Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck

WaterBrook Press The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck

When a man whose price is his family name meets a woman who wishes to buy her freedom, their growing attraction causes their marriage of convenience to become quite inconvenient. Will the heiress intent on freedom succumb to the reluctant astronomer with stars in his eyes?
Average Customer Rating:
4.178 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
1
41 out of 4591%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Review 1 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as expected

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well, this book wasn't nearly as good as I was expecting. I've read some of Kathleen Y'barbo's other books and like them, but The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck was painful until the 2nd part. I'm notorious about reading the end of books first, so I read the 2nd part first. Alex Hambly was most definitely my favorite character from the 2nd half, but I didn't think he was a very interesting character after the 1st couple chapters of the 1st half, if that makes sense. I actually reread the book but only the 2nd half because that was the only part that contained anything that I found interesting and held my attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The is a great, clean love story

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marcy
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was good; it took about 50 pages and my putting the book down for a week, for me to get into it. I was extremely frustrated with the immaturity and bratty attitude of the main character Charlotte Beck. I wanted to strangle her for the way she treated her step-mom in England and her dad when she returned home to Colorado from London. The last 100 pages I became engrossed in the book and could not put down. I recommend that when reading this book hang in there, it gets better and Charlotte does mature some.
I am not going to write my usual summary of the book, there is too much to try to summarize without giving away key points. With the book, being written in two parts, to summarize any of the book would give away too many spoilers and possibly ruin the book for someone reading my review. Someone does fall in love, someone does mature, someone does move to Colorado and someone does move to London. This is the most I can say without out giving away too much. Please read the book and find out to whom and how it all happens.
Kathleen does write a riveting story that keeps you wanting to find out how it ends, it was just the immaturity of Charlotte Beck in the beginning and her treatment of her family that really frustrated me. After putting the book down for about a week, so I would not throw my nook out the window in frustration, I was finally able to lose my frustration and finish my reading. When I did finish the book I found it quite good, and the writing was on point. I could put myself into the characters shoes and envision myself as each of them, I think that is one of the reason’s I became so frustrated with Charlotte’s attitude, I put myself into her step mothers shoes and just wanted to ring her neck, ground her for a year, and shake her silly. This book is a clean love story about trusting God and giving your WHOLE life to God, not just parts. Keep this in mind and you will like this book too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck by Kathleen Y’Barbo was sort of a disappointment, actually. The description sounded really good, but it actually only described the last third of the book. The first two thirds were setting up for the last bit, but the author took too long to do it. Frankly, the story was more drawn out than it needed to be, it was very slow moving, and Charlotte was an idiot. Seriously, who, in real life, goes on and on making excuses for something and trying to argue their case for what they assume their father is thinking about? This happened not once, but several times throughout the story. It just wasn’t realistic enough, especially for historical fiction.
I got this book free from Multnomah Publishing and this review is my personal opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful story

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy Lilley
Location:Buffalo,Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I was so taken by this book that could not put it down until finished and love charaters. I read in 2 days and started on the 2nd in series love the style of the author and it keeps your attention. Excited about the next book. Thanks for the
opportunity to purchase such quality books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
plainolme
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book about Charlotte, the girl that isn't quite sure she is ready to grow up and be a lady, or to let go of her stubbornness. Her father, Daniel, sees Charlotte and Alex as being good for each other. He will help Alex save his family from financial ruin, and allow Charlotte go to school if they marry. They agree, but secretly plan to annul the marriage. Alex has a change of heart though, and what will Charlotte do with this?
Easy to get lost in the story, plenty of fun and romance.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Romance!

