Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook

Abingdon Press A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook

In 1951, Frankie Chasing Bear is a Lakota caught between cultures. She wants to raise her son Harold to revere his Lakota heritage, but she knows he will need to become as a white man to succeed. After his father's killed in a barroom brawl, Harold and Frankie move to Arizona, where she begins a Lakota Star pattern quilt for Harold with tribal wisdom sung, sewn and prayed into it.

She distrusts Christians, as her own parents were forced to convert at an Indian School, until she meets BIA agent Nick Vandergriff, a half-Lakota who's also caught between cultures. Nick must convince Frankie that white men and Christians aren't all bad as he tries to win her heart in order to put the stars back into her sky.

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Review 1 for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sewn with thread but made with love

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Sew love into every stitch and remember: a bed without a quilt is like a sky without stars."
Frankie Chasing Bear is Lakota and raising her son, Harold, alone. Frankie lived with drunken men her entire life, her father and then her husband Hank, so she was very leery of men in general. She had a determination rarely seen. She wanted her son and herself to get an education and would do whatever it took to make it happen. She was a proud woman that embraced her heritage and wanted her son to embrace their heritage just as much. She wanted to do things on her own without help and she was very brave. She listened for her grandmother's wisdom in every situation and she had a habit of covering her mouth when she laughed or smiled because the Lakota women were taught that from early on. I admired Frankie. She was determined to finish the Lakota star quilt for her son because she knew in her heart it was an important aspect in her son's future. I loved Frankie's character and I would love to meet the real Frankie Chasing Bear.
Nick Parker is part Lakota and part white. In both worlds he is referred to as a "half breed". He works for the Bureau of Indian Affairs trying to convince the Navajo to become farmers and give up their sheep herds. Nick has ten years of sobriety but the urge to drink continues to hit him hard when tensions run high and he's frustrated over the beautiful Frankie Chasing Bear. I could feel Nick's battle raging inside of him when the urge to drink came and I smiled each time he won the battle. I loved Nick and the way he wanted to take care of Frankie and Harold. He had a protective nature and a great love of God where Frankie had a very hard time believing in the white man's God.
There were several aspects of this story I loved. First, God and Christianity were woven throughout the story in such a way as to get you thinking but it doesn't overtake the story. Second, the characters. Frankie and her son Harold, Nick and his friends, Monny and Reverend Honest Abe, Netty and Lucie. Third, I loved the storyline. The entire story was intriguing and engaging and I couldn't stop reading until I found out what would happen with Frankie, Harold and Nick. Finally, I loved the way quilting was such a big part of the story. For centuries quilting has been a huge part of some families and cultures. Quilting represents traditions, family and love and I think all three are very important. Frankie really struggled with trusting men because of her past but she struggled with trusting God even more. It was so great when she finally realized she needed to trust God for her son to come home safely but she also had to accept the fact that she needed help. Help from others because she couldn't do everything on her own. He character really blossomed by the end of the book. I really enjoyed this book. I have read a few other books in the Quilts of Love series and I enjoyed each of them immensely. If you love stories of faith and love, you'll love A Sky Without Stars. If you love quilting, you'll love this book. If you just love an entertaining story that keeps you turning the page, you'll love it also. I highly recommend this book!
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions expressed are mine alone. I received no monetary compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lakota Star Quilt

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 1951, Frankie Chasing Bear is determined to give her son Harold a better chance at life. Frankie convinces the Navajo School Board to allow her to earn her school diploma. Her son is also enrolled in the same school to continue his education. She becomes aware of prejudice against the Indians especially from Mrs.Green. Then school is robbed and Frankie is not comfortable at all the finger pointing.
Harold at age ten becomes restless about their move and is anxious about his Lakota heritage needing to be near his deceased father and wanting to seek his rights to manhood. Frankie is very aware of her son's desire to go back to his Lakota home.
On several occasions when she was having problems with her son a Federal Agent Nick Parker for the reservation comes to their rescue. His shadowing her is appreciated but she will never trust another man especial not one that is only part Lakota and a Christian.
Frankie even refuses to trust the God her grandmother so wanted Frankie to know was her only hope.
Frankie had promised her grandmother she would make her son a Lakota Star pattern quilt which would reveal a great secret for life. As she worked on the quilt she could feel the wisdom of her Grandmother coming through to her.
I read this book in one. I did not want to put it down. This was a new look into the lives of American Indians in the nineteen-fifties. I was very aware of my anger at the prejudice they were faced with in the guise of their best interest.
Then there was the misplaced and misunderstood person that was not full blood Indian. They were often looked down upon causing them not to know which world they belonged.
The author created some unforgettable characters which I would love to revisit their lives.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Publicity Group/Abingdon Press for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Race Discrimination and Romance

