Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Scent of Cherry Blossoms

WaterBrook Press The Scent of Cherry Blossoms

Annie Martin loves the Plain ways of her Old Order Mennonite people, like those revered by her beloved grandfather. Retreating from a contentious relationship with her mother, Annie goes to live with her Daadi Moses in Apple Ridge. But as spring moves into Pennsylvania and Annie spends time amongst the cherry trees with the handsome Aden Zook, she wishes she could forget how deeply the lines between the Old Order Amish and Old Order Mennonite are drawn.

Can Annie and Aden find a place for their love to bloom in the midst of the brewing storm?

Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 out of 38100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Review 1 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is great

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
nann
Location:marceline, mo
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a wonderful book I love it and Cindy Woodsmall just captures your heart with her books.It feels like your right there with them in the story,1of the best books I've read. If you like this book you will love the apple ridge set the Christmas singing and the other 2, there great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It understand the value of heart

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindz2012
Location:Gastonville
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. It gives you the respective of two people though their eyes. One is a Old Order Mennonite and the other is from Old Order Amish. There are something going on between both families.
Both families now each other. Annie Martin grandfather is a partner of Zook Dinner. For they need his partnership to keep it running. Aden and Annie are finding it hard to settle their hearts. They try to to go separates ways. Annie grandfather tries to threaten the partnership.
You will need to read it to find out if they make it work. Who decides to change faiths to really get love the one they both want.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A REALLY ENJOYABLE READ!

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melissa
This is the fourth book by Cindy Woodsmall I have read; the other three were part of the Sisters of the Quilt series. I always thought I didn't like Amish fiction; but, since I've loved all four of the books I've read so far, maybe I do like it after all! :)
The Scent of Cherry Blossoms is about Aden Zook and Annie Martin. Aden and Annie have been friends for years and now are falling in love with each other, but a relationship between them is forbidden because he is Old Order Amish and she is Old Order Mennonite.
I really enjoyed reading about Aden and Annie's budding relationship. Their story was interesting and I was curious as to how it was all going to turn out!
The side story of Aden's brother Roman was also interesting. Although at first I was a little bored when reading about him, I enjoyed his story as well and was glad with where his story seemed to be going.
I felt the ending was a bit abrupt and would have liked it better had there been an epilogue.
Overall, I really liked The Scent of Cherry Blossoms. I thought it was a quick, well-written read that I would recommend to fans of Contemporary romance and Amish fiction.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great easy read!

Date:July 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
carrieb16
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scent of Cherry Blossoms by Cindy Woodsmall was a very easy read about a young Mennonite girl who fell in love with an Old Order Amish boy. It was hard to put this book down! I love to read and this book caught my eye as its hard to find decent romance books. It was not a gushy love story but one that came from the heart. One that was forbidden from the beginning. It tended to be for a younger adult but I enjoyed it none the less. A family who saw many struggles and owned a diner who was in partnership with the young Mennonite girl's grandfather. Annie loved Aden and the feelings just grew. Aden's mother knew it was her sons heart to be with Annie. Annie's grandfather made it difficult and since he had a partnership with the diner Aden's family owned they tried to do the right thing but love overcomes! It was nice to see how each family helps. The Amish and Mennonite communities are always willing to pitch in when one needs a hand. A concept I think we forget in our busyness. One that I wish I could say I choose to do more. To think of others and not just myself.
Very good book. One that will lift your spirit and take you to a whole new place. I could feel myself being there in the heartache and the love. I would recommend this book.
Check out the thinks to see what other books Cindy Woodsmall wrote.
I reviewed this book for Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group (Blogging for Books) for my honest opinion.
More about the author <a href="http://www.cindywoodsmall.com/"></a>
Follow the author on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/authorcindywoodsmall
Follow the author on Twitter https://twitter.com/cindywoodsmall
More info on the book http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?isbn=9780307446558
Read Chapter One http://www.scribd.com/doc/75790909/The-Scent-of-Cherry-Blossoms-by-Cindy-Woodsmall-Chapter-1-Excerpt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amish Romance With A Twist