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
S. Ketchersid
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck by Kathleen Y'Barbo was a sweet Christian romance that really hooked me from the first. Charlotte Beck is an independent woman with a stubborn streak who wants more than anything to go to school. Alex Hambly is a British astronomer whose family is in need of money or face financial ruin. Thrown together, these two are like oil and water, but when Charlotte's father throws out an offer neither of them can refuse, they get married. Sparks fly between the two as Charlotte's free spirit clashes with Alex's proper upbringing. While they struggle to get along, each learns to value the other and end up finding themselves drawn to the other.
I enjoyed this book and it's sweet plot and romance. I enjoyed both the hero and heroine and their journey of discovering love with one another. There was a turn toward the end that surprised me. For me, it slowed down the story a bit, but it ended well and I came to the end satisfied with a happy ending. Overall, I enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone who loves a good, sweet and sassy romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun read with enjoyable characters

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Book Blogger
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the first book I have read by Kathleen Y'Barbo, which is the final installment in a trilogy. However I didn't feel lost for one second as I was caught up in the very sweet and humourous life of Charlotte Beck!
There were times when I literally laughed out when I was reading this. Charlotte was a funny character, and I liked her almost instantly despite the fact that sometimes she acted like a spoilt child when she didn't get her own way. She still had a good heart, and I admired her desire to make amends where she had done wrong.
Viscount Alex Hambly was a witty and roguish character, who was the only one who could 'handle' Charlotte's uncompliant persona. I liked his chivalrous behaviour, especially how he sought to help a more often than not, hysterical Charlotte.
The 'Marriage of convenience' aspect was quite well portrayed and very believable, and the fact that one party was unwilling to annul it after they had pre-arranged to do so made it all the more interesting!
The plot did seem a bit cliched at times, however it was still very enjoyable.
The previous books in this trilogy include''The confidential life of Eugenia Cooper" and "Anna Finch and the Hired Gun ", and backtrack on Charlotte's younger days. I flew through this book in one sitting, especially since Katheen's writing style is very smooth and not overly descriptive. A good one time read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Charlotte, a willful and creative girl, has a knack for getting into trouble and a lot of the trouble seems to stem from her interactions with Viscount Alex Hambly.
The Hamblys have their title, lands, family heirlooms and jewels but very little money. Alex does not wish to marry but is forced to realize that he must find a rich wife if he hopes to keep his mother comfortable and uphold the family honor.
When Charlotte and Alex happen to meet again in Denver, Colorado, Mr. Beck is confirmed in his suspicions that Alex gives as good as he gets and doesn’t let Charlotte get her way completely. Mr. Beck loves his daughter and wants to see her settled in a good marriage.
Mr. Beck is shrewd. He knows Alex needs money and Charlotte wants to go to college, and he has the ability and power to fulfill both. All he wants in exchange is for the two to get married after Charlotte graduates.
This is book three in The Women of the West series and I have not read the other two. There were a few things that were not fully explained that might have been clearer had I read the others, but I think each book can probably stand on its own.
I really enjoyed the dialog between Alex and Charlotte, their interactions are always entertaining. Although I had hoped Charlotte would be a bit more mature and less selfish after college. Mr. Beck would seem quite tyrannical if it weren’t for the obvious fact that he dearly loved his daughter, that he was quite certain that the marriage was the Lord’s will, and that Alex and Charlotte are well suited.
One thing that bothered me though, was that both Mr. Beck and Alex claimed to be “praying men” but I can’t remember either of them ever praying. This is supposedly a Christian historical fiction romance but there is nothing about Christ or Christianity in the book. Just “faith” – a very generic word that the author didn’t elaborate on.
It is a clean read for the most part – there are several kisses (before and after the marriage) and caresses (after the wedding).
--------
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my review which is entirely my own honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Would be better if I had read the previous books!

