Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book

B&H Books David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book

David, from the new "Personal Reflections" series, is an expansion of Beth Moore's beloved classic A Heart Like His. This 90 day devotional contains most of the text from A Heart Like His along with thoughtful study questions and space for journaling. With a lay-flat binding for comfortable journaling, this book is perfect for individual or small group study. Page edges (opposite the binding) are "deckled" (ragged) by design.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Review 1 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Devotional Book that Makes Us Think

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Super K
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His" by Beth Moore is a devotional book that goes into a large amount of detail to tell the story of David, from shepherd boy to king, "warts and all." Beth Moore's thought questions in the daily lessons are probing and thought-provoking, and the lessons and questions certainly can be used by the Holy Spirit to teach and convict us. My wife and I had recently finished Moore's 90-day devotional about Paul, and now we are about 1/4th the way through this book on David. We enjoy it because the lessons have us read main lesson scripture, and scripture that is background for or ancillary to the main lesson, and that provides application to the lesson. It also has space for daily prayer requests. I'd certainly recommend this book to others. And men, it's all right to read a devotion by a woman...but is best if your wife will read and study with you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully Bound book

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
roxanne
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great stories. It's a wonderful book to use to reflect on our lives. It has helped my bible study group in our everyday lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bible study material

Date:December 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
adelange
Location:Troy, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Ladies' Bible study group just began using this book. We are only up to day 15, but have been very impressed with the content so far. I have really enjoyed that each day is a relatively short study, but packed full of insight and very thought provoking questions. I also like the time of reflection and devotion at the end of each day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good for morning devotional time.

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jslk
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the scripture readings for each day, and how Beth gives a practical application for each passage. It is a great way to study David and start the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really like the way the study is set up.

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginger
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the study is a great devotional tool for every day use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leslie Carey
I think it is important that you have a familiarity with the books of Samuel. I just love the journaling and it does make you think. It started out as a study between 2 and we are now 3, we we meet and talk duing our weekly walks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyne Downs
I absolutely love the look and feel of the book itself, but once I open it and get into the study I know I will love it even more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Candi
I have so enjoyed this devotional on David. It relates to every emotion and struggle we go through with leadership, friendship, betrayal, insecurity and so much more. It stretched me and challenged me to think about how God is growing me through the challenges, victories and heartaches in my life. A great read especially if you are in a leadership role.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andy M
Great movie. Although it's a bit theologically weak, it does a good job of enlightening the issues that Christians face in today's society. Well worth the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Gonzales
Wonderful devotional. Only a few days into it and it is awesome. I have already recommended it to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela Paliga
Right now I am finishing the sister book, Jesus, 90 Days with the One and Only. Excellent book. This one is on the same format. Beth always goes deeper into the words on the printed page to give me a clearer understanding of the text. This has helped me become a more obedient Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheila Freier
It's supposed to be a personal devotional, but I am doing it with a friend, and it has been very rewarding for both of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael
WOW, Great Study!! Learning about David, and then looking within myself each day, has given me a lot of perspective on much more wonderful our God is. David's trials and tribulations, allow us to see that no matter what we go through God will be there guiding and pointing the way, even when we are not always looking. Guys, this is a great study!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sally Golding
What a beautifully bound book. We are already impressed with the thought out way in which each day is covered with great questions and plenty of room to record your thoughts or prayers. We are pleased with this selection!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy
I love this study. My husband gave it to me for Valentine's Day. I think this is the perfect study for busy Mom's. Our time can be pulled in so many directions. This is the perfect length bible study for those of us who want to know God more, reflect in Him, and grow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cherry Daniels
A life changing devotion. I picked up this book at a time when I felt like David hiding in that cave. Spending time w/God in these devotions not only brought me out of my cave but gave me a renewed faith and assurance in God's power to handle my life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Douglas Riedmiller
A most worthy study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Patt
I bought this book, a gift to myself for Christmas, partly because it involved 'journaling',(which I LOVE to do) and I am always looking for studies, or books, that work in my 'heart'. I began reading it, going back and forth between the questions, and readings, and my Bible, looking up any verses Beth Moore would quote, or make reference to. The first couple of chapters I sometimes struggled with being 'open' to answering the questions she posed...but then, as I continued to read, study, and pray, I found that I quickly FILLED the blank spaces, and MORE...often writing in and around every 'white space' I could find! I have never had a study 'grow me' so incredibly, or 'challenge me' so personally, or 'touch my heart' so deeply! I am amazed, at all that I 'found' in the life and story of David, and the Character of God, that I 'never knew' or understood, until going through this book. Beth Moore does an incredible job of presenting the life of David! Which in turn challenges the reader to learn from both the 'right and the wrong' in David's life. I am 'patiently awaiting' another "Personal Reflections" study...absolutely a 'must have' book for any Christian who desires to have 'a heart like His'
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Margaret
Absolutely the best! I have always loved the Lord but after completing this study, I know without a doubt this is the most wonderful LOVE a person can have. It is all consuming and all I can think about. I have never known a love like the one I have for my God! I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to develop a loving relationship with God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for David: 90 Days with a Heart Like His--Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Deb
If I could rate this higher, I would! The Lord has often used David to teach me about myself, so when I saw that Beth offered this I was interested. Over the course of the next few months I would "pop up" in conversation so often, that I knew that it was time. It is one of the best studies I've done, and I have gleaned SO MUCH from it already...not done yet. My plan is to purchase another one to do again in the future. If I could afford to buy one for all of my loved ones I would! It's that good!Thanks Beth!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.