Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2

WaterBrook Press Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2

Josie Brooks, at the age of 47, thought she was leading an enviable single life. A successful consultant, she calls her own shots, goes where the money is, and never needs to compromise. But her precisely managed world begins to falter during a Chicago contract when an economic downturn, a bleeding heart boss, and the loyalty and kindness between endangered employees ding her coat of armor.

Throw in hot flashes, a dose of loneliness, a peculiar longing for intimacy, an unquenchable thirst-not to mention a mysterious snowglobe with a serene landscape, complete with a flowing river and lush greenery that seems to be beckoning her in-and Josie's buttoned-up life is on the verge of coming completely undone. Maybe her solitary existence isn't as fulfilling as she has convinced herself to believe.

Average Customer Rating:
3.524 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
16 out of 2080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Review 1 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Difficult Read

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Serenajo
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Divine Appointments challenged my attention span in more ways than one. Accustomed to "consuming" books, I picked up this one with eager expectation of being amused, entertained and inspired. Sadly however, I was none of the above. I had to constantly remind myself that I needed to finish reading the novel. The far-fetched idea of a "living" globe, coupled with the beleaguered writing of a journal by one of the secondary characters was more than my mind could handle. I was truly disappointed by the author's interpretation and development of the idea of Divine Appointments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book for the struggling economy

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gretchen
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the start, this book was a little challenging to get into. The topics definitely were easy to relate too, but the characters and “supernatural” snow globe seemed a bit unrealistic and hard to believe. The storyline was understandable and once into the story, was easier to follow. A wonderful theme of trusting the Lord no matter what and doing what He wants you to do was present throughout. I just wish there was a little more presence of Jesus and what He can do to change your life and give you hope. He truly can change us and redirect our lives when He wants to. Life isn’t just about our careers and how much we can store up for ourselves on earth, but focusing on the heavenly things. I do agree with the author that the Lord puts different people in our lives for a reason, and in essence, divine appointments. He is control of all, even when we don’t understand it. Overall, an okay read and worth reading all the way to the end, even if the beginning was a bit rough.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Divine Appointments

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
emmylou585
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided to choose this book was because I am around the age of Josie Brooks. I was anxious to see what the Divine Appointment had to do with her life. I look to look at snow globes and wondered what the significance of the snow globe was for her. I loved how the other used the sounds scenery in the snow globe to depict Josie's feelings. Josie had a busy life with things going fast paced. I think Josie felt that she was too busy in her life to have a relationship. She had a consulting job to do for the company. I don't think it bothered her as much at first who she was agreeing to terminate until she got to really know the people. Josie had a very dyfunctional family growing up so she didn't know any better. But through Barb, Marsha and many of the others she started to find herself. I felt as though I knew Barb Dewitt so well. She cared for everyone. You could tell that Frank really cared for her. I think we can all learn from the Encouragement Club. I had a hard time getting into this book at first but as I continued reading it, I could not put it down. All of the characters seem to find themselves after they learned a great deal from Barb. She was indeed a divine appointment that touched everyone. And...of course Snow globe had a big hand in it too. When I look at a snow globe from now on, I think I will look more at its significance rather than its beauty. This is a must read book. I give it 4 stars. I received this book from Waterbrook Multmonah to review. This review contains my personal thoughts about this book and no one else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A disappointing read, and not a Christian book.

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda Risner
Location:Ruckersville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A disappointing read, and not a Christian book.
Independent and menopausal, Josie Brooks is a business consultant whose job is to streamline companies, recommending deep employee cuts among other things. Her encounters with a true friend, a bleeding-heart man, people who care about each other, a mystical snow-globe, and a series of coincidences change how she sees herself and those around her.
Divine Appointments was a bit disjointed at the beginning, although it did improve as the book went on. As for the spiritual implications, there weren’t any. One secondary character was presented as a believer. And the faith of one minor character was mentioned in passing. However, that character married a self-proclaimed non-Christian, with a “maybe-he’ll-get-religion” attitude. Not the kind of Biblical response one generally expects from Christian fiction.
It would be a stretch, but the mystical snow-globe with a running river quenching Josie’s thirst could be used to illustrate the Living Water and our thirst for Christ. But that certainly was not made clear in this novel.
And just to be aware of potentially controversial inclusions, wine, beer, and other alcoholic beverages were consumed throughout the book, though in a wine-with-dinner, grab-a-beer-after-work way. Also, a figurine of a nude couple embracing was a focal point for the main character who longs for that kind of intimacy. It did specify that it was a nonsexual embrace, however, the nudity was completely unnecessary and potentially offensive.
All in all, a relatively clean story with an emphasis on the importance of relationships and encouraging each other. But I wouldn’t recommend it.
A complimentary review copy of this book was provided by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group with no expectation of a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Life is full of Divine Appointments