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
CarliAlice
Location:Union, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Martin, an Old Oder Mennonite, has a dilemma; embrace her Old Order Mennonite beliefs or turn away for the man she loves. Gentle and kind, Aden Zook has his own demons to wrestle. Sometimes love does not conquer all.
This Amish romance was different than others I've read. The introduction of the Old Order Mennonite ways was exciting and added additional depth to the story. Additionally, I found myself as drawn to the subplot as I was to the main story line.
I will admit that the first chapter did not draw me in as I would have expected but that quickly turned around and I couldn't put the book down. You could see the amount of research that Cindy Woodsman
put into the book and it was evident in the description of beliefs, the environment, and the dress. While the book is fiction there were elements of learning about these different faiths. Overall, I'd say this was a romance with a twist. I was surprised at the end!
Anyone who likes Amish romance will love this book. It's a must read!
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for review. All opinions are my own. No other compensation was received
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Scent of Cherry Blossoms by Cindy Woodsmall

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
PaulaS
Location:Kosciusko, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Martin is from the Old Order Mennonite and Aden Zook is from the Old Order Amish. Annie gets into a huge argument with her mom and goes to live with her grandfather, Daadi Hous, in Pennsylvania. She goes to work with a family of old friends who also happen to be of the Old Order Amish and becomes great friends with Aden Zook.
Many years ago, Annie's grandfather planted a cherry orchard and as spring comes to Pennsylvania, the cherry trees begin to bloom. Annie and Aden begin to meet under the cherry blossoms, they fall in love there.
I really enjoyed this book, but you have to get the book to read all about the trials and triumphs of Annie and Aden. Hope ya'll enjoy this book as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
alphabetmomma
Location:midwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Immediately the reader will fall in love with Annie. The story opens with her in the Amish market, and with some issues that leave your heart aching for her...and giggling a little as well. Annie is sent to her Daadi's house after an incident with her mother. I think that the author portrayed the mother character well, someone who had a husband leave her alone with many children, and Annie's feelings were also very clear throughout the story.
As soon as you fall in love with Annie, you start falling in love with Aden. Aden runs a restaurant, and is partnered with Daadi Moses. To make the story interesting you have Annie in the picture of helping out at the restaurant.
Annie and Aden vividly remember each other from their childhood...emotions come back, and the love starts to blossom.
Cherry Blossom trees hold a special story within the book, that I don't want to spoil for anyone...you'll have to read it to get the true meaning. Aden's drawings will bring you to tears, and you can't even "see" them. The true love between many characters blossoms and you can smell it as clear as you can smell the cherry blossoms.
A book about love. Forgiveness. Self Worth. makes it one book worth reading.
I would like to thank WaterBrook Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great one from Cindy Woodsmall!

Date:July 10, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always enjoyed Cindy Woodsmall's books. She always gives her readers such a beautiful picture of the Amish life. This book was just as beautiful and brought two different worlds together. It wasn't the world of the Amish and the Englischer, like so many of the Amish fiction books tend to lean towards. She takes a different relationship and lets them find their way together.
The lives of an Amish man and an Old Order Mennonite vary in many ways and neither group looks favorably upon marrying into the other group. When the Amish or the Mennonites join the church, they are making a solemn vow between them and God and that isn't taken lightly. So you can imagine what might happen if an Amish and a Mennonite fall in love with each other.
This is the main tension throughout this book. Annie Martin loves being an Old Order Mennonite. Ever since her mother became a single mom, she has let her brothers get away things that most Mennonites would completely disagree with. Annie's grandfather, Daadi Moses, lives in Apple Ridge and co-owns a restaurant with an Amish family. Annie's mom decides that Annie needs to go live with her Daadi Moses for a little bit since they can't get along at the moment.
Annie has visited her Daadi Moses before and helped in restaurant that the Zooks co-own with them. The Zooks have faced many hardships with Aden's twin brother being injured and havng to learn to walk again and his father being injured in the same accident. Aden has a stutter and just can't imagine that someone would want him because of his speech impediment. But who can resist a bright Annie who steps through the door to help out just when Aden's brother needs to be at a relative's farm?
As they begin to realize that they just might love each other, Aden is threatened by Annie's Daadi Moses of some terrible consequences should Aden keep seeing his granddaugther. Will Aden let that stop him? If they are to be together, who will become Amish or who will switch to be a Mennonite? Will their families be happy? Will they be accepted as a couple?
This book mentions a few characters in her Christmas book, A Christmas Singing. However, you don't have to have read it to know what is going on. this is a stand alone novel, but I did enjoy hearing an update from her previous book!
______________
I received this book free from Blogging from Books, which is part of Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written Characters

