Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Finding Our Way Home

WaterBrook Press Finding Our Way Home

When principal ballerina Sasha Davis suffers a career-ending injury at age thirty-eight, she leaves her Boston-based dance company and retreats to the home of her youth in Minnesota. But Sasha's injuries restrict her movement and her recently deceased mother's absence haunts her. Since she can't recover alone, she is forced to hire a temporary live-in aide.

Enter the |bercapable Evelyn Burt. As large-boned as Sasha is tiny, Evelyn is her employer's opposite in every way. Small town to Sasha's urban chic, outgoing warmth to Sasha's aloof iciness, and idealistic where Sasha is hopeless, nineteen-year-old Evelyn is newly engaged and sees the world as one big, shiny opportunity.

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3388%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Finding Our Way Home
Review 1 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sometimes it's a long way home...

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookie
Location:IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The concept of having to find your way home as an adult has many layers. Sasha Davis' life is centered around being and breathing ballet in Boston. Due to a major injury she must end her career and return to her childhood home where her mother has recently died. Where and what is home?? She has left her husband and life that she loved to return to what she had left behind long ago. Only now she is incapable of independence. In order to recuperate she must hire help which comes in the form of her opposite: Evelyn Burr. The two start off as polar opposites. Sasha fine and delicate, reserved and polished, and alone. While Evelyn is large boned, very outgoing and newly engaged. This warm and thoroughly grasps you by your heartstrings novel takes you on the journey of Sasha truly coming home and learning what home can be and is. And what a true friend can be in spite of first impressions. This novel is a must read You will find it one you will want to share with those kindred spirits in your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprisingly sweet read

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit, I wasn't overly excited about reading this book, at first. Initially, it took me a while to get to know the characters and be pulled into the novel. Once I began reading, I was immediately pulled in and wanted to know more and more about the characters.
In Finding Our Way Home, we meet Sasha Davis a former ballerina that has had a terrible fall. The fall is so pronounced that it has left her unable to dance again. In the aftermath of the fall, Sasha becomes bitter and angry and she returns to her childhood home to "recover", cutting off friends and even her own husband.
Reluctantly, she hires Evelyn, a young happy go lucky girl, to care for her and tend to her needs. Ironically, in all the ways that Sasha is a petite, quiet, ballerina, Evelyn is a boisterous, large, out-spoken girl. And it is the words that slip out of Evelyn's mouth, along with her kind heart, that eventually bring about nuggets of change in Sasha.
Two very different people are brought together by God and learn what it means to walk alongside a friend. Together they learn what forgiveness and grace mean lived out.
It was a tender story that was surprisingly sweet to read. You can go to this link to download the first chapter!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfying read!

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sasha Davis, a retired principal ballerina in a Boston Dance Co., retreats to her deceased mother's home to recuperate from an injury that has ended her career. Her journey to healing and hope is a poignant one and touches on some deep emotional issues that many of us experience in life.
Her young companion, Evelyn, is a real spitfire. She is outspoken to Sasha's reserved nature. Despite the two being total opposites in personality and size, they become friends and fulfill a role that each needs in the others life.
I found this story quite touching. Sometimes we need someone that will push us just a little, at just the right moment, in just the right way to do and be more than we think we are capable of doing or being.
Even though there are no big mysteries or super heart pounding moments in this story, it fully resonates with a spirit of love and compassion through giving and receiving with no expectation of anything in return. As Christ loved, we must also love.
If you enjoy a well written and thought provoking story, then you will want to add Finding Our Way Home to your collection of satisfying reads!
WaterBrook Multnomah provided a copy for review purposes. I was not required to writer a positive review, just my opinion of the book, which I have done. No compensation has been received. Reading guide can be downloaded from publishers website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace, faith and hope abound in this moving story

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Charlene Baumbich and I have to say I was completely entertained from beginning to end. She is a wonderful writer with strong characters and an equally strong plot. She must have a great sense of humor because I found myself chuckling often over the antics of Evelyn. Charlene also has a strong faith in God because grace and faith was a central theme throughout the story.
I found myself sighing with Sasha while she dealt with continuous pain during her healing process. I also emphatically felt the thrill and excitement of each leap and jump she completed in her dances as she replayed them in her mind.
But the what I especially enjoyed was the relationship between Evelyn and Sasha. Watching it develop from an employee and employer relationship to one of deep friendship, was beautiful, hopeful and quite moving.
Evelyn was not only Sasha's helper, she brought light and music back into Sasha's life. Sasha was not only Evelyn's boss, she brought stability into her life by providing a place to work and live.
The two of them were almost as different as night and day, yet there was plenty of shared laughter, tears and shared secrets that made their relationship work.
This e-book was made available for review through Blogging for Books. I am under no obligation to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness, Friendship, and Love - Wonderful Read

