Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari

WaterBrook Press The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari

Padraig the dragon and Roger the turtle are on safari and have decided to camp out all night at the base of Mount Sillymanborrow. When it gets dark and they begin hearing noises of all the strange animals, they become scared. Can Padraig and Roger learn to overcome their fears and help someone smaller in need?
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 out of 1275%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Review 1 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Kids Love It!

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill K.
Location:Mt. Pleasant, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The latest book I received in the mail was a children's book called The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari. It is written by Donita K. Paul and Evangeline Denmark. It is published by WaterBrook Press and I received it through WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. This is a cute book about Roger the turtle and Padraig the dragon going on a safari. As the story progresses the reader discovers that the two friends are on a safari in their backyard. At the end there is an additional short story, a Bible verse and discussion questions for parents to ask their children.
This book is a five star book in our family's opinion. I read this book to my 7 year old, 5 year old and 2 year old and all three loved it. My 2 year old said that his favorite part was the campfire. As a mom, I love the book as well. My only suggestion is to point out the illustrations to your child because they are a big part of figuring out that the friends are in the backyard.
I received this book as part of the blogging for books program from the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. I was not expected to give a positive review in exchange for the book. This review is my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 5 year old son LOVES it!

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kelly Cook
Location:AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When this arrived by mail my 5 year old son was ecstatic! He couldn't wait to sit down and look at it, then have me and his dad read it to him. I appreciated the play on words as the two friends camped at the base of Mount Sillymanborrow. The publisher's review starts with, "Padraig the dragon and his best friend, Roger the turtle are determined to spend the whole night outside."
They encounter plenty of imagined scary scenarios and manage to tough it out despite their fears. When their supply of bravery seems exhausted and they've agreed to try again another night they realize that the sun is about to rise and they made it! They camped outside all night by themselves!
The story presents multiple opportunities for teaching and discussing important character traits with a young child, such as the difference between bravery and courage; and what it takes to be a good friend. As the friends focus on staying out all night, they encounter all kinds of wild African beasts in their backyard. They also share a story about wanting to make pancakes and having to borrow all the ingredients. I'm assuming that's where Mount Sillymanborrow comes into play.
My son loves the book, the pictures are very well done, and there are discussion points and a Bible verse a the end. We've enjoyed this book-it's good when those required to read it over and over can enjoy it too!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very cute story!

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
plasticmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's been many years since I sat down to read similar stories to my three boys. "The Dragon and The Turtle Go on Safari" would have been one that they would have asked for over and over. Padraig and Roger go on a grand adventure (in the back yard), imagining all kinds of safari creatures are out there in the night. Together they learn how to be truthful and courageous, to overcome fear and to encourage one another. I found it so refreshing that Padraig and Roger managed to go outside, use their imagination, and play. They weren't sitting in front of the television playing video games, or talking to their friends on the computer. A definite sit-on-my-lap and read together book, or one that a child would enjoy reading on their own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Illustrations the best part

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
samwife
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari fell short for me. The story is about a Turtle named Roger and his best friend Padraig the dragon that goes camping and pretends they are on a safari. When it gets dark they start to get scared and have to figure out how to be "courageous". They make up animals like the "howler monkey". This is what made the story confusing for me. While the illustration were good the story line was hard to follow. The story had some big words like "aphids". It was also a long story.
My son loved that there was a dragon and that they were camping however the story did not hold his attention. One part that seemed a little odd was how at the very end they have a conversation starter with a verse. "Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid... God goes with you; he will never leave you. Deuteronomy 31:6" It seemed like an afterthought like oh we need to tie this into to the Bible so on the back cover we will put a verse and discussion questions?? I just would have liked it to be a simple story that children could follow and relate it to the Bible without it being forced at the end. I give this book 3 out of 5 stars.
I receved this book from Water Brook Press for my review and honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Be Strong & Courageous

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
ImpressYourKids
Location:ATL, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kids (2yo boy and 5yo girl) loved the first Dragon/Turtle book. I was just so excited to find a BOY book that I almost didn't care what it was about! :)
This second book is not as good as the first--it's a little clunkier. But I love the message--the two friends, a dragon and a turtle spend the entire night in a tent. They end up getting afraid of the noises (small woodland creatures) but their imaginations blow them up to be big safari animals! The illustrations show these mashup animals (a racoon-elephant) and altho' it kinda confused my kids, they still liked it!
The story ends w/a scripture and some talking points for parents and kids--I love this! It's a good time to talk about being brave and not letting your imagination run away with you.
{I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.}
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product has average features.

