Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Steeple Hill Books Double Exposure

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Steeple Hill Books Double Exposure

Photographer Jennie Buchanan unknowingly captures a drug-cartel meeting on film. And now she has become a killer's next target. Even worse, her only protection from the danger that threatens her life is the man who threatens her heart. Dodging bullets almost seems safer than facing the feelings stirred up by seeing former FBI agent and ex-boyfriend Ethan Justice again. Ethan vows to safeguard Jennie from the deadly men on her trail. And for a second chance at Jennie's love, he's willing to risk anything to expose the truth-about the drug smugglers, the past and the future together he still wants.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double Exposure
Review 1 for Double Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Suspense

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
B Mace
Location:Garrison, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book - finished it in one day! The well developed characters were a treat to follow through the main and sub-plots. I was on the edge of my seat more than once, hoping that the villain or villains would be caught. Enjoyed the romantic parts, but was much more caught up with the suspense. Very well written. Looking forward to the next one in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Double Exposure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exceeded my expectations

Date:June 12, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Romantic suspense at its finest. Susan Sleeman's "Double Exposure" met and exceeded my expectations. Lots of intrigue, and romance. Ms. Sleeman has done an excellent job of pulling us into the story from the very first sentence.
The past that Jennie wants to keep hidden from Ethan defines who she is and the things she cares about, but holding onto the secret prevents her from living life to its fullest. You have to read the book to find out if she overcomes this obstacle and finds what she’s been searching for.
Another wonderful romantic suspense. I look forward to her next installment in The Justice Agency series.
***I received this book free for review. The above is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Double Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't Wait Til the Next in the Series

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cheri S
Location:Battle Creek, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the privilege this weekend of reading Double Exposure by Susan Sleeman. This is book one in the Justice Agency series, released in June 2012.
From the very first chapter, Susan brought action and suspense. She was able to carry that through to the very end, keeping me guessing and wanting to read what would happen next. Not only was the plot very intriguing, with twists and turns throughout, but she brought to life the characters that I, as the reader, wanted to invest in.
Jennifer, the main character, was likeable from chapter one. She endeared herself to my heart - showing survivor skills mixed with a tender spirit. She had characteristics that helped me relate easily to her, putting myself right in the action. Ethan, the book’s hero, was the perfect fit for Jenn. Having worked through his issues before the opening of the book, he was therefore was able to give Jenn the patience, time, and grace that she needed in order to work through her past. It was through their continued interactions that Susan showed so remarkably well how they complemented each other’s strengths and weaknesses. The fact that they had a past before the first chapter made the plot more intriguing and more endearing to me as a reader.
As much as I loved watching Ethan and Jenn move toward each other throughout the book, overcoming the various obstacles that prevented them staying together in the past, I think I loved even more how Susan introduced Ethan’s siblings from the start. They remained ever present throughout the entire story. The close family unit that she depicted so well, that I think all of us want to a certain degree, pulled me in as a reader and made me hungry to keep reading about how this family. I want to know more about the siblings as a whole as well as how they remain close despite life’s inevitable interferences. I am anxiously awaiting the sequels to Double Exposure so I can discover more about each and every sibling, their personal struggles, their background, and each one’s individual story.
In addition to reading about the other siblings, I hope that Susan will keep the reader informed as to how Jenn and Ethan’s love continues. I am anxiously awaiting reading about the next adventure that I am confident Susan will deliver.
Don’t just take my word for it - if you like mystery, adventure, suspense, and of course romance, Double Exposure is the perfect summer read to get you started on a new adventure and a whole new series. I know I can’t wait to find out what adventures lie ahead for the rest of the siblings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Double Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Page-Turning

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
AuthorCynthiaHickey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always enjoyed Susan's books and this did not disappoint. From the first page, we are involved with the heroine and feel her fear as she is stalked. Then in walks the man assigned to protect her. Jennie Buchanan did not expect to see her ex-boyfriend, Ethan Justice, again. Especially in such close proximity. Sparks fly and danger increases as Ethan fights to keep Jennie safe and Jennie continues to move forward with a photography show that somebody will kill in order to stop. A great book in a great new series. I encourage readers to check out The Justice Agency series. They won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Double Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this Story

