Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury

WaterBrook Press God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury

Little Cub has lots of questions---and finds answers in God Gave Us Heaven, God Gave Us Love, and the new God Gave Us the World. The furry little one is surprised that there are different kinds of bears---and that even youngsters can help care for God's amazing creation! Ages 2 to 5. 112 pages, slipcased hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 out of 2090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Review 1 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love these books I hope she writes more

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debb
Location:Loganville, Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
These books always show a clear picture in simple terms that God is our Creator and how He loves us. This was for my first grandbaby. I will continue to buy them for every grandbaby to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A perfect Treasury for your own little treasures

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This collection-God Gave Us So Much - includes three stories - God Gave Us the World, God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven. In this story, an inquisitive little polar bear asks her family members to answer questions about the world, creation, love, and Heaven.
This book is perfect for any curious child in your life. The author easily answers some of life's difficult questions, questions that my own inquiring child has asked. And the author easily gives the "right" answer. Because the main character is a polar bear, the questions she asks relates to other animals she encounters. When fishing, she expresses frustration that the otters are scaring the fish away. The grandfather responds by telling Little Bear that "God wants us to show the otters love...He wants us to show everyone his love." (Example from God Gave Us Love) Or Little Bear expresses surprise that there are many different types of bears that live in different parts of the world, evident that there are many different cultural groups of people around the world (example from God Gave Us the World.) To answer why the bears would live in different places, the Mama Bear responds, "Because they like their homes best. It's where God put them. God gave us this great big, wide world and a whole bunch of different bears with different fur and different families."
The illustrations are delightful. I also really appreciate that extended family relationships are featured in the book (Grampa and Grandma in addition to Mama and Papa and twin siblings.) Finally, not only is the book for children, there are lessons that I know I need to be reminded of like, "Our best stuff doesn't weigh anything at all-stuff like love, family, friends, and faith." (Example from God Gave Us Heaven).
A perfect treasury for our own little treasures!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunning

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
srempel
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a stunning treasury that would be a fantastic addition to all homes with young children. The truth's that are taught in each book are timeless and even older children will enjoy the lessons taught throughout each book. Little Cub is just like any child, asking many questions and he knows, just as our children do, that wise adults can answer them. Although tough questions are asked in each book, the answers given are very easy for children ages 3-7 (which the books are designed for) to understand.
The illustrations are beautiful, soft colored and engaging and caught the attention of both my 2.5 year old and 4 year old. In fact my youngest sat through the books with full attention. I know that these books will be read and looked at for a long time to come in our home.
I highly recommend this book and give it a huge thumbs up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Warm and Fuzzy, even if not much happens

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sonora Mama
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
God Gave Us So Much is a collection of three "God Gave Us" books bound in one volume. A family of polar bears discusses different aspects of God's character or His promises. The illustrations are cute, though there is no real "story" to speak of here. Nothing really "happens" in these books, they are a series of little bear cub's questions and her parents' or grandpa's answers.
In God Gave Us The World, the bear family visits a museum and sees exhibits of all the different types of bears around the world. The little cub asks questions about why the other bears look different, live in different places, and eat different foods. The answer is because God chose to make all different kinds of bears and put them in different places, and the story ends with an admonition to to take care of the earth God gave us.
In God Gave Us Love, the little cub learns that love is from God, and we need to treat others with love, even when we don't feel like it. The story tells how God shows love with all of the ways He provides for us and most of all for sending his Son.
In God Gave Us Heaven, little cub asks her father what heaven is, and how we get there. This book addresses the subject of death in a very simple way (that we get to see heaven when we die) that is not scary or sad. Heaven is presented as a place where there will be no more sadness, only happiness. Little cub is told there will be food, places to explore, and family will be reunited. It ends with an analogy of Jesus as the "bridge" to heaven. It's a little vague, as it tells readers all we have to do is "walk across it to head toward our forever home". A little light on doctrine, though the story is not meant to be a thorough presentation of the gospel, and hopefully Christian parents will know how to discuss these issues with their children.
These stories are sweet and reassuring little tales of God's love. Personally, I think they are a little dull in terms of story, but my 4 year old enjoys them, so who am I to argue? The stories can be a springboard for discussion, for parents who may not know how to approach some of these topics with their small children.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderfully Illustrated

