Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day

Random House, Inc Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day

Why am I uncomfortable with doubt? Why is God silent? Why can't I overcome sin? Sometimes seekers---and believers---raise difficult issues. Here's spiritual yeast that will leaven the discussion! Offering you lasting peace and a nourishing awareness of God's love, Baker's daily topical guide provides Jesus' direct and implied responses to 40 tough questions. 176 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Review 1 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Louise
Location:Minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for a Bible Study and devotional time for individuals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

questions challenge things

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pat Cook
Location:FL
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book a few years ago and recommended it to a friend recently. As part of a different study, I am always answering her questions with a question that causes her to think about what she is asking. I have been doing this to her for a year now and she has started this for herself. When I was researching just which book to recommend her to go through wth a different fried, I started laughing while reading the back cover knowing this was the perfect book. Questions make things uncomfortable... at first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book facilitates spiritual growth.

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
princess
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is complete as a devotional with reflection questions or it can be used for a group Bible Study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent treatment of difficult topic

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Devotional books abound these days. They remain popular since Christians continue to desire books which help them connect with God. Scriptural readings followed by devotional thoughts, a prayer or a poem - this is what one expects to encounter with books in this genre. One doesn't expect to be given penetrating and even troubling questions.
40 Loaves does just that. C.D. Baker dares to ask and discuss the questions that find their way into our heart of hearts. Why do I so easily lose self-control? Why am I so uncomfortable with doubts? Why can't I overcome sin in my life? Why am I so discontented? These questions (and more like them) aren't addressed easily.
I knew that this book addressed such questions. I wasn't prepared for how relevant the treatment of them would be. Baker uses such questions to probe deeply into our souls, and to ground us firmly in the gospel of God's free grace. Throughout his devotioanl readings, he displays a gift in cutting to the heart of the problem.
Each reading begins with a story or example which draws us into the problem represented by the question covered in the reading. The stories are gleaned from Baker's ministry and life experience, and they do much to keep the book interesting. The devotional then considers the question and finds the key issue or obstacle such a question reveals. The Scripture is briefly applied to the problem at hand, and some questions for further reflection are provided. The section ends with a brief prayer pertinent to the issue.
The readings are short, 4 small pages each. Yet their message is weighty. Don't think the book is frighteningly sober or dreadfully serious. It is, but it isn't. Baker manages to keep the readings eminently readable, interesting and above all, helpful.
As a once-upon-a-time-legalist, I found Baker's emphasis on grace refreshing, and his exposure of their peril of performance-based Christianity convincing. Baker also quite often gives encouragement and reminds us that we are human after all. It would be wrong to assume that Baker just offers a cheery view of the world, however. He acknowledges and addresses the grittiness of the Christian struggle. And his thoughts are grounded in Scripture. I appreciated his emphasis on the centrality of the gospel and his encouragement to focus on Jesus.
This little volume will be a blessing to you. All the more if you find yourself voicing some disturbing questions. 40 Loaves will prove to be accessible to almost any reader, and offers a high return on any investment involved in the reading. This book has made me interested in picking up some of Baker's other devotional books. I encourage you to pick up a copy of this book, you won't be disappointed.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by Waterbrook Multnomah for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Feast for the Soul

