Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers A Stranger's Wish - eBook

Harvest House Publishers A Stranger's Wish - eBook

Englischer Kristie Matthews' move to an Amish family farm in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, starts on a bad note as the young schoolteacher is bitten by a dog. A trip to the local ER leads to an encounter with an old man who hands her a key and swears her to silence.

But when Kristie's life is endangered, she suspects there's a connection to the mysterious key. While solving the mystery (and staying alive), Kristie must decide whether her lawyer boyfriend, Todd Reasoner, is really right for her....or if Jon Clarke Griffin, the new local man she's met, is all he seems to be.

Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
Review 1 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:November 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda A
Location:Guntersville, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this book so much I purchased and read the whole series. Now I am looking forward to the next one. I wanted this series to continue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
necia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good plot, doesn't keep repeating parts of the story as if you couldn't remember from one chapter to the next. Then didn't tell you if the cont. to date or got married. Found out in the next book. I think it should have told in the first book and then just carried them over into the next like it did. It was listed under Amish but it had very little to do the the Amish only slightly could have included them more especially in the second book. Haven't read the third book yet. Sounds good though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just ok.

Date:April 1, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a pretty good book, and I liked the mystery, but it was a little odd in some places. Also, I was surprised at some of the things they said about the Amish people and customs. At times, what was said was completely different from what I had read about the Amish in other books. (So I don’t know if this book is factual, or not considering the different information.) Although this was a romance, it wasn’t very romantic. At times, I wasn’t even sure if the couple would end up together, honestly. It could have gone either way, and I wouldn’t have been surprised. That’s all I’m going to say, as I don’t want to rag on the book. It wasn’t terrible or anything, I just didn’t love it. I wouldn’t recommend this to everyone, but I’m sure some people will enjoy it. It just wasn’t my type of read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining and Informative

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zbates
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has an intriguing storyline from the start; adventure would also describe it. Pleasant Amish living in current times is described but doesn't dominate. Gayle Roper is a very talented author with an impressive vocabulary. I had to look up a few words in the dictionary!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou Freeman
I haven't finished reading the whole book yet, but from what I read, I look forward to reading some more. Very different than I thought. I know that I will like the ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Chastain
Good book with good content. I just wish it had been longer. I like a good mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Struck
A different type of Amish book but I really enjoyed it and look forward to the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2010
This is probably one of the least favorite Amish books that I have ever read! I average at least one book that I read a week and this was one of the my least favorites, story line jumped around so much! Rather sorry I wasted my money on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jane Moshell
A wonderful Christian Mystery set in the heart of Amish Country. Once I read the first chapter I had to keep on reading. The story holds ones interest and keeps you guessing until the end. Gayle Roper did a wonderful job and I look forward to the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Swartz
This book is real good it keep u at the eagle of your seat all through the book,the mysterious key is the connection to what happen in Kristie's,I enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Brooks
I found this book to be very well written. It was intriguing and kept me readingto the finish - well past bedtime! Very enjoyable, very rich.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marylou Dominguez
I really enjoyed reading this book and I can't wait for #2 to come out in september and you can be sure that I will order it and I will continue to order from christian book.com, everything that I have ordered has always been on time. Thank you you so much for your great service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Stranger's Wish - eBook
This review is fromA Stranger's Wish, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #1 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cleo Tomlin
I am almost through with this book and it is really exciting. I love Amish novels and have read over 80 of them last year. I try to keep up on when new ones are coming out so I can get those also. Thank you for these books and I look forward to leting you know about the others after I have read them. My husband says that I read t em so fast and that I should slow down so they will last longer but once I start I can't put them down.Cleo Tomlin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.