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three children’s books are combined into one volume in this lovely book by Lisa Tawn Bergren. The books are God Gave Us the World, God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven. They are held together in a nice sturdy hard cover, with an attached blue ribbon bookmark. The pages are illustrated with enchanting scenes of the main characters, a little polar bear and its family.
The three stories cover different topics such as love (God’s love for us and our love for others), creation and our responsibility to care for the earth, and heaven (touching on death as well). The pictures on each page are absolutely lovely, sweet, and colorful. The topics are covered very gently.
As far as recommending this book, I would use this book as a discussion leader. The pictures are appealing for younger children, and the book brings up some topics that may not come up in other settings. I did feel that the “gentle” tone of addressing the questions left some things lacking, however by using it as a discussion-starter a parent can fill in these gaps. I did find it a little weird that the polar bears were looking at other bears in a zoo, and also that they were catching fish with a fishing rod, but it's imaginative! We really liked the attached bookmark, always helpful.
Honestly, I would buy the book for the illustrations alone, they are that enjoyable.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for reading and talking about with your kids

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God Gave Us So Much by Lisa Tawn Bergren is a great addition to your home library and is perfect for reading discussing with your children. There are actually three books in one presented in this appealing limited-edition treasury - God Gave Us the World, God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven.
I thoroughly enjoyed each of the three stories and especially the winsome artwork illustrated by Laura J. Bryant. The only downside of the this book is that the stories seemed somewhat drawn-out at times. My child's attention struggled at the tedious dialogue of Little Bear's many, many questions.
All in all, I think its a great book for young ones in that it gets them thinking and asking questions about God and gives parents an opportunity to share in more detail about how God is always at work in each of our lives.
(I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for review purposes.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bad Theology in the Final Book

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
gingerly
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just received this treasury of the God Gave Us series and I was so excited to read it with my kids, who just loved the God Gave Us the World book. It, along with two others: God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven were included in this hardback treasury (complete with ribbon bookmark I might add.)
We enjoyed God Gave Us Love and were again delighted with the adorable illustrations of the bear family as they learn how to love as God loved. Unfortunately, I was really disappointed in the last book God Gave Us Heaven. It starts with the parents explaining to their children what heaven is and how wonderful God made it and it's all fun and cupcakes and parties. I would have no problem with this if the children were believers, but it is made clear that this is a reward they have to look forward to when they one day become Christians. This is no way to share the gospel. Who wouldn't want salvation when heaven is described in such a way? Children need to first understand their sin and God's law. Salvation is meaningless otherwise. Sin, as it turns out, is never mentioned. Instead, the author says that "our bad choices might keep us from him forever". Might? The bible isn't so ambiguous. And nowhere in the bible are our sins referred to as bad choices. Making a right turn in a left lane is a bad choice. Nobody earns hell for that. Lying is a sin, not a bad choice. Cheating is a sin, not a bad choice. This one book, God Gave Us Heaven, ruined the treasury for me. The theology is so bad; it's the one bad apple that ruined the whole bunch.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved God Gave Us So Much

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God Gave Us So Much by Lisa Tawn Bergren is an amazing compilation of three stories. Since we had already read and loved God Gave Us You, we knew we would like the stories in this book as well. If you are not familiar with her stories, Bergren uses a cute little polar bear who is full of questions to explain God's love and His world.
In God Gave Us the World, Little Cub learns about the wonderful world God made and how He made us all different. Mama Bear explains that we were all made to serve and worship God, our Creator. We are also to take care of the world He gave us. God Gave Us Love explores different types of love and how God wants us to love others, even when we don't feel like loving them. I love in the book when Grandpa says, "God gave us love so we could see goodness in others, even when they make us grumpy." I think we've all felt that way and it is good for children to recognize that this is a normal feeling. Grandpa also explains that we could NEVER do anything to lose God's love. My favorite of the three stories is God Gave Us Heaven. As a mother of six-year-old twins, I sometimes struggle with how to describe heaven and what comes after we die. Papa does a great job of explaining what he thinks heaven will be like and why God sent Jesus, in a way that children can understand.
I highly recommend the book God Gave Us So Much, as it is a most useful learning tool and conversation starter for young families. It would be a fantastic gift idea for anyone with children and a welcome addition to any child's library.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not my favorite

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
EMathew
Location:Bemidji, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I picked up this book because I already had another book from this series (God Gave Us You). The books are definitely one style, and if you like one, you'll love this collection "God Gave Us So Much." (It's 3 books in one.)
However, I don't think these books are my favorite style.
The content of the 3 books is great, and is written to answer some big questions for little kids, like What is Heaven? and What is Love? I find the theology fine, but it's a bit wordy. (How do you cover those questions without being wordy I don't know!)
Even though they seem to be little kid books, I'd say they're more readable and appropriate for the 8-10 age range. This is mostly because any kid younger than that will not want to sit through all the reading. The pictures aren't interesting enough to keep a small child's attention long enough to read one page. The pictures are nice, I'm just saying for the amount of words on one page, it doesn't seem to keep the attention of the kid yet, and they want to turn the page sooner than I'm done reading.
So, if you like the, what I call, "lovey-dovey" style of art and pictures, you'll like these books. I'm not partial to it, so I think I'll skip out on any more books by this author and artist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very sweet kids book!

