Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Vigilante's Bride - eBook

Bethany House Vigilante's Bride - eBook

Robbing a stagecoach on Christmas Eve and kidnapping a woman passenger is the last thing Luke Sullivan expects to do. He just wanted to reclaim the money stolen from him, but ends up with a feisty copper-haired orphan thrown over his shoulder who was on her way to marry Sullivan's bitter enemy. Emily McCarthy is an orphan out of options. Forced to marry because she was too old for her orphanage, she doesn't take kindly to her "rescue." Still she trusts God can turn any situation to good especially when it seems Sullivan may just be the man of her dreams. But Sullivan's crossed a dangerous man unused to losing and Emily may just be the prize he's unwilling to sacrifice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.456 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
33 out of 3692%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
Review 1 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jod52
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved reading this book. I do wish it had a sequel. The characters are spirited and the plot has plenty of action.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this book. This is the type of western that I just adore. I loved the characters, the story line the research. Over all the author did a wonderful job crafting the book together.
Don't Miss this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Didn't want it to end

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donut
Location:Christchurch, NZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is I didn't really want it to end. I'd like to read more from this author if they are as action packed as this was.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vigilante's Bride: Nice western, Good eBook

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
wynnep
Location:Portland, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Vigilante's Bride was a nicely written western. The story moved along at a nice pace and was believable.
The main charaters, Emily and Luke, were fairly well developed. You understood who they were and where they came from. Other characters, such as Molly, were less well developed. At times I found myself wondering more about the lesser characters and their histories. Knowing them more would have given the story more depth and complexity.
That being said, the book was Emily and Luke's story and showed two people coming together from challenging backgrounds and finding the security and love they needed. Emily, bouyed by an unshakeable faith in God's care and providence. Luke, healing and once again finding the God he loved as a child.
And as an ebook, Christianbook made it VERY easy to download and read. Great price also: it was free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent book

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brian
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just enjoy western novels and this one was a good read. There were some chapters that were a little stale, but others made up for it. Enjoyed my first ebook, and it was free!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Portland OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a very enjoyable read! And the first ebook I have read. I will definitely look up this author, again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed this book.

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
LizBird
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. When you read some books it seems you have to read through the first couple of chapters before the story really gets going. I felt this book took the first couple of chapters to introduce you the the main characters while they were each in an interesting situation, so it got your attention right away.
I also grew up in a home where my brothers and my dad loved to read westerns, and this book took me back to this time, and I enjoyed the feeling of being "home" and reading with all my family again.
I will definitely read more books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Sturgis, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love old west books. The Vigilante's Bride written by Yvonne Harris wrote just the book for me. The story of Emily McCarthy and Luke Sullivan kept my attention and left me wanting more. I loved the history the author included in the book about the Crow Nation and how the Native Americans were impacted by the west being settled. I found my self loving the Luke and Emily and hating the "bad guys". This is a great book! I will be looking for more books by this author. I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suecee
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book, kept me up late so I could see how the end turned out. Setting & characters were believable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very enjoyable!

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Mrs. Harris did a wonderful job. I will be looking for more books by this author. I finished it in one afternoon! I couldn't put it down. Several times in the story I laughed out loud. It was very entertaining. The ending was very satisfying. I never really got bored during the story. Mrs. Harris stayed true to the plot and didn't add a lot of details that weren't neccesary. It kept my attention. Very well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book!

