Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook

Revell Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook

As the 1920s come to a close, Katie O'Connor epitomizes "the new woman"---smart and sassy with goals that include a law career and the perfect husband. But when she spends the summer of 1929 with childhood nemesis Cluny McGee, Katie faces an unexpected choice: commit to her ideal boyfriend, Jack, ---or the man she's always despised?
Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
64 out of 7190%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Christian reading?

Date:February 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this was for the most part a good story I felt that this crossed over the line as a Christian novel. I was disappointed in the lack of Christian morals and the way the characters jumped so quickly from one person's arms to another. I must add though that the author does bring the gospel in in a wonderful way but still I would not in good conscience be able to recommend this book to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great start of a new series!

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so excited when I saw this was Katie and Luke’s book! I loved their relationship from A Passion Denied and couldn’t wait to see where it would go from there. I am happy to say that I was not disappointed in the least!
As always, the writing was superb and Julie really draws you into the story from the first page. This is a book I didn’t want to put down!
I love Katie! She’s strong willed, stubborn, and doesn’t back down from an argument (something I can connect with), but when it matters the most, she’ll release her pride and step up. She obviously loves her family, though she often knocks heads with Patrick. She is the O’Connor who doesn’t believe in God, it was interesting to see how Julie would weave that into the story. I enjoyed seeing Katie grow up and learn that she doesn’t always know best, but rather God does and His plans are always for our good. I also liked seeing her lose a bit of that pride and Miss Know-It-All personality.
I enjoyed how she and Luke meet again (no, I won’t spoil it for you), and was laughing for most of it. Then cringing for other parts right along with her. I felt kind of bad for her, but based on some of the things she puts him through, I couldn’t help but feel she was getting her dues.
I loved Luke, too! He was the perfect foil for Katie. Just as stubborn and determined as her and I enjoyed seeing him put Katie in her place and remind her what is important. Their sparring was entertaining and it was always interesting to see who would win the argument. He is sweet, loyal, and honorable as well as being the kind of heart-throbbing hero that we have come to expect in a romance novel. I loved his kindness to Betty and Gabe, as well as to Katie.
Gabe (Gabrielle) is a great new edition to the series! She is precocious and the kind of child you just want to hug. I can see why Marcy was so taken with her. I kind of wish Julie would write a book for her, but I think if she did that the series might be unending. As it is, it ends with Steven’s book, A Love Surrendered (which I have yet to read), and it should probably stay that way.
As usual, I appreciate having the book come from several different points of view. There is almost a story within a story that follows through each book, and I really like that. It ties them all together.
I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A brilliant book!

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
gatorade635
Location:Midland, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the moment Luke and Katie met in A Passion Denied you knew their relationship was going to be a fun one! They butted heads from day one but there was always an underlying of more-and oh boy what a “more” it was!
I absolutely love Luke! He was a scrappy little boy living on the streets who worked hard, never gave up, and became a man who was a champion of those who'd grown up like him. It would be impossible not to love Luke. His determination to do the right thing, his love of kids, his fierce love for those close to him, and his relationship with God, all serve to make him one amazing hero. Of course he does have his faults but he tries so hard to be the man he is supposed to be, and he truly is a man to admire!
As for Katie, she's always been a determined one who doesn't like being told what to do and it was amazing to watch as she let God into her life and really grew up! She goes from being a spoiled little girl to a woman who is willing to do things God's way.
The two of them together cracked me up so much as they constantly baited each other and jokingly bickered. And while I laughed out loud too many times to count this book also made me cry several times! I won't spoil anything but suffice it to say there was a lot of heartbreak in these pages!
And I know I keep saying this but the secondary cast of characters was awesome! Parker with his gentle strength and his friendship, Betty with her caring and friendly heart, Bobbie Sue with her no nonsense ways, and Gabe with her rebellious heart just looking for love! And then of course there are the characters that have been around for awhile, the rest of the O'Conners, the McGuires, Dennehys, Bradys, and Emma.
So even though this book put me through an emotional roller-coaster I loved every minute of it and can't think of this book without a smile on my face!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting and kept me guessing

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rose75
Location:TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I liked this book. It kept me guessing all the way through. It was more about real life than some Christian books. And it shows the trouble that can enter your life through sin. That is something that I can relate to in my own life. I am 60 and even though I would have enjoyed it more if I had been younger, I was young once and would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not typical Christian reading

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Meg 45
Location:Ok
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We are reading this book in our book club and I'm surprised that it is getting such a high rating because we all think it's rather racey for a Christian novel. The story line is good but lots of passion, sexual suggestiveness and anger. Not a book I would recommend for teens. We don't think we will be reading any more of her books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved This Book!