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
So Mommy
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think these are some of the sweetest kid’s books I’ve read. I love that each book focuses on something God gave us. These books can help kids understand a little more about God, and also feel important because God wants to give them these things. The illustrations in this book are very colorful, and Sydney loved looking at the polar bears on each page. Each book is short enough to read before bed, and I personally think these stories make great bedtime stories!
**I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah through their Blogging for Books Program. I received no other compensation for this review. If you are interested in getting free books to review, please check out their website!**
www.somommy.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God gave us so much

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovemyblessings
Location:ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another heartwarming childrens book by author Lisa Bergren. This book combines 3 wonderful stories together in a hardback limited edition:
God gave us the world
God gave us love
God gave us heaven
Typical Bergren style with a family of 5 polar bears teaching little cub about God's creation and the love he has for her. Same beautiful and warm illustrations as past Bergren books about this polar bear family.
This book is a great tool with the younger group to explain God the creator, his love extended to us and through us to others, and our heavenly home. My 3 little boys loved little cub and her adventures; finding the stories humorous and heartwarming at the same time. Little cub has twin siblings; and since 2 of my boys are twins they really loved this scenario.
Since this is a limited edition it won't be available forever. You definitely want to add this one to your library.
This book was given to me by waterbrook multnomah publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a new family favorite!

Date:February 11, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, wow, wow. This book is my new "happy place"! Spending time with your kids and this adorable bear family will feel like you're snuggled up in the coziness of God's love.
This book is actually a limited-edition treasury of 3 of Lisa Tawn Begren's "God Gave Us" books. It includes God Gave Us the World (the newest title), God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven. I would be hard-pressed to chose a favorite among them.
God Gave Us the World feeds children's natural fascination with exploring new places and creatures, while explaining God's reasoning for creating such diversity. Little Cub learns that she is special, and that she is made to serve and worship God.
In God Gave Us Love, Grampa Bear teaches Little Cub to reflect God's love to everyone around her. She learns related lessons on love and faith, and even Jesus' purpose, along the way.
In God Gave Us Heaven, Papa Bear answers Little Cub's tough questions, like: Where is Heaven? Who goes there? How do we get there? Lots of room for losing the Truth when answering these at a child's level, so I was thrilled to read Papa Bear's Biblically sound responses. And wait 'til you read how Papa Bear describes Mama Bear's looks-- I've never been more proud (proud in a positive, not prideful, sense) of my appearance than when Papa Bear reminded me of how I look to my daughter!
My only complaint in this entire trilogy of soon-to-be family classics is Little Cub's use of the word "shoot" (one instance). Why, oh why, would a Christian author include a swear-word derivative in the dialogue of a storybook? We'll definitely be editing that to "too bad" when we read aloud!
I received this book for free from Waterbrook Press Publisher for the purpose of review. The opinions expressed here are my own; I am not required to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Gave Us So Much - Yes indeed He did!

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lukie
Location:Milford, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pretty excited to review God Gave Us So Much by Lisa Tawn Bergren and Laura A. Bryant. I don't read many children's books anymore, but was looking forward to having my thirteen year old son read it to his niece and nephew. I received this book free for review from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. Thank you so much!
This hardcover book consists of three books in one. God Gave US the World, God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven. They all were excellent in explaining God on a child's level. I was very impressed with the explanation of how we get to heaven. Jesus is the way. Sometimes people tend to sugar coat those facts as not to offend. The author hit the nail on the head and I almost cheered out loud when I read that portion.
The only criticism that I have of the book is that God has given us no indication that there will be animals in heaven. In the book God Gave Us Heaven the bears talk about going to heaven when they die. I don't believe that to be Biblically true. That being said I loved the books and cannot wait to pass it along to the grandchildren. It will last them for many years, I am sure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Have!

