Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2

Kregel Publications Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2

Jordyn Redwood, a specialist in critical care and emergencynursing, brings twists and suspense to the follow-up to her critically acclaimed debut, Proof.

Keelyn Blake's stepfather blamed a hallucination named Lucent for his unthinkable acts, culminating in a standoffwith the FBI that killed part of her family. Now Lucent is back-but this time he is no hallucination. Is he behind thedisappearance of Keelyn's half-sister? Or the mysterious deaths of the people involved in the standoff? And, will Keelyn, or her budding romance with FBI agent Lee Watson, survive?

For fans of inspirationl suspense fiction, Jordyn Redwood weaves compelling characters and dizzying twists that explore the boundaries of faith and family and what happens when both are put to the test.

Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Review 1 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling read

Date:September 13, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading Jordyn Redwood’s novels. They are steeped in suspense and keep me turning pages. The plot is well written in this book by Redwood, with plenty of twists and turns. She writes flawless characterizations—you feel you’re alongside them every step of the way. It was difficult to find a stopping point where I could make myself put down the book to read again later. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Poison" is a psychological thriller

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a title such as "Poison" you just know that this book will jolt you by taking you somewhere into a world where there is a deadly poisonous substance or person that is encountered. You crack the book anticipating, not knowing what will grip you. Book #2 of the Bloodline Triology follows tight on the heels of "Proof," Book #1 in the series. in "Proof" we were taken on a roller coaster ride into the lives of characters as they were seeking proof for their case. "Poison" is no less of a ride and certainly takes you into a venomous world of danger. A world of spiritual darkness. Mental instability. Danger fraught at every turn. "Poison" is a psychological thriller sure to keep you on edge.
Jordyn Redwood has wrapped her story around characters with psychotic behaviors. Characters include some who are from the book "Proof" and were staged in the shadow of a tragedy that was a subplot of 'Proof." The story opens with our heroine waiting for her fiancée to arrive. A man sits beside her and tells her he is Lucent. But Lucent is suppose to be the delusion of a sick man and not a real person; yet Lucent, a real person, is sitting beside her and knows things this stranger shouldn't.
Keelyn's half sister, Rachel, one of the survivors of the tragedy in "Proof," is missing and the story is tightly woven around her. Rachel is a troubled young lady but one who is a seeker. But does she find God? Does she reject God? Keelyn's fiancée, Lee, is a SWAT team member and certainly a handy person to have around with all the danger they face.
"Her screams caused Keelyn's body to shake with desperate anxiety."
The author's personal experience as a pediatric nurse in the ER is evidenced as she records scenes involving Raven's child, Sophia, whose life is in immense danger. The professional care for this child - medical, social services, and personal - (and others for whom she has cared in the ER) is evident as Ms. Redwood writes. It is rather humorous to read the scenes and actions as Keelyn takes on the care of Sophia knowing absolutely nothing about child care. In a story as deep and dark as "Poison," it is nice to see a bit of levity.
Having now reviewed both "Proof" and "Poison," I can hardly wait for Jordyn Redwood to launch Book #3 - "Peril."
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy of "Poison" from Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest review. Giveaway copy provided by the author. Opinions expressed are solely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid 5 Stars!

Date:May 4, 2013
I thought that I loved Jordyn Redwood's debut novel, but if it's possible, I loved her latest release, Poison, even more! So much happens—and so quickly—that I could barely put it down to do things like sleep and go to work. But seriously, who needs sleep when you can read, right?!
Poison hooked me from the very start. The suspense is incredibly fast-paced and intense. (Don't read it before bed ... unless you plan to sleep with the lights on!) I really liked Keelyn. She was easy to like and I wanted things to work out for her. And Lee was a true hero. Their relationship was interesting and different than many of the relationships in other books. They both had so much baggage from the past, and my head was literally spinning trying to figure out if they were going to be able to overcome all the tragedies that they had faced.
The one downside for me was that this story is pretty closely linked with the previous book in the series (the original tragedy with Keelyn's father actually happens in Proof). Since it's been several months since I've read it, it took me a little while for everything to click.
Seriously, though, Poison was fantastic ... a solid 5 stars! There are very few suspense novels that totally catch me off-guard as to how things will be resolved, but Poison did so masterfully. I'm highly anticipating the final book in this trilogy. If you're a fan of suspense, Redwood is a name to remember. I highly recommend the Bloodline Trilogy! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kidnapping, Serial Killer, Action Thriller