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
nolagirlatheart
Location:Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Up Side: Charlene Ann Baumbich has captured the unique personalities of each of her characters in a way that made me feel as though I had known them for years. I especially liked Josie Brooks. I was able to relate to her drive to be successful and in control, until the events of life are no longer controllable. I believe that the people and events in our life are more than consequences they are divine appointments.
The Downside: I never really understood the need for the sidebar writing tangent of the character Marsha who was dealing with life's roller coaster ride of divorce. The character names were bizarre and hard to pronounce and I found myself just skipping over these unnecessay page fillers. The book was complete with out the distraction.
Divine Appointments: All in all a good read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Details that make a reader feel like they're there

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
TERenich
Location:Northern Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I almost didn’t select this book off the list, because I didn’t much care for the crystal ball gracing the front cover. There is a reason for the saying: don’t judge a book by its cover. So, instead of bypassing it altogether, I checked out the description of the book and learned that the object of prominence was a snow globe rather than a crystal ball. I decided to give it a try. Regardless of the artwork on the front cover, the true draw for me was a main character (Josie Brooks) who is older than I am, still single and never been married or had any children, and the setting being the city of Chicago, Illinois. I had a chance to go to Chicago when my team played the Bears at Soldier Field last October (and won!).
I thoroughly enjoyed the mention of places I’d been and things I’d seen in Chicago: Navy Pier, museums and libraries, the “L”, taxi rides, the lakeshore, bagel shops, and the tall buildings that comprise the recognizable downtown skyline. I like it when authors can make you feel as if you are in that place they are telling you about.
I could also identify with the characters who had lost their jobs and the anxiety about what might happen next in life. In that aspect, it’s a story far too many people might be able to identify with – and the way one character, Barb DeWitt, combats the fear with the creation of the “Encouragement Club” is, well, an encouragement.
I was under the impression that this was an inspirational work of fiction, and if so, then it came up empty for me. The snow globe and its uncanny “rushing water” vaguely – I think, because it wasn’t clearly implied – could have been a want-to-be parallel with the Holy Spirit, peace that passes understanding, and Jesus Christ as the ultimate source of Living Water. While it’s nice that her characters are basically “good people” and that some of them did “pray” – I was surprised that for as “stand your ground” as Josie Brooks came across, Ms. Baumbich didn’t take a stand by explaining (not necessarily “preaching”) the only thing that could wholly fill Josie’s emptiness and longings. If I’d met any of her characters in real life, I’d think they were “nice” but I’d be wondering if any of them had a personal relationship with Jesus. Not enough evidence to convict them. There was much made of “coincidences” – but no clear introduction to the Divine behind the appointments.
There were a few places I laughed out loud, at a scenario similar to something in my own life or a clever turn of phrase (loved the RSVP to a wedding invitation), but unfortunately these weren’t enough to make me want to go back to read the first book in this series.
This review is submitted under the guidelines of WaterBrook Press’s “Blogging for Books” program.
I received my copy of “Divine Appointments” free of charge and the opinions in this review are my own.
-- T. Elizabeth Renich, author of The Shadowcreek Chronicles (20-Feb-2011)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical faith in tough times

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
123Read
Location:Sperry, Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this book to read because, like the main character Josie, I'm single and approaching "the big 5-0." I like my life and feel like I'm doing well. Unlike Josie, I don't have the ability to "go where the money is" when tackling a job. Divine Appointments gets the reader involved in the lives of the characters...the cantankerous mailroom guy, the kind office manager exibitiing her practical faith, the "bleeding-heart" boss who has a quiet inner strenght, and the strongly independent Josie. Taught to be strong and independent from an early age, Josie has grown into a successful "island" who begins to see the importance of relationships. A mysterious snowglobe is a single thread woven throughout the plot that reveals the longing for connection and soul satisfying contentment.
Everything may not always turn out wonderful in this book. It mirrors the tought economic times of today; people loose their jobs. Divine appointments, although fiction, shows how God uses the big and small stuff of life as divine appointments to weave the fabric of our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another neat Baumbich book!