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Cindy Woodsmall
Summary of Book: Annie Martin loves the Plain ways of her Old Order Mennonite people, like those revered by her beloved grandfather. Retreating from a contentious relationship with her mother, Annie goes to live with her Daadi Moses in Apple Ridge. But as spring moves into Pennsylvania and Annie spends time amongst the cherry trees with the handsome Aden Zook, she wishes she could forget how deeply the lines between the Old Order Amish and Old Order Mennonite are drawn. Can Annie and Aden find a place for their love to bloom in the midst of the brewing storm?
I enjoyed this story for the most part. While the ending was no surprise it was interesting to see how the result was work its way out. At times it was very stressful to read knowing that these people were entering dangerous waters within their respective communities. It did not seem realistic how it ended. I preferred the others in the series. On the positive side the characters were likeable and believable. That is why I was able to finish it. I found the behavior of others to be very believable when the couple was found out and very human. These aspects are sometimes played down by other authors and this is Cindy Woodsmall’s gift in writing comes in she does not shy away from these things. That is another reason to keep reading. The characters were easy to see myself in them and yet they were realistic in their concerns, worries and troubles. That more than anything is the redeeming qualities of this book.
I would like to thank WaterBrook Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Forbidden Love Story!

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this story and I hated when it ended. I wanted it to continue. I wanted more. I wanted to read that every thing worked out peachy keen for Aden and Annie.
This is a forbidden love story between Aden Zook of the Old Order Amish and Annie Martin of the Old Order Mennonite. One must understand that a relationship between the two could never happen because of the vows each of them has made to their respective faiths. It doesn’t matter that they are a perfect fit for each other, it could never be.
This book was a real page turner. While we might wish for the two young people to be together it seems that there are just too many obstacles. Their own families are against any type of relationship between the two.
Would Aden’s Mother and Father give their approval with the risk of losing their Diner? Would Annie’s Grandfather relent and accept a relationship between the two? Most of all, would this be God’s will for the couple to be together?
This is a book by Cindy Woodsmall that you don’t want to miss. I don’t know if there will be a sequel. I most certainly hope so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

cherry blossoms review

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I received "The Scent of Cherry Blossoms" by Cindy Woodsmall for free from Thomas Nelson Publishing. This book is in the same series as "Christmas Singing". You do not need to have read any of the others to follow this book. Each book in the series stands alone with the characters all are connected in some fashion, but not necessarily a continum. In this short novel, Annie meets Aden when she goes to stay at her grandfather's for the summer. Actually she already knows him, but now that they are grown, so have their feelings. This is sort of a Amish/Mennonite version of Romeo and Juliet. I like this one just as well as the "Christmas Singing". It is a really sweet romance, yet the Amish are kept real and not given mythical status of being overly pure. For instance, the Amish guys are always trying to sneek a "check out" on the girls. They have problems. They are real. It is a quick read and not too deep. Entertaining and romantic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful as the fragrance of Cherry Blossoms

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Whidbey Island, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Scent of Cherry Blossoms" by Cindy Woodsmall is as well written as her other works. I enjoy her writings about Amish life. She brings the characters to life and her descriptive writing has you smelling the Cherry Blossoms and empathizing with the characters in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't Expect Anything Too Deep, But A Fun Book

