Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B&H Books Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples

The simple revolution has begun. From the design of the iPod to the uncluttered Google home page, simple ideas are changing the world.

Simple Church clearly calls for Christians to return to the simple gospel-sharing methods of Jesus. No bells or whistles required, so to speak.

Based on case studies of four hundred American churches, authors Thom Rainer and Eric Geiger prove that the process for making disciples has quite often become too complex. Simple churches are thriving, and they are doing so by taking these four ideas to heart: Clarity. Movement. Alignment. Focus.

Each idea is examined here, simply showing why it is time to simplify.

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
1 out of 250%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Review 1 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This is for bigger church's

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
rdub
Location:Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Its old stuff with a new spin.Focus is on big churches and way to many examples for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the peace of a simple church

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
gracekellygirl
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The simple movement has begun" says the authors Rainer & Geiger. When a church wants to shed programs, busyness and the conventional bells and whistle, what it is left with is a simple church. Sometimes as churches we get too wrapped up in what society thinks a church should be and we lose sight of how simple worship can be. Drawing closer to the Lord doesn't require fancy programs, glitz and glamor of the latest digital advancements to "enhance our worship pleasure". Reading the Simple Church helps bring basic worship back in focus to a place where we focus on our creator, not what we have created or made church to be.
This book helps us streamline and simplify our churches by focusing on Clarity, Movement, Alignment & Focus. It is not just another church model, but solid information that offers solutions to the over busy, stressed out church and its workers. Finally, a simple church plan; a breath of fresh air for the weary.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janice Charles
This book is excellent for any church who is wanting to get back to the real meaning of what God has called us as believers to do and that is to love the Lord God with all our hearts,to love one another and to reach the lost souls and serve the community by practicing what the word God tells us to do.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bruce Harp
Simply put, churches need to re-evaluate their structure more often than every 10 to 20 years and reorganize or adjust accordingly. The walk of faith produces the silhouette of Christ in a church not an average of what the "vibrant" churches do.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tom Park
This book has a good message that the church needs to hear, However the message was lost on me in the constant grafts, I've read a considerable number of "church direction" and discipleship books but this was hard to read with an inspiration to apply.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Antioch Southern Baptist
This is a quick read, but have your hi-liter handy. The authors give you the process by which your church can be much more effective in making disciples. In a day of tight schedules, this book will help you determine what needs to stay in your church schedule and what needs to go, by using the process outlined.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Howard Gunter
The writers are right on in encouraging churches to get back to basics and to God. Church is not the building, it's the people. If God wants your church to megasize, let it be by His hand. If God wants your church to be a small personalized church, let it be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
freedbyJc
You cannot get much SIMPLEr that this! Buy one for every leader and then pray hard! It is not a program or a process but under K I S S the authors Keep It Super Simple for you to revitalize your church or organization and get it back on track! and waych
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Horn
I found this book to be well written and the subject matter really hit the target. I agree with the authors that today's churches are becoming too much like a secular business with multiple departments more concerned with protecting their own budget, staff and projects. This is not the church that Jesus left us with and it is not the church that the apostle Paul propogated. Like the authors I believe that the church today must simplify, find its heart and mission and then stick to it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Butch A.
Simple this book is not.While the first few chapters our interesting by the time you get passed chapter 3 you will be questioning this books design and motive. The Idea of Clarity, Movement, Alignment and Focus are interesting this book does not present them very well. Save the time skip to chapter 3 and read the p.57 to 78. This is the only good part of the book. I'm wondering if the writer ever took a class on Technical Report writing. He talks of clarity but this book needs some work on being clear and focused. Great Idea poor presentation.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dr. Freddy Cardoza
Though Geiger-Rainer's book, Simple Church, has been out for the better part of two years, it remains high atop church leadership sales lists, and for good reasons. This is simply a great book. It is one that deliberately helps church leaders, professors, and denominational leaders understand how to understand how to create a life-transforming process for church growth and more importantly, Christian discipleship. Geiger-Rainer provide hard research-based evidence that four primary and guiding principles can be implemented into church ministries for impact and growth. This book has already been purchased by front-line church leaders, but many other have yet to get their copy. Other, newer, books have not replaced the need for this critical contribution and as one who trains leaders full-time, I agree with hundreds of thousands of others who have read this book-- it is a must-read and a MUST IMPLEMENT for every serious Century 21 church leader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev. Jason R. McConnell
When I saw this title, I was intrigued and optimistic. Any book that promises a return to "God's Process for Making Disciples" is a book I want to read. But as it turns out, it is just the latest installment of church growth propaganda. It fails to deliver on a number of promises it makes. First, it claims that it is not another church model, but it is. The authors basically say that if you follow their simple plan for church organization, then your church will become "vibrant" and will grow. They use the word "vibrant" throughout the book but they never explain what that means. Second, they claim a "return to God's Process for Making Disciples", but their model has very little to do with God. Most of the examples are taken from the business world and when they do quote Scripture, they stretch the verses far beyond their intent to fit their point. Third, they claim their ideas come from extensive research involving case studies of four hundred American churches, but other than a handful of graphs, they never share their findings. It is not what I would call solid research. And finally, the book itself betrays their "simple approach." They use 250 pages to write a 25 page article. There are as many pointless illustrations as there are substantive ideas.I suppose this book could be helpful to a large church that is consumed by mission statements, programs, and events. But if a church really wants to simplify its ministry, I would simply reccomend reading the Bible.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lighthouse Community Church
God has called the church to the task of making disciples, we need to develop a process to move people from unbeliever to a faithful follower of Christ. Every church, whether it knows it or not, has a process to do that. Unfortunately, more often than not, an overemphasis on multiple programs tend to cloud the process. Geiger and Rainer do an excellent job of demonstrating the necessity of simplifying the process our church uses to move people toward faithfulness to Christ. My only critique (and what made it 4.5 instead of 5.0 stars) is that I would have like to seen more on the issue of the criteria needed to determine whether programs or events fit into the process. This criteria is essential to prevent one of two over extremes. The first is the temptation to rationalize just about everything we do in the church to "fit" into the process. The other is to simply remove the programs we don't like because they don't "fit" the process. Overall, Simple Church is a needed call back to the church's primary calling: making disciples.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tom LaHue
Simply Awesome! That is all I want to say, but every review has to be at least fifteen words long, I tried to keep it simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Samuel Neil
Very strait forward and informative. Easy reading.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Allen Nichols
I read around a dozen books a year on church growth and church models. Most are very good and provide some interesting insights. But this is the first time Ive ever submitted a review. Why? Because this book is the best Ive read on this subject. I think this is what spiritual seekers are looking for from a church: a simple and yet profoundly spiritual process not more programs and activities. Dont wait any longer. Get this book and read it. You will discover the pure beauty of simplicity and it will change your concept of church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Simple Church: Returning to God's Process for Making Disciples
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2006
For any congregation struggling with strategic planning, this book will be a God-send! Until reading this title, all books dealing with strategic church planning were hard-to-understand, hard-to-follow, and even harder to communicate to others. Rainer and Geiger now finally have made church strategic planning simple. In less than 250 pages, the authors have presented an extreme makeover process to take a congregation from a bloated, burnt-out organization to a streamlined, sleek spiritual body.The steps described here are simple, but far from easy and painless.For any pastor or church leader who is planning strategically, this book is a must-read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.