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jamocha
Location:Waynesboro, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I had trouble getting into this story, mostly because of the main character's attitude and behavior. I also thought this book would be like the first book in the series, but it really didn't have the same feel at all. After reading more of the book, I discovered that the story is rich with great characters (even Josie - the main character). Josie is an analyst experiencing hot flashes and dealing with ideas that have been drilled into her since her childhood with a military father. She is a woman who knows how to get things done and does it with little emotion and feeling, but what she doesn't realize is that her life is about to change. Not only does her life change, but the lives of others at the company where she is a consultant. They are changed in ways only God can orchestrate as He does so well. I enjoyed getting to know divorced Marsha and pleasant, friendly, encouraging Beth. Quirky Frank. Kind, charitable Lyle. And others as well. The story is one of Divine Appointments - events only God can bring about for His purposes. I found the book very enjoyable and one I'd highly recommend. I'm also hoping that somehow there will be a third book in the series. I still continue to enjoy Ms. Baumbich's writing, especially her Dearest Dorothy books. She is a wonderful writer!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

DIVINE APPOINTMENTS

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Divine Appointments
By Charlene Baumbich
This is a story about several characters in many situations that their lives all intertwine through “Divine Appointments.” The main character is Josie Brooks who is 47, and a successful single consultant in the corporate world. Josie’s character experiences hot flashes, loneliness, and a strange mysterious snowglobe.
I was very much taken back by the content having some crude language, drinking as means of coping with discouragement and very little mention of faith in the book. Only one character seemed to have any faith and it was week at best and deemed as “encouragement.” There were too many unnecessary characters that distracted from the story, when the main characters story could have been developed to make a more powerful literature impact.
I found this book difficult to finish with the idea of mystical encounters being the foundation of a supposedly Christian book.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

an inspirational story, an un-expected journey

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peach
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Josie Brooks, a 47 year old successful consultant. She travels where the money is, leans up a corporation, firing anyone who is no longer useful to the company with no regrets.
Then she buys a mysterious snowglobe, which seems to make her thirsty with a longing for intimacy, friendships and a caring heart for the ones that she is letting go.
This book kept my attention to the very end, sometimes laughing out loud and at other times crying.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. Be sure to download a chapter or a sample to read and be prepared to purchase the book to finish it up. Wonderful reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting, "current event" type story.

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Post Mom
Location:Blodgett, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As I was nearly finished reading "Divine Appointments" by Charlene Ann Baumbich, a headline in our local newspaper read: "Staffing Changes Loom...".
It could have easily been straight out of this book; this book is SO timely!
Behind her tough exterior, Josie Brooks, a consultant for Diamond Mutual, is a single, menopausal, and deep down, lonely person. She is used to being on the move with her career, and manages her "bubble" quite efficiently, not making room for others. But her bubble soon pops. A snowglobe of a river and landscape on a shelf in her condo involves audible and visual spells that begin to get a little freaky.
The author alternates looking at one character to the next, peeling away their work-a-day exteriors, peering to see who they are outside of the office walls.
`One long-time employee, likeable Barb DeWitt, is not immune to the changes at Diamond Mutual, and also loses her job. But this praying woman plays a key role in demonstrating, as the Bible says, that "all things work together for good...".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Character Grows On You

