Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Walker's Wedding - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Walker's Wedding - eBook

Jilted by his fiancée, Walker McKay is off women for life---but he needs an heir. Wealthy Sara Livingston wants to marry, but her father finds every suitor "unsuitable." So she answers an ad for a mail-order bride. Will Sara's deception and Walker's pain keep them from finding what they really want? Previously titled Marrying Walker McKay.
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Review 1 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paige
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always love the books about marriages of convience, and this book was no different. I really enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jerr
Location:Inver Grove Heights,MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was hard to put down. I kept reading just to see what was going to happen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book for this generation!

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lilwoofe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely could not put this book down. The lesson on accountability and forgiveness is one that needs to be learned in the day and hour we live in today.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mzmomof3boyz
Location:Chicago
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought it wasn't very romantic but an interesting story but then wow was I pleasently surprised!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
motherof3
I thought this was a very good book from the beginning. I could not put it down. Never an uninteresting moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Abi
I just finished reading Lori Copeland's book Walker's Wedding and thoroughly enjoyed it from cover to cover. It is a great mixture of romance and comedy and has a message that so many people need to hear about finding love and trusting in God. Sarah Livingston is a character that I think any young woman can connect with, as we all grew up dreaming of being married and starting a family of our own. Once again, Lori Copeland has outdone herself with this heart-warming story of learning to love and trust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Walker and Sara were made for each other. Lori has made them so real that you feel like you really know them and go through the laugh and tears right along with them. As my husband and I traveled by car on a trip, I read Walker's Wedding to him. We liked a few pages when we reached our destination and we rushed to unpack the car so we could finish the book. Lori always succeeds in making you laugh...no one else would think of drunken chickens or rearranged furniture. This is a book to keep and read over again. My only problem is all of Lori's books are keepers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Circa 1870,Walker McKay had a large spread outside of Spring Grass, Wyoming. He was to marry Trudy Richards, but in a last-minute decision, she left town after a man who sold bowler hats. Walker felt like a fool, making a vow to never let a woman get close to his heart again.Sarah Livingston was an only child of wealthy railroad owner, Lowell Livingston, who was widowed. She lived a pampered life. She desperately wanted to get married and have a family of her own. Her father, exasperated with her attempts to marry, was going to send her to Uncle Brices again, so she ran away.On the train to NY, Sarah took the place of a mail-order bride going out West. When she met Walker, she deceived him as to who she really was; Walker was still embittered over Trudy. He needed an heir, so they married.Lori covers the early days of Sarah and Walkers marriage in such a true-to-life manner for the days of mail-order brides.Theres always a transitional time during a normal marriage, but Lori catches the difficulties amidst the unusual circumstances and the emotions between stranger newlyweds with delicacy and intrigue, especially since Walker didnt trust women. It was comical to see the disasters of a pampered young lady learning how to cook for her husband. But it was difficult to watch the anger and bitterness when Sarahs deception was found out. Walkers rage and self-pity are portrayed so vividly. Lori was really into her characters emotions and behaviours.The spiritual aspects that jumped out to me were Sarahs lies and deception; Walkers angry vow towards women, along with his deep bitterness; and the lack of prayer together since both characters came from Christian upbringings. Will Sarah and Walker allow God to bring forgiveness into their lives and reconcile their issues? Many lessons can be learned from this book.This book was provided by Barbara of Harvest House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam Nicolay
Really enjoyed this book and could not put it down.I liked the characters and enjoyed seeing how there love grew.Lori Copeland is one of my favorite authors.This is a keeper book and I will be reading it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