Date:February 5, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is apparently a part of a series, in which I hadn't read the first books. That said, there was the typical introduction of characters that I wasn't for sure what their story was since I had not read the earlier books. That didn't deter me from this book. Instead it made me want to read the books before this since I was more intrigued about the characters. I would recommend that this series be read in order so that you can have a complete picture of what is going on and who is involved.
This book did have me laughing at a few points, like when they were "proposing" their marriage. Their proposal wasn't your typical one. In fact, it was one that was a deal....between Alex and Charlotte's father. Or maybe Charlotte's father saw something that neither of them could. Charlotte has a very strong personality and ends up in things that a typical woman wouldn't encounter. And there's only one man who stands his ground and doesn't get afraid when he has to deal with Charlotte.
Charlotte and Alex decide to go along with the plan, but they've devised a plan of their own. Once they are married, they will both work quickly to have their marriage annulled. That's their plan. Their father's plan is for them to stay married. Which plan happens and what situations will they have to endure during this crazy engagement and marriage?!
________________
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wish I had read the series from the beginning

Date:January 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Set in the late 1800's, Charlotte Beck, at almost eighteen years of age, is pretending at being a woman to convince her father and stepmother that she should be allowed to make her decisions. Given the freedom to make choices, however, time and again she makes the childish one, bringing humiliation to herself and her family. Alex Hambly is trying to be the responsible one in his family, filling in for his brother's shortcomings, and ensuring his family is provided for. Thrown together, the two of them wreak havoc on each others' lives and emotions. Charlotte's father presents them with a potential solution for each of their life's desires: marry each other, and Charlotte gets to go to college, and Alex gets to save his family financially. Not a marriage proposal teeming with the potential for love, or is it?
I really enjoyed Charlotte and Alex as characters - I loved the feisty heroine, and the bemused, unintentional adversary. Their interactions were lively, even with the obvious outcome of them actually falling in love with each other. While in some romance stories, the broadcasting of the "happy ending" becomes annoying, these characters were well-written enough that I found myself wanting them to just give up the charade and admit it already - I wanted them to be together. Nobody else could handle them.
Again, it seems, I was unwittingly roped into a book that was part of a series, without realizing it until too late. There were definitely some questions regarding side characters as I read that, more than likely, would have had fuller answers had I read the previous stories of their pasts.
Overall, I give this book 3 stars. The characters were enjoyable, regardless of the somewhat predictable plot, and I wish I had gotten to know them from their fictional beginnings.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing group for this review. I was not required to post a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More like 4.5 stars but close enough to round up.

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a fun story for a number of reasons. First, I read it in less than two days because I kept wanting to know when they would change their minds. The anticipation kept me reading. Plus, I adored the hero. Charlotte was a bit of a twit at times and quite annoying, but she had her tender side, too...when she allowed someone to see it. Alex was so patient I wanted to give him a medal for that. He was also a good man like her father noted. I thought their scheme made sense at first, but I couldn't help admiring Alex's strength and heroism at times. He simply couldn't help being a gentleman.
My favorite scene was the one where they stumble upon the cabin. I was like...finally, only to have the inevitable deferred again. Of course, when the moment passed there were second thoughts...again. But I suppose it was best for a decision to be made with one's wits about them and being in Alex's arms would make any woman forget those wits. At least, that's how I felt. She never did find out about who he "almost" married. I wonder if that will come out in a future book.
I normally find stories with strong-willed and stubborn women a bit unappealing and unrealistic, but for some reason this story and the way the author wrote the character made me smile because it was handled in such a humorous fashion. I enjoyed her clumsy antics and crazy ideas. I enjoyed the historical tie-in to Buffalo Bill Cody as well. I thought it was funny how Charlotte was always trying to outwit or best her "competition" and that made the story shine. She was spunky and fun, and I could see how Alex would be intrigued by her. When she responded to his kisses, it made me smile. She simply didn't know what to say. They overpowered her so much that she lost some of that snark and wit. I liked that he had such an influence on her mood that he could soften her up with a gentle touch or heated kiss. Overall, this was a fun historical romance and I enjoyed it very much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not a standalone story

