Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fox Faith Amazing Grace, DVD

Fox Faith Amazing Grace, DVD

Amazing Grace, from acclaimed director, Michael Apted, tells the inspiring story of how one man's passion and perseverance changed the world. Based on the true-life story of William Wilberforce (Gruffudd), a leader of the British abolition movement, the film chronicles his epic struggle to pass a law to end the slave trade in the late 18th century. Along the way, Wilberforce meets intense opposition from members of Parliament who feel the slave trade is tied to the stability of the British Empire. Several friends, including Wilberforce's minister, John Newton (Finney), a reformed slave ship captain who penned the beloved hymn Amazing Grace, urge him to see the cause through. Rated PG. Approx. 111 Minutes.

DVD Special Features:
  • Widescreen, Closed Captioned
  • English, Spanish and French Subtitles
  • Audio Commentary with Director Michael Apted and Ioan Gruffudd
  • How Sweet the Sound: The Story of Amazing Grace - Documentary
  • Finding Freedom
  • Interactive Discussion Tools and Study Guides
  • Music video of Grammy Nominee Chris Tomlin's version of Amazing Grace
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (126 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amazing Grace, DVD
Review 1 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good

Date:February 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
NELB
Location:Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really like this movie. The fact that it is historical vs fiction is a plus. Even though it has its dryer aspects when parliament is meeting, they manage to make even those times pretty interesting. Overall it is very entertaining and thought provoking and the acting is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good movie, but not "Christian"

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
happyguy
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A quick word on those who were bothered by the film's content: First of all, I agree that we should be rightly bothered whenever someone, Christian or otherwise, takes our Savior's name in vain. It's just plain wrong and tarnishes His holy name. Second of all, who in the world called this a "Christian" movie?! Did Jesus die just for the sake of one movie? I don't think so. Finally, everyone has an inherent sin nature. So, while it should rightly bother us, it should not surprise us when someone stumbles in a certain area, even if it is the area of speech.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a nice take on history

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie Denham
Location:Independence, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we really enjoyed it! the whole family. we're looking forward to watching it again. there's a lot to take in :0)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A true historical masterpiece!

Date:August 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Location:Hickory Grove, South Carolina
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Grace is the powerful and moving story of William Wilberforce, the abolitionist who abolished the slave trade in England, and his minister John Newton, a reformed slave ship captain who penned the beloved song, Amazing Grace. 
The movie is such an inspiring and compelling story of how one man’s passion and perseverance changed the world, even in the face of opposition and adversity.He had outstanding courage and gave God the glory and Amazing Grace is the riveting story that brings this to life. The insights into the reality of the slave trade are very enlightening and provide historical insight. 
 It was also interesting to me, that although Wilberforce had colitis, he did not let that stop him. His convictions, compassion, and determination are exemplary. Wilberforce demonstrated the Christian's responsibility to do what's right, without compromising your beliefs. Knowing how America abolished slavery, it was very interesting to me, to see the slave trade portrayed from England's perspective. The sad part is that unfortunately slavery still exists. In the special features, there is a documentary on the present slave trade in the 21rst century.  We need to be the voice of the people and continue to speak out against slavery as Wilberforce did. 
 I was also drawn to this movie because the director was  Michael Apted, who also directed The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. 
 The actors and filming in Amazing Grace were outstanding! I thought it was interesting that some of the filming was even done at Hampton Court Castle! The beautiful  rendition of the hymn "Amazing  Grace" by the Balmoral Pipers at the end was truly amazing! Amazing Grace was even further enriched by an audio commentary with the director and the talented Welsh actor, Ioan Gruffudd, who portrayed William Wilberforce. There was also a special on the story behind Amazing Grace, Interactive Discussion Tools and Study Guides, and a music video of Grammy Nominee Chris Tomlin's version of Amazing Grace. 
Overall, Amazing Grace, was truly an inspiring and thought provoking movie. It's an important story in the history of the world against an evil and the power of Christ who overcomes. 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent movie

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maxil
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent movie.
Having watched the movie for the third time has made me to ponder even deeper our Christian responsability and the need for social action and not just social work.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Movie!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Theophilus
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has got to be one of the best films I have ever seen! I loved it-from the historical significance and story to the cinematography-this was a great film with a great story of faith and perseverance.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unexpected excellent movie

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shrubbie64
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although the movie may not give you all the details and include all the people who assisted in killing slavery in the UK, it sure tells the story. I liked that it did not take away from the trials and tribulations that Christians have in their lives while doing the best that they can do to carry out God's will in their lives. We are all sinners, yet the Grace of God lets us live on forever. I usually do not like political movies but his one touched something deep inside and will stay with me for a long time. Are we much different today than from then, I think not. A wonderful movie and blessings on the actors and actresses for their roles. It is well worth a watch.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arline Buckley
I am very pleased with this DVD about how the sins of one man's life can lead another to step up to the bat and be a part of such a fantastic right; such a fantastic change in so many lives to come and to help one old pastor put to rest 3000 ghost! The story of William Wilberforce as led by the past life of John Newton should not be over looked.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheri Dacosta
Thanks for this movei. I enjoyed watching htis and I will be watching it again. I didn't get a chance to see gthe rest of the DVD documentary, and other stuff. This will make a great high school and college educational tool. Many students aren't getting the right perspective of things that have happened in the past from public schools, or some private schools. This is something they can watch on their own. After all, the best education comes from life, not just in the classroom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Girl from Dixie
Excellent, and I repeat, EXCELLENT!!! You gotta get this!! A few bad words, but enough to overlook...hey, the message in this movie is well worth it!!! Has some humor, the actor's and actresses did an outstanding performance and it is truly inspiring!! You'll be inspired, and you'll definatly want to share it with all your friends. Deserves more than 5 stars!!! I would suggest parental aproval before young children watch, has some content you may not wnat your children seeing. Slavory was rough, ya know...so it's understandable. But you may want to aprove it first. GREAT MOVIE though!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Aleisha
This movie eloquently narrates the moving story of William Wilberfoce and a few other major abolitionists. It is true to life and the actors were 'amazing' in their roles. The language is NOT profane, meaning G-rated. However due to the theme, obviously this movie is not intended for children under 8.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jean-michel Mangin
Un film excellent qui fait du bien au coeur et qui ne nous laisse pas indiffrent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Biberstine
This movie was very informative, and well-done... definitely an inspiration...I would recommend it to all ages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
A.morris Russell
Thank you for making this available to us along with the other good reading that we get from time to time.Keep up the good work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Parker Bryan
Excellent family movie that touches on issues dealing with living one's life in God's service and for His purposes in His time. Highly recommend for entertainment and in teacing the issues of human worth to children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Grace
Loved this movie! Very interesting and moving, especially after learning about Wilberforce in my schooling. A quick note if you're one of those people who feel like throwing this movie away because of the few bad words...don't throw it away, give it to me, please!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Victoria Rhodehouse
This movie is spectacular! Ioan Gruffudd gives an inspiring performance in his portrayal of William Wilberforce. The story is a great example of what true courage, compassion and determination can accomplish in the face of adversity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Ward-rdh
I enjoyed this movie very much. I like history movies and this was full of historical event.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judith Fuoco
This was a great story( based on a true story) and great for the whole family. We have watched it more than once and I have purchased copies for other family and friends.It really puts the words to the great hymn, Amazing Grace, to life!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Amazing Grace, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
CFloyd
This movie is well made. it looks as good as it sounds with an interesting way of laying out the plot. Instead of linear and chronological, it sways back and forth, much like a ship. But it is not so rocky you can't keep up. A good family movie introducing a pivotal point in history: the abolishment of slavery in England.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>