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
CarliAlice
Location:Union, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book about a renowned ballerina, Sasha Davis, who has essentially lost the only life she's ever known. In the midst of her hurt and anguish she moves back to her home town which she has hardly visited since her career set hold. Unable to care for herself she hires a local girl (Evelyn Burt), very much her opposite, to help care for her and the home. Evelyn is full of spunk and energy. Nothing sways her. As Sasha finds hope for a future, Evelyn's world starts falling apart. The two develop a friendship and start to help each other through.
What can you say about a 300 plus page book that is so engaging you read it in one day? The book focused on forgiveness, friendship, and love, and had just the right amount of romance thrown in. The main characters, Sasha and Evelyn, are well thought out. Ms. Baumbich spares no detail, from thoughts, to scenery, to clothing it is all there. You can play every detail in your mind. If there could have been anything more, it would have been the addition of more religious detail. While you can see God playing a role in the characters lives it really wasn't a main element or theme.
Regardless, I literally couldn't put the book down. I wanted to know Evelyn and Sasha. I wanted them to be my friends. It was as if I was feeling their emotions and I loved every minute of it!
This book is a must read. I'm so thrilled that I had the opportunity to review it. The only time it will be missing from my bookshelf is when I read it again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful story full of trials

Date:June 27, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had seen this book on the "available to review" list, but I kept putting it off because of one reason....the cover. For some reason, it didn't appeal to me at all. The synopsis sounded good, but the cover made me think that I might not like the book. I guess you could says that I "judged this book by the cover." I'm guilty!
I'm glad that I gave this book a chance. I really enjoyed the story. I liked how the story centered around being a ballerina, something of which I know nothing about. Sasha is a dancer who has had a terrible fall and can no longer dance. Instead of playing lead roles in the ballets, she is now doing therapy to regain her ability to walk. Not only that, but she's also trying to overcome her deep depression that has settled in and made her not herself. She pushes everyone away who loves her and cares for her and wants to help her. Even when she pays a lady to help her, she can't treat her nicely. Through a set of circumstances, and grace, Sasha comes to realize that perhaps she needs to take her depression medications and the fog begins to lift.
Evelyn is a woman who can do it all. If you have an odd job, she can fix it. She is engaged to be married at a young age, and against her parents' objections, so as a first step to independence, she accepts a job at Sasha's house to help her in exchange for room and board. Evelyn too often says what she thinks and gets in trouble for it, especially since Sasha is so focused on herself, her injury, and the death of her mother. As life changes for Evelyn, will she begin to see that perhaps giving up college wouldn't be in her best interest? Evelyn is the one person who can talk some sense into Sasha. Can Evelyn make Sasha see that turning her husband away from her because of her injury wasn't something that would profit either one of them? Will Donald, Sasha's husband, be able to see his wife again and make her understand that he loves her, even more than dance?
This is a nice and relaxing read. I read it on the beach and I'll say it was a great beach read! So the lesson for you? Don't judge this book by the cover!
____________
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest review of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspirational Stand-alone Title

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sasha Davis was once the principal dancer for a famous Boston ballet company, but an injury has left her disabled and living in her old home in Wanonishaw, Minnesota, while she recovers. Evelyn Burt is the live-in carer. She is nineteen, and is working to gain some life experience before she marries her fiancé, has two babies and goes to college (in that order) before she is twenty-five. Evelyn was not a character I immediately feet I could relate to, but I really warmed to her as the story progressed, and that is real complement to the author.
Donald Major is Sasha's dance partner and husband. They were dancing together when an undisclosed heart problem caused Sasha's fall. She has now left him, to his sorrow and frustration. But his efforts to reconnect with his wife are continually foiled by the ogre she has living with her, Ms. Burt, who screens all calls and manages all correspondence.
One of the things I admire about good writers is their ability to give their characters distinct yet believable voices. Charlene Baumbich is no exception. The character of Sasha is quiet and refined, with strong opinions and an underlying frustration. Sasha is slipping back into her memories, almost losing her grip on reality, and suffering from a depression that colours her view of the world.
Evelyn is young, brash and outspoken, and even though her actions do not always please Sasha, her motives are pure. She has a deep Christian faith which gradually affects Sasha, but the subject is very understated. I was especially impressed by the way there was almost a dual layer in the scenes written from Evelyn’s viewpoint – on one level, we could see the scene through Evelyn’s eyes, but on another level, we could also see some of the undertones to the scene that it was clear Evelyn didn’t see. This was very clever writing, and something few authors can achieve.
The writing wasn't all brilliant. There were a lot of flashbacks, and some of these passages were overlong (almost a page on the minor point of choosing a physical therapist). And the book was more ‘inspirational’ than ‘Christian’ fiction. But the good by far outweighed these minor points, leaving us a touching story of love, loss, searching and redemption.
Thanks to Waterbrook Press and BloggingforBooks® for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great way to start summer