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lorena
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love a great children’s story book. I love being swept into an adventure with the characters and crescendo with the climax and rejoice at the end when all turns out well. However, I felt this was a difficult book to journey into with the Padraig & Kevin. The dialogue between the little dragon and turtle seemed to weigh the imagination down a bit. The book does have redeeming qualities as it includes an interactive conversation starter to do with your young ones as well as a bonus story. My children thoroughly enjoyed this book and we were able to dialogue over the bible verse and questions posed. So, Padraig & Kevin were able to safari into the imaginations of my children and take them on a moral journey to address the fears of strange noises, darkness and an almighty God who goes with them. So, in the words of Kevin, “ It is time to be courageous,” and introduce this adventure to your family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

didn't quite live up to my expectations

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Based on the cover and description, I expected I would be able to highly recommend this latest book from "The Dragon and the Turtle" series. Unfortunately, "The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari" did not quite live up to my expectations.
Illustrator Vincent Nguyen has done a marvelous job creating adorable characters and exciting backdrops. As a picture book, this would have been wonderful, eliciting enchanting imaginary tales. However, the story itself seemed somewhat lacking.
I appreciate the authors' attempt to teach a lesson in encouraging others and overcoming fear, but the point was conveyed so subtly, I don't believe it will be appreciated by young readers without a great deal of prompting. To that end, the book does provide some discussion questions (strangely, inside the back cover, not on their own page), but the questions seem almost forced. Perhaps they were an afterthought to bolster the easy-to-miss lesson of the storyline.
Further, extensive use of British-English vocabulary leave me wondering if many U.S. children in the targeted 4-8 year old range could follow the dialogue.
I imagine children will enjoy this book on some levels, but I am certain it has not hit the mark on teaching a Christian lesson.
I received this book from publisher Waterbrook Press so that I might give my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own, as I am not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun on Safari

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Padraig and Roger spend the night outdoors in this story of courage and helpfulness. The night is dark and there are scary noises but the two friends make it through by imagining what animals are making the noises. Their imaginations are brought to life by the illustrations which capture both the actual and imaginary animals.
We have two young children (almost 2 and almost 4) who sat through the whole story, even though it's a little long. They loved the story as a story and when they get a little older, and have longer attention spans, we can use the discussion starters in the back of the book to talk with them about the truths hidden within the story.
I was given the opportunity to review this book by the publisher in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Safari Explorers

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Padraig the Dragon and Roger the Turtle are camping outside in the dark. Their imaginations run wild. Exaggeration accompanies their fear. However, their friendship and their compassion shine through and boost their courage. When I read the book to my son, I found it a little confusing in the beginning but it turned out to be a silly, fun book. Unfortunately, the authors use a few big words that young children may not understand. Moreover, the story seems long and thus doesn't hold children's attention very well. The illustrations are cute but mostly dark because the setting is nighttime. This book includes a bonus story (The Legend of Mount Sillymanborrow) and conversation starters for discussion with your child(ren).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting new children's books

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
What an incredibly clever, fun book! I love Donita Paul's dragon books and I see this as a delightful way to introduce younger children to her dragon characters. The imagination that is used in this book is wonderful. As Roger and Padraig are on their camping trip, everytime they hear a sound we see a picture of what caused the sound (owl) and then Padraig says what he thinks caused the sound (howler monkey) and then it shows a picture of a cross between the two (owl and howler monkey). I found myself enjoying seeing what the animals would turn out to be... regular backyard animals crossed with safari animals. What fun! My kids will love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I recently received The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari by Donita K. Paul and Evangeline Denmark. In this story two friends go on a "safari" in a tent in their backyard.
I was pretty disappointed in this book. My 3 children were all bored with it, and wandered away before I even finished. That is a rare occurrence in our home. The story was dry and dragged on, and a lot of the conversation between the characters, especially the British phrases were unnecessary. There was one verse printed on the back cover, but that was the only Christian reference in the book. The "character building tips" that followed the verse were weak as well.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Dragon and the Turtle Go on Safari
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for teaching God's lessons.

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Cart
Location:Lorain, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two friends embark on a great adventure at the bottom of Sillymanborrow. However, adventures are not with out their risks...or sometimes scary times.
This is an absolutely adorable book for a 1st grader. The friends learn what it means to be courageous and even learn how to use the talents that God has given them. My son got a giggle out of this and he really enjoyed the pictures. I also like how the inside of the back cover has discussion questions for the children to answer. This really brings the lesson home. The book also has the "scary" story that Rodger (the turtle) wanted to tell.
I recommend this book for parent's, Sunday school teachers and homeschoolers. There are great lessons that each child should learn in this cute story.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.