Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Plain Jayne - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Harvest House Publishers Plain Jayne - eBook

Jayne Tate loves her life as it is-living in a big city, working as a reporter for a fast-paced newspaper, and dating a guy who knows nothing about her past. When her father passes away though, she's forced to take another look at what she wants out of life. After losing out on the big career opportunity she was hoping, for she decides to escape to Oregon Amish country, seeking solace and maybe a big story.

Even in this land of buggies and bonnets, Jayne finds life more complicated than she expected. Can she persuade herself that her growing friendship with the mysterious and handsome Levi Burkholder is just about research? And what's a latte-drinking, laptop-using, motorcycle-riding reporter to do when this new life starts to change her?

Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain Jayne - eBook
Review 1 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy amish novels. This one is also very enjoyable. Jayne takes leave of her job and goes to find a story among the Amish. Great stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great read with wit and charm.

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
raybo
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, Hillary delivers a book filled with life issues and genuine characters. I didn't mind learning a little about fashion and cuisine because the story moves right along and the issues demand resolution and satisfaction. Hillary delivers both. Any body who wants a wholesome, fun and encouraging experience that will bring laughter and tears would benefit from this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny, romantic, and entertaining.

Date:November 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Review by Jill Williamson
Jayne Tate’s father just passed away. But she’s fine. They weren’t all that close. Her boss disagrees and forces her to take a leave of absence from the newspaper. Jayne decides to make good use of her leave and come up with a brilliant article. She rides her motorcycle down to Amish country, hoping to get an inside look on how the Amish live.
Jayne meets carpenter Levi Burkholder, who helps her find an Amish family to board with. Sure, Levi is cute, but Jayne has a boyfriend back in Portland. But the more Jayne gets to know her new Amish friends, the more she longs to simplify her own life. But how? Making peace with her mother and sister is one thing. But what should she do about her boyfriend and Levi. Something has got to give. But what?
I had the privilege of hearing Hillary Manton Lodge read an excerpt of this at the Oregon Christian Writer’s conference. It was a scene in which Jayne attempts to remove a pie from an over. What’s the big deal about that, you might ask? Jayne is petrified of ovens. It’s that kind of humor that adds a wonderful quirk to a charming story. I loved this book. Read it in two days. If you like romance and humor and the Amish, pick up a copy of Plain Jayne. You won’t regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie Schad
I'm four chapters into this book and it's so good, it was hard to put down. It's well written and I feel like I'm in the story. Jayne is a reporter on a three week vacation that her newspaper editor boss urges her to take. Where I'm reading, she's doing a free-lancing story on the a New York Amish community. She meets a carpenter, Levi Burkholder who has never joined the Amish faith so is estranged from his father. Jayne wanted to stay with an Amish family during her vacation, so the story will be from her perspective of that experience. So far, this is the perfect Amish story. I'm enjoying it and you had better go and purchase this, you'll like it too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gail
Didn't like this book at all. There's something too flippant, superficial and breezy about Jayne. And it seems even though she was attempting to renew her relationship with God that it was a very shallow relationship.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miriam Cheney
I love this story for its fast pace, tight dialogue, and new twist on a much-used subject in Christian fiction. Hillary does a great job crafting characters with quirks and conflicts. She opens a window into the modern life of the Amish and gives us a glimpse of the tension between their world and our own. Her writing is all sprinkled through with personality--clever humor and catchy voice and not an adverb in sight! :-) Well, maybe one or two. My point, though, is that her sentences sing with action verbs. A great debut novel for a lovely young writer. (Emphasis on young, but we won't hate her for it.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
I will buy the author's next book but was disappointed in Jayne's love life. I didn't think she was very mature the way she treated Levi.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joann
