Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook

Harvest House Publishers The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook

As Ariana Forsythe plans her wedding to Philip Mornay, she must adjust to the realization that she is soon to become the wife of an extremely wealthy man. She wonders if it's wrong to rejoice that her future husband is rich. But she promises herself to use her new position to do what she can to aid the numerous street waifs she sees all too often in London.

During a tour of her future home-the house in Grosvenor Square-Ariana makes plans to redecorate according to her tastes. But when Philip arrives home later, he is informed that an expensive silver candlestick and a miniature portrait of George III have gone missing. Moreover, each time Ariana visits the house, accompanied by a friend or relation, another item disappears.

Shortly thereafter Ariana is abducted as she leaves a performance at Covent Garden Theatre, leaving Philip to unravel the pieces of the mystery. Where has his future bride been taken, and by whom? For what reason? How does Ariana's faith play a role?

Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
Review 1 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting Regency Romance!

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this endearing sequel, The House In Grosvenor Square, Linore R. Burkard reintroduces all the delightful characters we so fell in love with in Before the Season Ends! Set in Regency London, it is a time of coming out balls, lords and ladies, magnificent gowns, beautifully architectured mansions with finely manicured grounds, and of course...romance in the air!
*Spoiler alert if one hasn't read Before the Season Ends* Our heroine, the lovely and compassionate, Miss Ariana Forsythe, has captured the heart of Mr. Phillip Mornay, the wealthiest and most sought after bachelor in town. In Ariana, Phillip finds an unpretentious young lady, as beautiful on the inside as she is on the out, and has fallen in love with her AND her God, quite in spite of himself.
In the two weeks before they are to be joined in holy matrimony, dastardly happenings begin to occur, putting a blight on the couple's newfound happiness. Expensive objects begin to disappear from Mr. Mornay's house, Grosvenor Square, and someone tries to abduct Ariana on her way home one evening. What insidious, sinister force has reared its ugly head against Ariana and her betrothed?...and why? Will they finally make it to the altar or will darkness prevail against them?
I was blessed to be able to read these two books back to back, and what a wonderful journey it was! Ms. Burkard's extensive knowledge of the regency era; the customs, architectural designs, the aristocrat's "lingo", clothing designs, etc., is astounding! With an exciting storyline full of twists and turns, and a beautiful, spiritual thread throughout, this novel is a must read! Very impressive, Linore Burkard!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glad this won an award

