Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications #1: Andi's Pony Trouble

Kregel Publications #1: Andi's Pony Trouble

More than anything, 6-year-old Andi Carter wants a horse---but her mother says she's too young. Forced to settle for the hand-me-down pony, Coco, she sets out to show her family she's ready for a horse of her very own. Will she prove her point---or gallop her way into trouble? Ages 6 to 8
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Review 1 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andi wants a horse. She has a pony, but her three brothers and her older sister all rode the pony when they were little. She doesn't want to ride Coco the pony anymore; besides, he trots and Andi doesn't like to trot. So, she comes up with this great plan. She wants a horse for her sixth birthday. She just knows that she is big enough. But her mom says no. Her brothers and sister even say she is too young. Can she take care of a horse? Can she even get up on the horse?
This book teaches younger children about responsibilities. Andi has to learn to be responsible and take care of Coco, something she really doesn't want to do. But, if she can't take care of Coco, how can she take care of a horse? It also teaches about consequences. When Andi leaves Coco behind and he doesn't come home, she realizes that she was not being responsible and taking care her pony.
I give this book 5 stars. It was a great story with a great lesson for kids.
----------------------------------------------------------
I received this complementary book from Christian Review of Books for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1st in Circle C Beginnings series is great start

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andi's Pony Trouble by Susan K. Marlow is the first book in the Circle C Beginnings series and is aimed at early chapter book readers. Andi is sure that because she is almost six that she is ready for a horse of her own. She's sick of riding "pokey hand-me-down pony" Coco who doesn't go any faster than a trot. When Andi's mom points out that Andi doesn't take very good care of Coco, forgetting to brush and feed him, meaning she's not quite ready yet for the responsibility of caring for a horse. Andi's brothers and sisters all tease her about her desire, leaving her feeling frustrated and left out. Cook's helper, Riley, is Andi's closest friend, even if at eight years old he is often "too big for his britches." Riley has a horse of his own named Midnight that Andi loves to ride whenever she can. SPOILERS! First Mia's review: The story was about a girl named Andi who had a pony named Coco, but really wanted a horse. Her pony was lost, but then she found her pony. On the morning of her birthday, her brother woke her up and brought her out to the barn where she found a baby horse that was her birthday present. My favorite part of the story was when she said that she loved Coco. At the beginning, she was treating her pony like it was a bag of garbage, and I did not like that. she didn't care about him at all. Then I got really mad at her for leaving Coco behind. I felt happy at the end for her pony and for Andi, and the baby horse. I learned that it's important to appreciate what you have. Now my review. Mia and I enjoyed reading this book together. We took turn reading the chapters to each other, it was written so that she could easily read the words, and there is a vocabulary list to teach readers any new words. Mia is right, at first Andi is very selfish and focused only on what she doesn't have, instead of focusing on Coco as a blessing. Mia was almost moved to tears twice at Andi's treatment of Coco. Andi learns a valuable lesson in the story, and so will young readers: that in times of trouble you can turn to God about anything, and He will listen. Andi discovers that you don't have to save prayers for at bedtime or in church. When she prays about Coco's disappearance, God hears and answers her prayer, giving her and readers new understanding about God and His love. Mia is already excited about starting the second book in the series, Andi's Indian Summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series for Young Readers