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like asking questions. I encourage my kids to ask questions. Questions lead us to search for answers and dig deep for understanding. However, when it comes to faith-related questions, some people are afraid or ashamed to ask. This book addresses 40 questions that some Christians may be struggling with. Questions like: Why do I so easily lose self-control?, Why am I so confused about finding God's will?, Why do I always feel exhausted?, Why are my feelings so easily hurt?, Why do I fear unbelief?, Why do I care so much about my reputation?, and more. I truly appreciate Mr. Baker’s transparency, humility, & honesty and his reliance on the Scriptures for answers. Each question in the book will help draw you closer to God and His Word. Each "loaf" ends with food for thought and a prayer. This book is small but is packed with valuable insights and Biblical wisdom. It's easy to read and it is nourishing to the soul. 40 Loaves is definitely delicious and healthy to feast upon!
~This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary
Hailed and marketed as a devotional book, I tend to disagree. Sure, these are short chapters and can be used as a daily meditation or devotional, but the discussions are so deep and intensive, it's not likely to be read and moved beyond easily. With topics that ask why it's so hard to have faith or forgive, you will greedily move from one chapter to another wanting to know what Baker has to say next. He is concise yet deep, thorough and profound. The most disappointing factor for me was that he didn't choose more loafs to ponder. I want a smorgasbord next time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
40 Loaves by C.D. Baker is the perfect devotional for those who want to take their faith deeper but don't have a lot of time. Each of the 40 chapters is just two-three pages long and delves into issues that we all face: why do I complain so much? why am I so confused about finding God's will? why I am so desperate to be understood? Chapters begin with a short personal anecdote and end with a few questions to encourage the reader to look deeper followed by a prayer. The brevity doesn't mean Baker skips on depth, he gets right to the core of the issue giving readers understanding and hope. Baker takes away the excuse that readers' don't have enough time to spend each day deepening their relationship with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
This is a great book to read and digest on a daily basis. Questions invite authenticity, asking opens our eyes to ourselves and opens our hearts to the Spirit. Take 40 days, and contemplate each question, honestly and openly on a daily basis and then let God reveal to you His truths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
This book is compiled of 40 short inspirational readings to Renew a hungry Spirit. Each reading is a probing question that Christians might think, but are too afraid to make known for fear of what others might think about them. Each reading was inspired by Christians that struggled in their faith, and mingled with truth that they found along the way. After each reading, there a food for thought and a prayer. Some of the questions you'll find that the book covers are: * Why can't I overcome sin in my life? * Why am I afraid to read my Bible? * Why is loving others so hard for me? * Why am I so afraid of death? * Why am I so angry? * Why am I son discontented? * Why is my life such a mess? * Why don't I feel safe at church? * and more
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jody
This thought provoking devotional asks the tough questions - the ones we all wonder but are sometimes afraid to ask. Mr. Baker asks a question and then provides some of his own ideas and thoughts - never trying to directly answer the question but just to provide some insight and some things to get us thinking harder about the question. He also includes a short prayer at the end of each devotional. A wonderful book that provokes deeper thought into the things we believe and wonder about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tonya
This was a great devotional book! I suggest it to anyone who needs a little rejuvination! It truly is a helpful book. It brought to mind things that I hadn't thought about for a long time...if at all. It had a lot of insight on a lot of simple thoughts....it was like water to the soul. Definitely an A+!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Samantha
I love little books. A little something that I can keep by the bedside or even tuck in my purse and take with me as I run errands. Even more than that, I love little books that contain big truths to big questions that we're all too often afraid to ask. 40 Loaves is one of those books. In 40 little chapters, it covers topics a variety of topics that are common to many followers of Jesus.While it's meant to be used as a 40 day devotional,I've kept mine in my purse for those down moments that come each day. Waiting at the doctor's office, in the car (while my husband drives, of course), at the pharmacy...all those moments I'd normally find myself reaching for a magazine or staring out the window. It was perfect.Each chapter was short enough to read in just a few minutes, but I kept finding myself coming back to it in thought and prayer later each day. In fact, if I had one criticism, it would be that some of the topics are a little too deep to be covered in such a short writing. At the same time, I can't really say that's a true negative because it often sent me to my Scriptures to dig deeper. Perfect as a little gift this holiday season, I'd also love to see churches give this book to those who are new to following Jesus or even to new church members.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emily Cox
Why dont I have more faith?Why am I so bored with Jesus?Why are Christians so hard for me to like?Have you ever found yourself wrestling with questions such as these? Struggling with the tough questions of life and of faith? Wondering why you can't get it together?The book 40 Loaves by C.D. Baker is a concise look at some deep struggles that face all people. Why do I get angry with God? Why is loving others so hard for me? Why is my life such a mess? Why do I avoid sharing my faith? These and many more questions are examined in this book. Each chapter opens with a tangible example of the specific struggle. Then a biblical discussion on what God has to say about it. Each section ends with some thoughts and questions to help guide your own process in dealing with the topic and a prayer to keep your sights on God.This book covers the hard questions in a format that is easy to read and easy to understand. The language is uplifting, encouraging, and promising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
brknhrt
I absolutely loved this book. 40 Loaves is a devotional type book that asks and answers questions Christians are afraid to ask. The book begins with a Dear Reader where the author illustrates his compassion and understanding of struggling Christians and those who need to know they are not alone with their questions. Just a few of the 40 Loaves are: Why am I so uncomfortable with doubts? Why dont I have more faith? Why am I so afraid of death? Why are some Christians so hard for me to like? Why cant I relax around God?Each chapter also has a short Food for Thought and a prayer or scripture. 40 Loaves is both encouraging and challenging as the author explores the thoughts and questions we have about Jesus, faith, and feelings. For this review I read through the book as a whole, but I am going to go back and read it as a devotional with reflection and prayer. This is a book that came to me when I needed it most, and I was truly affected by its message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
