Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Shade

B&H Books Shade

"You will not fear the terror of the night."--Psalm 91

A monstrous waking nightmare is pursuing graduate student Hailey Maniates across San Francisco to Golden Gate Park where she is rescued by a towering homeless man. She seems able to read her rescuer's mind but is it just a delusion? Doctors diagnose her as a paranoid schizophrenic and attempt to prescribe away her alleged hallucinations. But too many questions remain around Hailey and the man who saved her. He appears to suffer from her same mental condition and is convinced that some type of Gypsey vampire is trying to kill them both.
Against reason, Hailey finds herself more and more attracted to this strange man. But what if he is a fantasy. What if he is the monster?

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shade
Review 1 for Shade
This review is fromShade - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good strange read

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my kind of book. A bit creepy and scary. I never read it before going to bed. A bit strange and different but I loved it. Monsters, nightmares, vampires and conspiracies. This book is one of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas
Let me start by saying "Thank you" to Mr. Olson for not crafting a "Twilight/Underworld"-cliched vampire story. This book is totally unique and like nothing I have ever read before. Shade hearkens back to the original Gothic classic Dracula, not the horror/romance crud we have floating around today. The book was amazingly suspenseful and intriguing. Like other reveiwers, I did not know who was the good guy and who was the bad guy. Very good read. Christianity and redemption shine through. Here's hoping that Olson writes a sequel to Shade and Powers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
the man with a plan
Shade is a thrilling ride. It does get scary sometimes, and very suspenseful. I had a hard time tell what was real and was not real. The characters are tricky as well. Because it's almost like one moment their good, and then the next their bad. Get this book, and go for a ride!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Theresa
Hailey Maniates was a tall and beautiful third year grad student majoring in Biochemistry. One night, after returning to her lab, she is pursued by someone or something. Terrified, she runs through Golden Gate Park where she is rescued by a very tall homeless man. She can't understand it, but she can read his mind and she can feel his emotions. He sprints her to the hospital, and leaves her to explain her story. Even though Hailey thinks this is due to the shock from the trauma, the doctors feel it is something more. Hailey is put in a mental institution and is medicated for her hallucinations. She knows she's not crazy, and must find the very tall homeless man to find out what happened and get her many questions answered. What really did pursue Hailey? Why did she think she saw herself being chased through the attackers eyes? How could she feel the thought and emotions of the homeless "giant"? What was happening to her? Was she really just the crazy person her doctors diagnosed her to be?I had read the second book of this series, "Powers", first, and was a little concerned that I may have ruined this first book. Not at all!! From the beginning, "Shade" pulled me in. Masterfully written, it's full of mystery and intrigue and heart-stopping, spine-tingling terror. Olson wrote a fantastic page-turner that scared the pants off me! His characters have depth and memorable qualities that I won't easily forget, nor will I be comfortable being alone in the dark for a long time to come!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheri Williams
An urban fantasy, Shade twists, turns and veritably races through the streets of modern day San Francisco.I can feel them. The homeless man and some kind of monster. I know what this sounds like, but Im not crazy! Im a grad studenthere at UCSF. Something attacked me in my lab. It was in my head. I saw myself through its eyes (Page 42).How can graduate student Hailey Maniates be anything but terrified? The Mulo wants her dead. A homeless giant assigns himself her protector. And emergency room doctors question her sanity. Before she knows it shes locked up in a psychiatric ward with a new identityparanoid schizophrenic. But Hailey is sure shes not having hallucinations, that shes not crazy. Well, shes pretty sure.In this fast-paced, mind-bending thriller, Christy award winning author, John B. Olson, explores the age old battle between good and evil. Is Hailey misdiagnosed with a debilitating mental illness at the hands of an agnostic physician? Or in the supernatural battle of a lifetime with spirits of the dead? Told from a Christian worldview, Olson employs a masterful use of language, characters that get under your skin and a genuine exploration of faith. Not so much outright scary as deep down frightening, readers will be thinking about Hailey and Melchi long after they put the book down. Shade is full of faith, mystery, science, suspense and a double-dollop of romance. Recommended for adults and older teens who like romance or thrillers. The book trailer and a sample chapter are available at http://bhpublishinggroup.com/fiction/books.asp?p=9780805447347 You will not fear the terror of the night. Psalm 91From the Christian Library Journal; used by permission.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
I'm not a vampire book reader -- and kept hearing this one described as the vampire book without the vampire. I'd heard people couldn't sleep with the lights off after reading it...I didn't find it that scary...instead I found this book slowly pulled me in and left me flipping pages because I couldn't get ahead of the author and anticipate where he planned to take the plot. Instead, down to the last page I was surprised by how John wrapped up the story.The book has strong supernatural threads with glimpses of the goth underworld and a fleeting flash of a Narnia-type setting. The writing is strong with characters that left me wondering who I could root for. I think the name comes from the swirls of gray that fill the pages.If you're looking for a book that is unique in Christian fiction with strong suspense and supernatural notes, then this book is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ginger
