Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B & H Publishing Group Ruby's Slippers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B & H Publishing Group Ruby's Slippers

Dottie Meyers, 35, is a real-life Dorothy Gale living with her little black dog on a small farm in Kansas that's about to be hit by a tornado. Knocked unconscious by the storm, she awakes three months later at a recovery facility in California where her father, last seen when she was four, has left her a mysterious pair of ruby slippers.

But unlike The Wizard of Oz, this isn't a dream, and the yellow brick road journey that Dottie and three friends are about to take from Los Angeles to Seattle in search of her dad will show the realities of a broken childhood. More importantly, everything connected to those sparkling red shoes will prove to Dottie that there's only one true wonder worker behind the so-called curtain who can heal her wounds and prepare the heart for love.

Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Ruby's Slippers
Review 1 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Inspired by Fiction
New author to me, Leanna Ellis, was a pleasant surprise. This is not a book that I would have picked up myself. It was given to me, and I am so glad it was. I would categorize it as Christian Chick Lit. It is a fun and easy read; however, there was much more substance than I expected. This novel could have been extremely cheesy; but a little cheddar never hurt anyone. I actually enjoyed the parallels to the Wizard of Oz, especially within the characters. Dottie Meyers is injured in a tornado in Kansas and wakes up in a nursing home where she had been given ruby slippers by a father she never knew. This leads her on a journey: a journey toward family and truth. Along the way she picks up friends who each add something to Dottie's life she didn't even realize she was missing. I love the moments of Sophia mentoring Dottie, and I was moved by the moments of realization and reconciliation. One of my favorite moments was in a conversation about prayer. Dottie asks "what if I only have complaints?" and the response: "You think He doesn't know them already?" They continue to talk about prayer and how it is about our relationship with our Father. She does meet her biological dad, but more importantly she gets to know her heavenly Father. In the end, this is who she wants to share with her sister. This was a not only a fun book, but also a well thought out one with a beautiful testimony of Dottie's personal growth. It worked for me.http://inspiredbyfiction.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Dottie Meyers has been content with life on the small family farm in Kansas -- but then it's all swept away by -- you guessed it -- a tornado. In this twist on the Wizard of Oz, Dottie is given a pair of ruby slippers as she recovers and must decide whether to track down the giver and who she can trust on her journey.She begins her journey a woman isolated from all she knows and loves. But as the journey progresses she must choose whether to remain aloof, or open her heart to the people around her as well as fully embrace her heavenly Father. While the spiritual thread is woven throughout the story, it is a natural part of the story's tapestry. Without it, the book would fall flat. With it, I felt a connection with Dottie and her journey of discovery. Ultimately, she'll discover that life is so much more than a pair of ruby slippers. This was a book I enjoyed reading with every page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy Yount
Good story...almost enjoyed the symbolism referring to the Wizard of Oz movie and trying to make sure I caught all of it as I did the "read"!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Phillis Mitchell
I like this author--cute story but does have depth and hope--interesting thoughts on families--that families are not always the ones you are born into--but the friends that you bond, heal and care for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
Leanna Ellis is one of the more original voices in womens fiction, and she proves it in her latest novel, Rubys Slippers. After a tornado flattens her farm, Dottie Meyers awakens from a coma to find shes literally not in Kansas anymore. Admitted to a West Coast recovery facility by her selfish sister, Dottie finds her life is as much of a whirlwind as the storm. But the discovery of a pair of ruby slippers left at her bedside by her absentee father sends Dottie, her friends, and her little dog, Otto, on a journey shell never forget.In Rubys Slippers, Ms. Ellis pays homage to the classic film, The Wizard of Oz, with a dash of Cinderella for good measure. This is a charming tale of mending broken dreams, people who are more than they seem, and finding the meaning for true happiness within your heart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Dottie (Dorothy) Meyers lives on a small Kansas farm, alone but for her little dog Toto oops ... Otto. When a tornado rips through her property, it not only demolishes the home shes lived in all her life, but knocks the middle-aged maiden out cold. She awakens three months later at Rainbows End, an assisted living facility in California. Near her bed are a pair of ruby slippers a gift from the father she hasnt seen since she was four.Haunted by childhood memories and a longing to meet the Daddy she barely remembers, Dottie sets out on a journey to Seattle (the Emerald City). Traveling with her are three friends: Sophia, whose mastectomy left her constantly rearranging the stuffing in strategic places on her body. A free thinker, she jokes that her son sometimes thinks shes lost her brain; Tim, Dotties elderly uncle by marriage. He gave his whole heart to Elizabeth, whos younger brother is Dotties father. When Elizabeth died, Tim thought his heart died with her; Leo, Sophias wild and woolly son, who lives by himself in a