Delightful book. I am not normally a fan of the Amish books, but I look forward to the next in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Plain Jayne is a great book. I really enjoyed reading it and getting to know the characters. Jayne is a woman who is afraid of loving because of a hurtful past, and Levi is a great man who is ready to love, despite his painful past. Despite the obstacles between them, they fall in love and learn to trust one another. Patience also becomes an important part in the story, as the characters learn to not rush each other. Hillary uses witty, compelling writing to draw you into the story and connect you to the characters. I recommend this book, and really look forward to reading the rest of the series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Plain Jayne by Hillary Manton Lodge is a new kind of Amish story, with a sort of chick-lit twist. Jayne Tate, who grew up on the Oregon coast, now lives in Portland and writes for the Oregonian. To escape troubles at work and in relationships, she heads out on her motorcycle to visit an Amish community in hopes of doing a feature story on them. The fictional Amish settlement is set in the Willamette Valley near Albany. Since Im a native Oregonian from the Mid-Valley and have written for newspapers, I enjoyed reading about familiar territory, but this also made incorrect details stick out more. Such is the risk when writing about actual places, but most readers wont notice.The book is an enjoyable read and should particularly resonate with younger women since they can readily identify with the main character, whos in her 20s. Im much older and still found it appealing. The novels inhabitants seem quite real and each is uniquea grand accomplishment for a debut novel. The storys events unfold in a believable manner and made me want to keep reading to see how Jayne would handle whatever came up.Jayne has avoided family relations since she left home, but her Amish host family teaches her significant lessons about family and life, while adding new struggles for her to deal with. Does she want to become romantically involved with an ex-Amish man? Should she encourage his sister to remain Amish or assist her in breaking free? Escape with Plain Jayne and enjoy both her Amish excursion and fast-paced Portland life. The sequel in this Plain and Simple series is in process and being eagerly awaited by Hillarys fans, among whom I count myself. (Its even more fun when I know the author personally.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Seitz
This book is very interestingly written. The writer uses many different expressions that keep the book alive and interesting, never boring. I recommend this book to any reader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Plain Jayne by Hilary Manton Lodge is the first book in the Plain and Simple series. There are lots of titles to choose from in the growing genre of bonnet fiction, or as I like to call it Amish lit, but Lodge takes an unusual approach in introducing an Englischer who becomes fascinated with the Amish lifestyle. Jayne Tate's writing at the newspaper has lost its edge since the death of her father, so her boss puts her on sabbatical to regain her balance. Instead of taking a vacation, Jayne gives herself a new writing assignment of discovering the truths about the Amish community just outside of town. Her contact to the Amish is Levi Burkholder, a cabinet maker who she quickly discovers has left the Plain life that she finds herself so drawn to. Jayne falls in love with the handiwork and quiet life of the Amish but must examine whether the attraction is in part to avoid troubles in her own life. Lodge's representation of the Amish is spot-on with the merits and flaws of the community. Jayne is thoroughly likable and readers will find it easy to relate to her self-discovery and her love for the Burkholder family. I don't want to give away the ending by giving the protagonist of the next book, but I really can't wait to read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Plain Jayne by Hillary Manton Lodge is an absolutely fabulous read! I cannot tell you how much I loved this book.This book is totally unique. It's not at all your typical Amish novel. I was hooked from the start and hated to put it down for a minute. The story was suspenseful and kept me turning the pages. There's drama, action, suspense, and romance. And the characters became like family to me. I love Jayne! She is realistic and flawed and funny and I would want her to be my best friend. I laughed hysterically at times, I cried at times, and I was totally engrossed and on the edge of my seat at times. I love a book that makes me laugh out loud and I love this author's sense of humor! This book is going on my list of very favorite books. I would highly recommend this book to anyone. It's got something for everyone. It's got contemporary, real world along with a touch of Amish story. It's funny and romantic and suspenseful. It's a real winner in my book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