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck is the story (obviously) of Charlotte Beck, an only child who was English-born and American-raised, and the grand-daughter of an Earl. At seventeen, she is keen to take her place in society, and wants to attend college to study mathematics so that she can prove to her father that she can work in the family business (very unusual for 1887). At her unofficial debut into proper London society, she meets Martin Hambly, the stargazing heir to an earldom. Their relationship gets off to a rocky start (she literally falls into his arms, while he is actually Viscount Hambly, Martin’s twin brother), and common interests keep bringing them together until they find themselves engaged to be married.
I enjoy reading romance novels with the marriage of convenience plot device – two people forced to marry through a twist in circumstances beyond their control, who come to love each other as they work together to overcome some common obstacle. Janette Oke’s Love Comes Softly is probably the best known of the genre in Christian romance, but many authors have successfully used a variation on the theme to produce an enjoyable novel with likeable characters that you want to get their happily-ever-after. The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck is not one of these books. Why not?
Firstly, the marriage of convenience only occurs two-thirds of the way through the book, after the couple have had a four-year engagement. Admittedly, they are still virtual strangers at that point, having ignored each other for the entire period of their betrothal. Secondly, no matter how much I tried, I just could not like the heroine. She came across as intelligent, but headstrong and troublesome to the point of being irritating. Thirdly, this is supposed to be Christian romance, but the ‘Christian’ was so minor as to be almost an afterthought. Finally, there were a couple of minor plot points that were only raised at the very end of the novel and were then explained away very briefly, yet they seemed key to the overall resolution. As a result, the conclusion was not altogether believable, because if these plot points were important, they should have been introduced earlier.
This is the final book in Kathleen Y’Barbo’s Women of the West series, and really needs to be read in sequence. As the author says in her Acknowledgements at the conclusion of the novel, Charlotte Beck first featured as “an impish child in The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper, and then as a young lady longing for adulthood in Anna and the Hired Gun”. Perhaps if I had read these first, I would have had an understanding of Charlotte’s background and issues, and would not have got confused at certain points in the story. Perhaps, too, I would have found her a more likeable heroine. As it was, I found the book confusing and the heroine annoying.
If you read and enjoyed the first two books in this series, you will probably enjoy The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck. Otherwise, I would advise you either start at the beginning of the series, or ignore this altogether.
Thanks to Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing for providing a free ebook to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lazuardi
Location:Milwaukee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story was cute and easy to read and follow. I like characters that have a strong personality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hysterical Historical

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love hysterical historicals? Charlotte Beck, a wealthy American's daughter, is in London as a debutante, but her Wild West ways aren't winning her any points. When she falls out of a window and lands-literally-in Alex Hambly's arms on the balcony below, she steals Alex's line and claims she'd just stepped out to view a comet in the night sky.
Alex is an astronomer who wants to build a observatory in Colorado. His family is also in huge debt and about to lose everything. The only answer (according to the family accountant) is for Alex to marry money, and he's not so keen on that idea.
When Charlotte's father sees the sparks flying between his daughter and Alex, he makes them both an offer. If they marry each other, Alex's family's financial difficulties will be over, and Charlotte may attend college as she fervently desires. Both rebel against the plan but their needs win out. They privately agree to annul the marriage as soon as possible.
What happens when they fall in love? (Because you know they will!)
The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck features a charming, willful heroine and a hero who can give as good as he gets. The scrapes that Charlotte can get into boggle the mind and caused quite a few snickers while I was reading. In some ways this novel reminded me of the Georgette Heyer Regency novels I used to read, other than part of this novel takes place in Colorado, and Heyer never crossed the Atlantic with her books (just the English Channel). At any rate, if you enjoy a historical romp, you'll love this novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From Regency England to the Wild West

