Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Forsaken

B&H Books Forsaken

When Simon Mason, the world's best-known televangelist, receives threats from Muslim terrorists, he hires beautiful former Secret Service agent Taylor Pasbury to take charge of his security. Taylor is thrilled to receive the high-profile assignment, but she has no idea that Simon already knows more about her than she could imagine.
When the terrorists strike, making a demand of the pastor that would shake the most steadfast saint, Taylor draws on all of her hard-knock toughness and training as she fights to save Simon and his daughter. Along the way, she discovers that she is not the only one who has done things she would like to forget--and she is not the only one who understands that some things are more important than living.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forsaken
Review 1 for Forsaken
This review is fromForsaken - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First time to read this author

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
ljlkm
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a good read. Held my interest from the beginning to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forsaken
This review is fromForsaken - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the real life twists and turns.

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
goldilocks
Location:Spokane,WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the honesty and forgiveness of real life mistakes. I'm excited to read the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forsaken
This review is fromForsaken - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In the tough times, lessons can be learned.

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Former Secret Service agent, Taylor has a job to do -
protect Simon Mason and his daughter. She is hoping this
assignment will be step up to the President's detail. Little
does she realize what God has to teach her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forsaken
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
The characters of this book were real people with human failings. The author kept me in suspense right to the end of the book. I will be watching for more books by this author. I wouldn't mind another book with Taylor as the main character.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forsaken
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
MJ @ Creative Madness
What an intriguing story through former Secret Service now Private Security Personnel Taylor Pasbury's eyes. The entire novel is told in a recitation with bits of humor as if in a verbal report. As a huge Alias/spy-type fan this story was a great fit in genre for me. It is shocking that I had not found author James David Jordan's work before, and now that I have I plan to read much more. I'm especially excited that as soon as I finish this review, I can start reading the sequel to this novel "Forsaken" which is called "Double Cross".Including some of the nit and gritty, this is a very realistic tale that brings to light the good and bad in people. Strength and forgiveness of ones-self are themes as well as terrorism plots and rescue attempts. This was one of those books where when I had to put it down to tend to something else I was amazed at how far I had already read. A page turner and a tool to delve into realism issues of the reader's own-self is only part of what makes this a great book. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forsaken
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Mae Baldwin
I review many books. It sometimes takes me two or three tries to get going, but this was not the case with Forsaken. From the beginning the reader cares for Simon and his daughter and we can feel his angst. Or at least I could. I chose it as the December collection for our book club. We will discuss it tomorrow, but I already know someone in the group said there was essentially TOO much conflict (!) I would disagree. The story is a good balance of faith, suspense, and hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forsaken
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Taylor Pasburys mother deserted her at the age of nine. Her father, a Special Forces veteran, took over and raised her to be a strong woman. As Forsaken opens, we see Taylor in a life or death situation with her father. A situation that further wounds the woman whose mother abandoned her. And a situation that sets into motion Taylors future employment. Taylor immerses herself in her job as a Secret Service agent and searches for love in all the wrong places. But after a questionable incident, she retires from the Secret Service and opens a security firm. Taylor is called into service by televangelist Simon Mason when he is threatened by Muslim extremists. Despite Taylors protection, the terrorists strike, kidnapping Kacey, Simons daughter, and they make a demand of Simon that is impossible to agree to, yet impossible to deny. Does Simon agree to the kidnappers demands? Does he get Kacey back? Does he regret his decision? Can he live with it? All questions the author answers in this fast paced enthralling novel. Forsaken is a book I picked up and did not put down until the last page. The action in the story keeps the pages flipping, yet the character development makes you wish it never ended. James David Jordan expertly created and developed flawed characters, searching for love, while trying to out run their pasts. And then he burdens them with a challenge so big, there is no good way out of it. A challenge you will ask yourself over and over as you read, what would I do in that situation and come out just as maimed and hurt as Simon does over making the decision. When the decision is made, you can empathize with Simon and understand his struggle to deal with it. And then you find, that as big as the decision was, watching Simon live with the consequences is even bigger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forsaken
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Forsaken by James David Jordan is an intense story about a world-famous preacher and the security expert being hired to protect him. When Simon Mason receives threats against him, he calls Taylor Pasbury to step up his security. A close call leads to the terrible realization that Simons daughter has been kidnapped. The terrorists demand that the preacher appear at a high-profile event and publicly renounce Christ. Will Simon trust God to bring his daughter home safely? Or will he comply with the kidnappers demands to save his little girl? Trusting himself will only lead to destroying his witness, his ministry and the faith of millions.This is a fast-moving, action-packed, suber-amazing suspense read! Jordan creates rich, thoughtful characters and a tangled web of a story that leads the reader to consider his own response to that age-old question: will you stand up for Christ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forsaken
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
While Forsaken sounds at first glance like a typical terrorist/suspense novel, it is so much more than what it seems. Well deserving of the suspense genre label, it moves at an intense and engrossing pace through the first two-thirds of the book, only to slow into a more thoughtful, reflective later portion. Readers are treated to what amounts to two stories within one cover, skillfully blended. A tale of nerve-wracking uncertainty and action combined with the story of one mans faith and spiritual journey.Jordans novel enthralled me. Forsaken possesses a special quality that refuses to let the reader set the book down for long. Far from being rote, the story of Kaceys capture and the difficult decision her father faced were captivating. The characters are realistic, flawed and uncommonly personable. Mason is true to life in his vulnerability, failings and foibles. Pasbury, a woman with a difficult, tainted past is gritty, wounded, and loveable. The author has succeeded in writing both male and female characters that resonate in the heart of the reader.Exploring far more than the themes of inter-religious tensions and terrorism, Jordan dips his characters into loneliness, evangelism, love, the bonds of family and Gods grace. A surprising depth is created through the drawing together of seemingly disparate threads of story - the lines between past and present.Far from condemning all followers of Islam as dangerous radicals, it is made clear that the purpose of such radicals is rarely religious, but more often power based. Moderate followers of Islam are treated with respect and dignity without minimizing the need to share the gospel with them.Forsaken is so much more than I expected; deeper, truer, touching and surprising. Come for the thrill, adrenaline and addictive compulsion to keep reading. Stay for the lingering reflection, insight and first steps on the path to healing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forsaken
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jim Day
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. The author takes you through this yarn very easily and paints a great story. I could not put the book down.I recommend highly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forsaken
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
L Burns
This story grabbed me with the very first sentence and never let go. I'm looking forward to another Taylor Pasbury novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forsaken
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Reading this book was like watching an episode of 24 in book format. This book was heart thumping non stop action from the first page. It's very gritty, not for the faint hearted. I love how the main character is a female who doesn't need to rely on others to take care of herself. Reading about Taylor's past and how it affected her life and career choice was great buildup for the story. This is honestly one of the best suspense novels I have ever read, in both secular and Christian fiction. With plot twists and good character development, this book was hard to put down. The story is very realistic, one could easily see the news headlines actually happening. It's actually scary to think that there could be someone out there who is plotting this exact scenario. The choice that Simon had to make was extremely difficult. It is a situation that one hopes NEVER to have to be in. It really makes you think about what is the most important thing in your life and exactly how strong your faith really is. The ending is rather interesting and I'm looking forward to seeing how that storyline is played out. I'm highly anticipating the next book in the series. This is one book that you could easily pass on to guys who claim to hate reading. It will definitely grab their attention. HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.