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linda S. Clare in her new book, “A Sky Without Stars” Book Fifteen in the Quilts of Love Series published by Abingdon Press brings us into the life of Frankie Chasing Bear.
From the back cover: Can a quilt bridge the gap between the two cultures?
After her husband is killed on the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota, Frankie Chasing Bear wants a fresh start. But in 1951, relocating through the US government’s Relocation Program didn’t just mean a new town; it meant a new way of life. Frankie quickly learns that raising her son, Harold, to revere his Lakota heritage will be a challenge in the white man’s world.
Searching for a way for her son to respect his ancestors but also embrace a future of opportunity, she begins a Lakota Star-pattern quilt with tribal wisdom sung, sewn, and prayed into it—something that will not let him forget where he came from. A bed without a quilt is like a sky without stars, but neither the quilt nor her new life come easily to Frankie.
Federal Agent Nick Parker, for instance, is the last man Frankie wants to trust. She’s already struggling to understand Nick’s culture, how can she embrace his Christian faith? Will Frankie learn that love is the most important ingredient for her son’s quilt—and life itself?
This is a story about race: The Lakota Indian, The Whites, Bi-Racial and all the wonder and value there is in them. It is also a story about racial prejudice. Harold has his problems at school, Nick seemingly gets away with it because he is a Federal Agent but does he? There is so much to embrace, all the rich heritage that is brought to the table and the poison that is discrimination. Ms. Clare has done an outstanding job of bringing history to the table, the time is 1951. She very deftly handles all the cultures and their values. And at no time does she ever drag the story down to either heavy or soapy. On top of everything Ms. Clare even packed in a romance. There is a lot in this book, much to think about and it just interesting and exciting as well.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An intriguing story about straddling two cultures.

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think I should have read the synopsis a bit better before I started reading this book. LOL!
It took me about three chapters to really get into it but confusion was a big part of that. I will tell you I was intrigued by the time I read through the second paragraph.
Not having been alive during that time myself, I can’t say with absolute certainty that the writing is accurate but it certainly rings true.
It was a bit of a difficult read for me actually – I am part Cherokee but that was never a problem for me. My problem was being poor.
My mother was determined to live in the best part of town that we could possibly afford and so we went to school with children who were firmly seated in upper middle class or lower upper class at the very most. And you can guess there were plenty of young girls who were happy to torment a big-boned girl who cared nothing for makeup or fashion and would rather bury her nose in a book while sitting high in a tree – than just about anything else.
And that is why I can say that the parts of this book that talk about bullying are very true to life. I sincerely hope that Linda S. Clare does not write from experience but you wouldn’t be able to tell if she didn’t. It’s very realistic.
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Living in two cultures

Date:March 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The year is 1951. Frankie Chasing Bear and her son, Harold, left the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota following the death of her husband. Her luck doesn’t get any better when they find themselves stranded in Phoenix after their rattletrap pickup breaks down. Her plan was to go to Los Angeles as part of an Indian relocation program. Instead, she battles heat, poverty, and prejudice in a town that has little sympathy for Indians.
She’s determined to help her son survive the bullying he receives by sewing a Lakota Star pattern quilt to remind him to be proud of his heritage. But Harold is having none of it. He decides he wants to return to Pine Ridge, where at least he had friends.
Nick Parker is a federal agent assigned to the Bureau of Indian Affairs. He’s attracted to Frankie’s determination to survive in her hostile environment. For her part, Frankie believes Nick already has two strikes against him—by her definition he’s a half-breed (part Lakota, part white) and he works for a Bureau that has never had the Indians’ best interests at heart. She wants to trust Nick, but can she?
Sky Without Stars really grabbed my attention. Linda Clare has done a wonderful job of reminding us how poorly Indians have been treated, while at the same time she’s crafted a suspenseful story of a mother’s love for her son.
Readers will feel the heat, dust, and fear that Frankie experiences as she tries to make a life for herself and Harold. Her determination had me cheering her on as I read.
I recommend Sky Without Stars highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great story in the series