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck By Kathleen Y'Barbo
There are two books previous to this one in The Women of the West series: The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper and the next is Anna Finch and the Hired Gun.
Our story begins in England. Charlotte is with her step-mother and they are staying with her grandfather so she can be introduced into London society. Charlotte has grown up in Colorado around men like William Cody and his Wild West shows. At her first formal outing Charlotte runs through her mind everything Miss Pence has taught her. Things like walking as if an egg were on her head and focusing straight ahead while descending stairs.
She sees a young man staring at her while she focuses on the fireplace mantel, she later finds this annoying man is the son of her hosts, The Hambly's. When she sneaks out a window to get some fresh air she falls into the arms of Viscount Alexander Hambly, the man from the fireplace. Their relationship only goes downhill from that point.
Alex only wants to study the stars and enjoy his quiet life. But that is not to be. He must cover for his brother, Martin, who is the true heir. They had both been in the war but Martin did not come out unscathed. And when the spitfire from America enters the picture his peace and quiet is gone, he gets injured more often and things get broken. Not to mention fires starting in odd spots. Charlotte Beck is a menace.
Charlotte is called back to America by her dad after she continues to put black marks on the family name in England. The girl just can't seem to stay out of trouble. When Alex also arrives in Colorado and her father sees how well he handles Charlotte, Daniel Beck sees the only man who could ever marry is daughter. Both of them disagree. The problem is that Alex needs money to repair the family holdings and pay for the death taxes since his father passed. An agreement is made between the three of them and after four years when she is suppose to marry, Charlotte decides on another agreement to get out of it. Instead of trusting in God, she only wants to trust her own leading. What secret has Charlotte running from both God and love?
Received through Edelweiss for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lighthearted Historical Romance

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just finished reading "The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck" and am more than happy to recommend it to you! Charlotte is a surprising and unique character. Her personality keeps the reader turning pages to see just what she’ll come up with next. Alex Hambly, the viscount chosen by her father to be her groom, is the only person on the planet able to keep up with her rather than cower in fear. Of course, this is why her father chose him as Charlotte's perfect match—the question is: will the couple realize that Charlotte’s father is pretty smart or will they find a way to have their inconvenient marriage annulled?
Charlotte and Alex don’t actually marry until the book is well underway. How Charlotte’s father manages to arrange this marriage despite their objections is more than half the fun of the book.
The story is set in Colorado and London in the late 1800’s. Buffalo Bill Cody is a semi-significant character. The traditions of England’s and America’s social elite at the time are subtly explained and explored. Author Kathleen Y’Barbo chose an intriguing setting for this historical fiction novel.
And, though Christianity doesn’t appear in the book until more than halfway through, the message is there. Y’Barbo doesn’t hit readers over the head with it, but weaves it in naturally.
I had fun reading this lighthearted book! Thank you, Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers, for sending a complimentary copy my way in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Expertly Written!

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Saved Nurse
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an absolutely delightful book and truly worth the read. The story truly captured my attention from the first page. Ms. Y'arbo brought the two main characters, Charlotte Beck and Alex Hamby, to life within the pages. The heroine, Charlotte, captured my attention as an impetuous, loving, and strong-willed young women. I enjoyed her plots and plans within the book--including her penchant for sliding down the banister in homes. The hero, Alex Hamby is a solid and dashing gentleman--with a strong sense of character and duty. Although he loves star gazing and astronomy--he cannot deny how Charlotte Beck totally captures his attention. She literally fell into his arms--at their first meeting. If the two main characters are not enough to keep you wondering what will happen next. Then the wise words from the "renowed" Ms. Pence will keep you entertained. For example Ms. Pence recommends, "The only interest a lady should take in business is to determine before marriage the number of zeroes in a potential husband's bank account." It is ironic because Charlotte and Alex are manuevered into an arranged marriage by her father--unto which they both will benefit. It is ironic that the groom is penniless and the bride only wants to succeed in the business world.
In addition to the entertaining scenes in this book, there is an underlying issue addressed that any Christian must determine whose will is important--our own or the Lord's. I am reminded of this scripture,
"A man's heart deviseth his way, but the Lord directs his steps." Proverbs 16:9
Truly, the Lord keeps directing these two characters back to each other's lives and arms--until they must take a look at their unspoken fears and love for each other.
This review has been a pleasure to write. The book has been a pleasure to read, and I give my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Humorous, engaging story