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
countrymama
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continuing in the "God Gave Us" Series by Lisa T. Bergren and Laura J. Bryant is a stunning triology called "God Gave Us So Much". There are enough words to the story to keep my 5 year olds attention (I frequently will read chapter books to her, so alot of picture books are too short for her) yet the words are simple enough that a younger 2 or 3 year old would also be able to keep up with the plot.
I'm always watching for clearance sales, and normally that is how I purchase books for my kids as well. Forget that with this book, it is a full price keeper! And there are actually 3 stories in book - "God Gave Us The World", "God Gave Us Love", & "God Gave Us Heaven". This is one of those books that is so special to my family I can see keeping it to pass down to my grandkids.
The illustrations & paper quality are the best. I actually find myself wanting to open up this book and touch the pages and look at the beautiful watercolor paintings without even reading the book! There is just the right amount of God in this book that I think it would still be a wonderful book for a family that doesn't typically buy children's books with a religious theme.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely treasury.

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
steffanie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God Gave Us So Much is a treasury of three of the God Gave Us books. Included are God Gave Us the World, God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven. They feature an adorable polar bear family.
God Gave Us the World is about other types of bears from all over the world and how each kind is suited just right to live in it's own environment. It tells of how God created Earth to be our home and created every creature in it.
God Gave Us Love is about love ;) It talks of loving others even when they are hard to love and how being patient and kind goes with love. Grampa also tells Little Cub of God's love for us and sending his son for us.
God Gave Us Heaven talks about heaven, gently about death and how wonderful heaven will be. It compares good things in this world and how much better it will be in heaven. It also tells of Jesus making it possible for us to get to heaven.
I really enjoyed these books, they are just delightful. The illustrations are so endearing and fun. I love watching Little Cub learn from her wise parents and Grampa and then being treated in such a respectful way. Too often in our culture, even in children's books, the people in authority are portrayed as mean, unintelligent, or unimportant. The content of the book is important to children and easy for them to understand in the way it is presented.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
We received God Gave Us So Much by Lisa Bergren right before CHRISTmas, and my children were thrilled! This book is a limited edition treasury of three stories, God Gave Us the World ,God Gave Us Love and God Gave Us Heaven. It includes a ribbon bookmark, and would make a wonderful gift!
This book was our first introduction to the "God Gave Us" series, and I felt the stories it contained were a wonderful introduction to children about the truths of God, His creation, and His love. I love that they introduced Jesus as our way to heaven. My three children loved the vibrant and whimsical illustrations.
I did not enjoy Little Cubs grammar in all 3 of the stories though. I understand the author was trying to write as a child may speak, but I feel it took away from the book instead. In God Gave Us Heaven, she says "shoot" which is not a bad word, but not one I want my children repeating in our home.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Curious Cub... oh, the Lessons Learned!

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela W
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My own three little cubs were as excited as this Mama Bear when we received a box in the mail from Water Brook Multnomah Publishers. Inside the box, we truly discovered a treasure... Lisa Tawn Bergren's God Gave Us So Much. In actuality, this book is a compilation of three titles: God Gave Us the World, God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven. Since our personal library already hosts Bergren's titles God Gave Us You and God Gave Us Christmas, we were familiar with the characters brought to life through Laura J. Bryant's beautiful illustrations and were excited to begin reading.
God Gave Us So Much serves as the platform for one very curious cub to ask questions about the very nature of God and the world around her. Mama, Papa, and Grampa field and answer Little Cub's questions, and as a Mama of three precocious little ones, I can completely relate. I only hope I'm able to answer my little ones in a manner as gentle and honest as the fictional characters. Personally, I found that simply reading this book sparked wonderful conversations with my little cubs and some authentic teachable moments.
In God Gave Us the World, Little Cub discovers the vastness of the world and people God created. This book is timely and especially dear to us as we are a multi-cultural family. I love that despite where one lives or what he/she looks like, "Every bear (or child) has a special place in God's great big world."
Little Cub encounters some pesky otters in God Gave Us Love. In learning that God wants us to show others love, the young cub also learns that there is nothing that can cause God not to love her. Along with Little Cub, my kiddos were reminded that God shows us His love in many ways - the greatest of course would be sending His Son to save us. God is LOVE!
Finally, Little Cub learns about heaven. In our house, there is a lot of talk about heaven. Some questions are so very curious and others revolve around loved ones who are there. In God Gave Us Heaven, Little Cub asks, "What is heaven?" and "When will I go to heaven?" These questions are asked by even the smallest children, and I so appreciate that the author addressed them rather than avoid them.
I highly recommend adding this title to any child's library. Snuggling and cuddling your own little cubs close, read God Gave Us So Much. Rather than shy away from answering tough questions, use this charming book as a tool to teach and encourage the ones you hold dear.
**I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. This review reflects my honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Treasure to have