cabin in the woods. He looks fearsome, and he makes a lot of noise, but Dottie soon discovers that a part of Leo is nothing more than a scared little boy who mourns the absence of a father in his life, just as she does.The little group learns a lot of important lessons about themselves and each other on their way to Seattle. Hurt and disillusioned by her fathers abandonment, will Dottie ever again trust another man with her heart? In search of her Daddys affection, will she fail to see the flawless love her heavenly Father has offered all along?Its a modern-day Wizard of Oz with Cinderella undertones. But this is no fairy tale or fantasy, with magical resolutions and guaranteed happy endings. Its a moving story of hurt and healing, of love and loss, of hope and redemption. Immensely entertaining, it is chock full of wit, grit, humor and heartache. Truly unforgettable, Rubys Slippers has the potential to be a classic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
I picked this book to read not knowing how personal it would become. Tornadoes and severe storms hit this area while I was reading it. As Dottie deals with problems because she never knew her Father and finds a different story than she knew, she also realizes that her family idea is different than she expected. She finds a whole new family while she is recovering from being hurt in tornado and searching for her father. Also she is brought closer to her sister. The ending of this story was different than I was expecting but a total delight. Leanne's book was so uplifting and encouraging. It took me through some problems I was facing and helped me to face them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
I was looking forward to reading this and preordered it, a decision I definitely do not regret. The Wizard of Oz is one of my favorite movies, so I really appreciated all the tie-ins (especially those delicious ruby red shoes!) However, I also liked the way Leanna didn't stick directly to the original plot (i.e., the Scarecrow is a girl, the Wicked Witch is not necessarily wicked). I also appreciated the fact that the spiritual element is really subtle, leaving Dottie, Leo, and others a lot of room to grow and really get to know God, instead of relying on the formulaic "everyone must pray the Sinner's Prayer by the end of the book." Some of the scenes felt a bit slow, but otherwise, this was a wonderful journey down a brand new yellow brick road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
If you love the Wizard of Oz with all the crazy characters and the adventures they go on, you will love this story. Even if you werent crazy about the movie that starred Judy Garland you will love this book. I have to say I wasnt really a fan of the movie, it scared me tremendously as a kid, yet my parents insisted we watch it every year. The Wizard of Oz has been redeemed for me. Hooray! Leanna took me inside the pages of this clever, witty, fun and surprising story. I found treasure where I least expected it. Gods healing truth jumped off the page and into my heart.Every day is a gift, the author mentions. Its our choice to see it and open up the gift daily.Heres a sneak peak into this book. ..were two frightened people, side by side, who are afraid to risk, afraid to love, afraid of being wounded, cant reach out to one another. Maybe, I venture a hypothesis, thats why we cant exploreexperience God. Were afraid of him.I have found these statements and many others to be so true in my life. Not only was I afraid of God but afraid to do what he had asked me to do questioning if he picked the right person for the task at hand. I let the enemy win in my life by just being afraid to do anything. I didnt grow, love or live life. I think thats why I really related to this story. Ive experienced this truth, and Gods healing power mentioned throughout this tale. I totally enjoyed every minute I spent reading Leannes book. Through these very unique set of characters I can see how far Ive let God heal my heart. I also see how much he wants to love me, if I let him. We all are a work in progress. This was the first book Ive read by Leanna Ellis, Im most definitely going to check out her other two books. I cant wait to read this book again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee Carver
Leanna Ellis does character-driven novels with dramatic suspense. She draws people hanging by a string in the middle of their lives, trying to understand how they got here and which way they're going to swing. And for the length of one novel, the reader is clutching the same string.Dottie is "adventurous as a turtle" until the entire setting of her life is removed. After three months in a coma, she must redefine herself. She faces enormous challenges with courage and sets out to resolve the mysteries which have constrained her emotional development in the past.The reader should not be put off by parallels with The Wizard of Oz. I'm not particularly a fan of Oz. Ruby's Slippers is its own plot, characters, and resolution.Read Ruby's Slippers for the author's voice, for her delightful metaphors and similes, for real-world humor, the characters and their stories, the drama of their passions. Weeks later, the novel's take-away values still ring in your mind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ruby's Slippers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
sheila
I read a lot of books. This is the best one I've read in a while. The wizard of oz is a favorite in my family and is what drew me to the title and outline. I love this book. In fact I am only half through it and can't decide to let my sister read it or immediately read it again to make sure I didn't miss a word. It is so funny, and the oz connection is not to be missed. I will read other books by this author if I can put Ruby's Slippers down long enough. GREAT READ and a MUST BUY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.