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bethany
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several books by this author, and she doesn't disappoint. Hope Undaunted was a cute and fun story, and you love the characters the more you read it. I found myself saying I will just read one chapter tonight and it was 3AM before I stopped!! It pulls you in and you can't stop reading. I highly recommend this book and any of Julie Lessman's other books also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If only there were six stars...

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well to start off, let me say that Julie Lessman is a brilliant writer who has truly mastered the art of Christian romance. I have read almost all her books, and she just keeps getting better and better! This book was no exception!
Personally, I always loved Cluny McGee, and so seeing him transform into a man was nothing short of wonderful! Katie is as spunky as ever, and although we know how it ends, the story takes so many twists and turns that it's impossible to put down.
I would HIGHLY recommend reading the books prior to these, but they are all great stories whether you've read them in order or not. If you haven't read anything by Julie before, allow me to give you a few tips... First of all, I wouldn't give these to a young teen as they tend to be a little on the passionate side! Secondly, do not start her books late at night as they are riveting and impossible to put down and you will lose a significant amount of sleep. They kept me up into the wee hours many a morning... :)
To all lovers of romance, these are NOT to be missed! Well worth every sleepless night!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
jsouza
Location:Washington, DC
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was by far the best book I've read in a long time. The author's writing is so detailed that you imagine and feel everything each character is going through. Just amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!!!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
dixiedarlin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! Although it is the first book in the "Winds of Change" series it is continuing the story of the O'Connor family from "the Daughters of Boston" series so you'll want to read those three books first. I am enjoying getting to know each of the O'Connor family members and getting to know the stories of each character! What a delightful group of books. This book made me laugh, cry, smile, and definitely was one I couldn't put down!! If you like historical romance you'll love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When women's rights and working outside of the home were big issues, Katie is determined to go to law school, marry her rich boyfriend Jack and never ever live under a man's authority again. Rebelling against her father earns Katie an all summer long job as a volunteer at a charity for orphans & homeless Children. Even better, her childhood nemesis is her boss and she is grounded from seeing her boyfriend all summer. Despite Katie's big plans, God has other plans...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kept Me On the Edge of My Seat

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
AngiOakley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie Lessman brings us her second series that continues on with the lives of the O'Conner siblings. The Winds of Change series opens as the roaring 20's are coming to a close. Fiesty Katie O'Conner will settle for nothing less than perfection in her life. The perfect husband and the perfect law career. But one thing stands in her way of achieving her goals...Luke McGee.
Once known as the orphan, Cluny McGee, Luke McGee is now working for an agency that places children into caring homes. Little does he know that his life is about to be turned upside down by the woman who once called him 'a street rat' when they were children. But this time Luke is determined to make Katie see him as more than just an orphan or a street rat...leaving no room for doubt that he is a man of integrity. But will an orphan's promise threaten to tear them apart?
In this story, Julie shows that situations and people aren't always what they seem, and that true love and acceptance comes from God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wondercakegirl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this story from begining to end! The book had so many twists and turns ...when I thought I had it figured out, something threw me every time! The author really pulled me in. I enjoyed the surrounding stories of other members of the O'Connor family. I just found out that Winds of Change series is a continuing series of the Daughters of Boston...i have to read those to find out about the older daughters. I really enjoyed this book and will be reading the rest of the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!!

