Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Life Journey Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation

Life Journey Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation

The woman who is separated from her husband walks a a lonely road-one filled with moments of despair. This is an inspirational and encouraging collection of honest and heartfelt messages written by a woman who really does understand-she has traveled the same path in her own marriage. Firmly rooted in Scripture, she offers women practical steps for sorting out the emotional and mental chaos of separation as well as the biblical support they need to retain hope, hold fast to God and trust Him for the outcome.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Review 1 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A companion in pain, God centered

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Issie
Location:Perth, Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my husband and I separated I went into overdrive to find what had happened, ...how did we arrive to this situation? This could not be happening to me. I read many christian books on marriage and separation. All of them were great inspiration, and I believe God used them all to point to my sins, to show me where I had failed, with clarity and love. But I must say this book, by Linda Rooks, is the book I still continue reading. The vulnerability and the honesty with which Linda shares her story, step by step from beginning to end, makes you feel you are sharing with a friend who understands. Someone who does not take the pain away or justifies your actions, but someone who points you to God, holding your hand. Not two stories are ever the same, but sin is sin regardless of its form and our Lord God is the only one that matters. I would recommend this book to absolutely anyone going through the pain of separation "...to give you a hope and a future." Jeremiah 29:11.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Mississippi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am seperated now from my husband and this book has helped me so much. Jesus Christ is the ultimate healer but it helps to read a book from someone who has walked the road I'm on now. It looks like I will be getting divorced but I pick this book up and it helps me not to give up. Don't focus on the circumstances but give it all to God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Daily Devotional for Divorce

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
CycloneEggie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meet is a great daily devotional for anyone dealing with separation or divorce. I read a short chapter everyday along with my daily Bible verses and it helps so much. This book is geared towards women, but the themes apply to men as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mummy
Location:Cuyahoga Falls Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a relative. I thought it might be helpful and give hope to her at a traumatic time in her life.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hits Home!

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
GMCarlson
Location:Livermore, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book...I can't tell you how many days I have sat down to read this book and how what is was saying was just what I needed to hear that day! God is good that way. This is really helping me through one of the most trying times of my life. If read daily it is a great guide in getting through each day and realizing you aren't alone and there is hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Transparent Truth

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
M. Pieper
Location:Mount Dora, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“I just don’t understand. Why would he walk out on everything we have? I feel as though I’ve been living a lie—a lie I still wish were true.”
The young woman sat in my husband’s office, sobs wracking her swollen body. A few weeks away from delivering her third child, she now faced the pain of marital separation. Her husband said he didn’t love her—hadn’t loved her for a long time. And despite his vehement denials, she suspected he’d found someone else. Where would she go? What could she do?
My husband and I counseled our young friend and her husband as best we could. We wished they weren’t the only members of our young adult Sunday School class to face this problem. We wished we had more resources for what’s become a growing concern for believers and non-believers alike: the problem of marital separation.
Linda W. Rooks provides just such a resource in Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation (David C. Cook, 2006). When you’re hurting, you don’t need pious platitudes or legalistic lectures. You want someone to listen. You want someone to understand. And you want someone to walk beside you on an always-painful, often-unwanted journey.
The author combines a tender heart with skillful writing to transform a time of personal pain into a vehicle of healing. As she tells her story in fresh, honest language, she provides godly encouragement and practical advice for those who face similar anguish. Short, self-contained chapters allow readers who can’t devour an entire book to savor its truth a few pages at a time.
I loved (and hated) the author’s transparency as she described her journey. But what I loved more was the way she went beyond personal experience to encourage readers with Scripture, heartfelt prayers, and small suggestions sure to make a big difference.
Although Linda’s story has a happy ending (she and her husband have reconciled and now help others who suffer similar marital pain), she writes from a humble, fresh, and open perspective that urges readers to seek God first. I’ll keep this resource on hand for the next sobbing wife or sullen husband who shows up at our door. May God continue to use Linda’s wisdom to guide readers through a season no one desires but many encounter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
cinnyluvscats
Location:West Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost all of this book has spoken to me on the many feelings, emotions, dimensions, etc. of what I'm going through now. My marriage ended after 25 years, an affair, and now mental cruelty from my one-time husband. Linda Rooks book has been a bright spot in my dark times!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Harris
I swear this book was written just for me. I have read other books, to try to help me understand what was happening but none compared to this one. Broken Heart on Hold helped me to heal. As difficult as my situation is...I found out that there are other Christian women suffering and there is no shame and yes we are special and yes we are good Godly Christian women that could relate and hold your head up and not let the enemy destroy us, but to keep pressing on for our soul-mates NO MATTER if they walk away from the Lord or from us. Keep praying, keep praying, keep praying for them. NEVER STOP, God gave them to us so it brings HIM joy when we continue to intercede for them no matter how bad it is or gets.(believe it or not, they are in torment, the enemy has deceived them and it is up to us to intercede for them) It WILL bring Glory to the Lord and yes women, you will be rewarded. You are in His hands when you seek him for guidance and restoration. Thank you Lord!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
heather
The BEST book I read while I was separated!! Instead of focusing on putting my marriage back together, Linda helped me focus on keeping myself together. I cannot say enough about how helpful this book was!!! I've read it three times already. She was able to articulate and explain feelings that I didn't even realize I was experiencing. EVERY woman who is currently enduring an unwanted divorce should read this.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ruth
After my husband moved out I was desperate to read anything for advice and/or direction. I read everything from "forget the bum" to "do this and he'll come home". Not until I read Linda's book did I begin to get my heart and mind where they needed to be. Away from my husband and failed marriage and back to the heart of God. Linda has an amazing way of walking through the pain with you but encouraging and directing you out wallowing in it. She helps you move your eyes off the situation and onto the loving face of Jesus! I have read the book 3 times and each time it has been a blessing in a new way as my heart changes and grows through this dark time. I have and will continue to recommend and give this book to anyone who is facing separation or divorce. It may not change the out come of your separation but it will change your out look and your heart for God!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jerri Barnard
I could not believe what I was reading!!! It was like Linda Rooks opened my heart and mind and read everything that was inside!! I could not have written a better book to describe what every woman goes through during a separation! Thank you Linda! You have given me hope and encouragement during this troubled time, and I praise God for giving you the insight and accurate words and appropriate scriptures for guiding those of us who have unfortunately followed your footsteps. May God bless you for your faithfulness! I encourage ANY woman (or even man) who is going through a separation to read this book!!You will be totally amazed!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Broken Heart on Hold: Surviving Separation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Eva Marie Everson
My best friend is going through a time of separation and most probably divorce. After getting Linda's book, I rushed it to my friend with an encouraging word. "This neither promotes divorce nor staying together. It's just to get you through THIS hard time." She called a few days later. "This has helped save my sanity," she said. "I have wept and I have found peace. That's what I need most of all; peace." Linda's words are penned not from interviews but from first-hand knowledge. These are truly HER words. I have had the blessing and joy of watching her take journals of hard and trying days and turn them into words of hope and healing. This work is truly superb.We live in an era when divorce is on the rise and yet no one wants to address the core of hurt: the heart. So many books are written about how to simply carry on...when to date again...how to get credit in your name. All important stuff! But what about the healing of the heart? And what if...what if???...God is doing a work that will change the course of your life in oh, so many ways? Is it possible to wrap your mind around that while trying to deal with so much other stuff? Linda's book is A+! If you or someone you know is in the midst of separation or divorce, get it! You won't be sorry. Eva Marie Everson, Author: The Potluck Club Books; Sex, Lies, and the Media
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.