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kris
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Circle C Beginnings is a new book series for kids aged 6-8, featuring six-year-old Andi Carter and her eight-year-old friend Riley. My 9 year old loved them! She read both Andi’s Pony Trouble and Andi’s Indian Summer and she asks me at least once a week when the next two books come out. I don't think she's going to be able to wait until they become available in March 2011.
In Andi’s Pony Trouble, the six-year-old birthday girl is trying her best to convince her mom that she’s ready for a horse of her own, rather than her pokey, hand-me-down pony, Coco. Mom’s not buying it and Andi must learn to care for and appreciate the pony she has before she’ll be ready for her own horse.
We next meet Andi in Andi’s Indian Summer, reading scary dime novels with her friend Riley. The tales about Indians taking people captive has Andi spooked, but she soon meets some real Native Americans and finds out that they’re not quite like the dime novels make them out to be.
In addition to the great stories, each book has tie-in coloring pages, activity pages, lapbooks and puzzles available online at AndiandTaffy.com. My daughter has colored every coloring page, which are the black-and-white illustrations from the books, at least once. She’s even voluntarily been doing the activity pages, which include vocabulary word matches, writing and geography activities, and puzzles.
If you're looking for an exciting series that will capture the interest of your young reader, I highly recommend the Circle C Beginnings series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
VickieB
Location:Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan K. Marlow's Circle C Adventure books are awesome!!!! But these Circle C Beginnings for the younger group, are the awesomest. I like that these books are not, fantasy. They are reall adventures. Maybe not true stories but real adventures and for those just beginning chapter books, it is great! It helps that the main character, Andi, is young, gets in trouble like they do, has to say she's sorry and take consequences. There are Christian lessons to be learned in each book without it being overpowering and "unreal" use of God. My 7 year old has Down Syndrome and she is just eating these books up. She is just beginning chapter books and these have held her attention and she wants to keep reading. Thank you Susan for a great books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun and exciting!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
karlyle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andi's Pony Trouble is the first in the Circle C Beginnings series... a spin-off of Susan Marlow's Circle C Adventures for older readers. The Circle C Beginnings series is based on the same characters, but at a younger age. They are perfect for children who are just beginning to read chapter books. The stories are about a little girl in the old west, and are full of fun, excitement and adventure. The characters and situations are believable, and while Andi does find herself in all kinds of scrapes, she is never deliberately bratty, and grows in life experience the way we all do... by learning from her mistakes. Even though the main character is a little girl, the stories are not at all girly, and boys would enjoy them just as much as girls.
In Andi's Pony Trouble, Andi has to convince her mother that she is old enough for a "real" horse by showing that she can take care of the responsibilities she has already been given. And that's not always easy! This book introduces us to Andi's beloved horse (from the older Circle C Adventures books) as a colt.
Oh! And I have to mention the illustrations. They are soft pencil sketches that remind me of Garth Williams' illustrations of the Little House books. Just beautiful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful early reader books!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi Whisenhunt
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's not to love about Susan K. Marlow's Circle C Beginnings books? In a strange way, this new series isn't really new at all. It's more of a look back in time at an already familiar character.
Mrs. Marlow established Andrea Carter in her Circle C Adventures books, six stories chock full of Gold Rush era excitement. Now young children learning to read on their own can get to know Andi when she was about their own age. How much fun they'll have making mischief together!
Andi's Pony Trouble is a perfect introduction and contains wonderful illustrations. Once your kids open the pages, they won't put this book down. Can Andi prove to her family she's big enough for her very own horse?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for the Ready for Chapters Crowd

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family has adored Susan Marlow’s original ‘Andi books’ as we call them around here. We were so excited to learn about the new Circle C Beginnings series for young readers. Where the original Andi books followed the twelve-thirteen-year-old Andrea Carter through her many adventures and life lessons, the beginnings series follows the five-six-year-old Andi through her earlier escapades, adventures, and story background.
Our family has read through most of the Andi books together as read-alouds, and we’ve found the Beginnings books to be just as charming and full of life – if not more so! Fans of the original Andi books will be excited to see a major piece of back-story filled in as Andi longs for her own real horse in Andi’s Pony Trouble.
Written for 6 to 8-year-olds, this series has met my oldest daughter right where she is in terms of reading ability. After I read the first few chapters of this first title in the series out loud, she took off on her own. It is so exciting to see her digging into this book – she even reads the “New Words” and “A Peek into the Past” sections! It wasn’t long before she’d found the series’ website and was checking release dates for the rest of the books! I continued to read it aloud to my four-year-old and toddler, and they also loved the simple text and cute artwork.
It has been all Andi and Riley all the time around our house when it is time for creative free play at our house! My girls absolutely love the characters and I’m happy to have another entertaining, wholesome series from Susan Marlow for them to read and listen to. One of my favorite aspects of Marlow’s writing is that her characters are realistic; they have flaws but learn character-building faith lessons along the way and little Andi is no exception.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet book; good for boy or girl; adventurous!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sheryl
Location:Hortense, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this little book.... so did my 10 year old! She has read the Harry Potter series twice (hence, a good reader) and loved this one as well. She enjoys an easy read in between those big books. Being a horse owner/lover made her want to read it too. It's about a girl named Andi and she had a good friend named Riley and he has his own horse, Midnight. It's an adventurous story with a little character training to talk about.... There are more books that follow and I love a story that has the main character growing up -- there's another whole series when Andi is older so your child can read and grow with Andi!! It's great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for the Horse Lover in Your Home!

