Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications #2: Andi's Indian Summer

Kregel Publications #2: Andi's Indian Summer

The mind of 6-year-old Andi starts racing when her friend Riley shows her a scary old dime novel about pioneers being captured by dangerous Indians. But when she and Riley venture a bit too far from the Circle C Ranch, she discovers the surprising truth about the Native Americans living nearby.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Review 1 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Roberta Furlong
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book 2 of a six book set and we like them all. They also seem to connect with the older set of Circle C books and my daughters are blazing through them only to read the whole set over again...that's enough proof for me, but the content is also acceptable from a mother's point-of-view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andi's Indian Summer is the second book in the Circle C Beginnings series. This delightful book teaches children to watch what they read (or maybe even watch on tv). What they see can affect how they respond to others. Andi reads an Indian story from a dime novel. Then when she meets a real Indian, she is afraid, not knowing that the man she meets is a peaceful Indian.
I would recommend this book to anyone with children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful series for young girls.

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
homeschooling and happy
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the opportunity to meet this author at a homeschool convention. My son thought these would be great books for his younger sister as she loves horses. He was right. She is a reluctant reader, but couldn't wait to find out what Andi would do next. The study guide and coloring pages from the author's website were a great supplement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent for Emerging Chapter Book Readers

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When six-year-old Andi’s friend Riley reads his dime store novel to her, she develops a powerful fear of Indians. So when they encounter some on one of their rides across the ranch, they aren’t sure what to expect! Thankfully, this is a peaceful tribe, and the children learn about how the Yokut live before returning to the ranch house.
Andi’s Indian Summer is the second entry in the exciting Circle C Beginnings series for emerging chapter book readers by Susan Marlow. I can’t say enough about this series for children who are just getting ready to move into reading short chapter books on their own. Andi’s Indian Summer will always hold a fond place in my heart as the first chapter book my seven-year-old daughter read in its entirety! She had read parts of other chapter books, but this is the first one she managed to read independently in its entirety! This book has really kick-started my daughter’s interest in reading on her own, and I’m so thankful for it!
I have to note that this is a bit of a one-sided presentation of the conflict between Native Americans and American settlers of the West. Riley’s dime store novel and its portrayal of Indians as dangerous is cast in a light that makes it appear untrue. While the tribe the children encounter is peaceful, many tribes were not. The book’s “A Peek Into the Past” section doesn’t indicate this, so you might want to provide a bit more information as you or your children read this book. Of course, I do understand the author’s wanting to keep things gentle for the target age range.
A keen interest in Native American cultures and history has been sparked in my little ones as a result of our reading this book together. While my eldest read this on her own, I used it as a read aloud with my two and four-year-olds. We had days filled with “You play Andi, and I’ll play the Indian girl,” after our family enjoyed this book together.
I also highly recommend you visit the Andi and Taffy website online! It has become one of my children’s favorite websites! Free coloring pages from the series and free activity book collections are available to download there, and are well worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd in Circle C Beginnings series is great read

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andi's Indian Summer by Susan K. Marlow is the second book in the Circle C Beginnings series about six-year-old Andi's life on a ranch in 1874 California. In this book, Andi and Riley, her eight-year-old friend, take a ride on their horses across the fields and hills to a creek. When some local Indians make an appearance, Andi is terrified because of the dime novel Riley was reading to her about Indian captives. First Mia's review: I liked the book because they had an adventure. My favorite part was when I was reading it, I felt like I was in the book! Andi is a smart but silly little girl who gets scared easily, but she's also brave. It makes her very realistic. Girls will love to read this book because it has horses! I learned that Indians aren't bad like the dime novel made them seem. Here's my review: This was a good book to read with my eight-year-old daughter. We took turns reading the book to each other because the vocabulary was easy for her to read and understand. Andi is very much like a normal six-year-old little girl, and that makes the story really come to life. Marlow includes an important lesson for readers about getting to know people to actually know who they are, rather than relying on stereotypes or rumors. At the beginning of the book is a short vocabulary list giving definitions of possible new words for readers, and at the end is a short note from the author asking readers to consider some of the questions from the book. These two items make the book a useful tool for teaching better comprehension in younger readers. This series has earned a permanent place in my daughter's heart, and for that I have to give it five stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Unforgettable Summer

