Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers A Widow's Hope - eBook

Harvest House Publishers A Widow's Hope - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.791 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Review 1 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

lacks good Christian content, wrong sheep info

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
churchlibrarian
Location:Northern Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a novel the basic character story is ok. The story does however suggest that it is wrong to read just any parts of God's Word, saying that only some books and sections are acceptable for a "good" Christian to read, and one should never share parts of the Bible not approved by church leaders. As a farmer and shepherd I was stunned by the wrong ideas portrayed in the story about sheep and farming life. Since the author made the main character a shepherdess, she should have done research about sheep so that events in the story were actually possible to happen. In addition to incorrect technical sheep gestation times, feeding requirements, guarding OR herding dog traits etc., the author really missed the truth about sheep behavior. Sheep DO wander, sheep do NOT stampede unless chased by a predator, yet the sheep in this story stampede frequently. Sheep also DO come to the call of their shepherd. They DO recognize their own shepherd's voice. The parables in the Bible are correct, this story is just fiction all the way around, and leaves you with a LOT of incorrect ideas about God, His Word, sheep, and farming life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT START TO A GREAT SERIES

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
making magick
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the whole series and it has been one of my favorites. I like this first one as much as the last. Hannah is a spirited young independent woman, unusual for the Amish. But, she is a great character!!!! She does very well for herself after her husbands death, hurrah for Hannah. She meets an adversary in the most unusual place, her brother in law. Simon and hannah have some set to's but in the end, they learn to enjoy each others company. Seth is Simons widowed brother and the sparks fly between Hannah and he. He is left with children to raise, but Hannah raises sheep and he is very very interested in getting her sheep, lol...but in the end Hannah gets his heart. DOnt miss any of this series, they are all WUNDERBAR!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna J
I absolutely love to read books about the Amish. This is a wonderful book, I could hardly put it down. The Amish authors are improving the world one book at a time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Very good Amish series. I hadn't read a lot by Mary Ellis before, but this was a very nicely written series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie Schad
I just read this and it's a must read! A well-crafted Amish story. You learn a lot about the day-day life of the Amish. The story is solid and there is romance, but it's not mushy and is very well written. When you finish this, you must read Never Far From Home, the next book in this series. Mary Ellis has scored a home run!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Medaris
If you enjoy stories from Amish country this should be on your list to read. Story leads you deeper into Amish life and beliefs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marge Hicks
I do not have time to do much reading. But when a friend loaned me this book, I could not put it down. What a read and can't wait to read the next one. It is such a lovely Christian story and I love the Amish people and their ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
I was intrigued by the odd characterizations Mary affixes to her Amish cast. Hannah is strangely outspoken especially as a widow. Simon is almost an arrogant deacon and not an understanding husband or father. Seth is quite immature and insecure given his age and stage of life. Julia is the one character I felt most drawn to as she was real, possessed depth, sought God's direction in an authentic manner, and had a love and maturity in her role as wife and mother. The story line was interesting, even though predictable; despite the twists and turns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frayda Prusher
I have read the series of the Miller Family. First the Widows Hope & Never Far From Home. I absolutely enjoyed reading these two books.I can't wait for the third book to read about Hannah and her baby and to see if Emma marries James. I did not want Never Far From Home to end...Can't wait for the third book.Mary Ellis is a GREAT writer & I will continue to look to read all of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Have just started to read but am enjoying doing so Have book 2 ready and waiting to read once I'm finished with this one Will be passing books on to friends when I'm finished reading them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
Another wonderful Amish story to add to the many, many, many Amish novels that I have read. This is book 1 in Mary Ellis' Amish series, The Miller Family series, and I am so glad that I had the chance to review this tender story of love, forgiveness, family and heartache. When I think of the Amish, I automatically think of the easy life they have, but in reality, they have struggles too. Many of the same struggles that we Englishers often have, and one of them being the death of a husband or a wife. In A Widow's Hope, that is exactly what Hannah is dealing with: the death of her husband, and the hope to love again. When another Amish widower enters the picture, it is a story that will make you laugh, cry and settle right in with all the wonderful characters. I give this book a 5 star rating and high recommendations. I am looking forward to reading and reviewing book 2 in this series, Never Far From Home. If you like Amish and you love God, grab a copy of this book by a wonderfully talented author and experience a lightening of the heart through this simple easy read of Amish life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Swancie Smith
First time I have read a book by ths author, but I really enjoyed it. Can't wait to read the need bood in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Loretta Cantrell
This is the first time i have read Marys books and i couldnt put it down. Was a very inspiring book and i cant wait to get the next one. I read a lot of books on Amish and love to read of how they love God and work so hard. Thanks Mary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Douglas
"A Widow's Hope" is a wonderful book. I am very anxious to read the next one written by Mary Ellis. The story line and life lessons touched my soul as I read. Thank you for a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lara C.
I just found and read A Widow's Hope. I cannot wait to read the next in this series! God has blessed you with a gift of words that can touch a person's heart. Thank you for sharing God's Word in such a heartwarming story. I plan to go back and write out a lot the verses and learn them and to pray about the things I felt convicted of as I read.Isn't it great that no matter how many years we have walked with our Lord, He always has more to teach us!I pray that you continue to write more stories like this one! I love reading the Amish fiction books and am glad I found yours!I wanted to read it all in one sitting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Wonderful story! Had never read this author before, so a bit "leery". Now I can't wait to read the next book in this series! Such wonderful characters and storyline. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys the Amish fiction books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deirdre Dunbar
This is my first time buying this author. I really enjoyed the characters and would like to buy more stories like this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Martin
Really enjoyed this book. The characters draw you right in and keep you mesmerized until the last page. Can't wait for the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
I wasn't sure what to expect from a new Amish author but I was pleasantly surprised and really loved this book. The added element of the sheep herd was delightful as well. I would highly recommend this book, from a lover of all things Amish!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Widow's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Price
I'm not done with this book yet -- I read every night before going to sleep and can't wait each night to start reading this book from where I left off the night before -- I'm very much looking forward to the next book in this series. Anyone who enjoys Amish fiction would enjoy this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.