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tropix
Location:TEXAS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little girls and horses just seem to go together like . . .well . . . little boys and puppy dogs. I know that I was a horse-crazy kid, and now I have three young ladies of my own that adore all things equine. If you can’t have adventures on your own horse though—oh, what a cross to bear!—the next best thing is to READ about adventures on a horse!
Author Susan K. Marlow has delivered another wonderful series that will have your littlest horse lovers jumping in with both feet. “Circle C Beginnings” is the prequel to Susan Marlow’s other successful series, “Circle C Adventures.”
There’s something about Andi Carter, the main character of all the Circle C books, that is so endearing. She just seems to find trouble like a flea finds a dog. And it’s always with such good intentions that you can’t help but become a fan!
In Andi’s Pony Trouble, Andi is tired of her pokey, hand-me-down pony, Coco. She is almost six years old, for Pete’s sake, shouldn’t she be ready for a full-grown horse? Her family doesn’t think so, but Andi is sure she can prove how mature and ready she really is.
Andi and friend Riley go riding on Coco and Riley’s horse, Midnight. Riley let’s her take a turn galloping on Midnight and Andi feels like she can conquer the world! She certainly doesn’t want to ride boring old Coco anymore. In fact, why can’t the two of them ride double on Midnight and let Coco follow them back to the ranch? Good plan, until they realize Coco is no longer behind them. Andi knows that losing Coco will mean big trouble. If she can’t take care of a pokey, hand-me-down pony, then it proves she really isn’t ready for a full size horse! Maybe if she can find Coco on her own . . . (yes, it’s a bad idea!).
All of the Circle C adventures are set in the late 1800’s, in the untamed Sierra Nevada’s of California. A perfect place for a young tomboy to find trouble and adventure galore! There’s enough rough and tumble fun in these stories to ensure that boys will enjoy them as well. Although Andi makes bad choices at times, she also learns wholesome lessons through the natural consequences of her actions. Important concepts for young people to grasp!
These delightful early chapter books have a “New Words” list to help readers navigate the tale. Illustrator Leslie Gammelgaard has liberally sprinkled her charming sketches throughout the pages, serving to enhance the story that much more.The author also has a few questions and historical facts at the end of each book to add to the experience. You’ll also be glad to know there’s a definite Christian worldview woven into each story that's never preachy, just a natural part of Andi’s life.
Furthermore, on the Circle C website, there are activity and coloring pages (related to each book) that can be printed out for FREE, serving to make these chapter books a truly educational experience.
It has been a pleasure to get to know Andi Carter and crew through the various Circle C books! I know you won’t be disappointed in the quality of writing and integrity of character that Susan K. Marlow serves up with each tale. I look forward to reading more from this author in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great entertainment

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janyre
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5-year-old daughter adores horses and we've been looking for books that have a younger protagonist. This series fit the bill. She actually slept with the books under her pillow because she loved them so much. There's just the right amount of action and horses. Excellent books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loveable "Trouble"

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What little girl wouldn’t want to live on a ranch, have her very own pony, and be around horses all day? Five-year-old Andi Carter has all that, but the ranch is run by her bossy older brother, her pony is old and slow, and what’s the use of a dozen horses if she can’t get up on one by herself? Besides, her ultimate dream is to have a horse all to herself (even if she needs a little help mounting). She tries to convince her family that she is capable of owning and caring for a horse, but all her attempts fail and she finally accepts the fact that maybe her hand-me-down pony isn’t too bad after all.
But the story isn’t over yet. Susan K. Marlow satisfies all readers with her delightful solving of this maybe-not-so-little problem (who knew big brothers could be so nice?). A warm ending, a believable plotline, lifelike characters, and a younger-but-no-less-daring Andi blend tremendously to make this a cute, clean read. Only the first book in the Circle C Beginnings, "Pony Trouble" is a fantastic beginning for this series, satisfying any-aged reader and giving us a glimpse of the great books yet to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wholesome and Excellent All-round

