Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Morning and Evening

Crossway Books & Bibles Morning and Evening

Now you can benefit from the spiritual encouragement to be found in this devotional. Noted pastor and author Alistair Begg has updated Spurgeon's language while preserving the dignity and clarity of Spurgeon's original words. This new revision uses the English Standard Version for the Scripture text. You will enjoy the reliable words of the ESV, a version of the Bible that combines accuracy of translation, readability, and beauty of expression.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Morning and Evening
Review 1 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
John Tompkins
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wore out a C.H. Spurgeon Morning and Evening and wanted a new one. this up-dated version is wonderful. I also use and recommend 'Faith's Check book' by Spurgeon for anyone, especially those with less time. I read both.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A masterpiece from the Prince of Preachers.

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamela Blanchard
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A devotional tool to keep the Christian anchored to God's Word and God's love. Definitely to be re-read each year because of all the hidden gems of God's character that are mined from from His word by this great servant. Thanks to Alistair for preserving and updating this gem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Irritating and annoying voice.

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
brutuslevi
Location:1
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The particalur english accent, which may indeed have a degree of elegance to it, is also extremely annoying to my ears. Maybe Spurgeon was from the same area as the reader. If so, well fine then. If not, then maybe he should have been.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful devotional

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
By HIS grace
Location:Valley Center, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the addition of the scripture in ESV and Alistair Begg, this devotional has truly been a joy to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic Devotional - you will be blessed!

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
JL
Location:Connecticut shoreline
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for a gift. Already own a copy for myself. Can't say enough about it - Spurgeon's commentary is encouraging, enlightening, thought provoking, very sound. I highly recommend this devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is an excellent meditation guide

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
musical medley
Location:St. Louis, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent, heart-warming, thought-provoking guide to fellowshipping with God. I would recommend this book to everyone. Charles Spurgeon was a brilliant man of God who knew what we would need centuries later to feed on. It is the word of God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alan Lasley
An excellent daily devotional. Charles Spurgeon can't be beat for insightful nuggets. Alistair Begg did a great job. I have read other Sprugeon material and this does read easier than the language of Spurgeon's time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Ewing
This is the book I was hunting for. A devotional with both morning and evening readings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
M. Homan
I received this as a gift and now just ordered 4 of them to give to my daughters as well as others. Very well done! I read the original version and found it difficult to understand. Mr. Begg's version re-written in modern standard English retains the charisma and depth of the original.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Morning and Evening
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
batreader
Begg barely changes anything so you are better off going with the original and save on the royalty!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.