Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional

B&H Books Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional

Grow closer to God all year long! Building on the concepts in Henry Blackaby's bestseller and companion workbook, this devotional features a daily Bible verse and insightful meditation to reveal God's purposes and ways. Seize the opportunity---discern where God is working in your community and become part of his mission to a broken world! 392 pages, padded hardcover from B&H.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Review 1 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking, challenging, clear, biblical

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DaBigHorse
Location:South Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased many (50+) of these devotionals and given them away through the years. I went through the Experiencing God workbook right after it came out and it was the single most helpful study I have ever done. This devotional book is a great extension of the work that began many years ago. I continually find new insights and am reminded of old truths because of Henry's wisdom. My wife and I are going through it together this time. The principles are valid and relevant for both genders. My wife is also using it in her discipleship of a few teen girls, and I am using it with a group of men I am discipling.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Found this book helpful until...

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
ndp2012
I have been using this book daily. I love the instructions for daily living as well as encouragement and use of bible verses to meditate on. I've always found it to be one of the best out there. But today, October 8th I read a devotional that really saddened me. It claims that Hezekiah was in disobedience to Gods will by asking God to heal him and spare his life. The author claims that we should accept Gods will for our lives because God knows best and as a result of God healing Hezekiah and adding another 15 years to his life that Manasseh was born as well as the defeat of Judah under Hezekiahs rule. The author blames these things on the fact that Hezekiah was alive and should have been deal had the Lord not answered his prayer. As I write this I have been struggling with illness for almost a year and I take such comfort in the way the way God heard and answered Hezekiahs prayer. I'm sad to see the author put such a negative spin on this story of Gods goodness, mercy, and his ability to answer prayer to those suffering.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the print to be a little small for me. It is a great devotional to jump start your day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Day by Day Devotional

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Scott Snyder
Location:Va
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Great content but the print is very small on this one, maybe 7 - 8 point type. Also the paper is thicker than I would have expected for a devotional. I would like to see it using a higher quality paper and larger typeface.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annette Acre
Location:Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The daily devotions are short but powerful. I'm continually challenged and convicted to do things God's way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best ever

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Location:Xenia OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a copy of this devotional for a couple of years and love it. I try to purchase one every time I plan to give a devotional as a gift. It is by far the best devotional I've ever used. This is great for men or women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Line For daily living

Date:October 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
michelle
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On March 28,2010 @ 4:15 p.m. our familys life was changed forever, My Husband at the age of 44 with no warning signs suffered a Aortic disection that went all the way thus due to the extensive disection he lost his right leg all the way to his pelvis and almost lost the right leg to . Well he was in the ICU 2 1/2 months and they did not know if he would live or not they gave us 2% chance that he would not make it when they took him in for surgery. Well Bottom line this book was with me the whole time in the hospital and still is with me ,it has hit the mark every day for the challanges we have faced ! I am so greatful for the words in this book you have know idea, it has been a life line to God and my soul to deal with the challanges of almost lll
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Herbkersman
Henry Blackaby's down-to-earth, practical thoughts are a boon to teh Christian faith. He gives so many examples of true faith, by a man who has lived it, taught it and multiplied it in others. This devotional cannot helped but continue his legacy as a true servant of Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Glenn Porter
Great devotional! It is very easy to understand and gives great insight to the Word of God. We are now reading it as a family every night after dinner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
J. Andray Hubble
I read this daily devotional most mornings or at least catch up. It is the bes devotional I have seen. A verse is given, and a summary of that verse for a couple of paragraphs, then a question or thought on how you can/should use it in you life today. Very thought provoking. I have given several to prisoners in our jail ministry. They love it! And share it! I have been blessed by using this devotional. May you be blessed also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynne Laframboise
My goodness, how many times can one person hear the same thing? Very repetitive for those of us who can't get it the first time, and first thing in the morning, just what one needs to start the day with the right priorities...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Audrey Boyd
I was very pleased with the service of Christianbook.com, and I really like this little devotional.. I like the way Blackabee presents God's word
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim Shaw
I have used the Experiencing God Day By Day Devotional with small groups of men in my church for several years. I purchased three more to share with men that are new Christians who are wanting a closer walk with Christ. The daily readings along with Bible study helps in our discussions and journey as we see how God is at work around us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teresa Jackson
This devotional is small and yet is pack with substance. It is great for those moments when you need to connect to God again during the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Allen
Loved it so much I bought one for a friend. I would recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Perle Rosema
The content of this devotional is outstanding. However, I find that the print of this particular copy extremely small and wish that I had ordered copies with larger print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeannette Harmon
I am thoroughly enjoying this daily devotional. An activity that I look forward to every day, and the book is nicely organized with some excellent biblical inspirations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Greg Wolford
My daughter got me this for Father's Day '07. I truly enjoy reading it daily. I generally save it for my bedtime devotional and find it often lends to my prayer for the evening and good topics to meditate on as I close out my day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marianne Sicilia
This is an excellent resource, especially for those who are busy, or who think doing a devotional is too much work. We gave these books to the youth group because it takes only a minute to read, daily, but, the depth can get you thinking and thinking introspectively for some time during the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Experiencing God Day by Day--Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
I have been a Christian for many years but have found this devotional to be refreshing, yet convicting, doctrinally sound yet simple enough for a brand new believer. I love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>