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jordyn Redwood in her new book, "Poison" Book Two in the Bloodline Trilogy series published by Kregel Publications brings us into the life of Keelyn Blake.
From the back cover: Five years ago, Keelyn Blake's stepfather took her family hostage, raving about Lucent, a being who forced him to commit unspeakable acts. Some of the family made it out alive; the rest did not. Even Lee Watson, the best of SWAT, failed to overcome the man's delusions and end the standoff peacefully.
Now, Lucent is back- and he's no hallucination. He has kidnapped Keelyn's niece, and although Keelyn is estranged from her half-sister, Raven, she feels compelled to save what little family she has left. But Raven is nowhere to be found, and when others involved in that fateful day start dying under mysterious circumstances, Keelyn wonders if she and Lee- and their budding relationship- will surive.
Poison follows Proof in the Bloodline trilogy with another rollercoaster plot that makes it an irresistible adventure for all suspense fiction fans.
I have always liked body language. It is something that a person does, most times, involuntarily. If you can read body language you can learn a lot from what others are not telling you. Keelyn Blake knows how to read body language and it plays an important part of this story. There is a kidnapper who is also a serial murderer on the loose who wants to trade the life of Keelyn's niece for Keelyn's half-sister. What a dilemma! And more and more persons are beginning to die, mostly from Keelyn's past. Now it is up to her and Lee to find and stop him before he commits more murders.
I think Jordyn Redwood is an extremely talented writer who really knows how to tell a story that will grab you and keep you flipping pages until you find out who did it. "Poison" is a very exciting book that will keep you engrossed in the characters as Ms. Redwood puts them through their paces. This is a wonderful series and I am glad I discovered Jordyn Redwood. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Kregel Publications. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Watch Out for Poison

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must admit that I did get mad while reading this book. Characters, like people, sometimes make horrible choices that lead them down paths you just don't want to see them go. I was burdened, much like I would be if I were watching a friend spiral toward destruction. But I was completely drawn into the book; it engaged me from page one until the very end. It was suspense at its very best, and I highly recommend that you read this book.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Kregel Publications, for review purposes. All opinions rendered are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can a Hallucination Become a Real Person?

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first introduction to Jordyn Redwood came through Readers’ Favorites. Her first book, Proof, was the book I reviewed. What an introduction!
Jordyn brings us up to speed five years later in her second book, Poison. I found Poison to be just as suspenseful, medically interesting, abounding with superior multiple twists intertwined into the plots, and fast-paced action, building angst within me, keeping me reading well into the night. If you’ve read Proof, you will once again meet some of same characters, with new ones that are just as real and flawed. If you haven’t, I would strongly advise you to check that one out first.
Secrets abound that stymie relationships and cause issues with the current investigations. Trust and honesty, along with dysfunctional family backgrounds, brings more trauma to the scenes that pique your interest. For you see, John Samuel’s hallucination, Lucent, has appeared as a real person. How can that be? That’s just part of the gist of the story! Intriguing! Add murder, kidnapping, and poisonous spiders, and you will be captivated by all the evil that man can imagine to ‘gain solace.’ About the time you think you have the murderer figured out and why, another twist changes your whole thought processing and analysis.
Jordyn has become one of my favorite medical mystery writers. Pick up her books and get ready for a ride you’ve never been on before!
This book was provided by the author through Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read, even better than the first book

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read and reviewed the first book in this series, Proof, and though I liked it, I thought this book was even better and didn't feel rushed like the first. That could be because in this book, the main characters are already engaged to be married at the beginning of the book. I would recommend reading this series in order.
This book was hard to put down, so I didn't. I read it from cover to cover in one sitting, and enjoyed every page. Again, the author came up with a very cool plot and worked it around blood. There are a couple of characters from the first book in this story, and new ones, and I found myself liking them all, especially the two main characters. There are some creepy moments involving spiders, and a lot of suspense, and a few surprises.
There is a lot of action that takes place in the hospital and with medical situations in both books, but the author does a great job of keeping things in terms even I can understand.
The book takes a good look at family ties, and what people will do to save someone they love. It also shows that no one is beyond hope, and no matter how far they have gone, they are still worth saving. I loved the book, and am looking forward to reading the last book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poison will keep you in suspense until the end!

