Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Steeple Hill Books Threat of Darkness

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Steeple Hill Books Threat of Darkness

As a nurse and special advocate for children, Samantha Rochard is used to danger in small town Serenity, Arkansas. But when she suspects a little boy is in jeopardy from his powerful father, the danger turns on her. Her only source of protection? The handsome police officer who broke her heart five years ago. Yet after John Waltham comes to her rescue in more ways than one, Samantha must trust in him-and the Lord-to watch over her.and save one sweet little boy.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (6 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Threat of Darkness
Review 1 for Threat of Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great suspense

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Samantha Rochard is a nurse who especially likes to help children. When she thinks a little boy might be in danger she steps in to help and finds herself in danger. The man who keeps showing up to help her, John Waltham, is a man she is not sure she wants around. After a break up a few years ago they still have some issues they need to work out. Will dealing with the current situation help or hinder them of a future together?
The characters in this book were interesting but did not seem to follow logic sometimes. What I mean by that is who they were portrayed to be sometimes did not match up with their actions. That said I did enjoy the conversations and suspense. I liked the story line too as not many romance novels broach the subjects portrayed here.
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would read it again and would also recommend it to a friend.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Threat of Darkness
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

If you have to tell me…

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nurse Samantha has an unexpected run-in with criminals just when John, her ex, returns to her small town as the new Police detective. He is assigned to her case, and they are forced to re-evaluate their relationship as they try and solve the crime.
If you want me to believe your heroine is clever enough to be a qualified nurse, then make her act like it. Don’t have her continually doing things that put her in the TSTL (too stupid to live) category. For example, she lives in an isolated house, but doesn’t have a home telephone line (just a mobile phone, in an area where you apparently can’t always get a signal), she doesn’t have car insurance, she doesn’t bother to tell the police that she was accosted in the parking lot even though it’s obviously related to the case… need I go on? It makes her unlikeable, and it means that we find it difficult to have any liking or respect for the hero, because he is obviously lacking in judgement to find this woman so attractive (not to mention that he was a dimwit for leaving her in the first place).
As you can no doubt tell, I was disappointed by Threat of Darkness. I usually really enjoy romantic suspense novels, so I was looking forward to reading this. Unfortunately, it didn’t measure up to expectations. In fairness to Love Inspired authors, they are hampered by low word count limits (not more than 60,000 words where a regular novel is 90,000 plus) and indifferent editing (exemplified by the overuse of exclamation marks). But I have read and enjoyed other Love Inspired novels – just not this one.
Thanks to Love Inspired Suspense (an imprint of Harlequin) and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Threat of Darkness
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love, mystery and suspense

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Merce
Location:San Juan, PR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This novel is about much more than what the overview says. Yes, there is an abused child, and, yes, Samantha does try to rescue him with the help of her ex-boyfriend, John. But her life is also in danger right from the beginning, a direct outcome from a very scary situation that she goes through as the book opens. And it is a great way to begin a novel: it got my attention, had me interested, and got me wondering what would happen next.
Samantha is a character who has gone through a lot and who has an inner battle with God about what happened in her past with the man she loved, and a struggle with herself about the way she is feeling toward this man again. So she is someone anyone can relate to. John, on the other hand, is almost useless. As a cop he is always either late or getting knocked out. Cops in general here are very mediocre; they apparently don't know the first thing about doing a simple search, securing evidence or interrogating witnesses or suspects. And that is very irritating.
The plot is actually pretty interesting, and I love the fact that, since it is written in third person, we get to see how both Samantha and John feel and think. It has mystery, suspense, romance and action, you know, all the goodies. However, the dialogues, as well as some actions, sometimes lacked continuity. For example, the characters would speak and I would read again because from one person to the next you get the impression that part of the dialogue is missing, like one person is answering something that was never asked, or another asked something that was never answered. Another example: Samantha and John would search inside the house because an intruder had been there, but they couldn't find anything, so they would say, "Let's search again, in case we missed anything the first time around." But in the next paragraph, they would go outside to search around the house, and then change their minds, get in the car and go someplace else. It's as if the author forgot her original intention.
The ending was too good to be true, and the too good part was so rushed that it would have been better to give it a fair treatment in an epilogue.
One last note, during the whole novel, Samantha's problem and threat is front and center, not the abused child. However, towards the end, it's the child's case that gets all the action, and Samantha's case is resolved but very uneventfully.
So the action and suspense is good enough to interest you in the first place. The police mediocrity is bad enough that you may feel deflated. The problems with the dialogue and continuity is disappointing. But you will want to stick around for the resolution when the case of the abused child takes center stage and the action will hold your attention.
*I received a copy of this book from Harlequin through NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Threat of Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Defender Series Book 2