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leigh Kramer
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I read the blurb about Divine Appointments on Waterbrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program, I was intrigued. There are not many Christian fiction books that center on 47 year old single women. In fact, I can't think of any. Most Christian romances feature characters in their 20s and every once in awhile you'll find one in their early 30s. I wanted to see how author Charlene Baumbich would paint an older single woman.
Josie Brooks likes to keep things orderly. She focuses on her job as a consultant to companies that need to be restructured, which doesn't endear her to the employees she ends up letting go. This suits her though as she'd rather not let anyone get close. Things begin to change in Chicago. The poor economy turns against her and people start to get under her skin. The order she craves seems to slip away and she must figure out whether her solitary life suits her as well as she used to believe.
Initially, Josie is not a likable character. However, as she begins to face her past and let people in, she grew on me. I enjoyed getting to know the people that Josie meets. She finally takes her realtor up on her offer of friendship. She gets to know the company vice president outside of work, a friendship (wink wink) which had a nice pace to it. Even the glimpses into the lives of the employees who work at Diamond Mutual lent the story a nice depth. I was rather impressed with Barb's decision to host an Encouragement Club and wonder how many people in her shoes would have done the same thing.
There were only two problems I had with the story. First, Marsha, a Diamond Mutual employee, fashions herself as a writer. And while her writing does allow her an emotional release, the reading audience does not need to be privy to her piece of science fiction. It added nothing to the real story and I couldn't figure out if Marsha's writing was supposed to be bad or if we were supposed to enjoy her thinly veiled attempts at life imitating art. Second, Divine Appointments is apparently a part of a series called Snowglobe Connections, which concerns a mysterious snowglobe and its powers. Frankly, I found the snowglobe to be a confusing addition to the story. It either needed to have a more prominent role or disappear altogether. I understand the metaphors Baumbich was trying to get at but I thought the novel was fine on its own.
That said, I'm extremely finicky when it comes to Christian fiction. Most readers probably won't notice or care about those things. I appreciated all that Josie discovers and finally allows herself to experience. It is a cautionary tale of what life could be when you don't allow people to come close. And it is a celebratory tale of how life's unexpected moments can put you on the path you were meant to be on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good not great

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shellie Billings
Location:Grimes, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I expected to like this book more. I was sure I would be able to identify with the character and hoped for some guffaws that I had to explain to my husband. I love to see characters develop and grow through the course of a story. Sadly, I was disappointed for the most part. It was a good book, just not a great book. I did read the entire book but just never felt drawn into the story. The use of the snowglobe to symbolize the work of the Holy Spirit just did not resonate with me. I hate to be negative because this is not a bad book but it was not a book that grabbed me. I would have to characterize this book as nice, pleasant, with a good personality but then you'd think I might be trying to talk you into a blind date.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice women's fiction

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book is a step away from what I usually read. It is full of main characters which makes it a little disjointed, I had some issues keeping the characters and the time line straight (not usually an issue for me). The overall storyline was quite interesting - Josie is a freelance consultant that goes into big businesses and helps them streamline and cut where necessary. Many times this means cutting staff, and in this case she has to make some recommendations. Soon Lyle, Barb and many more are out on the street while Marsha finds herself getting promoted. These are the 4 main characters and it is interesting getting to know them and seeing how the chain of events that is set in motion open doors for each of them... some of them very unexpected. I wouldn't say it is one of my favorite books of the year, but it sure made me think and people that love women's fiction might love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

heartwarming story of change for the better

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Divine Appointments by Charlene Ann Baumbich carries you into the world of corporate restructuring through the eyes of a 47 year old consultant. Josie is smart, talented and at the top of her game - helping businesses restructure during thecurrent economic downturn. She is living a dream life of no financial concerns, no day-in day-out boss telling her what to do, the next work site just around the corner, and thriving on her independence. Yet, can anyone truly live happily in their well-ordered solitary existence?
While working a job in Chicago, Josie simultaneously battles hot flashes and a mid-life crisis. After picking up a mysterious snowglobe while on a trip, she slowly sees her life as it is - lonely, loveless, and transient. But is it too late for her to make relational connections so late in life? How?
Charlene Baumbich has invited us into the lives of the characters - many of whom I can relate to! Grab a nice cup of tea, a warm blanket, and curl up and enjoy Divine Appointments.
Click here to read Chapter 1!
My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light, fun reading for the weekend

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sara @ Embracing Destiny
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just finished reading Divine Appointments, book two in Charlene Ann Baumbich's "snowglobe" series. Sometimes I'm reluctant to start a new series because my reading time is limited and I'm afraid I won't get to read them in the right order and miss out on something. That's not the case with this book -- it is a stand alone book that can be enjoyed even if you haven't read the first one. In fact, I liked this book even more than the first one, Stray Affections, which I reviewed a year ago.
Josie Brooks is at a crossroads in her life both personally and professionally at age 47. Just when she seems to have life all together, things begin to fall apart. Although Josie is an unmarried career woman and I am a married stay-at-home mom, I found that I related to her and really liked her as a character. This book was easy to get into and made for a quick weekend read. I liked the characters and enjoyed the plot twists that brought them all together. The snowglobe almost becomes a character in its own right, just as it did in the first book. I hesitate to say any more on that subject since I don't want to spoil the story!
The Gospel message is delivered through these characters in a natural way. I always appreciate Christian fiction that can get the truth across without sounding preachy. I think this book is a success in that category.
Charlene Ann Baumbich definitely has a distinct writing "voice," making her stories quirky and fun. If you're looking for a light read with a happy ending that isn't a "standard" romance novel, Divine Appointments is a good choice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A charming story for the heart