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These days, there are few books that capture me in their characters from page one. "Finding Our Way Home" by Charlene Baumbich is one of them.
It records the story of Sasha, a professional ballet dancer forced into early retirement because of a debilitating injury, and Evelyn, her caretaker.
The former is a shadow of her previous self, struggling to find relief from the physical and emotional pain, living a private life characterized by mystery and secrecy.
Evelyn makes you smile from the second she enters a scene, and in every encounter thereafter. Few characters have so much energy so fast.
Independently, and together, these two women blend their strengths and weaknesses in an endearing way that is thoroughly heartwarming.
It's easy to get lost in their corner of the world. I can't think of a better book to kick off summer reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

More Inspirational than Christian

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
RobbyeFaye
Location:Oxford, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Finding Our Way Home by Charlene Baumbich, is a nice book to read, with one caveat. I would classify this book as wholesome, or inspirational fiction, rather than Christian fiction.
The characters are very relatable and human. I especially enjoyed Evelyn and would love to find a friend like her. Evelyn is very outspoken and a little pushy, but she does it with love and concern-not in a mean spirited or hateful way.
Sasha, the main character, has her ballet career cut short by a fall causing too many injuries to be able to return to ballet. The book follows her struggles with therapy, a marriage she ran away from and her equally head strong assistant, Evelyn.
I was disturbed by the seeming "magical" quality of the snow globe and the fact that there was very little of a "Christian" nature in this book. I've always felt a Christian book should have a clear message of salvation, bible verses or at the very least people that go to church. Having said that, if you can overlook the magic, perhaps this book is better suited to the more mature Christian and not a new believer.
I got into a lively discussion with another book lover as to whether the book was actually Christian fiction. Some of the questions floated were:
1) if the book were set in another country, like Saudi Arabia, would it be termed "Muslim fiction"?
2) do Christian books have to have Bible verses or a plan of salvation? (as this book has neither),
3)are the minor glimpses into Sasha's marriage, especially the bedroom scenes, a mildly risqué part of the book, too much for Christian fiction?
I did enjoy the book, and as you can see it opened the way for quite a debate! The characters came alive and you felt empathy for them. The story reads as true to life. I would hesitate, however, in recommending it for everyone, young people in particular.
This book was provided to me free by Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Finding Our Way Home

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Renee
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Finding Our Way Home is a fictional book written by Charlene Ann Baumbich.
I have never read any books by this author before so I didn’t have any idea what kind of read it would be. It actually started out a little slow and I thought I would have to make myself finish reading it. However, that thought soon went away as I got deeper into the story.
Sasha Davis, a world renowned ballerina, has returned to her hometown to recuperate from a career ending injury. After alienating everyone from her former life, Sasha hires local girl Evelyn Burt to move in and help take care of her. As the two different ladies go through the struggles in life the both learn valuable lessons. They learn how much the need each other as well as the others they may have shut out, intentionally or not.
Baumbich pays great attention to detail, slipping you into the mindset of a dancer but getting too bogged down. She gives enough information to make you feel that you are in the studio or on the stage. Similarly she gets into the mind of Evelyn as she goes through the ups and downs of life and love.
Through their trials and tribulations we are shown that we really do need others to help us. And most importantly, God’s grace is sufficient to take us through anything life might throw at us.
I received a complimentary copy from the publisher for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Find Your Way To This Book!