I like asking questions. I encourage my kids to ask questions. Questions lead us to search for answers and dig deep for understanding. This book addresses 40 questions that some Christians may be struggling with. I truly appreciate Mr. Baker's transparency, humility, & honesty and his reliance on the Scriptures for answers. Each question in the book will help draw you closer to God and His Word. Each "loaf" ends with food for thought and a prayer. This book is definitely delicious and healthy to feast upon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Baker has written 40 meditations, each around a question. A few examples include: Why am I uncomfortable with doubt? Why can't I overcome sin? Why am I afraid of death? Why am I confused about finding God's will? Some of the meditations develop from Baker's discussions with fellow pilgrims while others originate in his own struggles. I could not identify at all with many of his questions. They seem to describe issues and questions I dealt with decades ago. It seems that writing this book may have been cathartic for Baker as he worked through some of his own issues.I would not suggest this book to anyone who has been a Christian for longer than a few years. Baker's meditations frequently bring up issues that should be long gone in a believer's life. Then again, perhaps issues are brought up that the reader has never worried about - but will now! Baker deals with each issue in about two pages when properly dealing with the concern would be a full length book.Redeeming aspects of the book are the pithy questions and personal prayer at the end of each meditation. These might be used for group discussion.This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Do you have many why's without answers? Do you have questions your afraid to ask thinking it might bring into question your faith? C.D Baker dives into these questions we struggle with without any fear.He asks questions like,"Why do I avoid sharing my faith", "Why am I so confused about finding God's will","Why is loving others so hard for me","Why am I bored with church, the bible and Jesus","Why do I resent authority". Baker goes head on with the questions we at times try to act as though they do not exist. But our questions are very real and sometimes painful. When we trust, when we seek answers our faith increases with wisdom and understanding. Baker shows us that we can find Christ in our questions. Many times we feel as though questions are a sign of weakness, but not at all, Baker teaches us to ask the questions that will bring us strength in our faith.This book could be used as a devotional, or kept as a tool to remind us when we have questions there is One who we can seek to find our real answers we are looking for, and peace for those we do not understand. I love the title of this book, "40 Loaves", for God's word is our bread that will fill us when we are hungry and searching.As Moses was on the mountain top for 40 days waiting to hear from the Lord, as the children of Israel wondered in the desert for 40 years, the Lord was temped for 40 days, for Noah it rained for 40 days and 40 nights, 40 is significant to finding answers and seeking God. This book was such an eye opener for me, and helped me to understand its okay to have questions, that is how we grow as Christians and walk in our faith. Baker shows us we don't have to struggle over our questions, just humbly seek our Lord and He will show us all we need to understand. This book was a gift to me from Multnomah WaterBrook Press for its review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shellie Billings
This book caught my attention because I like to ask questions and don't really mind making others uncomfortable. This book asks 40 questions that we all would like to ask and get a straight answer. And for those of you with short attention spans, each question is answered in just two or three pages.I'd classify 40 Loaves as a devotional book and in fact I'll probably use it that way as I read through it again so that I can absorb it better. Each chapter/day a question is posed and answered then you're given some "Food for Thought" questions for self-examination as well as a short prayer. The questions asked and answered range from "Why do I get so angry with God?" to "Why are some Christians so hard for me to like?" and "Why have I stopped dreaming?"I really enjoyed this book. I felt like the author had asked himself each question and had found the answers in scripture and through his own experiences wrestling with God. I found myself encouraged, not discouraged while reading this book.I was encouraged to see that others ask the same questions I do. I was encouraged that there are answers based on scripture to those questions. I was encouraged because I don't need to feel guilty for asking questions or overwhelmed that there is no answer. Most of all I was encouraged because I felt closer to God after reading this book. I think we are all encouraged when we find a kindred spirit who can put into words what we are thinking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kevin Sorensen
What a delightful read! I've had opportunity to read and review several "devotional" type books in the past several months. This is, by far, the best of any of them. Before I go any further, I highly recommend this book. If I could purchase one for every household in my congregation, I would do so in a heartbeat.Baker's style takes you deep, yet remains straightforward and easy to read. Each chapter is based off a question a question he has asked himself or someone has asked him. He then goes on to provide an answer, while all the time, not coming off like "The Answer Man" that can be so trite and annoying in other formatsHere is just a sampling of the questions asked: Why am I so uncomfortable with doubts? Why do I get angry with God? Why is loving others so hard for me? Why does God seem silent in my life? Why do I pray only in emergencies? Why am I bored with church, the Bible, and Jesus?He then goes on to provide insight into each question through the use of Scripture, personal experience or anecdotes of other's lives, usually all mixed into one short reading. Each 3-4 page chapter then closes out with a "Food for Thought" section which asks the reader some questions to get him or her thinking about the issue at hand. Finally, a short prayer is provided to guide one's own meditation upon these things. Some of the prayers are directly from Scripture (my favorite type of prayer), from some saint in the past, or simply an offering from the author.I highly recommend this book. Order it now and you can start off the New Year with it. You can read it in forty days, or use one each week to take you more than halfway through the year. Give yourself time to meditate upon the questions, ask them of yourself, reflect if you've asked these kinds of questions yourself; then allow God to search your heart for answers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Forty Loaves: Breaking Bread with Our Father Each Day
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Though a bit too much Calvinistic in places, this is a great book to answer questions one might have - also would make a good devotional book for daily reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>