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Josie is forty-seven and hot flashes are hitting. This is a woman of power and independence. She is a consultant who moves around greatly. Once her job is accomplished she moves on to a new city. She is hard-hitting and knows how to leave a bruise on ones heart. I must say I did not start out liking Josie. She is one who is self absorbed and doesn't care how her actions effect others. In fact, her co-workers don't even like her. They almost walk in fear dreading her arrival wondering who is next in her cross hairs. One day something odd happens. A snow globe appears out of no where and Josie is on fixated upon it. She never thought she would be alone and here she is with really no one in her life. Her body is changing and so is her heart. Josie begins a journey of looking into herself. What is she going to find? Will she really find what she has been missing this whole time? There is a Christian theme to this book, but it is ever so gentle. Second chances do come and we see Josie not only become softer, but she begins to look at life with a new perspective. There is humor here that all women can understand and we too can relate to her character. In fact, I think Josie is just covering up what she doesn't want others to see. This is one you will enjoy. Adventure, wit, second chances, friendship and love. Now who doesn't need a little of each in our lives? One thing I thought was really cool? The cover. I love the peaceful tree by the water. It goes along with the opening verse from Jeremiah 17:7-8. As she was once walking in self, now Josie finds there is more to life. There is peace where there was once needed control.
This book was a gift from WaterBrook Press for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Divine Appointments - A divine read

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mellisa McJunkin
Location:Thompson Falls, MT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author of Divine Appointments did a wonderful job at developing the characters in this book. With a down to earth, reality driven approach she draws you into the life of many of the characters. I even found I had a love/hate relationship with Josie, the main character.
The story line flows endlessly with several unexpected twists and turns which kept me interested and amused. Although I didn't find very many "Christian" aspects to the book, I found it clean and refreshing. It is a fairly light hearted, easy reading book and one I would recommend to others seeking a good read.
I received Divine Appointments free from Waterbook Publishing in exchange for my review. I am in no way obligated to write a positive review, only an honest one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Corporate Downsizing and Layoffs

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story centers around Josie and Lyle who work at Diamond Mutual. Josie whose job is to give fellow employees the "pink slips" seemed harsh and unsympathetic in her execution of her job. I would assume that would be the type of employee to have in that position, one who doesn't get too attached to her coworkers, and add on top of that hotflashes well I guess her character would seem more miserable, I know I would! Lyle who is kindhearted and hates to say a terrible word about anyone would be the perfect boss. Add to the story Marsha and Barb co workers of Josie at Diamond Mutual who's private lives are very different from each other. Although I did laugh a few times I just couldn't relate to the characters in the book. I wanted to read this one because I am the same age as Josie and I have been through a corporate downsizing myself. This is the second novel in the series I think the first one needs to be read I am not sure I would consider this a stand alone novel. I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group form this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Divine Appointments, Snow Globe Connections Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Donsizing

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
I enjoyed this contemporary romance novel. Set in today's corporate world, the plot centers on a company in the midst of down-sizing with the protagonist, Josie, a hired "hatchet man" doing a fine job of thinning the ranks without feelings. At the opposite end of the spectrum is her boss, Lyle, a sensitive man with enough feelings for everyone.
I am confused about the reason for the mystical snowglobe woven throughout the story; I feel that it could have easily been left out. In an otherwise plausible plot, it is a perplexing touch of fantasy. The novel is labeled a work of Christian fiction, but other than a few characters mentioning prayer and church attendance, I see little else Christian about it. This fact coupled with the snowglobe coming to life, had me scratching my head.
Nevertheless, characters are well-rounded, believable, and dialogue is spot on. The plot flows, and I read with an occasional smile and/or tear. Most readers will like this one.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and WaterBrook Press for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>