Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV

HarperOne New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV

The New Revised Standard Version is recognized in scholarly circles as the most accurate translation into English of the original Hebrew and Greek texts and is the most commonly used translation by the global Catholic Church. This special Catholic edition includes:

  • The Catholic Scriptures with inclusive language
  • Imprimatur
  • Anglicized text
  • Special lightweight Bible paper
  • Introductory materials for every book
  • Timeline of Catholic Church and world history
  • Concordance to help readers find specific words and passages
  • Sixteen page map section
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Review 1 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I swear on a stack

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
punster 53
Location:Willow grove PA usa
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy, reasonable, reliable, very pleased, thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

At last, a NRSV to replace my old one

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
llbrub
Location:St. Catharines, ON, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I tried to buy a new Protestant NRSV many years ago the bookstore only had a copy of the Roman Catholic edition. I went ahead and bought it and learned to love it. Now the poor Bible is in pieces and I've had a difficult time finding a new one. So thank you. I now have a new one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to read

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Phoenix, Az
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read without my glasses, and good construction, page turning has not dislodged any pages loose.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
LizC
Location:Iqaluit, Nunavut
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is used for individuals who are incarcerated. A great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Useful, Widely Used, Appreciate Large Print.

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerry 4 Bible Study Group
Location:Behchoko, NT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful for bible study. Seems to be preferred by those with some prior bible literacy. Widely used by other credible people and other credible websites. The large print is much appreciated. The simple language is very helpful for English Second Language readers. Take care. May God Bless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful Bible, and I can read it!

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dee
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having health and vision issues, I am delighted with this Bible. The 12-point type easy to read, the font is lovely and the heading and column choices are ones that make reading a restful experience. My friends with good vision also think it is beautiful. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy to understand

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes reading the Bible much easier and allows me to understand more than I was able to grasp with my previous one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Peter Sin On Wong C O Univ Malaysia
Excellent scholarship printed on high quality paper. The large print makes it easy to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Morris
Very good Bible. Had never read through an RSV Bible before the pastor of our church suggested it.W. M.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy
very readable and excellant subject titles. would like to see this with a heavy leather cover, and maps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Little Gospel Lights Preschoo
I purchased this Bible for a theology class my daughter is taking in college. It's a lightweight paperback, which is why I chose it. My daughter claims that it is easy enough to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition Holy Bible: NRSV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
keely emerine mix
A wonderful addition to the availability of NRSV Bibles. The print is really, truly, large -- unlike so many that are listed LG Print but are still only 9 or 10 pt. It has an overall feel of quality, with tight binding and quality paper. As a conservative Protestant, it's a little difficult for me to understand the "Catholic" placement of the Apocryphal books in the OT text, but the intro notes are very helpful. I think the abundance of textual information and notes is helpful, and I would recommend it without reservation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.