Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good

WaterBrook Press Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good

Want to lose weight permanently? You can't focus on the physical without changing the way you think! Explaining why diets don't work, Hobbs walks you through the five decisions that lead to sustainable weight loss---and lasting life change. Balancing nutrition, cardio fitness, and strength-training, she offers an engaging, down-to-earth approach to healthy living.
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Review 1 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindylou
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really am enjoying this book . Very practical. And I love to hear of success stories where God is in the mix!
Encouraging story of a real life struggle...can so relate to the emotions she felt!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Any one can do this!

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyce Player
Location:Hubert, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Chantel has it right, weight loss is a brain change. Any one can lose weight if they change the way they think about food. This is not a diet but a life change. Food is a fuel for our bodies, not a feel good taste that gets us over the issues of life. Change your thinking and change your body.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lois Martin
This book was recommended to me, I am so glad I bought it. I was ready to give up and had been crying out to God to help me with my weight issues for so long I wasn't sure that there was an answer. I love that she doesn't start me with a diet! She starts me with a new way of thinking and exercise I can do!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Helen Prochnow
Great help in my new adventure! I had decided alot of this before I picked up the book, but it is a great help and a step by step for how to begin and go from there. Thanks be to God!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Beyond these reviews, it should be mentioned that she writes that she underwent a "breast lift and augmentation" to "get help from the experts" for what she couldn't do on her own. (p. 204). So if you are thinking you can look like Chantel by following her program of diet and exercise, remember your results will not match exactly, unless you, too, go under the knife. No one seems to be mentioning this part of her story. As a former journalist, I think it is an important part.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris Richards
This book really resonated with me. When Chantel talked about where she "was" it was like she was telling my story. I have started using her program and am looking forward to great results, not only with my weight, but with other "heavy" issues in my life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
J Kinsey
I really enjoyed this book. I love that her sucess begins with a committment to God. What a great inspiration!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arlene Freeman
Very motivational. I am in the process of following her advice and am very encouraged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise Green
Even though I am only ten pounds overweight I was strongly attracted to this book because I heard Chantel Hobbs on "Focus on the Family". Chantel was a junk food junkie and couch potato like me. I was extremely interested in how she gained control of her eating and motivated herself to exercise. I have had a lifelong sugar addiction and Chantel focuses on how to learn to control cravings and take the power away from binge foods. Her personal story is inspiring and I appreciate that she speaks openly about her faith and prayer life. I just purchased Chantel's companion book to "Never Say Diet" which contains a contract, food journal and exercise log, so that I may begin the program.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Johnson
I thought the book was very good and superbly enlightening. It was a sure lifter-upper and was finally needed to expel all those "diet" fads that are out there now. I love the freshness and the thoughts that inspired Chantel to write this book and to honor her commitment to God, to herself and to her family. I compliment Chantel on her glorious accomplishment and her finale of a winning end result. Thank you for your kind and thourough inspiration and the strength to carry it out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angie
I am so glad to see this book available at CBD. I am about to purchase my 5th copy for my church library. I have given the other copies to my closest girlfriends. Chantel's story and the 16 week plan so touched and motivated me. My brain is changed and I am thankful!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Carreiro
Love it! very inspiring, keeps you interested and motivated. I would definitely recommend to others who are needing support and challenge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2009
This is an uplifting and encouraging book written by a real-life health and fitness success story. I recommend taking it with you to the gym to read on the treadmill!The interactive Personal Fitness Trainer book is an incredibly valuable resource for customizing your experience on the road to a healthier and happier you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ginger Tate
When I first say the book, Never Say Diet, I thought to myself..Another Diet Book. But after reading the first chapter my opinion quickly changed. Author, Chantel Hobbs, explains that in order to lose weight you have to have a brain change. In this book, Never say Diet, there are five decisions you must make if you are serious about losing weight. They are: 1) Be Truthful, 2) Be Forgiving, 3) Be Committed, 4) Be Interested, and 5) Surrender.The thing I liked about this book is that it did not just give you advice. Another Diet Book tells you what youll need to have to lose weight, what youll need to know to lose weight & what youll need to do to lose weight. Another Diet Book also has exercise pictured so there is no question on how to do them. And then the last chapter has answers to questions about weight loss that everyone wants to know but will never ask.This book, another Diet Book, is a great tool for someone who is ready and committed to losing weight. I highly recommend purchasing this one. Ive started my weight loss program and anxious to find the new me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wyn
Like every other diet book on the market this one has many ideas that will work. The difference is that Chantel recognizes that diets don't work in the long run because of our mind set. Her book is about how to change your mind set, how to recognize what will work for you and what wont. She had her defining moment, then she approached losing weight and getting fit as a "job". We go to our job whether we want to or not, same for exercising and nutrition, do it whether you want to or not. Of course, she also has a chapter on how to incorporate your spiritual reliance on God into your program. Her workbook lays out the 16 week course in a manner that is easy to follow, if your mind is set that way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
kelly
This book was awesome. I felt I was reading about myself. It helped me to really look inside myself about my issues with food. And on her advice about keeping a food journal, I had a revelation to why I failed so many times in the past. It has been totally life changing for me. I'm on Phase 2 of the program and have lost 12 lbs, but more important I feel so much better and love how I feel after a workout. Thank you Chantel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Never Say Diet: Make Five Decisions and Break the Fat Habit for Good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
kelly
This book was awesome. I felt I was reading about myself. It helped me to really look inside myself about my issues with food. And on her advice about keeping a food journal, I had a revelation to why I failed so many times in the past. It has been totally life changing for me. I'm on Phase 2 of the program and have lost 12 lbs, but more important I feel so much better and love how I feel after a workout. Thank you Chantel.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.