Date:April 17, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently read "the Scent of Cherry Blossoms" by Cindy Woodsmall. This book is about a Mennonite girl, Anna, who is kicked out of her house and goes to live with her grandfather. She is reunited with her childhood friend, Aden, and through secret meetings they discover they have feelings for each other. However, because Anna is Mennonite and Aden is Amish, one of them will be shunned by their family and church if they continue to see each other.
I enjoyed this book. It was just a light romance story with a happy ending, and Cindy Woodsmall writes alot of books like that. One thing I enjoyed as I read was that Woodsmall included characters from her other book, "The Christmas Singing". I really enjoy when authors tie in separate stories this way.
At one point Anna's grandfather makes a comment that makes it sound as though being together could lead Anna and Aden to, in essence, lose their salvation. In the end though, Anna decides that the Lord would forgive her or Aden for leaving their church to be together. I wish Woodsmall would have included more of the gospel in this - Anna could have realized that she and Aden believe the same way about Jesus, even though they belonged to different churches. But I understand that's not necessarily how the Mennonite's and Amish would look at the situation. I like a stronger Christian message in my Christian fiction, but I also don't know the perspective that Woodsmall is coming from.
If you aren't expecting anything too deep this is a sweet book though, and I'd recommend it to someone looking for a quick read.
Note: I received this book for free from Multonomah Publishing Group in exchange for this review, as part of their Blogging For Books program.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Scent Of Cherry Blossoms

Date:April 2, 2012
Annie Martin and Aden Zook had been friends for five years. They first met when Annie helped out at Zook's Diner when she was 15 years old. Aden's father and twin brother, Roman, were in a farming accident. They couldn't work at the diner for awhile so Annie filled in. Annie's grandfather, Moses Burkholder, co-owned the diner with the Zook's. Whenever Annie visited her grandfather in Apple Ridge, PA, she would also see the Zook's, and make sure to spend time with Aden.
Annie had returned to Apple Ridge because she and her mother were having trouble getting along. It seemed to Annie that she was the only one in her family that still followed their beliefs. Annie's father left them nine years before and they began to slowly fall apart and away from their upbringing.
Once again, help was needed at Zook's Diner and Annie willingly gave her time. Gideon and Mattie needed to feed the out of town guests that came for their wedding. Zook's Diner filled that need. This made the diner a very busy place to work, especially with Roman out of town.
Roman had gone to his Uncle Ernie's in Lancaster to help fix a generator. More than doing the repair, his family hoped he got his confidence back. Since the farming accident, he had been in a wheelchair and felt unsure of himself. Roman met up again with Marian Lee while there, it seemed she liked him. He decided she just felt sorry for him because he was a paraplegic.
Annie was determined to get Aden talking more. Because he stuttered, he often didn't say a lot. The more they worked together, the closer they got. Aden's stuttering became less. Aden and Annie began to spend time together after work at her grandfather's cherry tree orchard. They also began to fall in love. There was only one problem with their relationship - Annie was Mennonite and Aden was Amish. They knew they couldn't be together without serious repercussions from their family and churches.
Do Annie and Aden follow their upbringing and not date someone from outside their faith? Or do they following their hearts and continue their relationship? Although Roman's broken body can't be changed, can his broken spirit? Read The Scent Of Cherry Blossoms to find out.
I think many people assume that Mennonites and Amish are very much the same. Reading this book will show you that they are not interchangeable. An Amish person dating a Mennonite person is not allowed, and vise versa. Annie and Aden weren't compromising their relationship with God when they chose to become more than friends. But they did compromise the beliefs/traditions of their families and churches. Cindy Woodsmall shows us that we should be less concerned about what others with think of us. We need to focus on following God and doing what He thinks is right. I like that Cindy Woodsmall put characters from another book in this story. Gideon and Mattie are from The Christmas Singing, you can read my review on my blog. I really liked Annie. She choose to still follow God, while her mother and siblings chose to follow ways that were hurting them. This book can be read quickly and is enjoyable. I would recommend reading it.
I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Talented Author

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
PatM
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All of Cindy's books are a treat to read. They touch my heart, I have laughed, cried & stayed up all night to finish one of her books. I have shared with my FB friends and recommended her books at the bookstores I utilize. I love that the characters have flaws but through their faith, they are stronger through trusting in God. Shelly, you have become one of my favorite authors. Keep up the good work & my prayers are with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love happens... Amish & Mennonite meet