Date:March 11, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I've said about every book in this series, I really like the Quilts of Love series. I have quite a fondness for quilts and really enjoy making them so I like to know the stories behind them. I can't help but think of some of these stories when I look at my own quilts and then I like to remember my story while I was making that quilt.
I like how there is a broad range of people that have been in this series and who have all shared one passion....quilts. The commonality of quilts has now bridged over to the Native Americans in this book. It was fun to think of them having these beautiful quilts, because I honestly think of the Amish and quilts! I liked this new story of how this one woman preserved her heritage with a quilt and a star.
The story of finding the balance between living as a Lakota and a Christian is fascinating. For Frankie Chasing Bear, who has a jaded view of Christianity some because of how her parents were treated and made to convert, I get the feeling she truly does want to believe. However, due to the horrible things that she's seen and heard, she sees how the Christians contradicted their faith.
I liked Nick and could understand Lakota's suspicion and wariness with him. I could also understand why she wanted to preserve the Lakota star for her son and the importance of the quilt. I liked imagining him telling his children the story behind this quilt. It would no doubt be filled with stories of how his mother learned how to live in 2 cultures and bridged the gap between both.
Once again, another great book in this series. Can't wait to see what comes out next and what type of character fills the pages in it!
Read more reviews on this book by going to http://litfusegroup.com/campaigns/a-sky-without-stars-linda-clare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lakota Star

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A young Lakota Indian woman and her 10-year-old son moved from a painful past in Pine Ridge, South Dakota to a different type of volatile situation just outside Phoenix, Arizona. Frankie had dreams that she and her son could receive an education and a chance to better themselves. The Indians living in the "white" world were scorned and looked down upon, oftentimes with a despairing outcome. Having no family or friends, and being bullied by the community, they were suspicious of anyone and everyone. Taught to quilt by her grandmother, Frankie spent her free time constructing a Lakota Star quilt for her son, a tradition in the Lakota community for a boy's coming of age. As she quilted she spoke to her grandmother, her spiritual connection. Although her grandmother was Lakota, she also believed in God which Frankie found impossible to understand. She saw no need for God in her life.
Nick Parker from the Bureau of Land Management was light-skinned with dark hair, wearing a belt buckle with an agate, representing Lakota heritage. He offered help to Frankie and her son, although Frankie wouldn't trust a halfbreed who also happened to be a Christian. She kept up barriers to any type of relationship with the man, having no trust for men due to her past experiences.
Detailed and authentic, this is an accurate accounting of the Indian community versus the white community, and the misconceptions that each presumed about the other. The story of the Lakota Star quilt, otherwise known as the Bethlehem Star in the Christian context, is pivotal in this representation of the differences and adversities between the Indian and the Christian community. Pictorial and well documented, I found this to be an interesting story in the Quilts of Love series. Linda Clare has done her research and presented a detailed and personal account of two separate worlds attempting to coexist. Learning to forgive and rely on others is a valuable lesson to be learned in this story of suspicion, apprehension and mistrust.
Disclaimer: I received copies of this book from LitFuse Publicity and Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sky Without Stars Review

