Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Dragon and the Turtle

WaterBrook Press The Dragon and the Turtle

A kitten-sized dragon named Padraig and little turtle Roger bring the meaning of friendship to life for your children! When Roger gets lost in the forest, Padraig uses his senses---sight, sound, smell, touch, and taste---to lead his friend home. Includes biblical reflections on Proverbs 17:17---and Roger's mother's recipe for chocolate chip "snappers." 40 pages, hardcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Dragon and the Turtle
Review 1 for The Dragon and the Turtle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story with a solid message.

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a cute children's book. I enjoyed the friendship theme and how the dragon, Padraig, stuck with the turtle, Roger, and continued to help him until he found his way back home. I can see children enjoying this book because of the adventure and sensory input like the crunchy bugs Padraig was eating. The facial expressions the dragon makes are just precious. The fact that the turtle is lost will touch heartstrings, and his friend's effort to help him is quite touching. Because the way the turtle describes his home keeps building in the details, the mystery needing to be solved also builds from a suspense-like drive to find answers. I can easily see a child turning the pages to find out what happens next.
The illustrations are beautiful and eye-catching and I can see this book becoming a child's favorite request, like a "read this to me over and over" type story. I would have enjoyed this story for the pictures alone when I was reading a lot of children's books in elementary school. Plus, there are great discussion questions at the end that will inspire talks between parents and their children, Sunday School teachers, and the story include a bible verse. There is a bonus recipe for chocolate chip cookies for moms at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Dragon and the Turtle
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too much story on each page

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Red5
Location:Vernon,BC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found with the picture and the impression I got from the product on the website that it was geared towards a younger age of children. My 3 1/2 year old child wouldn't even sit through the first page. The pictures were great though, but the story itself was overkill
Monica
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Dragon and the Turtle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helpful for teaching some social skills.

Date:July 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
zekesmom10
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Dragon and the Turtle is a cute little story of two new friends, a dragon and a turtle, natch! A little lost turtle is "shipwrecked" and his hungry new dragon friend helps him find his home. Using all of their senses, Padraig the dragon helps Roger the turtle find his home. What does Roger's house smell like? Why, it smells like chocolate chip snappers! Not sure what that smells like? Use the recipe in the back of the book to make a batch of your own pirate-y treats.
I absolutely adored the whimsical illustrations by Vincent Nguyen. They are so sweet. The story by Donita K Paul and Evangeline Denmark could be quite effective as a tool for use with children who need help learning how to make and be a friend. Introductions and hand shaking are woven seamlessly into the story as well as more subtle points, such as helping a friend in need rather than thinking only of ourselves.
Two pages in the back provide parents with helpful hints to facilitate a discussion with their children about Biblical friendship.
The boys and I all really enjoyed this book.
***I was provided with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Dragon and the Turtle
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Tale About Being A Friend

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sonora Mama
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I just finished reading The Dragon and the Turtle, having to practically pry it out of my 4 year old daughter's hands to get a chance to read it myself. This sweet picture book tells the story of a little lost turtle, Roger, and his journey to find his home with his new dragon friend Padraig. The two friends look for Roger’s house using their senses (the house sounds like singing, smells like cookies, etc.) and learn about their similarities and differences along the way. Though they may look different, eat different food, and do things in different ways, they still have things in common and can be friends. The story gently shows children what it means to be a true friend. Padraig is willing to help another even though he is hungry, but he is willing to sacrifice a rumbling tummy to help someone. The two don’t give up (or pout) even when they don’t find Roger’s house on the first (or second, or third…) try.
Both my 2 and 4 year old girls have been asking to read this book over and over, both for the lovely illustrations (the scarlet-hued Padraig is adorable) and for the descriptive text - who doesn’t want to hear about eating crunchy, squishy bugs that taste like nuts and sweet oranges? I also appreciate the wholesome story, and Padraig’s example of self-sacrifice, patience, and cheerfulness. The book has a short discussion section at the end that includes a bible verse, Proverbs 17:17 “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity”. My daughter learned this memory verse last year at church, so it was nice to be able to discuss the verse again and give examples of showing love to others.
Oh! I almost forgot, there is a recipe for Chocolate Chip Snappers at the end of the book, which I haven’t tried yet but definitely will!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review as part of their blogger review program. The views expressed are entirely my own. Well, and my kids’.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Dragon and the Turtle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie Vik
Location:Ashland, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a former second-grade teacher, part-time librarian, and mother who has read a kajillion books to her seven children over the years I know a good children's book when I see one.
Apparently so do my two youngest daughters (ages 14 and 12.) When the book arrived they both sat down to read it. They are huge fans of Donita K. Paul's Dragonspell books so figured this would be good too.
What a sweet story! The Dragon and the Turtle reminds me of a Franklin book - same gentle tone, same good lessons. Beautifully illustrated, the story addresses the topic of friendship. Turtle is lost and his new Dragon friend helps him find the way home.
I originally planned to use this book as a gift, but might save it for grandchildren, which might be awhile since my son just got married last May and isn't in any hurry to honor his sister's requests to make them aunties.
If you need a gift for a young child or want a break from reading Arthur, Berenstain Bears, Clifford, or Franklin books to the little people in your life, you might want to give this book a try.
Disclaimer: I was given a free copy of this book from Waterbrook/Multnomah Press in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Dragon and the Turtle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute book about Friendships