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jadijohnson
Location:Burbank, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finding Our Way Home by Charlene Ann Baumbich was so enjoyable. The book is about two women who are opposites in both appearance and disposition. The unlikely pair become friends when Sasha suffers a career-ending injury. Unable to care for herself, she hires Evelyn to help with everyday tasks. Through the ups and downs in their lives, the two women develop a friendship they never would have expected.
I really liked the characters. I especially liked when Evelyn and her fiance, Jorden, were together. And the pedicure scene was so well written that I had to get one myself! There were quite a few WOW! moments in the book. There were also romantic moments that made me sigh and smile. I liked how four of the characters would acknowledge God and go to Him for help or praise. There is so much to say, but I don't want to spoil anything by giving too much away. You'll have to find out for yourself!
I received this free book from WaterBrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Finding Our Way Home, by Charlene Ann Baumbich, is an interesting story. The main character, Sasha Davis, and her husband had a serious fall during a ballet performance, ending her career. While her husband is able to heal and return to ballet, Sasha pushes him away and falls into a depression.
Sasha returns to her childhood home to recover, hiring Evelyn as her assistant. Evelyn is a wonderful character, full of life and dealing with a multitude of issues in her own life. As Sasha’s body heals, she realizes her mistake in pushing away her husband and reconciles with him. She and Evelyn move from an employer-employee relationship to close friends, a charming story line.
However, other than a few undeveloped references to faith or grace, there was not much of a Christian element to this story. There was not much talk of a relationship with Christ or salvation, though I did appreciate the many references to Evelyn resisting her temptations to go further with her fiancé than just kissing. I was also concerned with the references to fortune telling, talisman, and magic that tied in to the snow globe. They seemed very out of place for Christian fiction.
Overall, this was a quaint story of a ballerina dealing with her career suddenly crashing to an end. It is a recommended read.
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
dyand
Location:Lancaster, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Finding Our Way Home is about a ballerina (Sasha) who was so severely injured in a fall that she could no longer dance. Her husband was injured as well, but was able to return to ballet. Her Mom had died and she moves back to her hometown in Minnesota where she is basically a recluse who hires a local young woman (Evelyn) to help take care of her and do the many things she is not yet able to do. Evelyn is going through many situations of her own as it relates to her relationship with her parents, her decision with regard to college and her relationship with her fiancé who, also, has some issues.
For me, it took until about half way through the book before I could get involved in the story. I personally did not care for the many references to dancing which were foreign to me. It is similar to reading a book that throws in phrases in a foreign language and does not interpret them for you. I also did not care for the many references to a dancing ballerina snow globe obtained at a local fairgrounds from a gentleman who was to have said to Sasha’s Mother, “I knew you’d come over to get this for your daughter, who will one day become a famous ballerina. Tell her to keep her eye on the ballerina. She will lead you.” Throughout the book, Sasha and her husband rub the globe before they go out for a performance – to the point where Sasha feels something will and does go wrong if she either does not rub the globe, or if a piece of the ballerina in the globe breaks off and she needs to have it repaired – which happens a few times. They also allude to the possibility that parts broke off and there is no logical way it could have happened. I have not read the previous books in this series, however, I especially did not like the references suggesting the globe could control any portion of a person’s life, or that one should put any faith in it.
The second half of the book was better. Sasha begins to see the faults in her character and treatment of others and makes progress to repair the relationships she has caused to fail. She and Evelyn become extremely close as they go through their trials together. This is not a book I would likely recommend, but it was not horrible. Everyone has different tastes, and this one just was not for me. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Light story, "real" characters

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Finding Our Way Home, Sasha and Evelyn are, perhaps, the most mismatched pair of women you could hope to find. Sasha is a former ballerina, recovering from a career-ending injury, and Evelyn is a strong, independent, entrepreneurial teenager with self-described large, clumsy feet. Evelyn's decision to defer college and run her own odd job service leads her to Sasha who requires in-home care while she convalesces. The two of them start out at odds, but eventually are able to recognize the strength in each other and encourage each other as friends to reach for bigger dreams.
While this book was a bit cheesier than those I normally read, I did enjoy the characters. Sasha's recovery, which was not only physical, but also emotional and spiritual, was relatable, and Evelyn's quirky life was humorous, but also peppered with enough difficulty to not make her seem real as well. Her trademark prayer of simply, "Grace," became a central theme to recoveries on the part of both main characters, as well as their very relationship. Grace covers all. Amen? Amen.
The characters' love stories are secondary to their relationships, but serve to demonstrate an accurate contrast of youthful hurried love versus true love that has developed over time. While mistakes have been made in both, the love built on a relationship, with God as the center, is able to withstand the trial and come out stronger on the other side.
I give this book 3 stars. I don't think I would have picked it up to read if it hadn't been a review choice. It's a light read, and a fast read, but not a deep read, nor one that "sticks" with me.
I received a free copy of this book as part of Waterbrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books program. I was not required to post a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely Story of Grace In Need

