country, from middle schools to universities. As required reading, it would make history the exciting study it truly is and give back to Americans pride in their heritage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Toews
In 1775, the English king has enslaved his American colonies with such excessive taxation on imported goods they cant earn decent livings. Though the puritanical Loyalists follow scripture by submitting what they demand to the king and his governors, a growing number of colonists believe the tyrant king has forfeited his right to rule, and they band in rising rebellion against their British masters. Central to the success of this resistance movement is Bostons Elizabeth Howard, a stunning beauty who, by day, charms British officers to reveal military plans and then, by night, transforms into the boy courier, Oriole, who delivers secret intelligence to the leader of the American troops. There is a high price on Orioles head, but no one suspects he is a woman whose parents are prominent supporters of the British Tories. Politics and adventure. Conflict and terror. All ingredients of the same conditions we face today. Living by wit and her feisty nature, Elizabeth meets the newly appointed British officer of the Seventh Light Dragoons, Jonathan Carleton, and loses her heart to him, only to face the hopelessness of their love because of their opposing loyalties. When the British capture the notorious spy, Patriot, Elizabeth discovers its actually Jonathan and devises a plan for his escape. Together at last, they think they are free to wed and can openly work for the rebel cause. J.M. Hochstetler transforms poster-stamp names in history, such as George Washington, John Hancock or Samuel Adams, into real characters we can see, hear and at times even smell, like or dislike depending on their moods or deeds. In these difficult economic times, Americans need to be reminded of the resourcefulness and courage of their forebears, of the spirit that rescued them from poverty and tyranny, and to show that once again they can rise to overcome oppressive conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rena Clemons
I haven't gotten to this one but I am sure it will be a winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christina
This review was written by my 13 year old daughter...The American Patriot Series intrigued me from the very beginning. I'm a "picky reader" and usually have to give a book two to three chapters before "getting hooked"; however, I only had to read a paragraph and found myself wanting more.Elizabeth Howard's parents are Tories through-and-through, but Elizabeth doesn't quite agree with them. So, when Elizabeth meets British General Carleton, things become humorous and exciting. This all leads to a shocking and exciting ending.Native Son is mainly about General Jonathan Carleton. Carleton is sent into Native American territory to make a peace treaty, while Elizabeth is to stay behind and continue her work [as a spy]. Once again, Mrs. Hochstetler leads us to a wonderfully surprising ending.The American Patriot Series is not only exciting and full of surprises, but it is also inspiring. J.M. Hochstetler writes in her book that no matter what crime we commit, no matter what we've done, God is there for us and He loves us unconditionally. He will always forgive us and help us start again.I must admit I was quite disappointed when I reached the end of Native Son. Not because of the ending, but because I'll have to wait until 2009 to read the third book in this series. (Be sure to check out the American Patriot Series Blog for more information!)Thank you Mrs. Hochstetler for giving me two of the most enjoyable books that I have read. I will surely read this series again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
C. Lawyer
I think Daughter of Liberty is the perfect blend of excellent story telling and historical accuracy. The author clearly knows and understands American History, but she weaves it so well into the story and characters that you don't feel as if you've opened a textbook. The story made me feel as if I could see and feel Colonial America. Elizabeth is one of my favotite heroines ever because she is a mixture of bravery and kindness. This book is excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
A.K. Arenz, Case of the Bouncing Grandma
I'm incredibly impressed with the quality of this book and this author. Picture something between John Jakes and Diana Gabaldon, and you have Daughter of Liberty - a sweeping story of the beginning of the American Revolution AND the satisfying growth of a relationship that is fraught with impossibilities and danger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kathi Macias
For someone like me who is not a fan of historic fiction and who honestly believed I had already read more than enough accounts of our countrys revolutionary period, I was pleasantly surprised to discover The American Patriot Series by J. M. Hochstetler. The first book in this excellent series, Daughter of Liberty, was also the first book I had read by this particular author, but I knew right away it would not be the last. Within moments of turning to the opening page, I was captivated by this story of the brave and daring Oriole, a spy for the American Revolutionaries with a secret that could change the course of a nation, and Patriot, another spy with a most amazing secret of his own.Hochstetler not only weaves a suspenseful tale of courage, intrigue, and romance, but also decorates the pages of this exquisite novel with some of the best writing Ive come across in years. This book was well worth the read, and served to push me on to the second book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle Griep