Date:June 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookBear
Age:18-24
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Title: The Vigilante’s Bride.
Author: Yvonne Harris.
Genre: Christian, Fiction, Western, Romance, Drama, Action/Adventure.
Plot: Eighteen year old Emily McCarthy reluctantly agrees to leave the only home she’s ever known and answer a mail order bride notice, traveling all the way from Chicago to Montana on a train in December of 1884. On the first day of her arrival, while she is on her way to meet her intended husband, the stagecoach she is riding in gets held up and Emily McCarthy is kidnapped by Luke Sullivan. From the moment he swoops her off her feet that dark Christmas Eve night, Emily finds herself on an adventure she never expected. Taken by her mysterious captor to New Hope, an orphanage where Sullivan grew up, Emily befriends Molly who runs the place, and engages in frequent sparring matches with Sullivan. She finally settles in however and takes up teaching the twenty-four lively orphans and two Crow Indian boys, the sons of chief Black Otter.
Sullivan, for his part, never intended that night to kidnap Emily. All he wanted to do was take back the money Bart Axel, Emily’s intended husband, stole from his father years ago. When he learned who Emily was heading off to marry, he knew he had to talk some sense into the naïve girl before she got herself into trouble. What Sullivan and the locals all know but the folks in Chicago don’t is that Axel is a villain. A former vigilante and trail boss, Sullivan busies himself with New Hope’s dwindling herd while forcing himself not to ride over and shoot Axel himself when things start going wrong; beginning with a severe beating that nearly ends the twenty-six-year-old’s life.
On top of the usual hardships of winter, the continual dwindling of the herd and brewing trouble with Axel, Sullivan and Emily find themselves falling in love. Their troubles, however, aren’t over yet.
Likes/Dislikes: I have to be honest with you: I loved this book!! I’ve wanted to read it for months now and you can just imagine how excited I was when my Dad brought it home from the post office. Emily and Sullivan’s sparring with each other was hilarious; his sense of humor is very good and she reminds me a little of myself. Molly, Black Otter, Stuart and the other primary supporting characters are all well drawn and provided plenty of laughs as they teased Sullivan and Emily or worked together to outwit the bad guy. And this western has everything in it that a lover of classic westerns could want except for the final showdown between the hero and the villain {Axel is a really clever villain too}; I really wanted a final showdown! However, I don’t suppose Sullivan would have been able to participate with a wounded arm. There is some violence, obviously, but it’s not graphic and there are also only a few kisses, nothing graphic there either.
Rating: PG-15 and up for violence and reading level. Highly recommended!
Date Report Written: June 11, 2011.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed in the above review are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terri Haynes
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love cowboy stories. I don’t know why but I tend to gravitate to them. But the Vigilant’s Bride proves that not all cowboys are created equal.
Luke Sullivan robs a stagecoach to get revenge but ends up abducting a family passenger, also. Emily McCarthy is unhappy about her abduction, but finds herself falling for Luke and in the middle of a fight between him and a powerful rancher.
I’ve written lots of reviews and few times have I struggled in figuring out what I wanted to say. This book left me wordless, and not in a good way. The best way I can describe this book was that book had one major flaw: the main character. Unfortunately, Luke Sullivan created a sad domino effect on the rest of the book.
I had a hard time reconciling his two sides. At the beginning of the book, he’s displayed as a ruthless vigilante. Then he switches to someone so kind and compassionate that I found it hard to believe he was the same person. The whole book hangs on the premise of his vigilante status, but I wasn’t feeling it. Sadly, when other characters made mention of Luke’s reputation for being callous, I found his later transformation hard to believe.
The rest of the book fell apart since most of the plot was pinned on Luke. I found myself more interested in the orphanage subplot than Luke and Emily. And I actually enjoyed the development and execution of that subplot and found myself wishing that the whole book had been about it. I didn’t give the book the lowest rating because of this.
I believe I would give Yvonne Harris’ book another chance. This book wasn’t horrid; Luke just needed a little more character development.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Would Recommend This Book

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
motherof3
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time reading a book by this author. It was easy to read and hard to put down. Would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

superb!

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first time reading Y. Harris & what a treat it was! She has such a way with making the reader feel like you are right there in all the action. There were a few minor questions that I wanted answered so hopefully there will be a follow up. I absoutely will continue to read more of Y. Harris's work.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Are Arranged Marriages Any Good ?

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review : The Vigilante's Bride - Yvonne Harris - August 2010
Imagine back to the year 1884, it was a time when unmarried women weren't heard of and if you weren't married, then it was extremely hard to get anywhere in life. For Emily McCarthy , her life was about to spin completely upside down , as growing up in an Home for Girls all she has ever known has been in Chicago. Until one day, her advisors and teachers answer an ad for her, a rich and wealthy rancher is looking for a Christmas Bride and Emily fits the description. Angry about being shipped off to the middle of nowhere to marry a man, she knows absolutely anything about, she goes reluctantly. However , her trip is cut short as the stagecoach she is riding in his held up by a Vigilante called Luke Sullivan. Mr Axel, the man Emily is about to be wed too is responsible for destroying Luke's family and soon these two are about to embark on a journey none of them ever considered. Luke unsure of what to do exactly with Emily, takes her to the orphanage he grew up in and Emily starts to become Miss Molly's helper and assistant. Soon we see Emily and Luke's attraction for each other have its fireworks and tense moments. However, all this is shortlived as Mr Axel turns up for Emily . Will Emily abide by rules and honor the agreement with Mr Axel , a man she could never possibly love or will she follow her heart with God's prayers and become closer to Luke or is it too late when Mr Axel who doesn't like to be crossed, men got hold of Luke ?.
Gosh, in some way I am thankful that arranged marriages like this one, doesnt happen where I live and that you get to choose the one you want to be with. Though in saying that unfortunately there are still cultures where arranged marriages are the case and on the positive side as they don't know anything else it works.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thrilling Western Romance