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poison
Bloodline Trilogy 2
By Jordyn Redwood
Poison is an apt name for this book as poison is a factor throughout the book both spiritually and physically. How do we fight against a poisoned soul? Is it a mental issue or a spiritual one?
Why do some people rise above tragedy while others succumb to their baser natures when facing the same tragedy? Is it genetic? Is it upbringing? Or is it faith in something beyond ourselves? Poison is a look at just such a circumstance, when the past decides to visit Keelyn Blake and she has to relive events from seven years ago that forever changed her family.
When a figment named Lucent convinced John Samuals to take his family hostage and to start killing them, Keelyn lost her mother and two siblings. But she also lost her other three siblings that day to foster care. The trauma of that day changed her sister Raven. Two years had passed since Keelyn had last seen Raven when Lucent comes face-to-face with Keelyn and threatens what little family she has left.
As Keelyn, her fiance Lee Watson, and Detective Nathan Long try to figure out what Lucent wants with Keelyn and Raven's young daughter Sophie, people who had been involved in the hostage situation begin dying from unusual symptoms. Who is poisoning the very people who tried to save them seven years ago and what are they using to do it?
They say love is blind and in Poison it certainly is as those closest to their hearts manipulate and lie almost to the point of no return. When secrets begin endangering lives can Lee and Keelyn determine the truth or will they too fall to the revenge that has poisoned an already troubled mind?
Poison will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end trying to determine who the guilty party truly is. The lines between victim and perpetrator become blurred in the pursuit of revenge and self prescribed justice. Don't miss out on this exciting can't put down book. If you love suspense you won't disappointed!
I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest review of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The past catches up...

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Poison – book 2 of the Bloodline Trilogy – gets right in to the action and doesn’t stop! With a few twists on the way, you’ll enjoy the ride! I definitely would suggest starting with the first book of the series, Proof. That may be obvious since it was written as a trilogy, however I don’t want anyone to miss the full story! Now I am looking forward to Peril, the finale of the Bloodline Trilogy.
In Poison, Keelyn is engaged and trying to move on from the horrible event of her past. However, her stepfather’s “hallucination” called Lucent shows up in the flesh! Now Keelyn is responsible for her niece and has no idea where her sister Raven is, while people keep dying who were associated with that fateful day. Also Lee, her finance, seems to be keeping secrets.
The author Jordyn Redwood has “specialized in critical care and emergency nursing for nearly two decades”. I thought that was an interesting piece of information given about the author, because if they’ve experience something, maybe they’ll bring the readers into the situation clearer or from an unique angle. Her story and action was great but I didn’t seem to “know” the characters…until towards the end, which is actually when secrets got told and hard choices where made… it could have been done on purpose. If so, that was an interesting way to write a story! But I still would like to know the characters and care about them and feel their emotions through the book.
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

complex plot with plenty of action

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second on the Bloodline Trilogy. If you haven't read Proof, you should do so before reading this novel as most of the plot line results from action in Proof.
It is five years after the horrible murder scene where SWAT team member Lee Watson rescued Keelyn Samuels and her sister Raven. Their father had murdered all the other members of the family, claiming to be influenced by Lucent.
Lee and Keelyn had bumped into each other two years later and developed a relationship. Keelyn and her sister are now estranged.
Keelyn is at a diner waiting for Lee when a man sits down next to her. He claims to be Lucent. But that can't be. The FBI had concluded Lucent was just a hallucination, not an actual human being. He has a message for Keelyn. Raven's child is in danger and needs Keelyn. Keelyn is shocked. She didn't even know Raven had a child.
And then, one by one, the officials involved in that rescue five years ago start dying.
This is another great novel in this series. Again, you'll want to have read the first in the series as so much of the action, the relationships, and the suspense arises out of events in the first book.
I learned about a new type of social science. Keelyn's expertise is in interpreting body language, a relatively new art although scientifically based. Often companies hired her to sit in contract negotiations. She would view interrogations, detecting telltale signs of the individual's truthfulness. It was great to read about how she interprets bodily actions. (Now I know why I like to keep my feet under the table when in a group setting.)
There is plenty of action in this novel, including a suspenseful ending. The plot is quite involved. Desires for revenge can be long lasting and intense. We see that in this plot. An event from decades ago is the origin of this novel's murderous content.
One aspect of police procedure I like is when the authorities are smarter than I am. In this novel, I knew who the bad person was going to be early on. I was disappointed that the police and FBI didn't get on the character's case earlier.
Nonetheless, this is a good novel. The ending seems to wrap up the story so it will be interesting to see what will come in the third book of the series.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspenseful!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my gosh! This book is something else! This is book 2 in the Bloodline Trilogy is a fantastic read. Suspenseful, terrifying, chilling. As my readers know, I love a book that keeps me guessing till the end and this one does! Five years ago Keelyn Blake's stepfather, a man who was being told what to do by Lucent, a creature invisible to everyone else, had taken her family hostage. Some of the family survived the ordeal while others didn't. Her stepfather had claimed Lucent made him do the horrific things he did.
Suddenly Lucent returns and he is isn't the product of someone's imagination. He has kidnapped Keelyn's stepsister and neice. As Keelyn tries to find him those that were involved in the standoff years ago began to die mysteriously.
Redwood writes a great novel, she brings characters to life and places you right there with them. I'm looking forward to the next book! 5 out of 5 stars.
I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting, Riveting and Mysterious!

