Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Wind Dancer

B&H Books Wind Dancer

Isabelle Renoir has always been different. Raised on the frontier during the American Revolution, she's equally comfortable hunting in the woods and dancing in the moonlight as a praise offering to God. After clashing with Samuel, an American spy, she goes her own way---until they're both captured by Indians. Can they work together to escape? 336 pages, softcover from B&H.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wind Dancer
Review 1 for Wind Dancer
This review is fromWind Dancer - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Takes joy in reading
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book. It surprised me with it's intensity. There were twists and turns, in the plot, I never expected. I have now read it twice and will read it again someday. I look forward to reading more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
I enjoyed this book very much. It was a bit tough to get into because, (to me), it was just unbelievable as far as the romance bit went. Also, the same metaphor was used over and over again...that kind of stuff bugs me. But Isabelle held my attention with her uncanny ways so I kept reading and I wasn't disappointed in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bryana Wilson
I'll admit the book was initially difficult to get into, but it got better as you progressed. An enjoyale read, but not nearly as good as Jamie Carie's The Duchess and the Dragon and Snow Angel- but to be fair they are tough acts to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Sanderson
This book was very disappointing to me. It did not hold my interest and after reading 50 pages I put it aside. The subject matter was not interesting to me and I generally like historical novels very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Conant
I really liked this book-I like all the books from this author-the book kept me going I didnt want to put it down--good message in this book to-Cant wait to read more from this author
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail Smith
Wind Dancer by Jamie Carie is a story of Isabelle Renoir who is not your typical Colonial young lady. No prim and proper tea parties, cinched waists and bustles for her, Isabelle would rather be riding, hunting, shooting during the day and at night, dancing praises to her God in the moonlight by the music of the running brookSet amid the rugged, pre-Revolutionary American frontier. Isabelle Renior emerges as strong of character and heart as any 20th century feminist. She can shoot, ride and throw a knife and is more concerned about finding adventure than a husband. The request by her village priest for Isabelle and her brother to retrieve the priests precious books from the far western frontier promises to provide the kind of opportunity she longs for. Only days after leaving the settled coast, a sudden storm pushes the travelers into the path of rugged American spy, Samuel Holt. As fiercely independent as Isabelle herself, sparks immediately fly between the two, but when Isabelle and her brother are deserted by their guide, Samuel volunteers to escort the pair to their destination.As the siblings complete their task and make for home, a savage attack by the Shawnee Indians results in the capture of both young Reniors and the beginning of a testing of her courage, spirit, body and faith that Isabelle could never have imagined.I found Isabelle Renior to be an exceptional heroine, not only strong of body and heart but with a vibrant faith in God as well. Isabelle has not only the independence of one of Jane Austens ladies, but also reminds us, too, of the strength and courage of Jane Eyre in the way she faces incredible danger and savagery. Jamie Caries ability to seamlessly weave together romance, history and ACTION make this book a fascinating page turner and one Im hoping there will someday be a sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2009
Wind Dancer is a dramatic, pulse-pounding tale woven on the frontier of the American Revolution. This book absolutely pulled me in. Isabelle Renoir and her brother travel across the frontier on a mission to collect books for a priest. What should be a relatively "simple" trip turns into much more. Isabelle meets a scout who can match her spark for spark.This book is beautifully written with a plot that twists and turns. It has a romance that seems star-crossed yet had me absolutely rooting for the characters even when it looked like there was absolutely no way the pair would get together. And the spiritual thread is directed at the reader's heart in a way that is far from preachy because it is so intricately woven into the plot.If you like historical romance and want one that is set in a fresh time period and place by an author who can take you there, this is one to buy and read over and over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tennessee Reader
I loved this book! I read the entire book the first day it arrived. I just could not put it down. Jamie Carie is quickly becoming one of my favorites!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Wind Dancer is a book with characters that leap from the pages and reach into the deepest recesses of your heart and mind! Jamie Carie has created a novel with such strong, vibrant characters that you will feel their every joy, their crushing pain, their glorious praise!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Wind Dancer is a pulse-pounding, heart-engaging novel that is hard to put down. In fact, I read it in less than two days. As the reader, you are in the world the author created, and you are part of the characters' lives. You are attacked when they are attacked. You are captive and feel helpless when they are bound with seemingly no way out. The most powerful scene is when Jamie's brother is tortured and the heroine, Isabella, has to watch. I cannot understand the intense emotions she went through, but the author did a great job at helping you see how someone could almost become crazy with grief. And forgiveness? I can't imagine a time when it would be more difficult to do. The author sets up an incredible stage for showing the struggle this creates for someone who loves God and longs to serve him, yet comes face to face with indescribably evil and the need to survive. Wind Dancer was full of passion, just like all of Jamie Carie's novels are. I've come to expect this with her stories and thusfar I've been pleased with everything she writes. I particularly enjoyed the "pretend marriage" scenario the hero put them in and how that all played out. What fun! Few female authors are able to describe the horrors of living in that time period as well as Carie does and it's an incredible experience to read it. You will not be able to put this book down, and the story will stick with you after you close the book. I SO love stories that make me care. And unlike many "strong heroines," Isabella was more likeable than most. The author did a great job with her characterization.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wind Dancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2008
Jamie Carie claims Wind Dancer is her most intense novel to date and she is spot on! Set against the backdrop of the impending birth of a nation and filled with fascinating historical events, Jamie showcases her talent with the written word and her innate ability to craft potent and magnetic characters that immerse the reader in their lives. Isabelle's boldness, free spirited behaviour and her ability to worship God with abandon is both confronting and joyous to read. Samuel is a true hero of the times but battles his own demons and choices from his past. Wind Dancer will sweep you away from the mundane, engage your heart, mind and spirit and leave you sighing with delight. Jamie Carie is now no longer simply an author to watch, she has proved herself as one to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.