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Few books in today’s world are so cute that you walk away with a warm feeling inside, are so good that you want to read them over and over and over again, or are so clean that you wish you had your own library full of such treasures. Even fewer books are all three, and Susan K. Marlow’s Indian Summer, second book in the Circle C Beginnings, is definitely cute, good, and well-written.
Six-year-old Andi Carter gets in enough trouble by herself, but this time she isn’t the only one to blame for ending up in a scrape; her eight-year-old friend Riley was the one who read her that dime novel about Indians and spooked her out with visions of braves that scalped and captured wherever they went. Of course, Andi can only think of those terrifying images when she and Riley find themselves face-to-face with real Indians. Are these Indians different from the ones Riley read about, or will she become an Indian captive?
Anything that has to do with Indians immediately has my interest, so, even though Indian Summer is lower than my reading level, I enjoyed it immensely—but not just because of the Indians. The storyline is one that keeps even older readers eager to know what happens next, and the characters, as wonderfully portrayed as ever, work together to prove the point that you can’t believe everything you hear.
Anyone who appreciates a clean, cute, well-written story will appreciate any one of Susan K. Marlow’s books. Indian Summer is a truly heartwarming read, and I recommend it to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series for Young Readers!

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kris
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Circle C Beginnings is a new book series for kids aged 6-8, featuring six-year-old Andi Carter and her eight-year-old friend Riley. My 9 year old loved them! She read both Andi’s Pony Trouble and Andi’s Indian Summer and she asks me at least once a week when the next two books come out. I don't think she's going to be able to wait until they become available in March 2011.
In Andi’s Pony Trouble, the six-year-old birthday girl is trying her best to convince her mom that she’s ready for a horse of her own, rather than her pokey, hand-me-down pony, Coco. Mom’s not buying it and Andi must learn to care for and appreciate the pony she has before she’ll be ready for her own horse.
We next meet Andi in Andi’s Indian Summer, reading scary dime novels with her friend Riley. The tales about Indians taking people captive has Andi spooked, but she soon meets some real Native Americans and finds out that they’re not quite like the dime novels make them out to be.
In addition to the great stories, each book has tie-in coloring pages, activity pages, lapbooks and puzzles available online at AndiandTaffy.com. My daughter has colored every coloring page, which are the black-and-white illustrations from the books, at least once. She’s even voluntarily been doing the activity pages, which include vocabulary word matches, writing and geography activities, and puzzles.
If you're looking for an exciting series that will capture the interest of your young reader, I highly recommend the Circle C Beginnings series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
VickieB
Location:Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan K. Marlow's Circle C Adventure books are awesome!!!! But these Circle C Beginnings for the younger group, are the awesomest. I like that these books are not, fantasy. They are reall adventures. Maybe not true stories but real adventures and for those just beginning chapter books, it is great! It helps that the main character, Andi, is young, gets in trouble like they do, has to say she's sorry and take consequences. There are Christian lessons to be learned in each book without it being overpowering and "unreal" use of God. My 7 year old has Down Syndrome and she is just eating these books up. She is just beginning chapter books and these have held her attention and she wants to keep reading. Thank you Susan for a great books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Imagination and adventure!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
karlyle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andi's Indian Summer is the second in the Circle C Beginnings series... a spin-off of Susan Marlow's Circle C Adventures for older readers. The Circle C Beginnings series is based on the same characters, but at a younger age. They are perfect for children who are just beginning to read chapter books. The stories are about a little girl in the old west, and are full of fun, excitement and adventure. The characters and situations are believable, and while Andi does find herself in all kinds of scrapes, she is never deliberately bratty, and grows in life experience the way we all do... by learning from her mistakes. Even though the main character is a little girl, the stories are not at all girly, and boys would enjoy them just as much as girls.
In Andi's Indian Summer, Andi and her friend, Riley, wander too far from home and get lost. They are "rescued" by friendly Indians whom they are afraid of because they have been reading a dime novel and letting their imaginations run away with them. The adventure is very exciting for young readers without being terribly scary.
Oh! And I have to mention the illustrations. They are soft pencil sketches that remind me of Garth Williams' illustrations of the Little House books. Just beautiful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More great reading for beginners!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi Whisenhunt
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's not to love about Susan K. Marlow's Circle C Beginnings books? In a strange way, this new series isn't really new at all. It's more of a look back in time at an already familiar character.
I could so relate to Andi in Andi's Indian Summer! When I was a child, my big brother convinced me there were Indians in the woods and they come out at night looking for people to scalp! Poor Andi, I know your fears!
This second book in the Circle C Beginnings series will not disappoint! Once your kids open the pages, they won't put this book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great! Educational! Interesting and Adventurous!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sheryl
Location:Hortense, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this little book! I always like reading about a book where the characters read!! Andi is being read to by her friend, Riley. What she learns about Indians is actually contradicted by meeting a real Indian so she learns that not all Indians are the same. God can and does change people. This story introduces the Indians but by no means gives the full account of their history with the white men. It is a good read! It could be the beginning of the the study of Indians. My 10 year old loved it. It was interesting and kept her reading! I also love it when the author keeps writing about the same character as she grows up. It's not easy to find good books with christian influence for young children. She does it and has another whole series of Andi as she grows up. It's all around great!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wholesome and educational!