Date:April 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the mask of inescapable darkness fear feeds the unknown.
Keelyn, volunteer for a domestic violence shelter, is warned not to search for her missing sister Raven or Raven's young daughter.
Nathan Long, FBI Agent, works diligently to solve the puzzle that has long been unsolved. Lives hang while the clock constantly ticks leaving in its wake the relentless work of one evil entity. While Keelyn meets once again with the object of much frustration and horror, clear frustration arises. Will the detectives crack the case or will the crime remain a mystery?
A novel of high suspense, intrigue and mystery. Could not put this book down and although it is part of a series it can certainly be read as a stand alone novel, as I have not read the first one to date, Proof. Unending twists, turns and readblocks tantalize and delight mystery and suspense fans alike. Well formed characters were easy to get to know, balanced and smooth flowing progressive polt, and true to life scenery bring readers an extremely well written novel and one that ultimately promises no dull or broken parts. Well done! I was entertained by this book and will recommend it to others. I received a complimentary copy from Kregel Publications for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A definite nail biter!

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you love books that contain an element of suspense with the right blend of intrigue and romance, than look no further than the second book in the Bloodline Trilogy by Jordyn Redwood. Poison. Keelyn Blake is back as she attempts to come to terms with the murder of her mother and half of her siblings by the hands of her father who believed he was taking orders from someone he called Lucent.
Only now Lucent isn't a figment of the imagination! He is real and comes to visit Keelyn as she is waiting for her financè, Lee Watson, a member of the FBI's hostage negotiation team. He tells her things that only someone who knows her deeply would know and gives her a prophetic message, he is leaving her 2-year-old niece she's never met to her care as a goodwill gesture. The only catch, she can't come looking for her sister and the mother of the child or she will die along with the child.
Not sure just how Lucent knows this, she leaves the diner with Lee only to find a murder victim behind the wheel of the car and her 2-year-old niece in the back seat. Keelyn is an expert at reading people's body language and uses that talent to help her find the missing pieces of the puzzle to find her sister before it's too late. The only problem is the body language her fiancè is putting off shows he's hiding something from her, and soon the body count begins to climb as those that were a part of that fateful day when her family was murdered all begin to die from an unexplained cause. Will Keelyn be next or will she be able to locate her sister in time before the next person dies?
I received Poison by Jordyn Redwood compliments of Kregel Publications for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable one. Having read the first book quite some time ago, I found it's not necessary to have read Proof before picking this one up because Jordyn captures so much of what had happened as a recap in the lives of Keelyn and Lee Watson. It is chilling to think that someone would go to the lengths that they do in this book as a method of revenge. This is not the series for everyone as it does contain references to the violence that has brought Keelyn where she is at today in her life. I did find the research into the body language very interesting and loved seeing Keelyn use that in her day to day dealings both in her personal life and in helping others in her volunteer work. I rate this one a 4 out of 5 and definitely loved the fast paced this novel moved at in comparison to her first book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Total Suspense!!

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carla
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great! It keeps you on the edge of your seat through out the whole book! I loved the medical aspect of the book, and it has a beautiful message! Very good read... I recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
This review is fromPoison - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best suspense books ever!

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I had read Jordyn's first book of this trilogy, Proof, I had to read the second book, Poison. I was not disappointed. Scary, chilling and absolutely twisted, Poison, kept me spellbound from the first page to the last.
Jordyn's style of writing draws the reader into the story with her strong characters. Her medical knowledge comes through in a way that is easy to understand for any layperson reading her work. She doesn't use terminology without a quick definition that helps the reader to understand what is taking place.
The main characters in this second book are primarily Keelyn, Lee, Nathan and Keeyln's sister, Raven. Though each one of these people are strong, they all have secrets that can and do cause harm. Some of this harm may have a deadly effect.
Woven throughout the storyline, Jordyn weaves a thread of hope. Keelyn, Lee and Nathan have a personal relationship with Jesus. Through the various circumstances and trials, they all find their faith tested.
This is not a stand-alone novel. I highly recommend reading Proof before delving into this spine-chilling second book. Proof lays the foundation that Jordyn uses to build on to bring us Poison.
I do highly recommend this book if you enjoy a good thriller. I don't know that they get any better than this one. I do know I am avidly awaiting for the third book of this Bloodline Trilogy.
Kregel Publications provided me with a free review copy in order to write this review. I am under no obligation to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get Ready for a Ride!