Date:December 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fell in love with Lisa Tawn Bergren's children's books when I purchased "God Gave Us You" before the birth of my second child. The lovable polar bear family was easy for my 2 year old daughter to understand. The captivating sweet story made her feel more secure in her position in the family with a new baby on the way. This treasury of 3 stories is equally enchanting!! This would make an excellent and economical Christmas gift as you are getting three delightful books for the price of two - one is a brand-new edition to the "God Gave Us" series. The books included are God Gave Us the World, God Gave Us Love, and God Gave Us Heaven. This was our bedtime story book for the past three nights and all four of my children (ages 2 through 7) eagerly anticipated the next story of Little Cub and her close, caring family. The stories are told in conversation style between Little Cub and a member of her family. Little Cub asks the questions most kids wonder but few put into words. She is answered with love by a family member according to biblical principles. This book certainly is a treasure to get and will be cherished long after kids outgrow picture books. It is one of the children's books that I will be keeping for my grandchildren for sure.
An excellent value and full of moral and biblical principles this is a wonderful to express the truth of God to a child. All children easily relate to Little Cub and her family.
Thank you WaterBrook Press for sending this review copy through the Blogging for Books program. My family enjoyed it very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You will Receive So Much!!!

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah A.
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God Gave Us So Much is a limited edition three books in one treasure for any little one!!! Inside you will find three different books by Lisa Tawn Bergren.
1) God Gave us the World
2) God Gave us Love
3) God Gave us Heaven
Each story is unique and a wonderful addition to any children’s library! Each story invites young children (and young at heart adults!) to travel to the Artic North Pole to discover answers to questions on their mind. We find Mama and Papa bear teaching Little Cub about the world and the fact that there are many different types of bears in other parts of the world. We find Little Cub realizing that all bears are special and unique. We hear Grandpa Bear teaching Little Cub about love… love for others and God’s love for us. Finally, we listen in as Papa Bear explains to Little Bear what heaven is like… and most importantly, how we get to heaven
Each story is a great truth to teach our children and Lisa Tawn Bergren helps us explain these truths in such an enjoyable way! Laura J. Bryant’s artistic ability only adds to the value of this book! Children and adults alike are drawn to the colorful and descriptive pictures. We begin to feel welcomed to be a part of the polar bear family!
What a treasure this limited edition book will be for any children’s collection! I would highly recommend this book or any other books by Lisa Tawn Bergren!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God Gave Us So Much: A Limited-Edition Three-Book Treasury
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Children's Book!

Date:November 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beacon2Light
Location:Bucks County, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God Gave Us So Much by Lisa Tawn Bergren is a delightful children’s book. The story’s setting is in a place where a polar bear family live. This family has grandparents, parents and children. Little Cub learns quite a bit from her parents and her grandparents about the nature of God; his creation; and his gifts to us which include the world, love and heaven.
From her mama, she learns about the world around them and so far away; a world that God gave to them. The nature of God is explained in child-friendly language. God is creative with a diverse creation, He is awesome (BIG), and amazing. The purpose of living in this world is to serve and worship God who made it and to take care of it. Stewardship of the planet is emphasized in such a balanced way that both sides of the environmental debate should be happy.
Not only did God give us the world but he also gave love, explains Grandpa Bear. God’s love is shown to his creation and it is expected that his creation learn to love him and one another. Different kinds of love are expressed such as that between a married couple, parents and children, sibling to sibling, friend to friend, as well as neighbor to neighbor. Grandpa shares how God’s love is shown through the providing of food, homes, relationships and ultimately through the giving of Jesus, God’s Son.
Papa Bear is asked about heaven. In this section, the author addresses death and the life hereafter. Even the reality of early death is touched on in a sensitive and thoughtful way. A place where nothing bad happens, where suffering is no more, a place grander than our favorite places on earth, that is what heaven will be like is how papa describes heaven.
My only criticism is that Lisa Tawn Bergren sounds Universalist at one point, with papa bear saying that he believed all their loved ones would be in heaven. Yet, the author explains in a simple manner that Jesus is the way to heaven. Personally, I would wholeheartedly recommend this book despite this one weak point.
Laura J. Bryant’s illustrations are fabulous. They are simple yet sweet. I think children would be immediately drawn to the book in large part due to them.
In my opinion, this book should be a winner to both children and adults. Adults will be attracted by the title, the beautiful artistry and the look of the book, including the three chapter divisions along with a built-in ribbon bookmark. Children will want this story read to them again and again while those able to read by themselves will love to do so. The hardback cover will be able to withstand the repeated use of young, immature hands.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.