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tropix
Location:TEXAS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Susan K. Marlow has delivered another wonderful series that will have your littlest horse lovers climbing into the saddle for a terrific ride. “Circle C Beginnings” is the prequel to Susan Marlow’s other successful series, “Circle C Adventures.”
Andi’s Indian Summer finds Andi and friend Riley (or maybe “partner in crime” is a better description?) between a rock and a hard place. A dime-novel about Indian’s taking white men captive has planted some pretty scary images in young Andi’s mind. What could be worse than being kidnapped by a tribe of wild Indians? The children find that getting lost in the vast, unsettled wilderness proves to be a close second. When real Indians come across their path, Andi and Riley are sure they are goners!
Andi learns a valuable lesson along the lines of 'be careful little eyes what we see,' when she finds that the Indian's they meet are a peace-loving tribe. Not at all like the Indian's in the novel.
I would have to disagree with another reviewer that said she was disappointed with the portrayal of the Indian's as only peaceloving. The Yokut tribe that Andi met was a peaceful tribe, which is historically accurate. And I would not expect to delve into such a complex subject within the pages of an Early Reader. Fiction targeted at this reading level should be lighthearted, in my opinion.
All of the Circle C adventures are set in the late 1800’s, in the untamed Sierra Nevada’s of California. A perfect place for a young tomboy to find trouble and adventure galore! There’s enough rough and tumble fun in these stories to ensure that boys will enjoy them as well. Although Andi makes bad choices at times, she also learns wholesome lessons through the natural consequences of her actions. Important concepts for young people to grasp!
These delightful early chapter books have a “New Words” list to help readers navigate the tale. Illustrator Leslie Gammelgaard has liberally sprinkled her charming sketches throughout the pages, serving to enhance the story that much more.The author also has a few questions and historical facts at the end of each book to add to the experience. You’ll also be glad to know there’s a definite Christian worldview woven into each story that's never preachy, just a natural part of Andi’s life.
Andi is sure to become a favorite character with your young readers. These are affordable books that boast a lot of good stuff between the covers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent adventure

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janyre
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5-year-old daughter loves this book. She's an avid horse lover and this series has a younger protagonist so my daughter can identify more with her feelings and actions. Andy is an adorably fiesty girl--just like mine. My daughter loved these books so much she slept with them under her pillow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun Series for beginning readers

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamela
Location:GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a fan of the Circle C Adventure Series for several years. I was incredibly disappointed to find <em>Andrea Carter and the Price of Truth</em> was the last book in the series. I complained to Susan, the author, letting her know how much I had enjoyed the series and my disappointment in its ending. She responded by asking me to review her newest version of the series for young readers, <a href="http://www.amazon.com/Andis-Pony-Trouble-Circle-Beginnings/dp/0825441811/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1292976729&sr=8-1">Circle C Beginnings</a>.
The first two books in the series are Andi's Pony Trouble (Volume 1) and Andi's Indian Summer (Volume 2).
In <em>Andi's Pony Trouble</em> Andy is tired of her a pokey pony, Coco. She is ready to prove she is able to have her own horse (even though her mother doesn't agree). Unfortunately, when she loses Coco she forms a plan to find her. Want to bet this will not turn out the way Andi plans?
Andi's Indian Summer once again finds Andi embroiled in another adventure. This time she's read too many stories about scary Indians. When she finds herself lost in the wilderness what will she do when real Indians find them?
These stories combine as much action and adventure as the original series. Andi continues to be an engaging heroine (just younger!) and will enchant a new group of readers. They'll be able to "grow up" with Andi as she grows. I wish these had been available when my daughter was younger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love this series, but have issues with this title