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thelma Carlson
Location:Russell, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful, fantastic, well written story packed full of
love and forgiveness. I was so glad to learn it won an
award. "The House in Grosvenor Square" was as
wonderful as its sequel, "Before The Season Ends". I will
now be getting into its next and last sequel, "The Country
House Courtship". Why does this series have to end with
this third one? I would love to see at least one more
and on Lucy, the younger sister.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol S
Excellent Book!! I loved it so much, I had difficultyputting it down once I began reading it. Just as good as the first novel of Linore Rose Burkehead,"Before theSeason Ends". I do hope she writes more very soon,she is a fantastic author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Green
I must commend the author on a job well done. The way she writes in the style and language of the Regency era is uncanny. Her descriptions of clothes and places sets you right in the midst of early 19th century London. The story enthralls right from the beginning.Its great starting a new book with a group of characters you already love and that was exactly the experience as I got back into the story of Arianna Forsythe and Philip Mornay. Now as they prepare for their wedding, trial after trial seems to beset their walk down the aisle. Adversity attempts to separate the pair but with God and the perseverance of their love they just might make it. It was refreshing to see the continued sincere Christianity of Ariana. Shes even witnessing to her abductor. Imagine that! And Mr. Mornay, who became a Christian in book one, is growing in his faith and understanding. I quite enjoyed reading in Mr. Morays pov as his love for Ariana deepens and becomes apparent to just about everyone he knows. It just about makes your heart melt.This 2nd book although enjoyable and entertaining does not have the same flavor of a romance as did the 1st since the main characters are already engaged to be married, but it has a terrific plot that will have you reading into the wee hours of the night. I might even venture to say that it has a Gothic feel with a woman in peril by an evil villain and the hero coming to her rescue. So though I say this has a different flavor and not in essence a true romance, it is still romantic in nature. In summation: The House in Grosvenor Square is a satisfying conclusion to the romance of the characters from Before the Season Ends. Lovely story, lovely writing. Ms. Burkard has a knack of writing intriguing prose and outstanding historical details that draw you in completely. I enjoyed reading it and recommend this book and this author highly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
ann Brady
a little contrived at times. too much of the sameness in mysteries which caused it to seem slow. still a delightful fast read into this period.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Sweet Ariana Forsythe is planning her wedding to the most eligible bachelor in England, Philip Mornay. Is it wrong to start spending Philips money before the wedding? There are so many charities that need support. So much good she will be able to do. Soon. Or now? She visits his home to start moving her belongings in, but the servants dont seem to like her much. Why? Plus, someone is holding a grudge against Philip and has made several attempts to abduct Ariana. Can Philip discover who is trying to hurt him and keep Ariana safe?Linore Rose Burkhart weaves wonderfully complex dramas that make you want to go and read all your Jane Austen books as soon as you close the cover of hers. Her books are filled with a myriad of intriguing characters. I love that Ariana is a girl who isnt afraid to evangelize anyoneeven her abductor! And I love reading about Philips struggle to deal with his betrothed. This was a really fun book to read. I hope that Linore Rose Burkhart has more stories to tell about England 1813. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jodie DeHart
I had just discoverd Linora's books by accident and loved them. I was disappointed at the reviews of others concerning book #2 because I loved it. I wanted to jump into Ariana's and Phillip's world. Yes, it got insane with all the going on's in's and out's of missing people and the frustration, but hey, it's the 1900's and they did not not have cell phones...so what do we expect. Well, done, Linora, I look forward to book #3.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Where Before the Season Ends was spot-on Regency with a distinctive Christian influence, The House in Grosvenor Square strays towards an amalgam of historical romantic suspense. While still set in the Regency period and bearing all of the earmarks of the fashion, slang, and social mores, the novel jauntily heads down a much more modern path of plot development than the ancestors of the genre ever took.By including multiple kidnappings and one mysterious development after another, Burkard draws her young couple out of the insular dance of courtship, card parties, and gossip and into the realm of mild-mannered adventure. The continued emphasis on propriety, appearances, and purity still provide a small dose of the typical Regency escapism though not as much as the first novel contained. Oddly, the suspense-based plot also resulted in slower pacing than the romantic tension found in the original.I have just recently noticed a developing trend in Christian publisher Harvest Houses inspirational regencies. Both Linore Burkards and Kaye Dascus Ransome Trilogy series approach the genre with fairly traditional opening novels before diving into plots that are quite adventurous by Regency standards in the subsequent volumes. Im afraid that I cant say Im thrilled by the change in emphasis in these modern examples.Im not about to give up on the new approach however. Perhaps Ill develop as much of a taste for derring-do in jolly England as I do for stories of adventurous speculative fiction. To be fair, Burkard still includes plenty of loyal butlers, wardrobe changes, and blundering suitors to take us away to another time. Lets wait and see what she brings us next, shall we?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carman Boley
If you like Austen, you should read this series. Some regency writers try to copy Austen to the extent that their own story is lost. That is not the case in this book, however. I loved it. Linore is historically accurate, without being stuffy, or too detailed. The mayhem that occurs in this book is astounding. I loved when they are all going to each others houses, and missing each other by seconds. It was truly comical. This whole series had delighted me, and I am eagerly awaiting book three, The Country House Courtship.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy
There were times when I did not think it would end happily! I loved the roller-coaster ride of this story, never a dull minute. It was nice to see the vulnerable side to the man's character in his love for his bride to be. A sweet love story and unexpected turns at every corner
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tina Dee
I can't believe this book! Somehow the author maintained the same feel as the last book, but wove in so much more. It's like an amusement park ride with lots of twists and turns. I don't want it to end! When does the next one come out?The House in Grosvenor's Square - the ending of this great book is both satisfying and nearly cruel for the readeras though good friends are moving away. I hate goodbyes. But I loved this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emilee Barrett
I must say I did not enjoy this book at all! In the first book I couldn't put it down, but in this second one I found I couldn't pick it up. It took me 4 days just to get to chapter 5! In my opinion the author should have left the story alone, and not tried to right a sequel! I hope there is not going to be a third.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
N Casady