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
VickyLynn
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Dragon and the Turtle is a cutely illustrated, and uniquely descriptive picture book about Padraig the dragon and his new friend, Roger the turtle. I think most children in the age range of 4-10, would enjoy this book - although it seems my 8 year-old son enjoyed it more than his older sister, probably due to the fact that it includes 2 boys (one of them a dragon), and a pretend pirate adventure.
For a brief synopsis, two completely different boys meet and become friends; Padraig realizes his new friend is lost and does everything he can to help Roger get back home; the boys use the senses of sight, sound, smell, touch and taste to finally find the right house.
Unlike other picture story books I’ve seen, this one has a couple of pages that come after the story to help a parent or caregiver delve deeper into the meaning of the book. It offers a Bible verse (Proverbs 17:17,) as well as discussion questions regarding friendship. It even gives a recipe on the last page for Chocolate Chip Snappers, the special kind of cookies mentioned in the book.
Disclaimer: Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Dragon and the Turtle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Get this Children's Book for an Afternoon of Fun!

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
gkillgor
Location:Gallatin, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am beginning with my thoughts on a children’s book I recently read. It is titled “The Dragon and the Turtle”. It is by Donita K. Paul and Evangeline Denmark, illustrated by Vincent Nguyen. I personally enjoyed this reading this book to my boys because I was immediately thinking about the selfless nature of the turtle and the perseverance involved in the story. I also love teachable moments such as learning new words like exasperated and gurgled. After we read the story I then turned the page and fell in love with this book! I love that it talks about Bible verses and relates them to the story. It gives you things to talk about with your children to teach them values and friendship skills. It is great!. THEN, you turn the page and there is a recipe for Chocolate Chip Snappers (a food that is discussed in the book) The process of reading this book, relating it to scripture, then cooking a snack, is an afternoon activity! I absolutely love the creativity of this story and all that is involved in the book. The only downside I would say is that it didn't always keep my boy's attention, maybe a bit wordy. Of course, they are 2 and 4 years old. I give it 2 thumbs up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Dragon and the Turtle
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good lesson on friendship

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
HSMom
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Dragon and the Turtle is a nice children’s book that teaches about friendship and how to be helpful to others. The reading level for this book is ages 4-8. In the story, Roger (the turtle) is lost and trying to find his way home. Padraig (the friendly dragon) goes above and beyond to help his new friend find his home.
The illustration by Vincent Nguyen in this book is wonderful and helps to engage the reader. The gist of the story is creative, encouraging the young readers to see how to help when someone is in need.
However, I felt that too many details were provided in the story. While the information was relevant, the additional details did not engage the reader and seemed unnecessary to the story line. It would be easy for the younger audience to be distracted with this amount of text on each page.
Also, some of the words chosen for this story were too advanced for the younger readers in the target audience. Words like “exasperated”, “preferred”, “swooped”, “gurgled”, and “uncharted” would be challenging for the younger audience and could potentially cause confusion in trying to fully comprehend the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Dragon and the Turtle
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
mommy1234
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Dragon and the Turtle by Donita K. Paul and Evangeline Denmark is a children's book about an unlikely friendship between a lost turtle and a kind dragon. Their friendship begins when the dragon goes out of his way to help the poor turtle find his way back home after a pretend shipwreck got him off course. My children, ages five, four, and two were all very interested in this book with its beautiful illustrations and storyline that touches the five senses of taste, hear, see, smell, and feel. It was a fun book to read and kept our attention to the end. In the end, we saw how the dragon was rewarded for his sacrifice and how a little kindness goes a long way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.