Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc The Sound of Sleigh Bells

Random House, Inc The Sound of Sleigh Bells

Beth Hertzler works alongside her beloved Aunt Lizzy in their dry goods store, and serving as contact of sorts between Amish craftsmen and Englischers who want to sell the Plain people's wares. But remorse and loneliness still echo in her heart everyday as she still wears the dark garb, indicating mourning of her fianci. When she discovers a large, intricately carved scene of Amish children playing in the snow, something deep inside Beth's soul responds and she wants to help the unknown artist find homes for his work-including Lizzy's dry goods store. But she doesn't know if her bishop will approve of the gorgeous carving or deem it idolatry.

Lizzy sees the changes in her niece when Beth shows her the woodworking, and after Lizzy hunts down Jonah, the artist, she is all the more determined that Beth meets this man with the hands that create healing art. But it's not that simple-will Lizzy's elaborate plan to reintroduce her niece to love work? Will Jonah be able to offer Beth the sleigh ride she's always dreamed of and a second chance at real love-or just more heartbreak?

Average Customer Rating:
4.747 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
65
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Review 1 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Hertzler is unable to let go of a past tragedy, but when she discovers a large, intricately carved scene of Amish children playing in the snow, something deep inside Beth’s soul responds. Determined that her niece meet the gifted artist, her aunt tracks him down, but it’s not that simple – will Jonah be able to offer Beth the sleigh ride she’s always dreamed of and a second chance at real love?
My Review:
Let me be honest and put it out there that I am not a Christmas fan. Maybe it's because I work in retail, or because I didn't grow up with a traditional Christmas. But I don't see the point, and it just isn't a special or magical time for me. That being said, despite this omnibus being portrayed as a Christmas novel, I almost didn't want to read it. But I was pleasantly surprised to discover that while the stories lead up to and end at Christmas, the novellas did not center solely around the holiday. This factor was my number one reason for absolutely loving this work of fiction.
In The Sound of Sleigh Bells, I had a time of an afternoon laughing at the relationship between Lizzy and Beth. They might as well have been mother and daughter, instead of aunt and niece. But Lizzy's antics and ideas had me hooting with laughter while I eagerly anticipated what would happen with the "Old Man" woodcarver. A very enjoyable way to spend a quiet evening, fast paced, but with developed characters and great back stories.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the world of Amish fiction, most of the time the setting is always on farm life. What drew me in to this story was that it was set in the area of Amish business.
Beth, a single Amish woman who help runs her aunt store has closed herself off to any kind of romance and love, while Jonah, a woodcarver is patiently waiting on romance and love in God's time.
I enjoyed the characters and thought that they were well written and very believable. Both Beth and Jonah carried scars and I liked that because all humans have some kind of scar, either emotionally or physically and I think that is something readers can relate to.
The other thing that really kept me going with this story was the forgiveness. It was an on going thing with the characters, making its way throughout the entire story. I loved that. While I believe that forgiveness could happen very quickly, I think that most people struggle with it and that this aspect of the story lends a very real element to this book.
This was the first Cindy Woodsmall book that I have read and I was very pleased with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really enjoyed this book.

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Esty
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very good book, that I enjoyed. I did recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Christmas Story!

Date:January 5, 2012
After reading The Christmas Singing, I simply had to go back and read The Sound of Sleigh Bells! I was not disappointed! Cindy Woodsmall has cemented my affection for the residents of Apple Ridge. I adore strong female characters and felt that Cindy did a wonderful job of combining the simplicity of Amish life and the strength that comes from loving the Lord in both Beth and Aunt Lizzy's characters. She also did a wonderful job of giving the characters real problems and helping them to overcome them without seeming trite or simplistic. You don't want to miss out on either of these Christmas novellas!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anny
Location:NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book. It needs to be read before A Christmas Singing. I read all of her books and recommend them all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I had no idea that I would ever like an author's books this much. Ever since I read her first series (Sisters of the Quilt) earlier this year, I literally cannot wait to get my hands on her newest offering. Cindy's books have a way of touching me like few authors can. The characters she creates are so real and believable that I feel like I know them, and the circumstances those characters face provide lessons for everyone, even if you're not Amish.
While this was a much shorter story than her normal books, it was fascinating to read more about the business lifestyle of the Amish. Quite honestly, I was very surprised that two women were allowed to run a dry goods store in their local community, as well as Beth traveling to other small towns to do business. I also enjoyed that most of the storyline played out in the letters that were sent back and forth between Beth and Jonah. Even though this book could have just been a "sweet" story because it is so short, Cindy found a way to add depth to the story and give the reader something to think about.
Trust me, if you haven't hopped on the Amish bandwagon yet, you cannot go wrong if you start reading Cindy's books first. I've read several Amish stories by other authors, and Cindy Woodsmall is by far the best. Her books will keep you turning the pages well into the night, and you won't be able to stop reading until the book ends. For me now, it's just a matter of waiting for her next book....I am just not a patient person!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Louise
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was such a blessing to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Warming

Date:January 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wenddie Mikulcik
Location:Among the Amish, Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good story, didn't want it to end. Can't wait to read more from Cindy Woodsmall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely a great buy!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2read
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great buy that has it all: quality and value. A great gift idea!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Amish story

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edith Clark
Location:San Benito,TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought it was a well written story with a good ending. Gave one also to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good story

Date:December 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
kitty
Location:wisc
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lighter read, good story line, suitable for teen and young adults
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Seasonal Book

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Full of seasonal feelings of giving, expectations, and love
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story line

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Engell
Location:winn,Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was caught up in the story from the very begining,the kind of book you can't put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This story will lift you up

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda W
Location:Waterford, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little tome is just the right thing to lift your spirits if you're feeling a little bit down at Christmas time. You will change your attitude just like the heroine in the story did. It is so uplifting with a couple of nice surprises in it too! Don't hesitate to own this little book. You will be glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, quick read

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Scamp
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Tells us why Jesus died for us, in a fictional presentation. Bought several as Christmas gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Moonstar
Location:Missouri Ozarks
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book! Of course I love all of Cindy Woodsmalls books. This one hits home. Not every one is perfect and we need to get past the outer person and see the real person! I will read it over and over again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely book

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was easy to get in to. Easy and beautiful written. I read it in one day and it still was in my head the days after.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
kingsaber
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good book read it in about two days could not put it down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grace Burkholder
I absolutely loved this book! I had never read Amish fiction before, but I received the book for Christmas and fell in love with it immediately. The story is captivating; I couldn't put it down. I really connected with the character Beth because I went through a similar situation. It seemed like this story had been written just for me! I don't think anyone could read it and not enjoy it. I certainly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Sound of Sleigh Bells
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Helen Hevener
All of Cindy Woodsmall's book have been great- but I enjoyed this one by far the most!!! I got this book for christmas- and read it all almost in one day- a book you simply cannot put down!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.