Rushing ahead to act without thought to Gods will has consequences. Most often, negative, painful, and life-scarring. Yet weve all done it.This is what connects a readers heart to Elizabeth Howard, the main character in Daughter of Liberty, the first in The American Patriot Series, masterfully written by J. M. Hochstetler.Elizabeth portrays the essence of innocent and faithful daughter to an established Boston family stalwartly supporting the Whig party. All the while, she is passionate for the patriot cause and dons the role of Orioleelusive rebel spy.Life takes an unexpected turn with the arrival of Captain Jonathan Carleton. Hes magnetic, handsome, and a Redcoat. Elizabeths traitorous heart is completely captured a complication she hadnt counted on, especially when the first shots ring out in Lexington and Concord.More than just her heart is at stake during the first skirmish of the Revolutionary War. The lives of many depend on Elizabeth. But has she truly learned to wait on Gods will, or rush ahead in her own power to save the day?J. M. Hochstetlers story delivers to the reader not only a page turner, but a wealth of education about the beginnings of the War for Independence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
The crack of the pistols report came from directly behind the courier. Sizzling past so close to his ear he could feel the heat of it.With these words, and the impact of a rebel fieldpiece, J. M. Hochstetlers Daughter of Liberty bursts onto the historical fiction scene. Twenty-year-old Bostonian Elizabeth Howard sympathizes with the patriots struggle for freedom from English oppression. Her convictions set her at odds with her parents pro-British sympathies, and force her to live a life of lies and deception. By day she is a debutante, by night she is a spy. Ruggedly handsome Jonathan Carleton was born in England, but is now a wealthy Virginian landowner. Hes committed to serving his country, but to which does he owe his allegiance? As a member of the British regulars he stands for everything Elizabeth despises.From the moment these two meet, their attraction is fiery and dangerous, and neither Jonathan nor Elizabeth suspects the others true allegiance. Are they destined to remain enemies forever? Add to this conflict a villain out to get both the hero and heroine, and a final plot twist that will delight fans of the Jane Seymore version of The Scarlet Pimpernel, and youve got a truly interesting read.The Revolutionary War makes a great setting for the realistic plot and action Hochstetler incorporates. Fans of American history will appreciate this novel as a painless way to learn more about the lives of such famous historical figures as General Thomas Gage, General John Pitcairn, Paul Revere, and Dr. Joseph Warren. Although I am a fan of historical fiction, I was a little overwhelmed with the depth of history included in this book. The emotion of disgust was also used too frequently in the prose for my taste. However, the plot, the lively dialogue, and the character interactionespecially the romantic developmentare fabulous, so dont let the historical details stop you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2004
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This story of action and intrigue gives a true historical depiction of what the American Patriots lived and died for. Americans have forgotten the cost of freedom. J.M. Hochstetler did an excellent job at having the emotion of the day come to life. You can feel the turmoil in the battle scenes and the love developing between Elizabeth and Carleton as the tension between the Loyalists and Patriots mounts. Great romance, great intrigue, great suspense, great historical. What can I say, but the book is just great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Daughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1 (rpkgd)
This review is fromDaughter of Liberty, American Patriot Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2004
Customer Avatar
Louise M. Gouge
J. M. Hochstetler has written an exciting, informative story about what our founding mothers and fathers endured so that we might live in a free country. The early days of the American Revolution are brought to life through the eyes of patriot spy Elizabeth Howard and the man she must not love, Captain Jonathan Carleton of the British Light Dragoons. As both face life and death situations, their courage is tested time and again. Choosing love of country over their own hearts longings, each faces an even more powerful, more personal struggle to find Gods will in the midst of the escalating war.This is an exceptional book. I read the last 150 pages in one sitting. Heart racing, tears falling, I suffered the anguish and indecision that Elizabeth and Jonathan experienced.Hochstetler has created a magnificent, well-crafted story that will endure with the classics because she did not fall into the weak folly of so many modern writers that of forcing todays values and ideas into a time in which they did not exist. To read Daughter of Liberty is to live in 1775 and to experience the spirit that made our country great. Read this book for pleasure, but dont be surprised when you receive an awesome history lesson that brings you an appreciation of the United States of America in a deep, new way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>