Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate

Zondervan NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate

If your translation of choice is the New International Version (NIV), and if you appreciate The Message for the freshness and insight it brings to your reading of the Bible, then you’ll love the NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible. By setting these two versions together, this parallel Bible allows you to instantly compare today’s most popular modern-English Bible translation: the NIV, and Eugene H. Peterson’s best-selling paraphrase: The Message.

Features include
  • New International Version (NIV), 2011 update
    The NIV brings you as close as you can get to the reading experience of the original audience. In every verse it seeks to offer the optimum combination of transparency to the original text and transparency to the original meaning.
  • The Message
    The story-like flow and conversational style of The Message is treasured by countless people for the way its contemporary language illuminates ageless truths.
  • Foreword from Eugene H. Peterson
  • Double-column format
  • Ribbon marker
  • Silver page edges
  • Presentation page
  • 9.00" x 5.75" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 2796%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Review 1 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL EXCEEDS EXPECTATIONS RECOMMENDED

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
FIDELITY
Location:JEFFERSON, WISCONSIN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT BIBLE, BOUGHT FOR GIFTS... RECOMMENDED HIGHLY. WILL BUY AGAIN
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful Bible

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
maerrymary
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful Bible. The Message side of each page enriches the NIV side, bringing a deeper understanding to God's word
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

gift

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nana
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a birthday gift for my 13 year old grandson. It shipped in a timely manner and arrived on time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Purchased for Daughter for Christmas.

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Archdale, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking all over for this bible. Friend told me about website. Purchased bible at a great price and my daughter was thrilled!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect Gift

Date:January 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Potters House Lady
Location:Picayune, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bible as a Christmas gift and it was perfect. It arrived in plenty of time for Christmas and the engraving was elegant. I'm well pleased with my purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for reading or study.

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
JustMary
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having two translations helps when reading through. Four translations would be too many. Print size is good. Good one to use for family devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible to follow along with our Minister.

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Birdlady
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I love the Bible. It is very beautiful to look at and Love the side by side different Versions. My minister preaches from the message and I like to have both versions to follow along with him.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ease of comparison

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda Gayer
Location:West Frankfort, IL.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like to compare passages of the NIV which I use...to The Message...which I'd seen samples and liked. It makes Bible Study easier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for a young man.

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melody
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a gift. My son had seen a friends bible that was very easy to read and want one but also wanted to follow along with his bible teacher who used a different version. I found this that has both the NIV and Message in columns on the same page. It was the perfect gift and he really liked the color and quality of the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easier reading of the bible

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
aeyer
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend from bible study recommended this bible to me. She said that it would be perfect for easier reading of the bible. I am looking forward to reading the bible in a year. This was a great Christmas gift for my mother and I.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Charlie
Location:Salem, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Sunday, I lead a Bible Study at an Assisted Living Home for seniors. I love using the Message and they like it too, however I like being able to give them two versions of the readings. It's been a big help.
Charlie
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Syphia
Location:Tavares, Fl.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these bibles for myself and my 2 daughters we love our bibles because when we are going over scriptures in church we can look at the message section and see exactly what it means.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Weyia
Location:Little Rock, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Once I started reading the side by side of NIV and the messages bible the words of God just came alive just like I never read the Bible Before. I love it and now my friends want to order them one. I like the large print.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to Read & Understand First or Favorite Bible

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
GramaDebbie
Location:Iowa,RedOak
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this Bible to my granddaughter.. I have been mentoring her the past few months and since she'd never had a Bible of her own nor read one my granddaughter & I went through the online selections of Bibles you have available. After looking through the many you have, I said this one would be excellent. I believe it will bring Gods Word to life in her mind and heart. Ir was just two days after I recd it, I gave it my granddaughter. Two days later, she texted me & said, "Oh Grama I can't put my new Bible down! I love it so much. You told me God speaks to those who read and are ready to receive His word. Now, I have experienced it for myself. Thank you Grama, I love you". Isn't God just so true to His Word to keep His promises, be there for us and to love us always.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Toots
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. It helps me when I am trying to explain in plain English the ideas presented in the Bible..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too heavy

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnJohn
Location:los angeles
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just had no idea i'd have to be a weight lifter to lift my bible. The quality was great but this is a bible that needs to stay on a desk. Really disappointed I kinda thought this should have been mentioned. Not something you would take along to bible study unless you have been pumping iron.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great parallel Bible!

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love having the NIV and The Message next to each other! I love being able to read the two versions side-by-side, and I often gain insight into familiar NIV passages when I am able to refer to the same passage in The Message on the other side of the page.
My only complaint is that I noticed that a few of the words and phrases in this NIV version did not match my other NIV Bible. Perhaps it is a newer version of the NIV, but whatever the reason is, I would have appreciated knowing that information before I purchased it. It most likely would not have deterred me from purchasing this Bible, but I would have liked to know in advance.
Overall, though, I would definitely recommend this parallel Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
pdds
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband started reading The Message but knew he wanted to learn more. I got this for him and he is so delighted to get an overview from The Message but then read the NIV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maxine Smith-dawson
Location:Morgantown, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked the NIV Study Bible because one side has the bible verses and the other side the message. It really helped explain it better. I'm trying to red the bible in a year and I feel that study bible will really help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV and The Message Side-by-Side Bible, Personal Size: Two Bible Versions Together for Study and Comparison, Italian Duo-Tone, Turquoise/Chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Instance Crossover is great.

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bert
Location:Winnipeg, MB. CANADA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Instance Crossover and The Large Print, is so nice, makes for easier Reading. Very enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>