I was disappointed in this sequel. The characters' relational development in the first book seems to stagnate in the layers of plot in this book. I had hoped for a deepening love story between Ariana and Philip but got lost in all the pre-wedding drama to the point where I found myself skipping pages. I am, admittedly, irritated by books that end a love story with the wedding. As a happily married woman, I know that the REAL romance starts after the vows. I had hoped this book might provide more of that. But it does provide an entertaining story in a lovely setting that can delight ones sensibilities like a cup of tea and a plate of fresh scones...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
I'm rapidly becoming a fan of Regency romantic fiction, especially when it's written by Linore Rose Burkard! With a rich and authentic voice, eye for detail and a wit that fits my personality style, the sequel to her successful novel, "Before the Season Ends" is just as wonderful. Although you need a reference guide to make it through one of Linore's novels (due to rich detail and authenticity), nothing can detract from the skillful use of language and her knowledge of detail as she captivates you page after page. While it's true Linore writes in the style of Jane Austen... ...I enjoy Linore's writing so much more! The faith element is never contrived and adds an extra layer of richness to the storyline. Picture perfect is the scene with Ariana in her captive's carriage and the aftermath of that ordeal--just read it and you'll see what I mean. "The House on Grosvenor Square" releases from Harvest House...be sure to put it on your shelf! In the meantime, Linore rates another five out of five bookmarks, with a set of pantaloons as a charm...silk, no less!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2009
Linore has a real understanding of the Regency period. The sequel to 'Before the Season Ends' brings back Ariana and Mr. Mornay along with many of the other characters and several new. You will get to see all the mayhem that leads up to Phillip and Ariana's marriage and it will keep you turning the pages, I promise. If you like Regency you will love this book because Linore Burkard knows her stuff. Check out her website if you want to find out more about the Regency Period. It is great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The House in Grosvenor Square by Linore Rose Burkard is the second to feature Ariana Forsythe in a Regency Inspirational Romance. Ariana and fiance Phillip Mornay are just days away from their wedding, and she is getting ready to move into his Grosvenor Square manor. But every time she visits the house, something valuable disappears, and soon Ariana herself is disappearing from repeated kidnapping attempts. Phillip must discover who is at the bottom of both mysteries to save their wedding day. Burkard has perfected the art of mistaken identities and misconstrued messages making the plot zip with humor and fun, along with a more serious suspense plot as well. She juggles the romance, faith, humor, and suspense easily; I absolutely couldn't put this book down. I do love how there are certain traps that Burkard does not fall into. While there are plenty of near-misses in meetings, never does Ariana do trademark heroine actions of the type that have readers groaning in disgust and frustration (like leaving the house alone knowing that someone wants to kidnap her) making the book a true joy. I do hope that Burkard isn't finished with the couple's escapades; they are too good to end the series at just two books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
"The House in Grosvenor Square" is a charming tale full of mistaken identities, miscommunication, intrigue, and of course, the rich opulence of the day.It's a pleasure to rejoin Ariana Forsythe and Phillip Mornay (the main character from Burkard's debut novel, Before the Season Ends). As Ariana and Phillip prepare for their upcoming marriage, they are beset by all manner of trouble. A housekeeper who tries to turn the staff against Ariana, a friend who feels more than friendship, and a kidnapper who keeps abducting the wrong woman are just some of the obstacles they must face. It's a story of deep emotions laced with a great dash of Austen-esque humor.Not only does Burkard write a story worthy of the time, but she writes in the same style. Her use of Regency vernacular and spelling, as well as phrasing and customs, all lend to the authenticity of the book. As soon as you get between the covers of this novel, you'll feel like you've traveled back to another time and place.One caveat: I would highly recommend that you read "Before the Season Ends" first. Not only will you appreciate the story more, but it will help clear up who the many players are. You won't regret it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2009
Oh the problems of the days before the invention of the telephone! Servants had to scurry, carrying notes in this Regency England romance novel. Like a comedy of errors, the characters in this tale sometimes go round and round trying to get in touch with one another! I found myself chuckling as I read.More humor is found in the dialogue. Propriety is all-important. Imagine days before marrying, calling your beloved Mr. or Miss and staying apart so as to be able to control your emotions--worrying that there might be a scandal if you are caught embracing.The characters are richly written in three dimension. Ariana Forsythe stumbles from one misadventure to the next, barely escaping harm, while Philip Mornay dashes about to her rescue. Even the despecible villian, Mr. Whiddington, is so well written that I wish him well. I admire the way Ariana begins to pray when threatened with danger, which seems to be quite often, and it's interesting to watch Philip's acquaintances realize he's a different man now that he's found Christ. Even Whiddington pays attention when talk turns to things of God.I did not read the first novel in this series, Before the Season Ends, but since this is a stand-alone novel, I had no problems catching on. The plot moves along nicely. Discussions questions and a glossary are included.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Ah, finally... a sequel to "Before the Season Ends", the phenomenal Inspirational Romance that proved that the Jane Austen style translates to Christian fiction beautifully. In order to give "The House in Grosvenor Square" a proper read through, I sat down and re-read "Before the Season Ends" first. You must understand that nowadays I do not re-read books, I just simply don't have time thanks to my wonderful "to be read" pile of books. So I was pleasantly surprised that 1 year after reading it for the first time, "Before the Season Ends" thrilled me again as I curled up and savored every page. Upon finishing my re-entry into Ariana and Philip's world of debutantes, balls and fashion... I eagerly picked up "The House in Grosvenor Square" and started devouring it. I absolutely adored the way that Linore picked up just where she left off and swept me right back to the place of Lords and Ladies and Ariana and Philip trying desperately to make it to their wedding day without anything dire happening. There are only a few issues that threaten to keep their happiness at bay. First, someone is trying to take revenge on Philip by getting Ariana out of the way and they sure are persistent. I believe their motto is, "When at first you don't succeed, try, try again!"Second, can Philip and Ariana get to their wedding without any major misunderstandings on their part that might threaten to break them up?Third, Philip's household staff gets wind that Ariana might want to replace them when she moves in... can they foil those plans?This book is just delicious and I ate it right up! I can only hope and pray that Linore has many more plans for Ariana and Philip so I can keep visiting them over and over again!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The House in Grosvenor Square - eBook
This review is fromThe House In Grosvenor Square, London Regency Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
LOVE this book! It is a wonderful follow-up to the first book. Very fast paced - kept me turning pages way into the night! I couldn't put it down. Very intriguing storyline - great job Burkard!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>