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
About the Book:
Frankie Chasing Bear is caught between cultures. She wants to raise her son Harold to revere his Lakota heritage, but she also thinks he will need to learn the white man’s ways to succeed. After the untimely death of her husband, Frankie joins the U.S. Government’s Relocation Program and moves to Arizona. There she begins sewing a Lakota Star pattern quilt for Harold with tribal wisdom sung, sewn, and prayed into it. A bed without a quilt is like a sky without stars, but neither the quilt—nor her new life—comes easily to Frankie.
Nick Vandergriff, for instance, is the last man Frankie wants to trust. He’s half-Lakota but Christian, and Frankie can see no good coming from that faith after her own parents were forced to convert at an Indian school. Can Nick convince Frankie that white men and Christians aren’t all bad? And will Frankie learn that love is the most important ingredient—for her son’s quilt and life itself?
About the Author:
Linda S. Clare is an award-winning author and coauthor of several books and has also published many essays, stories, and poems in publications, including The Christian Reader, The Denver Post, and The Philadelphia Inquirer. Her most recent book is A Sky without Stars, the newest release in Abingdon’s Quilts of Love line. Born in Arizona, Linda and her husband now make their home in Eugene, Oregon, where Linda has taught college-level creative writing classes, and writes, edits, and mentors other writers. She also is a frequent writing conference presenter, a church retreat leader, and mom to four grown children and five wayward cats.
My Review:
A book based on family but also based on hate. The characters in the book find themselves stuck between two worlds. Two worlds; one being the white mans world and the other being the world of the Lakota Indian tribe. Frankie's grandmother passed on the art and family tradition of quilting and made her promise should would carry it on and pass it down to the next generation. Frankie meant well when she agreed to the promise but her son is not really all that interested in quilt making and frankly, he doesn't understand why you would need a quilt when they live in Arizona.
Frankie and Harold are trying to rebuild their lives in an alternate location when she starts quilting to make her feel better. Life in the 1950's shouldn't be this hard for Native Americans, should it? But it is a hard life, they are definitely racial intentions and slurs directed their way but with God's help, they plan to succeed.
**Disclosure** This book was sent to me free of charge for my honest review from Litfuse Publicity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Sky Without Stars: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Native American Twist to the Series!

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pine Ridge, South Dakota
Frankie Chasing Bear
I did not come to quilt-making easily. The urge to piece together shapes and colors wasn't my gift.
But when I was twelve, Grandmother said soon the quilt might be all that was left of what we once were. By the time your children wrap quilts around themselves, she told me, the star and all it stands for may be a dim memory, lit only by the fire of ancestors, clouded by ruddy smoke hanging in the sky.
Just before she died, Grandmother and I sat together one last time. She stopped to smooth a small wrinkle in the quilt top. "Lakota were favored among tribes," she said. "Our people stood at the top of the hills. The buffalo and the deer bowed to our warriors, and we lived together in peace. The peace pipe showed us how to live, and the stars helped us find good hunting grounds. One day, the sun rose on white men. They brought their religion, but they often did not listen to their God's teachings. We were brought low and herded like animals. They had no explanation, except to point to their Book. We were to love their God and love each other."
Grandmother laughed. "Lakota need no instruction on love." Tears glistened in her tired black eyes. She'd seen something terrible in the smoke, she said for the hundredth time. A red rose, unopened. Blood, a river of blood. Another day was coming, she said, when words from the Book would take place: We were considered as sheep to be slaughtered.
I dared not remind her she prayed to the God of the Bible. That she stood in two worlds, fully Lakota, fully Christian. I worry it's not possible for me. Indians who go to the church are shunned by their kin and by the whites. Outcasts, their feet in no world at all.
Before we traveled to Arizona, Grandmother made me promise to make this Lakota Star for my son. Sew love into every stitch and remember: a bed without a quilt is like a sky without stars. The quilt will help this child remember who he is, she said. The star will tell him how much he is loved and the light will save him at the last day." (excerpt Prologue).
A Sky Without Stars is the latest novel in the Quilts of Love Series by Linda S. Clare as she takes a Native American turn at storytelling. We meet Frankie Chasing Bear who has begun the task of trying to make it on her own as a single mother leaving her to care for her son, ten-year-old Harold. After growing up among men who drink, first her father and then her husband, Frankie knows that she must do all she can to make sure her son does not follow in his families footsteps. But Harold is facing his own challenges being bullied by a white boy named Orval who finds picking on the Indian child to be his lot in life. No matter how much Frankie tries to help, somethings can only be learned by going through life and enduring the tough trials. Soon Frankie and Harold find an ally in Nick Parker, a Federal Agent who is half Lakota as well and both will find that learning to embrace new challenges and giving up some of the past prejudices are just what is needed for them both to move forward to a new life.
I received A Sky Without Stars by Linda S. Clare compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Abingdon Press for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation and the opinions expressed are strictly my own unless otherwise noted. I love this take on the Quilts of Love series with the Native American twist for the 15th book in the series. I love how they embrace their heritage and the ways that have been passed down from generation to generation much like the quilt that Frankie is creating for her son, Harold. Quilts are like that in that they generally tell a bit about the person who handcrafted it with love and blessings as pieces are stitched together creating a beautiful work of art, much like how God uses our circumstances to create the person He has in mind as we grow and mature. I give this novel a 4 out of 5 stars and it even includes a reader discussion guide at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.