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My 5 year old is hooked on Susan K. Marlow's Circle C Beginnings series, so we were excited to read Andi's Indian Summer. When we finished the book, I was disappointed - but the title did lead to an interesting conversation that made the book worthwhile.
In Indian Summer, 6 year old Andi's best friend Riley introduces her to dime novels. Since this is the 19th century and Andi can't read yet, they spend a lot of time in the barn, Riley reading the adventurous tale - complete with savage Indians - out loud. Andi loves the book - but it makes her jumpy, gives her bad dreams, and overall makes her nervous. Around every corner, she imagines a Indian, ready to capture her.
Then Riley and Andi go on a horseback ride and get lost, only to encounter some Native American children. When one of the boys hops onto their horse, Andi's sure he's going to steal it. But a moment later, the Indian boy's father, Lum-pa, appears. Lum-pa fears there's not time to get Andi and Riley home safely, so he insists they spend the night in his village. Andi's afraid, but she knows she and Riley can't get home alone, either.
Lum-pa, his family, and his friends are friendly, Andi soon discovers. Lum-pa is a Christian - and it turns out Andi's deceased father is the man who lead Lum-pa to Christ. Andi develops a special bond with Lum-pa's daughter, and when morning comes, she'd rather stay and play with the girl. But Lum-pa knows Andi's family must be worried, so he walks the children home. Andi's definately learned her lesson: Indians aren't savages. They are just people, like you and me.
What I Like: As always, Marlow's writing is clear, kid-friendly, and fun; Leslie Gammelgaard's black and white drawings (about one every 5 pages or so) add a lot of interest. Like a lot of kids, my 5 year old is fascinated with old stories about Indians, so she was especially eager to "read more, Mommy!" each time we sat down with this novel.
What I Dislike: This story offered a perfect opportunity to teach a true-to-life lesson that some Indians are good and others are not - just as is true with all people. Unfortunately, the author instead chose to paint Indians as only good. Lum-pa condemns the dime novel as entirely made up, leaving readers to assume all stories about Indians doing bad things are false. I found this really disappointing, especially when, in the author's afterward, she says that "it's true some white men killed" Indians, but fails the mention the opposite was also true.
While I would have preferred the author give an accurate representation of people - Caucasian and Indian - the book did give me an opportunity to discuss the issue with my daughter, stressing the reasons Indians and Caucasians killed each other. (Often simply because they misunderstood each other so much.)
Overall Rating: Good.
Kristina Seleshanko
Christian Children's Book Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting, Wholesome Chapter Book

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last month I reviewed the first book of the new Circle C Beginnings series, Andi’s Pony Trouble. Yet we also received Andi’s Indian Summer, which I have found a delightful tale, full of Andi’s irrepressible, spirited personality and her usual adventures–as well as the occasional mis-adventure. Like all the Circle C books, Andi’s adventures happen on a late 19th century California Ranch.
In the newest tale we find Andi enjoying caring for and training her new pony, Taffy, while continuing to ride pokey old Coco. While Andi is learning all about the care of a pony, Andi’s friend Riley shares an exciting dime-novel with her. Reluctant yet fascinated, Andi’s imagination is filled with thoughts of Indians sneaking up on and capturing settlers. The thrilling, scary tales are hard for her to put out of her mind.
As Andi and Riley take the horses for an afternoon ride, they become distracted and get lost in the hills. When they finally discover the creek, they gratefully jump in to cool off, but what do they find in the bushes? Could it be Indians? Will they be frightening like the ones described in the cheap dime novel–or will Andi and Riley make new friends? And how will they find their way home?
The first two volumes of Andi’s earlier adventures have already been released, with the following two volumes set to be released in March 2011. Although this series is recommended for children aged 6 through 8, these books are clearly appealing to children a little younger as well as a little older.
Disclosure: I received these books from Kregel in exchange for providing an honest review of them. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for #2: Andi's Indian Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Andi's Indian Summer

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Six-year-old Andi Carter and her pony, Coco, love to ride, and now Andi is training her new baby horse, Taffy. Riley starts reading Andi a dime novel about Indians, and it is real exciting and scary. Andi loves the story so much that she forgets to watch Taffy, so she has to ride after Taffy on Coco to catch her.
But the dime novel doesn’t leave Andi—she starts having day-dreams about Indians trying to capture her. It’s scary, and Andi is afraid to tell her family about it. When she and Riley ride off in the hills they get lost – finally they find the creek, but something is moving in the bushes. Is it a rabbit? Is it a skunk? Or is it…Indians?
Girls have read and loved the Andrea Carter series and now, for their younger sisters is Circle C Beginnings where they can learn about what life was like for Andi when she was just a little girl. A beginning chapter book written for 6-8 year olds, ANDI’S INDIAN SUMMER will help introduce your daughter to reading and teach them a valuable truth at the same time.
If you are looking for good reading material for your daughter, pick up ANDI’S INDIAN SUMMER today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.