A classic story about lies and how they effectone's life in ways you never imagined. LoriCopeland has a way with western novels. Avery good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I really enjoyed this book. While reading I tried to imagine the parts that were originally written for the secular market, and I'm guessing the wedding night was elaborated on much more in that version of this story. At any rate, the entire novel captivated me, but without being too edgy. You got the idea about their marital bliss at first based on implied statements. Nothing was overt, but it was fabulously communicated so you still caught the emotional image of their experience. I really liked the hero and the heroine in this novel. Yeah, the hero had his anger directed at her for not telling him the truth at first, which is a fairly typical plot line, but it worked in this case. I was starting to get as upset with Walker as Sarah had been. I felt more of a sense of betrayal towards her (coming from him) than the other way around. I really hurt for her. I also keenly sensed her moral dilemma. She really was in a lose-lose situation. The secondary characters really made this story shine, too. I read this book almost straight through and found the setting and plot very easy to get caught up in. The writing was stellar and the emotional investment was a joy to experience. And those romantic scenes with tasteful, but at the same time smoking hot because of the marital tension and sexual attraction between them. I loved Sarah's overeager desire to please and her ability to make Walker feel like a real man. It shows just how far mutual love and respect will take you in marriage. I would not hesitate to recommend this novel who enjoy category romance and historicals where the guy gets the gal, loves the gal, loses the gal, and end in a happily ever after. That formula was perfected in this novel and the results were delicious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Nice blend of tension between Walter and Sarah. The supporting casts in Boston and at the ranch were colorful and right on target.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laylei
I have always love Lori Copeland but this is probably my favorite book of hers. I could hardly put it down. I highly recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Weaver Clarke
Walkers Wedding is a refreshing and adorable romance with plenty of humor. The story begins with Sarah who, at the age of 25, is considered an old maid. Every man that comes courting her wealthy father doesnt approve of or they are fortune hunters. At this rate shell never find a husband. Sarah wants to marry and have children. She is also desperate to get away from her controlling father and have a life of her own. She wants to love and be loved and would do anything, even be a mail-order bride. Without her fathers knowledge, she heads for Wyoming on the train to meet her husband-to-be.Walker McKay isnt sure what to expect when he meets the beautiful red headed Sarah Livingston. He had been abandoned at the altar once before and was humiliated. Not wanting to be jilted a second time and disgraced, Walker McKay plans a barbeque, just in case his new fiance might skip out. This way, if she doesnt show up, then no one knows hes been jilted again. Sarah is surprised when she walks down the steps in her wedding gown and finds the room full of guests having a barbeque. When she turns to Walker with a puzzled look, he just smiles. He did not forget to invite the preacher who doesnt even know he is about to perform a wedding. Got your bible with you? Walker asks the preacher. Who ever heard of a Barbeque Wedding?Most romances are about a couple who meets, he courts her, and they fall in love but this story takes a different direction all together. Its about a couple who marries, he courts her, and then they fall in love. The humor is delightful throughout the book, with one twist after another. When Walker finds out that she isnt who she says she is, he flies off the handle and isnt sure what to do. Author Lori Copeland has written an adorable novel about romance after the wedding. I highly recommend this book. Its fun!Review written by Linda Weaver Clarke, author of Melinda and the Wild West, a Semi-finalist for the Reviewers Choice Award.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Paul
I just finished reading "Walker's Wedding" by Lori Copeland. To say that I couldn't put the book down, sounds trite, but that's exactly what happened! The story was captivating, to say the least. I read the book in one night because I had to see what happened next! The plot was intriguing, the characters believable. Lori Copeland tells the story with hope, love, and humor intertwined. (Drunken chickens come to mind)! As with all of Lori's books, there is a Christian moral under the romantic exterior. By the end of the book, you will know that you need to rely on God, not yourself. This is a poignant reminder to put Christ first in your life. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and highly recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teresa Shriver
Yet another great Lori Copeland read! Sara is so refreshing. Walker is such a man! It was written so well I could picture it all and I felt like I was a bystander watching it all in person. I didn't want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fran
Held my interest from the very first. Story line has suspense, humor, and true to life feelings throughout.I identified with Sara for her life time wishes and true to life ways. The book is well written, expressive and true to life. I would recommend it to everyone. I could not put the book down or wait to see what the next development was. Life lessons are very evident and well presented. Thanks Lori..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol M Kahlenberg
Excellent! It was a very good one from start to finish. Didn't want to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Walker's Wedding - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cassie Smith
This book is the best yet. At first I thought Walker was a jerk, but later I came to understand and sympathize with his pain. Love hurts and once bitten twice shy. Copeland knows how to tell a story, and offer encouragement when all seems lost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.