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Double Exposure is sure to delight the avid romantic suspense reader.
Photographer Jennie Buchanan’s life is threatened if she doesn’t cancel a benefit for her foundation that helps children.
Ethan Justice and his siblings are hired by the gallery hosting the event to provide security for Jennie and her benefit, but she broke his heart several years ago and he doesn’t want to go there again. However, the Justice team is the best and he wouldn’t want anyone else protecting the woman he once loved.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Double Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Double play on Double Exposure

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Someone threatened to kill her last night. Now a man was following her.” These opening words set the tone for this Love Inspired suspense novel. Jennie Buchanan, a photographer and a loner, has her life and work threatened but isn’t sure why. When the gallery that hosts her charity exhibit is vandalized, the owner hires a local firm for protection. The head, who serves as Jennie’s main bodyguard, turns out to be an old boyfriend, Ethan Justice, whom she dropped years ago.
Jennie’s painful past makes it difficult for her to trust others. Ethan still seems interested in her, but she doubts they could make a relationship work. Her life is dedicated to her photography and helping orphans in Mexico. This story also addresses the issues of rejection, fear, loss, and forgiveness, which I think everyone can relate to. As we read what realistic fictional characters experience, we can often gain insights into our own lives and how to change for the better. This book brings a message of hope.
The title holds double meaning-- Jennie's photos and her life both receive double exposure. A bonus for me is that Double Exposure is set in Portland, Oregon, and I enjoy settings in my home state. Thanks to Susan Sleeman for This Justice Agency installment. I look forward to more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Double Exposure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Photographs can tell hidden stories

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jennie Buchanan is a professional photographer who creates photo shows at Photos of Hope to channel in funds to help hurting, starving and abused children. When her upcoming show pictures are shredded and the studio is spray-painted with a death threat if she opens this show, author Susan Sleeman, in Double Exposure, gives us a double dose of suspense as Ethan Justice, Jennie’s old boyfriend, and his agency try to nab the perpetrators.
Susan’s book is a fast-paced thriller as circumstances turn from an innocent showing into deadly threats and kidnapping. What do they want? As far as Jennie knows, it’s just another showing to raise funds, until they go after her negatives.
The second ‘double exposure’ is Jennie and Ethan’s continuing encounters after ending their relationship almost ten years ago. Ethan wonders at times whether the actual dangers of the job or his racing emotions for Jennie are the hardest to deal with. He’s still in love with her, but the feelings aren’t reciprocated.
Susan does an excellent job on keeping the suspense churning on both ends of the candle throughout the book! Her descriptions of the relationship turmoil are real and personal—very much touch-and-go. Both characters feel the tension, but personal secrets keep them apart. The tension Susan builds around the photos and the negatives, and perpetrators who want them regardless of the price, is superb. People become dispensable in order for them to get what they want. Susan keeps upping as the ante with the increase of ‘persons of interest’ as the investigation grows. Ethan is frustrated with how the perps keep finding Jennie each time she is moved or goes about her business under heavy protection. Who’s trailing her?
Here is another great suspense by Susan, with love and faith interwoven throughout the story. This is the first of her many books where I’ve picked up on a person of interest and got it right, but not for the reason I thought! Susan’s books always pique my interest and give me a thrill of a read! Check them out for yourself this summer!
This book was provided by the author in exchange for my honest opinion. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Double Exposure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Couldn’t wait to see what happens next!

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Suspense is non-stop action and you won’t want to stop reading. The plot moves quickly, but the intensity is lessened by interactions between the hero’s family/coworkers and the heroine, who just happened to dump our hero several years before the story begins. That Romance conflict also moves the story forward and brings intensity into the interactions of all the characters. Dialogue is believable and is easy to read and the characters stay true throughout the story.
Susan Sleeman continues to improve her storytelling with each new book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.