Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West

Random House, Inc The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West

Gilded Age romance collides with Wild West adventure! New York socialite Eugenia Cooper longs to enjoy one last escapade before she marries banker Chandler Dodd. Opportunity knocks, and she heads for rough-and-tumble Colorado. When she takes the job as governess for silver baron Daniel Beck's daughter, she wonders where her future lies. With Chandler---or with Daniel? 352 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Review 1 for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Lilley
Location:Buffalo,Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best series I have read so far and could not put the 3 books down until finished. I hope there will be more coming about the old west from this author as she is excellent. Thank you all for making these available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
M.a. Belcher
This was a romp to read - good love story not as much scripture as I would like, but overall I enjoyed the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
In 1880 America, socialite Eugenia Coopers life is all mapped out, including a marriage to rich banker Chandler Dodd. But this lover or western dime novels longs for an adventure of her own. When the opportunity arises, she jumps a train to Denver, Colorado to pose as a governess for ten-year-old Charlotte Beck. What she discovers in Denver, however, can hardly be called a girl. The grubby thing not only wears britches and refuses to bathe, she stole Eugenias pocketbook before Eugenia even left the train station.Then she meets a handsome man at the local store and wonders if this western adventure wont have a little romance. What she didnt expect was that she would be thrust into a scandal that would not only ruin her good name, but that of Charlottes father, Daniel Beck. Whats a girl to do?Eugenia reminds me of a flirty Anne of Green Gables. She never intends to get herself into such mischief, but time after time, catastrophe lay in her wake. I couldnt help but like her naivet and root that everything would work out perfectly for her in the end. I didnt much enjoy the excerpts from the Mae Winslow dime novels that started each chapter and stopped reading them about halfway through. I was just so caught up in Eugenias story that I didnt care a bit about ol Mae Winslow and her horse Lucky. Still, this is wild west romance fun, so if you like that sort of novel, you must read this one. Fun, fun, fun.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
I so enjoyed this book! "The Confidential Live of Eugenia Cooper" by Kathleen Y'Barbo was light, fun, romantic and just thoroughly entertaining! It is a fast-paced story filled with adventure, drama, and humor. Gennie seeks adventure and gets more than she bargained for when she leaves her genteel, upper-class New York home to experience the Wild West for a brief stay in Denver. Along the way she learns some valuable lessons about life, love and perceptions. This book simply made me smile!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper by Kathleen Y'Barbo is the most fun I've had reading a romance novel in a long time! Eugenia "Gennie" Cooper wants just a little adventure in her life before getting married to her father's choice, so when the opportunity for a trip to Denver posing as a governess arrives, she can't help but take it. Working in the Beck household is a little more adventure than she had bargained for however. Charlotte, her ten year old charge, has been allowed to run wild for five years without a mother's influence. I stayed up until 3 am finishing this book, because I just couldn't put it down! Every time I thought I'd come to a place I could put it aside until morning Y'Barbo threw another monkey wrench into the works! This refreshing novel kept the best of romantic cliches and turned the rest on their head. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper" is a humorous Christian romance set in 1880 in America. The romance was a predictable "lust at first sight" storyline, but the Wild West adventure parts added fun and unpredictability. The pacing was excellent.I found the characters engaging, though not very deep. Gennie comes close to being more than just the "rich girl" cliche, at least at the beginning, so I was disappointed when she lost this as the story went on.The historical details were likewise rather superficial and scarce. I found several historical details that were wrong or questionable, one of them critical to the main crisis scene. Several of the scenes (one of those critical) felt contrived by the author to force certain events, but I think that was partly because the scenes weren't completely set up ahead of time. Since I was expecting a lighter, "dime novel adventure" style of writing, this didn't really bother me.The characters were Christians living out their faith, which included praying and reading the Bible (which, to paraphrase Gennie, is 'the greatest adventure book and contains more scandalous stories than dime novels'). However, no theological discussions occurred. Depending on tolerance levels, some non-Christians might enjoy reading this book.There was no sex or bad language. Overall, this novel was a clean, fun romp.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diana Crawford
This is the first book I have read by this particular author and I was pulled in from the first page to the last. I read the whole thing in one day while on a recent vacation trip. It was fun, light, and full of surprises that kept me turning the pages. I will definitely be looking for others written by her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Sullivan
This was a good book..I enjoyed this,it was an adventurous story..I really like these kind of stories..thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper: Woman of the West
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
lorene lavender
What a fun book to read!!!Full of everything one is looking fo in a GOOD read, Reccomend it to anyone who has a few hours to read to do so. You won't want to stop until finished. Can't wait for the next one!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.