Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books The Queen of Sleepy Eye

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B&H Books The Queen of Sleepy Eye

En route to college in the summer of 1975, sensible seventeen-year-old Amy gets stuck in smalltown Colorado when the 1958 Bonneville Sports Coupe driven by her insufferable tiara-toting mom, Francie--former Queen of the Sleepy Eye, Minnesota, Corn Festival--surrenders to a mortally wounded transmission.
It doesn't take long to realize that thirty-three year-old Francie is out of money and in no hurry to let go of her daughter, so the two unpack indefinitely. Amy finds work at a funeral home, a place her unlikely Christian faith can work itself out among the town's young and old, geeks and jocks, hippies and clergy alike.
Trying not to judge her mom's serial boyfriend's escapades, Amy ends up in a tragic love triangle herself which gives both mother and daughter the chance to do some real growing up. But in a surprise twist, their road to healing still has many miles to go in 2008 as they travel back to Sleepy Eye in that old '58 coupe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Review 1 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Of My Favorite Books Ever! :)

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alyson
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this book! I'm a teen girl and I can really relate to most of the situations that the main character goes through. But my mom also read it, and she loved it as well. So I think that this is the type of book that all women could read and find some way to relate to Amy [the main character]! It's become one of my all time favorites. I've read it close to 10 times I believe, and for an almost 400-page book, that's saying something :) Patti Hill's writing is sooo beautiful. Everything flows perfectly. I felt like I really knew the characters and the town. I actually cried two or three times reading this! Okay, I flat-out bawled during one chapter. It's an absolutely beautiful book. Every time I read it, I get something new out of it. It's truly a story of God's endless grace and I will never get tired of it! Love it! <3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2009
This was not your average, everyday book. It's about two women, a mother and daughter, and how they deal with life. Overall it was a good book and I liked the ending, but that doesn't mean it didn't have its twists and turns. Patti Hill is a great writer, and if you are tired of the usual Chick lit book, then this would be a good book for you. Especially if you like a little drama, edginess, and suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon K. Souza
Patti Hill has created an amazing story with amazing characters that made me both laugh and cry, sometimes at the same time. Patti writes in a wonderful style that drew me in from the very first page and held me fast through every scene, every word. I hated to arrive at the end of this remarkable coming-of-age story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Latayne C. Scott
When I read The Queen of Sleepy Eye, I enjoyed the narration of the 17-year-old Amy and its authenticity. She remarks, "Enjoying God's grace is sloppy business" when she realizes with tears that the light from a church window didn't reveal, but rather overcame, her sins. And of course I loved Amy's wacky but endearing mother.Another comment made by a minor character, an elderly priest, who asks when looking in a mirror, "Who is that old guy wearing my whippersnapper soul?" was equally perceptive and terrific.All that is to say that Patti has a unique type of talent that can be compared with creating cliffhangers or unanswered (but leading) questions. She has the ability to create characters who are so real, they themselves leave the reader yearning for more --as if they were friends to whom we are bidding farewell. There's the bittersweet hope that even though they are going somewhere we cannot go, we want them to come back again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan Malcolm
Patti Hill is becoming one of my favorite Christian authors. I loved her "Garden Gate" series and had been looking forward to her next novel. "The Queen of Sleepy Eye" is a wonderful story about characters who reflect everyday struggles with life and how to apply the faith they live by. Even strong Christians wrestle with choices, and we see that even when wrong choices are made God is able to redeem them. An enjoyable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Rochon
Just finished reading this delightful book. Patti Hill makes her characters come alive with wonderful descriptions of their struggles and spiritual dilemmas. Love the ending--makes it worth the read. A good reminder that we are all in need of God's grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cathy Allen
Another wonderful story from Patti Hill. Amy struggles with her faith as she deals with her mom's lifestyle and life in a small town, working and living in a funeral home. A thoroughly enjoyable novel that will make you laugh as well as cry at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Louise Stone
Patti Hill weaves a wonderful story with fun, quirky characters & events while interlacing thought provoking ideals and spiritual challenges like we've all experienced! It guarantees to touch your heart and remind again of God's great grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
J. Robison
Just as with her Garden Gate series, The Queen of Sleepy Eye is another winner! I love the way Patti Hill describes things. She makes her characters seem so real. With her books I find I laugh and cry and grow some spiritually as well. Can't wait for her next novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
R, Pauls
Love her character development! I know people like these people. We, like them make judgments about who people are with out really knowing them. It was a refreshing read set in small town America.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.