Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Kidzone Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent

Kregel Kidzone Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent

Bartholomew's Passage is an engaging story that guides families through the Advent season. Young Bartholomew's adventures start when Roman soldiers destroy his village and disperse his family, continue through his enslavement to a tyrannical master and his escape with his new friend Nathan, and end with a reunion with his family in Bethlehem. Along the way Bartholomew makes a new friend, a young boy named Jotham! Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.913 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Review 1 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical, Adventurous and Exciting for the Family

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
andifiperishiperish
Location:Pella, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is book 3 of 3 in the Jotham's Journey series. The best Advent books for families ever. In these daily readings during the Christmas Season, you and your family will be rivited by the story line each night, while being blessed by the daily spiritual lessons being taught. I could not recommend more highly a book series than this one; with the exception of the Bible itself. I read one of these 3 books each year, the 40 days leading up to Christmas; in a 3 year rotation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We love these Advent Adventures

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kris
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 8 years my 4 boys still love these adventures and they add to our advent season. I highly recommend them and I always give them as gifts to my family and friends. Faith, edge of your seat excitement, and historical fiction all add up to this series. I wish the author would write more. We have also enjoy his adventure for Lent with all the same main characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story!

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom2Two
Location:Orange County, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great story, interlaced with characters from the first book in the trilogy, "Jotham's Journey." Both my girls re-read both of these books in the days following Christmas so they could get the whole story in one sitting instead of daily chapters through Advent. We can hardly wait to read about Tabitha - but we have to wait until next Advent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Guppy
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was soooo goood. We never tried any kind of devotional type of book with my 7 year old. So, this was our first, and the story kept me turning the pages. Besides the story, spiritual values were presented wonderfully. I think, my son was identifying with Bartholomew, and we were able to recognize characters from the Bible in the story. It made the Christmas story much more personal and real. Definitely recommended! It also showed how Bartholomew relied on Messiah with his life, just what I otherwise can't explain to my all American kid very easily. Thank you, we will definitely get other books in series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
aebader
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first year with this series. I wasn't sure which book to start with but it looks like it doesn't matter. We are enjoying Bartholomew's Passage immensely. My kids 9 & 12 years old are becoming so engage in the daily readings and devotions that they don't want to stop. It is rather violent so I wouldn't recommend it for a child under 8 years old, but gives fabulous lessons in Christ. I can't wait until next year when we read Jotham's Journey!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great family advent book that was very exciting.

Date:February 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
James
Location:California
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book comes after Jothams Journey. You will see some the same characters and same settings. There were exciting cliff hangers that made you not want to stop reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, exciting book with wonderful applications

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
4mysweeties
Location:WPB, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an exciting book with the structure of reading a 2-3 page chapter each day of Advent. (Note: It's very do-able. In fact, it is not nearly as hard to read the entire section required as it is to STOP reading at the end of the chapter and refuse to read ahead.)
My husband's favorite part was the deep reach into spiritual truths and the application to our hearts the book provides leading up to the Christmas season.
Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great advent tool

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
sweg5
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
There are three books in this advent series. They are a great teaching tool for advent . The children are always engaged with the story. We really like these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful devotion for Advent

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly Loder
Location:Winsted, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family loves these books - this is our second year using them...last year we did "Jotham's Journey". My kids are now 9 and almost 7 - I would caution about reading this with much younger kids as some of the drama is pretty intense, and the readings are fairly lengthy (takes us about 10-15 minutes to get through the day's chapter). But our kids absolutely love it and cannot wait to get on with the story each night!!!! My husband and I love the devotional tie-ins at the end of each chapter too; makes it more meaningful for the family. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
HappyHome
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have the series and love them all. We purchased several to give as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doc With a Light
Location:Valparaiso, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book for anyone who wants a children's book that the kids won't let you put down. It is a wonderful opportunity to discuss the Gospel with your kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adriane Adams
This is great historical fiction for Advent season, and the little discussions after each reading are very helpful in helping children learn from the story. Some of the content may be a little scary for very young children though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anne Warren
Bartholomew's Passage is not only a good read, but a wonderful way to focus on the true meaning of Christmas, during a season when it can be easy to get lost in the shopping/party blitz. We were introduced to this series last year, with Jotham's Journey, which was also a great read. The cliffhangers each night keep the kids excited to get back into the story the next day. If you've never celebrated Advent, this would be a great way to start!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shari Myers
This is a great book! We have all 3 advent books written by Ytreeide. We have aways had an advent wreath and after dinner through the month of Dec. we light the candle and read the Bible and sing songs. As our children got older, the books were wonderful. We would read the part for each night, then sing songs. The kids were so excited to hear each part because Ytreeide is such a good writer that he left each chapter with a clift hanger. The kids couldn't wait to hear the next days reading! Now in college, they want these books to share with their own children when they have their own families. Advent is still a time they treasure and the memories of past years are wonderful. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Mccloy
This story engages the reader as one journeys through the eyes and heart of a young Hebrew boy. Sure to compel you and your family to want to know the Savior.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jillene Santoro
Just as we enjoyed Jotham's Journey last year, we are completely enjoying Bartholomew's Passage during the advent season! Fun how the stories tie together - brings back memories from last year! We like these books and the tradition so much I purchased one for each of my children to have when they leave home. Perfect for my 9 yo son, but I accidently made my 5 yo son cry one night as I read a little too realistically!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Moeckel
This book has been so enjoyable. My boys really love it. Each day ends in a cliff hanger and is very hard to put down. What I really like is at the end of each days readings there is a verse and questions that apply the story to our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Schoolinmama
We began a new Advent tradition last year when we read Jotham's Journey and are continuing it this year with Bartholomew's Passage. We like how the books show Biblical history and use a main character close to our childrens' ages. We might do a special project here and there, but these books are great for a simple daily devotional time. Our family loves them! Now if you'll just bring the Tabitha book back into print ;-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pam West
This has been a wonderful book!!! We can't just read one section for the day - the kids plead to keep reading and the applications are thought-provoking. The anticipation of the coming Messiah keeps growing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bartholomew's Passage: A Family Story for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kim Hernandez
We love this Advent book and are hoping to find Tabitha's Travels to go with our collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>