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes, I know I should never judge a book by it's cover. Still, I'm human. Sometimes I do. And it's the covers that kept me from picking up any books in the Circle C Beginnings series. They just seem so...cheesy. But after reading Andi's Pony Trouble, I know Susan K. Marlow's writing is anything but cheezy!
This story takes place over the course of two days. Five year old Andi wants nothing more for her birthday than a full-sized horse. She's tired of her hand-me-down, bumpy-riding pony. Living on a California ranch in the 1800s, all of Andi's siblings have horses of their own - and she's sure she's big enough to have one, too.
But when she makes up her mind to ask Mother for a horse, everything goes wrong. She's not tall enough to get on a horse without help. She doesn't always care for her pony well. Then she messes up an important chore by breaking almost every egg in the hen house.
So when her big brother wants to go riding with her, Andi jumps at the chance to improve the day. And when her brother let's her ride on his horse all the way home, thinking Andi's pony will follow behind, she's delighted. But then her pony disappears and Andi must try to find him on her own.
In the end, Andi learns to be thankful for and more caring toward her pony. She even gets a colt for her sixth birthday. Most importantly, Andi learns she can talk to God, anytime, anywhere.
What I Like: This is a charming little story. It's wholesome without being preachy or old fashioned, and my 5 year old kept begging me to read more. The book made her laugh frequently and she was satisfied by the ending. I appreciate the maturity Andi gained in the story, too.
The Christian content in this book is quite light, lasting less than a page. But the author does a nice job of making Andi's revelation about prayer not just being appropriate at church or at bedtime feel realistic. I also like the page and a half afterward, which asks kids to consider what it would have been like to use horses instead of cars or trucks.
Throughout, there are about 10 black and white drawings (about one per chapter) by Leslie Gammelgaard. They are much better than the cover image, and capture the innocence and humor of Andi very well.
What I Dislike: Some parents may dislike that Andi's friend, Riley (who assists the ranch cook) talks about disliking school. "Wait 'til you start school," he says. "You'll see what I mean." If your child isn't yet in school, this may not be the type of dialogue you appreciate.
Overall Rating: Excellent.
Kristina Seleshanko
Christian Children's Book Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for Children to use as a teaching tool

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andi is an almost six year old little girl that loves horses. She has a pony she rides but thinks she is large enough for a big horse. She ask for one but her mother told her no and that made her a little mad. Her friend a little boy that works on their ranch has a large horse, but he is two years older, and she rides his horse but can not get on by herself. She gets into trouble with his horse and sits and cries as her pony did not come home. She had a surprise for her sixth birthday.
This is a really cool little book and really easy to read for young minds. It reminds me of the book I learned to read from (A long time ago that some of you will not know the book) Dick and Jane. Andi's story is more up to date with the advanced reading the children know how to do now in first grade.
This book was sent to me by Kregel Publishing for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting, Wholesome Chapter Book

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Earlier this year I became acquainted with Susan C. Marlow's Circle C Adventures. My children and I loved reading Andrea Carter and the Trouble With Treasure. After we reviewed it, I jumped at the chance to review Andrea Carter and the Price of Truth. Our family has now purchased the rest of this exciting series.
When I discovered the new series of Circle C Beginnings chapter books was about to be released, I requested copies of this prequel series as well. I suspected they would make a lovely addition to my 10 year old dyslexic daughter's reading list.
Actually, these books have exceeded my expectations. I have been reading Andi's Pony Trouble with my 10 year old and 5 year old daughters. They have loved reading the story. We have all enjoyed the illustrations provided by Leslie Gammelgaard, which complement the lively stories so well. Andi's high-spirited personality--her downright spunk--comes through loud and clear, as Andi sets her sights on proving herself big enough for a pony for her upcoming sixth birthday.
She just knows she is big enough and old enough to have her very own pony. Yet all Andi's efforts to prove herself responsible enough for taking care of a pony seem to lead to disaster! Will Andi be stuck with an old, slow, hand-me-down pony forever or will she indeed find a way to prove herself big enough for a birthday pony? And what danger will she find herself in along the way?
Andi is so full of life and spunk that she has endeared herself to my children. These chapter books provide interesting, wholesome reading material. I love that they promote a positive, non-preachy Christian worldview with themes my young daughters love. Although my daughters do not live on a California ranch in the late 19th century, they still can well relate to Andi's love of ponies as well as her desire to be as big as her older siblings.
Disclosure: I received complimentary copies of these chapter books for review purposes. I received no other compensation. Opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Andi's Pony Trouble

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andi Carter wants a horse of her very own. She will be six years old on her birthday and she thinks she is big enough for a real horse, not the dinky old pony that she has to ride now. Coco has belonged to her brothers and sisters and Andi didn’t want a hand-me-down pony.
When Andi’s friend Riley offers to let her ride his horse, Andi is thrilled. Riley’s horse can gallop, Coco can only trot. She tries to prove to Riley she can get on a real horse by herself, but she can’t even reach the horse’s mane. What will Andi have to do to prove she’s big enough for a real horse?
Girls have read and loved the Andrea Carter series and now, for their younger sisters is Circle C Beginnings where they can learn about what life was like for Andi when she was just a little girl. A beginning chapter book written for 6-8 year olds, ANDI’S PONY TROUBLE will help introduce your daughter to reading and teach them a valuable truth at the same time.
If you are looking for good reading material for your daughter, pick up ANDI’S PONY TROUBLE today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #1: Andi's Pony Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Portland OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book! I am a teacher and am using this book, and others by this author, in my reading groups in the classroom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.