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few months ago, I read the novella The Christmas Singing by Cindy Woodsmall. Now she brings forth a Spring novella with more of the same believable Amish folk whose lives are anything but simply and plain. The Scent of Cherry Blossoms takes us on a spin with two families who have major difficulties with which they must contend: physical, emotional, dysfunctional.
The male lead is Aden who is from Old Order Amish. His family owns and runs a small restaurant that is dependent (because of coding laws) on electricity which they must obtain from their Old Order Mennonite friend and neighbor.
The female lead is Annie who is from the Old Order Mennonite family that is linked through friendship and business partnership with Aden's family.
Love happens. Annie and Aden find themselves drawn into a relationship that could rend their two families, their church, their community, and cost Aden's family their business.
It is difficult for those in the world outside of the Amish and Mennonite communities to comprehend the difficulties faced by these gentle folk when faced with the issues that face Annie and Aden and their families.
Though short in length, The Scent of Cherry Blossoms is long in enjoyment and it is a very pleasant read, indeed. Cindy Woodsmall has again given her readers a treasure.
Publisher: WaterBrook Press Publication Date: 2012
ISBN: 0307446557 ISBN-13: 9780307446558
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary hardcover copy of The Scent of Cherry Blossoms by Blogging For Books and the publisher, WaterBrook Press for the purpose of an honest review without compensation. All opinions expressed are my own,.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great Christian Romance

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Scent of Cherry Blossoms by Cindy Woodsmall is a book sett in the Plain ways of Old Order Amish and Mennonite people. Annie Martin has joined her Old Order Mennonite Church by has fallen for Aden Zook who has joined his Old Order Amish Church. Neither has any qualms with their own church but the two religions as well as the two families refuse to allow the young of the congregation marry outside of their faith. Annie and Aden sneak around in order to see each other but soon get caught by Annie's Grandfather. The story is of how they chose to spend their future and whether they are will to give up family and beliefs in order to be together. A heart wrenching story.
I loved this story and grieved for the tough decisions these young people must make and the difficulties that they go through in their life. Both love their famlies with all their faults and blessings as well as the faith they have both grown up with. It is a quick read in that it only has 190 pages but you will love every page.
I was provided this book for this review from Multnoma Waterbrook Press.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Scent of Cherry Blossoms

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Txann21
Location:Euless
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read Amish fiction because I can lose myself in a feel good story about a much simpler life. No traffic jams commuting to and from work, the hustle and bustle of the city and no over scheduled calendar with not enough time to take care of everything that we cram into our day planners!
The Scent of Cherry Blossoms is a love story. You are drawn into the story from the very beginning with Annie being sent to live with her Grandfather and she helps in the diner of her friends and her Grandfathers business partners. Forbidden love begins to blossom. A love that will tear families apart, cause business partnerships to end and bring shame to the Amish community. A story of sacrifice as Annie and Aden pursue their forbidden love. "The scent of love is amongst the cherry trees."
A great story that all will enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun, quick read!

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just wrapped up the latest Cindy Woodsmall book. The Scent of Cherry Blossoms follows two brothers broken in two different ways. One suffers from a physical paralysis as the result of an accident. The other suffers from verbal paralysis, as a stutter keeps him trapped within his own body.
I've always enjoyed Woodsmall's fiction, and this novella is a sweet simple story of choosing love against all odds. The one brother, so broken in both body and spirit, realizes that by pitying himself, he's shut himself off from himself, his brother, his parents, a possible love, and especially, His God.
What a great reminder of how we should look beyond ourselves. When we help someone else, we can help but reap the benefits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Amish fiction

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
notdenise
Location:Northern Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scent of Cherry Blossoms is a shorter story (about 200 pages) by Cindy Woodsmall. It tells the story of Annie, an Old Order Mennonite young woman, and Aden, a young Amish man. Annie's grandfather is a business partner with Aden's father in a diner, which allows the diner to have electricity and other things not usually allowed in an Amish business. Annie's grandfather holds this over Aden's family several times in the book to try to get his own way, especially as Aden and Annie's relationship begins to develop. Their love is seen as forbidden because they would be "unequally yoked" by marrying outside of their faith. They begin meeting secretly in the cherry orchard between Aden's house and Annie's grandfather's house, but then must stop when their relationship is discovered.
Meanwhile, Aden's twin brother Roman is struggling with inadequacy since an accident five years ago left him in a wheelchair. He selfishly doesn't want anything to change in his relationship with Aden, since Aden is a big help to him in getting around. Roman must come to terms with his relationship to God and to others.
A good easy read. It could have gone a little more in-depth in some places, and I felt it ended very suddenly, but overall very good.
I received this book for free from Waterbrook in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>