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan Marlow
Location:Washington state
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been waiting for the second book of the Bloodline Trilogy, Poison, and I'm happy to report that this newest adventure was well worth the wait. It begins with a bang and races along to the exciting conclusion, when I let out a sigh of relief that our heroine triumphed and all was . . . Well, I won't spill spoilers, but surely good must triumph over evil (and it does), plot twists need to be resolved (yes!), and loose ends tied up into satisfying knots. The hardest part was turning off my Kindle when my eyes got too bleary to keep reading. Heroine Keelyn, her very strange and elusive sister Raven, her SWAT-team fiance, Lee (with a chilling past secret of his own), and encore appearances of friends from the first book all come together to make Poison a great read. And guess what? Jordyn Redwood has another book of the Bloodline Trilogy coming out later this year. Hooray!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phew! Non stop action and suspense!

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jordyn Redwood should have been writing books years ago. Proof was fantastic and Poison was outstanding! Poison follows Keelyn Blake, one of John Samuels' hostages several years earlier when half of his family was killed by him. This time she's confronted in a diner by the hallucination John listened to when he killed his family. But wait...this guy's flesh and blood. She's been given a warning.
Keelyn's half sister Raven has gone missing and Keelyn has to take care of her 18 month old daughter. Then folks start dying who happened to be on the scene years ago when John Samuels killed his family.
From then on, the pace is quick and the action intense and the reader can't put the book down. Your heart races and pounds, wondering what in the world will happen next? Who is doing all this?
Redwood weaves the wonderful message of Christ throughout her book, too, without being overbearing. What a great message it is, too, that someone would lay down their life so someone else could live.
She writes with experience of the medical aspects of the novel and the police action is awesome. It's like ER meets Criminal Minds. Do NOT miss this book. I eagerly await Peril, the next in the Bloodline trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Poison a must read

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poison the second book in the Bloodline Trilogy by Jordyn Redwood is a Christian fiction medical suspense. If you are searching for a novel with intrigue, a fast paced plot that will keep you on your toes then this is the book for you. Lucent’s return to Keelyn’s life is no hallucination this time. As she fights to stay alive and keep her half sister Raven’s daughter Sophia safe she is faced with the fact her fiancée Lee has a secret. Will it tear them apart? Lee was part of the SWAT team that brought down Keelyn’s step father John Samuals after he murdered half her family. One by one those who were instrumental in bringing John Samuals down are facing death by contracting a mysterious illness. Jordyn Redwood’s knowledge as an ER nurse is evident in her writing. As the story goes on, dishonesty, murder, and deadly illnesses is around ever corner. Who can Keelyn believe, who can she trust, and where might Raven be. If you have not read the first book in the Bloodline Trilogy, Proof then it is must read. Keelyn’s story kept me at the edge of my seat with action around every corner. I give her five stars for one of the best medical thrillers out there. If you are a fan of Candace Calverts novels then you will love Jordyn Redwoods novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't begin reading this at bedtime!

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did you read Jordyn Redwood's first book in the Bloodline Trilogy, Proof? If you did (or not), you might recognize the name Lucent. Lucent was the presumably hallucinatory man who forced John Samuals to kill his family. The only two to survive the massacre are Keelyn and Raven, Samuals' step-daughter and daughter.
Keelyn sits in her favorite eatery, Ruby's Diner, waiting for Lee, her fiance' and a police officer, when a stranger takes the seat at the counter beside her. He claims to be Lucent. Then he informs her he brought a child here, Raven's two-year-old daughter, to give to her and that if Keelyn tried to find him or Raven he will return and kill both her and the child.
The stranger leaves, and Lee arrives just as another woman hurries into the diner to tell him about a car in the parking lot containing two people: the driver is apparently passed out, and a child is crying in the back seat.
The driver turns out to be John Samuals' former psychologist. The crying child is Raven's daughter.
As the story unfolds, deceptions, murders, and mysterious deadly illnesses abound. Keelyn doesn't know who to believe, where her sister might be, or how to keep the baby safe from someone who wants to harm her.
I have to give this four and a half thumbs up. Just don't begin reading it at bedtime. I can tell you from experience you will be suffering from sleep deprivation the following day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Poison, Bloodline Trilogy Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense and gripping

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intense and gripping. From the first swallow, Poison’s potent brew of medical, police, and psychological thrills won’t leave your system. The only antidote is to finish the book—which you’ll do in record time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.