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
A true 'western' tale. Beautifully told historical romance of the wild west when often the only justice shown was by the men who ruled with guns. It is fast paced, with danger from indians, runaway cattle, and fellow ranchers. The scenes are vivid. The story will keep you turning the pages quickly. i enjoyed it, will recommend it to others, and look for other books by Yvonne Harris to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Thrilling Tale

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
J Kramasz
Location:Mpls MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sent to marry a man she does not know by the leadership of Aldersgate Home for Girls, young Emily McCarthy sets out on the stage coach for Montana.
Vigilante Luke Sullivan robs that very stage coach to reclaim the money stolen from his Pa, only to find that Emily is about to marry his archenemy, an evil man named Bart Axel. He opts to kidnap her rather than send her off to be married to Axel. Taking her to the orphanage that grew up in, Emily and Luke both start new lives in Montana. Her help proves to invaluable at the orphanage as a teacher and Luke set out to find what happened to so much of the herd that seems to have disappeared.
This fast paced story is a thrilling tale of vigilantes, cowboys, Indians, land disputes, cattle rustling, and all that made the Wild West wild. It is a page-turner that keeps you hanging onto every word until the very end.
While I did receive a complimentary review copy of this book from Bethany House, that in no way influenced my opinion of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling Book of Loving Trust

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
S Cart
Location:Lorain, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moving from Chicago to Montana in 2010 can be difficult, but doing it in 1884 was even tougher. In Yvonne Harris' novel <i>The Vigilante's Bride</i> Emily McCarthy has to do just that. Not only does she have to move, but she's moving to marry a man she has never met before in her life because the board of directors at the orphanage that she was living at ordered it.
Yet, while we may come across flight delays and moving expenses, she faced the fear of her new fiance, fear of a frontier that she had never seen before and fear of a man who kidnapped her on her way to meet her new fiance.
However, Luke Sullivan sees everything differently. An old man is trying to re-marry a woman who is young enough to be his granddaughter after he beat his first wife to death and left her in the wilderness to be found. After, in his mind, rescuing Miz McCarthy Luke and Emily find that they can't stand each other. Over time though the learn to love each other and fully trust God to get them through some brutal situations.
I really enjoyed this book. The history in it is sound even though the people are all fictional. It was fun to read and heart warming watching doubt-filled people come to God and learn to trust him fully. I recommend this book for a quick and interesting read.
**A copy of <i>The Vigilante's Bride</i> by Yvonne Harris was given to me to review by Bethany House Publishers. All comments are my own.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book was real good. But, it left a lot of loose ends which makes me think, is there going to be a sequel? There were just to many unanswered questions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vigilante's Bride - eBook
This review is fromThe Vigilante's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart stirring story

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yvonne Harris
2010
Bethany House
Fiction/Historical
Reviewed by Cindy Loven
Set in Montana Territory in 1884, we find young Emily McCarthy on a stage coach on her way to be married to a total stranger. All arranged by the director of the orphanage where Emily was raised. Now that she is of age, they need the room she lives in so arrangements have been made. Emily is not happy about this at all, but has resigned herself to accepting it.
As she nears her destination, the stage is held up and robbed, and she is abducted after the "robber" finds out she is going to be married to Bart Axel, an older man who is rumored to have killed his last wife. Emily does not react kindly to her "rescue" or her rescuer.
This is a fast paced story that will draw you in and having you anxious to read it all. Full of danger, action and excitement you will not want to put down this book. You will sympathize with Emily as she tries to make sense of all the drama surrounding her, you will laugh at her antics as she tries to present a picture of a young woman in control of her destiny. You will feel the pain of the rescuer, Luke as he comes to terms with his childhood hurts. A truly marvelous, heart stirring story, this is the first book I have read from this author and I hope it is not the last, I totally enjoyed her writing style. Great book!
297 pages $14.99 US 5 stars
This book was provided for review purposes only by Bethany House Publishers. No payment was received for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.