Date:April 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sometimes it's in our brokenness that we find the greatest joy. If not for that need of mending, we would have missed out on a an opportunity of receiving God's grace. In, "Finding Our Way Home", we see a charming story of opposites coming together to create wonder. You wouldn't think these two characters would interact as well as they do, but they are just what the other needed.
I really enjoyed this story. It flowed so nicely. Sasha felt as though she was losing everything, but found grace through an unexpected friend. I love how the story allows us to see how God can bring beauty from ash. I was moved at how the author brought these ladies together and they bonded through mending hearts.
The main character Shasha has to overcome her bitterness and anger. I love when she realizes just how much she took for granted and now is overflowing in gratefulness at the smallest tasks. Funny, how God can do such HUGE things through the smallest of movements on our part.
This is a well written story that leads us to God's hope and His grace. There is no sweeter place that really finding where home is and these characters show us when we surrender and let go, God shines His light on us and warms us in the sweetness of His presence.
This book was a gift from WaterBrook Press for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
elinsmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Sasha Davis is a professional ballerina who suffers a career ending injury that leaves her angry and bitter.Evelyn Burr is an optimistic young women just starting out in life. When Sasha hires Evelyn as her assistant she has no idea that this women will become her catalyst for healing. This is the premise of Finding our Way Home by Charlene Ann Baumbich.
Finding Our Way home has a good plot and likable characters. It is an enjoyable book with themes of grace, loyalty, and forgiveness. I thought the two main characters were well developed and believable. I would recommend this book to women who enjoy stories of about faith and friendship.
I received this book for free for the purpose of review from Waterbrook Multnomah
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sasha feels like her life is over. After an accident ends her career as a well-known ballerina, she heads back to her home town. Everyone there knows her, but no one knows the pain she is going through, both physically and emotionally. She sees an add a high school graduate wrote up stating that "no job is too unusual". So, she hires Evelyn to take care of her.
Evelyn is a chipper young woman, full of dreams and ambitions. She is in awe of Sasha's great accomplishments, but doesn't let it stop her from doing her job. She is outspoken and tends to grate on Sasha's nerves. But the two form an unlikely friendship that goes beyond the bounds of employer/employee.
Each woman has her joys, her fears, her secrets, her longings. And as they grow in friendship, they begin sharing those with each other. I enjoyed coming along on this journey as Sasha discovers whether or not her life is truly over. And while Evelyn figures out that life isn't all roses, but the thorns help us grow us well.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I received this complementary book from Blogging the Books in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finding Our Way Home is about principal ballerina Sasha Davis and what happens when her career ends after an injury at just 38 yrs old. She hires 19 yr old Evelyn Burt. Evelyn is as large-boned as Sasha is tiny and they are as opposite in every way possible. Slowly as the two get to know each other, they find out that they have more in common than they think.
This story is about overcoming obstacles that we think we never can through the power of friendship and love.
**I received a copy of this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Help comes in unexpected sizes

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
fictionbuyer
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dear Readers,
I occasionally read Charlene Ann Baumbich's books. I completely enjoy them, who can forget the Dearest Dorothy books? I mean to read them when they come out, but I am usually reading something else at the time and then I forget about them. Once I get a chance to pick one up and read it, I tell myself "why have you waited so long to read another one of Charlene’s books?"
I received a free advanced copy of Finding Our Way Home and needed something to relax with after reading a very intense book. It was Christmas time and this book fit perfectly, even though it is set during the summer. Finding Our Way Home is one of the Snow globe Connection series. The nice thing about this series is that it doesn't have to be read in any order, even though you will meet several characters in each book.
Sasha was forced into retirement from ballet dancing because of a terrible accident. Her recovery has been slow and quite tedious. She has shut herself off from the world, her loved ones and friends. She figures it was better to make a clean break from them all so they wouldn't have to watch her suffer and she wouldn't have to see them dance.
Evelyn enters Sasha's life because Sasha needs help with everything. She can't drive, she can't cook, she can't anything. Evelyn is like her complete opposite. She is outgoing, she is helpful and friendly and as delicate as Sasha is, Evelyn is big boned. They make a very interesting pair.
This was just a wonderful read for those days when you need something that is a quiet read. It isn't going to surprise you in any way, but it will teach you a bit about yourself and how we can and do treat others.
There are several little sideline stories. They still deal with Evelyn or Sasha, but they flesh out this story perfectly. The story of Evelyn and her fiancé is a neat little aside and so is the one that explains the way Sasha believes how others see her. They are each part of these stories that we all can probably relate to in one way or another.
Happy Reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Finding Our Way Home
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Broken Ballerina

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Life can be disappointing, but with drive and determination, Sasha and Evelyn, the two main characters in this interesting novel find reasonable resolutions. Sasha a famous ballet dancer suffers a career-ending fall; the story opens with her in a wheelchair. She needs help and hires Evelyn, a large, clumsy nineteen-year-old who is madly in love with Jordan, a player. Evelyn decides to forego college to remain with him.
A snowglobe containing a ballet dancer becomes a tailsman, adding a magical touch.
I recommend this one!
Thank you to Kelly Blewett at KBK Public Relations and Waterbrook Press for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>