Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Way They Learn - eBook

Tyndale House The Way They Learn - eBook

Learning styles expert Cynthia Tobias gives parents a better understanding of the types of learning approaches that will help their children do better in school. Once these approaches are understood, any parent or teacher can become more effective in helping any child grasp confusing concepts, stay interested in lessons and utilize his or her greatest strengths. Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Way They Learn - eBook
Review 1 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative in identifying learning styles

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lemstone
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read and apply. This book is a helpful tool to assist a teacher or parent in identifying a child's learning style. Different students learn in different types or environments. Some may be visual, auditory, or hands on type learners. We may have to change our approach in order to reach them where they are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helps

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Indiana
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helps in understanding yourself and others better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Helpful

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Location:Ronks, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the most helpful books while my children were still in school. I learned so much about them and how to help them without expecting them to learn like I do! I have given this to other moms and teachers too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Info

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie Lechlitner
Location:Elkhart, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms. Tobias is a master at understanding people of all ages and how they learn. This book revolutionizes teaching and methods. It helped me understand children immensely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not my first choice

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
LINDY GREAVES
Location:South Africa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the standard book that homeschooler's refer to when reading about Learning Styles. However, contrary to a previous reviewer, I found it a difficult read. Perhaps it is my state of mind, but I found the authors classification of the various learning styles confusing and not clear cut. I have found other resources that are more useful for my circumstances. A more simple break down, some examples of curriculum to use and more practical tips would have been just up my street.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Satko
Great information. Easy read. Learn so much about my own way of learning. Can't wait to help my husband understand some of his difficulties. Pointed out some reasons for conflicts in our different traits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pat Wilson
I was searching more for specific "to do's" and insight into dealing with pervasive development disorder and learning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shawn Pope
Great book for learning how to understand youngsters and spouses alike. I even learned some about my own tendancies and how to overcome them when necessary to get along with others at work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jamie
This book was an eye opener. I realize that everybody is different but it really helped me relate better to my children and husband. She goes through 5 different ways to categorize personalities. She doesn't make excuses for personalities and she tells you that each personality has a little of the others mixed in. What I really found helpful was the checklists explaining briefly what annoys, what helps, and what to say to help each type of personality. I literally laughed out loud when she described something that annoys an analytical mind (my husband) but works for a global (me)! Good examples dispersed throughout!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Doeve
very helpful to understand my children's learning style. A bonus is that I discovered how I learn as well. This book has helped me pick my children's cirriculum for our first year of homeschooling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2004
Customer Avatar
Amy
This was so helpful and insightful. Not just for our children, but for my husband and me, too! Just seeing how we view things differently helps in how we communicate. This is also helping me as I try to "decipher" how our children learn (we are a homeschooling family). It has already given me some ideas on how to approach teaching each of the children in slightly different ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Way They Learn - eBook
This review is fromThe Way They Learn.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2002
Customer Avatar
Tasha
This is a wonderful book for parents of children struggling to get a grip on school work! If you understand the differences between your own learning style and your children's, you will begin to understand there is more than one way to get anything done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.