Shade has it all, suspense, intrigue, romance, and lots of plot twists to keep you guessing. I only thought that the end was a little hard to swallow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
When a noise scares Hailey from the science department at her collage, she runs. A great fear presses down on her and suddenly she can see herself, as if she is looking through the eyes of her pursuer. She can feel his thoughts, his emotions. She flees the campus and runs into Golden Gate Park, but falls and hurts her ankle. Just as her pursuer is about to attack, a towering homeless man rescues her. As he carries her to the emergency room, she can sense his thoughts as well.The hospital workers think she might be schizophrenic, that she hallucinated the whole ordeal. They prescribe heavy medication that leaves Hailey falling asleep at her desk. She cant live like this. She knows shes not crazy, and the only way to prove it, is to find her rescuer. But when she finally does, he seems as crazy as she feels, going on and on about ancient monsters who are hunting them. It makes no sense, but Hailey cant stop thinking about this giant hero. She is drawn to him, but is that because he is right? because he is sick and needs help? or because hes the monster and is using his powers on her?Ooh! This was a creepy one, but I really liked it. John B. Olson has a great way of hooking you with his unique characters. I instantly liked both Hailey and Melchi (the homeless man). And the plot just kept twisting and turning, I couldnt even guess how it was going to end or what the whole monster thing was all about. This is an adult book, but older teens who like thrillers will love it. Recommended (with caution for those who dont like to be scared).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lynn Rush
This book was amazing. I started it on a Saturday night and finished it the next day. John B. Olson did a fantastic job hooking me into his characters. I absolutely loved Melchi. His tortured existence was so entrancing. I love characters like that. Great read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
This is an amazingly eerie book that makes you think and keeps your heart pounding through the entire book. What is Hailey experiencing? Is it vampires, hallucinations, mental illness? Who is the homeless giant? "Whom do you trust when you can't tell reality from fantasy?" I loved Hailey and Melchi, but spent the whole book trying to figure out if they were right for each other and who the bad guys were. Intriguing book and highly recommended for readers that love fantasy / sci-fi books. **** (4 stars) for originality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
In Shade John Olson has created a world in which nothing is as it seems, and where no answers are certain. As Hailey struggles to make sense of the battles raging around her she moves between belief and disbelief, struggling to set her feet on a firm ground that never quite materializes. Olson keeps certain aspects of his story amorphous, leaving room for reader interpretation and paving the way for future novels in this vein.Often referred to as a Christian vampire novel, I would not assign Shade this label. While the determinedly stalking antagonist -- the Mulo -- is given his name from the term for a Gyspy vampire, this isnt precisely what he is. Certainly there are vampire-like aspects to his character, but he is not entirely one of them, an example of the vague and undetermined nature of this work. However, the emotional tenor created, the fear of the chase and the ever present night hunter create a dark world of fear similar to that found in vampire-genre novels.Olson does not rely upon the elements of fear and danger to drive his novel alone; he has populated this dark, mysterious world with characters whose emotions are authentic and ring true. In the unlikeliest romantic pairing Olsen brings together a huge, odorous homeless man who is either brainwashed, insane, or an unlikely hero figure with a brainy, emotionally recalcitrant heroine who may not have it all together mentally and sparks a tender flame between them. This thread of storyline is beautifully touching, and it works; a feat traditionally considered difficult for male authors congratulations John.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vickie Gress
Very good, fast moving, very exciting,keeps you in the edge of your seat, really a plot twister.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Evangeline Denmark
If Shade were a movie, it would be released in July and have the term blockbuster tied to it. This book has it allaction, suspense, romance, good and evil. And if a good story isnt enough for you, Shade contains some hefty metaphorical material to chew on. John Olson uses mythological framework to explore the existence and impact of evil in our world, but if youre not careful, youll start checking every dark corner for a real monster.Hailey and Melchi are the kind of characters who become your fiction friends. You care about them, root for them, and chew your nails when theyre in trouble, which is often. When grad student Haileys life is disrupted by a terrifying, unseen presence, she must either uncover the secret of the stalking menace or relinquish her shaky claim on sanity. The only person who believes her far-fetched claims is homeless hero Melchi with his bewildering knowledge and hidden abilities. Together Hailey and Melchi battle an ancient evil and discover mysteries they never imagined.Buy this book and then clear your schedule for tomorrow because youre going to be up all night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2008
Creepy and compelling! Shade is a heart-pounding read. I loved the way just as I started to get comfortable and relax, the story would take an unexpected twist and knot my mind! So many times, I was sitting here thinking, "oh, no! that means...." or "ohhhhh maaaannnn, that's not good." :-D An absolute must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.