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathleen Y’Barbo does an incredible job of bringing high class of the era of 1887 – 1891 to life both in London, England and in the west America country of Colorado. Charlotte Beck is a joy to get to know as are the other characters in the novel. Having Colonel Cody, also known as the Great Buffalo Bill, interact with the family both in the new country as well as in England ties the two continents together nicely. This delightfully humorous story also explores the relationships between fathers and daughters, step-mothers and step-daughters, grandfathers and granddaughters, and peers. The reader learns a lot about life during the Victorian Years in a way that doesn’t seem like learning at all.
This is the third book in a series of three following – The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper (book #1) and Anna Finch and the Hired Gun (book #2) and though i read and enjoyed The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck, i think reading the first two books would give more background to this one.
I found it confusing that Charlotte’s step-mother was named Eugenia (most often Gennie) and her mother was named Georgiana, though both names would have been common during that time frame.
This book was a great one, and i would recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical romance fiction.
I received this ebook free from WaterbrookMultnomah publishers through their Blogging For Books program in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated in this review are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Born in the Wrong Century

Date:September 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
123Read
Location:Sperry, Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck: a Novel by Kathleen Y’Barbo, Charlotte Beck is a headstrong, independent, often immature only child born in a time when women are suppose to get married, have children, and tend to family responsibilities. This creates numerous collision points with her family and society in which she must sometimes strike a few bargains to achieve her goals. At first, Charlotte was hard for me to like because of her selfish attitudes. As I got into the book, it was evident that many of her escapades may have been motivated by selfish desires, but they also portray her as person struggling to find her way. I enjoyed the foreshadowing provided by the quotes by Miss Pence, Charlotte’s etiquette teacher, at the beginning of each chapter.
The book is an easy, fun read. There isn’t really a deep spiritual content, but the importance of a relationship with Christ is important to Charlotte’s father as he “interviews” her prospective husband. This questioning prompts the young man to examine his faith, and isn’t that what we all need to do daily? The discussions some of the characters have about arranged marriages, I feel, gave an accurate portrayal of some of the arranged marriages from the historical old west. Although this is the third in “The Women of the West” series, it doesn’t require knowledge of the first two stories to understand.
I received The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck: a Novel for free from Multnomah Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blurb:
Unlikely romance is sometimes just an inconvenient marriage away
Charlotte Beck may be entering adulthood, but she can’t seem to keep to her stubborn, independent spirit from bucking social protocol. Fed up with her behavior, Charlotte’s father Daniel pressures her to settle into a nice marriage despite knowing she is set on going to college. Then Daniel sees Charlotte with the handsome but annoying English astronomer Alex Hambly, and everything changes.
Though Alex and Charlotte can barely stand one another, Daniel offers them a deal they can’t refuse: if they agree to marry, he will save Alex’s family from financial ruin and grant Charlotte the freedom to go to college. Reluctantly the couple agrees, but in private they plot to annul the marriage as soon as possible.
But when Alex’s feelings change and he refuses to dissolve their contract, will Charlotte find a way out of her vows? Or will she discover that maybe this marriage isn’t so inconvenient after all?
My Review:
The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck by Kathleen Y’Barbo was an enjoyable story that was full of humor, faith, and love. I found the characters to be well developed and realistic. Charlotte, being used to getting her own way, is put off by Alex because he is able to “put her in her place”. Alex considers Charlotte a menace because something always seems to get damaged when she is present.
Alex, is strong in character and loyal to his family, and takes his responsibilities seriously; when his father passes away he sees to it that his mother and brother are taken care of.
Charlotte, wants an gain an education at Wellesley College in business management, so that she will one day be able to help run the family business—Beck Enterprises.
Daniel Beck, knows his daughter well, and also knows what is best for her. He also isn’t easily fooled, and can see right through any attempt to deceive him.
I enjoyed this book so well, that I would like to purchase The Confidential Life of Eugenia Cooper and Anna Finch and the Hired Gun which were written previously.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.