I am super happy that I had the chance to read this new Amish novel by Hillary Manton Lodge. This is Hillary's debut book and she already has a wonderful talent that matches that of Beth Wiseman or Wanda Brunstetter. Hillary brings us to a lovely character named Jayne, a reporter for an Oregon paper. She's trying to overcome things from her past and she hightales it to Amish country for a freelance story, befriends the owner of an Amish woodshop, Levi, and is taken in by an Amish family, where she begins to question her life. Jayne, Levi, Sara and all the other amazing characters, make their way deep into your heart and you will laugh and cry with them as if you have been friends with them all your life! Not only does Hillary make sure that this is not your typical Amish book by adding so much more humor to this story, she adds God to the works with a message of His love, grace and forgiveness. Plain Jayne is just the first of Hillary's books, but I know, with the wonderful talent she shows, we are in for many more books by her- the next of which is Simply Sara, due to release in September 2010. Plain Jayne is at the top of my recommendation list, with a 5 star (I wish it could be more!) review from me! *A copy of this book was provided for review by Glass Roads PR/ Harvest House Publishers*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Jackson
The book is fabulous, I loved it. It comes from a different perspective and is full of humor yet it has true life struggles. I think Hillary Manton Lodge is a great new author of the Amish fiction I so love. I can't wait to read the next one. I laughed and cried. The characters are many dimensional. And the storyline has twists and turns, leaving you unable to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
One of my most favorite Amish books ever! I absolutely loved the style of writing. I loved Jayne's quick wit even when it was in her thinking. I loved the story line. I loved Jayne living with the Burkholders. The relationship with Jayne and Levi was awesome and I loved seeing the resolution within Jayne's family! I do wish editors would do their jobs better. It is a real buzz kill to fall in love with a character and then have the wrong name used when talking about them or even spelled wrong. That irked me but no reflection on the author or the story. I absolutely can not wait for the next one of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Jayne Tate lives in the big city of Portland, Oregon. She loves her job as a reporter for a busy newspaper, and enjoys an undemanding relationship with her boyfriend. Shane knows her only as the motorcycle-riding, modern news gal from Portland. Her childhood hasnt been discussed, he hasnt met her family, and Jaynes perfectly fine with that.Then her father dies, and her boss insists she take a three-week break from her job, based on a pronounced downswing in writing quality. This forced hiatus effectively cuts Jayne out of a prime career opportunity. She responds by heading off to a nearby Amish community, seeking a story that will put her back in her bosss good graces. Being forced away from her desk for three weeks doesnt mean she cant work on her own.Her first contact in Albany is Levi Burkholder, who arranges for Jayne to stay with his Amish familya family and a way of life he is no longer a part of. While wrestling with an undeniable attraction to the kind, handsome carpenter who is shunned by his Amish father, Jayne finds herself drawn to the Burkholder family and their simple way of life. Three weeks under their roof changes her, and when she returns to Portlandher job, her lonely apartment, and the handsome suitor who really doesnt know herthey no longer satisfy.To say nothing of the fact that her mind refuses to let go of one unforgettable kiss she shared with a not-quite-Plain man.Plain Jayne is not your everyday Amish love story, and Jayne Tate is not your everyday heroine. Hillary Manton Lodge brings a different kind of romance. Dropping a very modern woman into a devoutly Plain community has all the makings of disaster, but the author makes it work, believably and without obvious contrivance. She throws in a dash of humor, a whole lot of heart, and an Amish kitchen full of home cooking to come up with the perfect recipe for a romance to remember.I look forward to the next stories in the Plain and Simple series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
I absolutely loved the story line of this book and I cannot wait for her next book, Simply Sara to be published. I found the book, witty, interesting, different, and written very well. I hated to see it end!!! I loved the character Jayne. Sara also and I am anxious to see what happens to Sara. Can't wait!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
I really enjoyed this book. It kept you going all through it. I was mad at Gideon that he wouldn't accept Levi and then he would have to ignore Sara as well. If they dont join the church than they can come and go but Gideon has problems with pride. Can't wait till the nest one . Way to go Hillary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plain Jayne - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
It is often easy to try something new, but itnot easy to change one's entire life as Jaynefound out. Each person needs to find their place in life and spread God's love from there as Jayne discovers in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>