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the characters in this book. I cried and laughed along with them.
The way that Julie Lessman writes keeps me so enthralled, I can hardly put the book down.
I tell my friends and family that they need to read her books they are awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved It

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
anb123
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was another fantastic book by Julie Lessman. She knows how to get to the reader's hearts and gripp them. It was a wonderful story fot Katie O'Connor to know truly what serving God is like
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Sassy

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Darla
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun and Sassy! This book was wonderful and I would recommend it to Everyone. Mrs. Lessman does a great job with the continuation of the O'Connor Saga.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

More like a soap opera

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherri
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a teenager, I used to watch soap operas over at my grandma's house. Sadly, as I read more and more of Julie Lessman's books, that is what they remind me of. I've never read so much family drama in my life. I liked Lessman's first book, A Passion Most Pure, but they have gone downhill for me since then. I can't see myself continuing with her books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting, Romantic & Overflows with Redeeming Love

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Location:New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the book that started me on a journey with one of the most amazing storytellers of our time! Book One in the Winds of Change series ushered me back into the romantic, lively, so well-constructed that I can almost reach out & touch them - stories of the O’Connor family. I’m so thankful that I decided to go back & read Julie’s Daughters of Boston series first. I adored seeing how Faith, Charity & Lizzie have grown & changed. Knowing their stories added such depth to this book. It was also wonderful to watch Katie grow up in the other books, too, especially A Passion Denied. Knowing Luke's past made his redemption & future choices all the more astonishing!
Katie appears to be one tough cookie, but from the first chapter, her compassionate heart shines through. Her transformation was amazing, but it was also hard-earned. I felt like one of the O’Connor sisters as I laughed, cried & hoped right along with Katie. Now, shall we talk about heroes? Luke, be still my heart, rivaled Brady as my favorite “O’Connor” guy even though I was ready to throttle him for a few chapters. In the end, I forgave him for his stubborn pride.
Julie’s stories take you on a journey of the heart. Sometimes I wasn’t sure what was best for Katie, or what I really wanted to happen. As always, Julie tied a perfect bow on this story while also drawing me into the next O’Connor novel! Cannot wait to open “A Heart Revealed” & watch beautiful Emma’s story unfold. SIGH!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the time period!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rldepriest
Location:Katy, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So happy that we get to continue with the O'Connor family in this second series. Katie is a complex character and I was excited to hear her story as well as some past characters from the Daughters of Boston series. Great story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond words!

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I have said this once and I will say it again - Julie Lessman is an INCREDIBLE author! Her books just keep getting better and better which is A LOT to say being that her first book is absolutely amazing!
I absolutely DEVOURED A Hope Undaunted! Like, I literally COULDN'T put it down! No, I think I may have just turned my family against Julie I love her work so much! We were on vacation when I read this book and every spare minute I could, I picked it up. Yes, I was the girl reading in line for food/tickets/rides. (The poor people behind me!) This book was just AMAZING!
As you probably know who the main characters are (read the 90 something reviews before me if you don't!), I don't feel the need to give a report about them but can't submit this review without even mentioning two of my favorite characters ever! I loved Katie so, so, so, so much! She is such an adorable brat and I was with her since the beginning. Like her, I am a list freak so I really liked that we shared that! As for Luke...wow! He was a FABULOUS hero that really gave Collin a run for his money in my mind! Which really says a lot! Collin has so far been my favorite hero and though I still have to put him first, Luke is RIGHT next to him!
Anyway! Love this book and you have to buy! Don't miss out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hope Undaunted, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Hope Undaunted, Winds of Change Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kudos for reality without raunch

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mandi Cruz
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite genre of book is Christian historical fiction/romance. There are a good number of greatly talented authors in this genre but very few who can write in such a way that I haven't figured out the ending by chapter 4. Julie Lessman is part of the "very few". She kept me guessing the whole way through! I found myself falling in love with the characters in this book. More than once, I wanted to reach into the pages and give one of these people a hug or a good shaking. A part of me so longed to be an O'Connor! :) Julie is not bashful about passion or struggle. While there is an absolute foundation of finding hope in Christ, she does not shirk to write about real-life issues. While we are to guard our eyes, none of us is so naive that we do not know of the things of this world, and I appreciate that Julie does not underestimate the intelligence of her reader. This is the first Julie Lessman book I have ever read and, although this is actually the 4th book about the O'Connors (you can read about their lives earlier in the Daughters of Boston series), I did not feel as though I was starting in the middle. After finishing A Hope Undaunted, I purchased the entire Daughters of Boston series as well! This is definitely one series of books that has a permanent place in my library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.