Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook

Harvest House Publishers The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook

The first book in the Kensington Chronicles series, The Hawk and the Jewel sweeps readers from the tapestried halls of Victorian England to the alabaster courts of Arabia.

Everyone thought little Sunny had perished with Lady Gallagher in storm-tossed seas off the Arabian coast, but the beautiful toddler had been found, taken to the palace of Darhabar, and raised as the ruler's own child. Now the emir, Ahmad Khan, is sending her home, and Sunny's uncertain, new life is completely in God's hands.

This classic series, which has sold more than 375,000 copies, is sure to please Lori Wick's longtime fans and readers just discovering the treasure of a great story.

Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Review 1 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
GrandAuntie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyed the lesson of patience in Christ. It is a hard virtue in the world today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Becca S.
Great book!! I think it was a little weird how Brandon even admits that he wouldn't have loved Sunny if Dinah hand't told him he did, but I still loved this book! One of my favorites of this series :D
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mikayla
This is a book about life. For those of us looking for something fast-paced and exciting, this is most definately not the book for you. The concept is a cliche, but just a thin slice of the beginning is about her adjustment into English life. The book is generally about love. There is quiet, internal drama among the characters. It takes effort to genuinely step into this main character's shoes, but once you view the world through the violet eyes of Sunny Gallagher, everything falls into place and this becomes adramatic book about how life, love, and family can work in harmony around our Heavenly Father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tami Osborn
This book starts very slowly and most of it seems to be about everyday life. Very little tension until the end of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laurel
I couldn't put this book down! I loved the story from cover to cover. It has became my favorite novel and I have read it at least 10 times!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Martha Crockett
I had already read these series and wanted editions of my own. Lori Wick is the best author out!!!!First time I had orderd from you and so pleased the new condition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amanda
This was an amazing book, from cover to cover! One aspect that made it so spell-binding was that the reader really did not know who she was going to end up with. The characters are beautifully rounded and described, without becoming long and boring. This book is one of my favorites!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carys
I agree with most of the reviewers - this was a fantastic book, and I loved Sunny's character. I also agree that her family were awful in not calling her by her Arabian name and everything, but that's part of the reason I liked it - A whole family of Wick characters that weren't perfect!Though I must say, when Brandon taught her to cut with her knife and fork, then put her knife down and switch the fork to her right hand, I was horrified! Surely even talking to an English person or doing a little research on the internet (and you think she would) would tell you WE DON'T EAT LIKE THAT! I do hope Wick had a good reason....Other than that, great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy Kyleson
Don't read DT or Lisa!My favorite book by Wick!So Big Deal if Brandon is 10 years older. And Sunny being a child? She is 13 at the beginning of this book!Enjoy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kirsty Pearce
I love this book! I think that Lori handled it very well, and i love that in the end, Brandon and Sunny overcome all the obsticles that they face, and get married. I also love Holly and Jordan and how that relationship came about. And i love Andrea, and all of Sunny's siblings and their families, and Aunt Lucy is a very funny half-wit. I think that Ahman Khan is very high-handed, and the way that he sent Sunny away was horrible; he didn't tell her that she was going to England, or that she was going to meet her family for the first time; instead he drugged her, and while she was asleep, left the ship! But all-in-all, i thought it was very interesting, funny, romantic, and a very good read. I highly reccomend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This is definitely not a book I would recommend... Sunny's life was just too perfect. Her character is annoying and the fact that she and Brandon marry is really weird... Since he's known her since she was a child. It was a hard book for me to read all the way through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rae
I think this was the best book out of the series, although all of them were great. I like the characters in this book a lot, because they are not perfect. If you are a fan of Lori Wick, you will enjoy these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
ashley
This book was above and beyond good. It was adventurous and romantic just my kind of style. Though as some people are mentioning, sunny is ten years younger than her lover was a bit getting used to but their story line was so beautiful that it made it a book that made me cry. Lori wick is one of my favorite author because her books take such fun twists and turns. But the hawk and the jewel is definitely one of favorite and I look forward to reading the next three. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2007
I first checked this book out from my local library and knew immediately that I loved it and wanted the rest of the series. Sunny's adjustment to her new home and family, her developing character, and her search for Jesus all make her a sympathetic, memorable character, and Brandon's initial failure to realize that Sunny was the one for him gave me more than one giggle. :) My biggest criticism, though, is that at times, Sunny's family seems too perfect, and intolerant of her former life. I hate to say that in a world that has such a twisted view of tolerance, but come on. Refusing to call her by the only name she's ever known? Showing no understanding of WHY she might not "get" Christianity right away, or any desire to know more about the religion and customs she grew up with? That seems a little high-handed, and not well-handled on Lori's part. But otherwise, this one was great. Good work, Lori!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
I would rate this much higher than a 5 if I could. I am an avid reader and this is by far my FAVORITE book. Lori Wick does an excellent job of transporting you back in time and helping you clearly feel what Sunny is going through. I strongly suggest this book and series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Karah
I Loved it! One of my favorite series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Christine
This is the first Lori Wick book I read. It was wonderful! I have since read every book she has written. Keep them coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
DT
Nope. Didn't like it. I thought it was irritating, especially since, well, Sunny was 10 years younger than Brandon. It seemed weird.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beca
Very good book with a solid Christian message. I agree that it was hard to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Hawk and the Jewel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Hollie Sanders
This was a great book. I loved it!!!! It was funny and exciting though realistic and really sweet!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>