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Threat of Darkness by Valerie Hansen
Book 2 of the Defenders Series
Samantha Rochard worked as a nurse. She was alone in the world except for her dog, Brutus. She had rescued him as a pup 10 years ago. She worked with CASA helping kids in abuse situations, something Sam was personally aware of from her own childhood. Life was good until one night everything changed. An emergency at the hospital with a sick child and an addict with a gun, topped off by a man who broke her heart six years ago when he left town. If that wasn’t enough she was attacked in the parking lot and her house and car were violated….the worse was yet to come.
John Waltham had left town six years ago for his dream of working in law enforcement but not in this small town. He couldn’t convince Sam to marry and go with him. Her welcome back for him was not as he hoped. But she did need him when one thing after another started happening in her life. Could love be reunited after he had unknowingly shattered her heart?
Valerie is an extremely talented author. I have enjoyed many of her books, mostly the ones in multi-author series. She keeps the facts and stories flowing well, even within those books.
Bonus Novella: Small-Town Romance by Arlene James
**Book received from NetGalley for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Threat of Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great romance / suspense novel

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy the Love Inspired series of books and this one did not disappoint! Valerie Hansen weaves in the often treacherous job of saving children from abusers. This is not a glamorous job, but is a very rewarding job.
As the mystery unfolds, Samantha is evaluating the possibility of abuse when strange things begin happening. A purse snatching, a home and car invasion, and a dog - napping. Through it all, she needs to rely on her former beau for protection without wearing her heart on her sleeve.
Valerie Hansen has written an excellent romance / suspense novel. The twists and turns of the mystery draw the reader into the story to solve the crime and save the innocent victims.
Click HERE to read Chapter 1!
I received a complimentary ebook from Harlequin and NetGalley for my honest review.
Blessings,
Ellen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Threat of Darkness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good romantic suspense!

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherry K
Location:Kansas
Samantha Rochard didn't have a good childhood and as a result grew up to be a nurse and a special advocate for children. She can recognize signs of abuse and that's what she sees with one little boy whose father has turned his anger toward him. But when Samantha gets involved she becomes a target. John Waltham is the policeman who comes to Samantha's aid. They have a history together but five years ago John left. Samantha not only lost John but her faith as well. Now he's returned and she must rely on him to help her. Will Samantha find the faith she lost? Will John and Samantha get a second chance at their happily-ever-after? Danger is close at hand and when the bullets fly, who will be left standing?
I thoroughly enjoyed Threat of Darkness. It's a story that will keep you entertained from the first page to the last. It was the perfect blend of humor, suspense, action and romance. The characters were really fun to get to know. Even Samantha's dog. I appreciated how the author pointed out that lots of times we abandon or lose our faith when God doesn't answer our prayers the way we think He should. And sometimes we fail to see the good things that God sets before us. Those are things everyone can relate to. Although this story deals with abuse, you'll also find the subject of forgiveness at the forefront. So if your looking for a good, easy-to-read, romantic suspense, I suggest you take a trip to the small town of Serenity, Arkansas. Be careful now, and don't forget your flashlight, there just may be a "Threat of Darkness"!
*This copy was given to me by Harlequin through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*
Mass Market Paperback: 256 pages
Publisher: Love Inspired (June 5, 2012)
ISBN-10: 0373444923
ISBN-13: 978-0373444922
File Size: 476 KB
ASIN: B007JJSOYE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.