Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wisenquest Angel in the Family, DVD

Wisenquest Angel in the Family, DVD

Sarah Bishop (Tracey Needham, TV's Jag) and her estranged sister Beth (Natasha Gregson Wagner, High Fidelity) are reunited after their father Buddy (Ronny Cox, Total Recall) suffers a mild stroke. Buddy, who's never accepted the loss of his wife Lorraine (Meredith Baxter, TV's Family Ties), wants only one thing-to return home for Christmas. With sweet memories of a life gone by, Sarah makes an impossible wish that her mother could be there, too. By morning, it is as if a winter prayer has been answered. Bearing a message of hope, healing, and everlasting love, a miracle has arrived. Not rated. Closed captioned. Approx. 88 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.793 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
1 out of 333%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angel in the Family, DVD
Review 1 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Full of the spiritual but none of Christ

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarK
Location:BC, Canada
Gender:female
We bought this to enjoy over the holidays, but we could barely watch it to the end. What in this movie even remotely alludes to Christian values? A family loses their mother, falls apart until the she re-appears and for what? The mother doesn’t lead them to the Lord - she leads them to themselves. There is no mention of seeking God, the bible, or a church community. At the end, they ceremoniously walk to the entrance of a church for Christmas eve. Spare you money – there are other movies to bless your heart and encourage you in the faith
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

awful movie for a christian site

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
awayne
Location:S.C.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is nothing Christian about this film. Where is Jesus? What is Christmas without Christ? I think this movie may be the epitome of New Age deceit. It is being sold as a "family" movie, but it may actually harm impressionable children because it gives non-Biblical conceptions about heaven and the afterlife. The cost in dollars to buy this movie is cheap, but the spiritual cost of watching it is steep.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome movie

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Meanjean
Location:Elyria , Oh
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very heart warming movie. a must see movie . second chances do come true
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brigitte
While this movie does seem to bring comfort to grieving people, seems to be sweet and there is no swearing, it is not scriptural at all! It loses points for many things. I found the immodest necklines offensive, as well as that the fact that Sarah lived with a man for years and breaks up with him because the relationship is "not right for them and it's time to move on" seems to be quite okay. While her dad wishes they'd get married, it is not called sinful or outside of God' plan. Sarah doesn't repent for this. She just moves on. ...Do dead people really have the capability to keep tabs on what living people are doing and what is going on in their lives? Once dead, we don't have a second chance to come back to life to fix things we didn't do right the first time around in the way this film depicts. - And no one in this story had a personal relationship with Christ. No one relied on Him for help in difficulties, nor did the mother, returned from the dead, point her children to Him when she came back to fix things she'd messed up in life. Considering she returned from the realm of the dead that would have been the most important thing to her! This movie was very disappointing.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maria Munoz
megusto mucho pero me gustaria tenerla con titulos en espanol para mi familia de mexico bendiciones
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ellen
Many films through the decades have appeared offering hope from beyond. Angel in the Family is one such film. However, this is NOT a Christian movie and thematically holds no Biblical Truth; by contrast, it offers myth believed by many as truth and, thus, creates confusion. The Bible tells us that angels were created by God; humans don't die and come back as angels. Jesus Christ and faith in Him offers us our only hope for tomorrow. We should look to loved ones who have died for resolution of our problems. Only through Jesus Christ can a believer cope with tragedy. Only through Him and His divine nature can we heal and find everlasting love.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eileen
This movie is a enspiring movie. I would recommend it to the entire family. When the Angel appears, it's so impressive in so many different ways. We all need a Angel @ our side no matter what is going on in our lives. This movie shows that in so many ways. Even no matter what the situation is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Archer
I enjoyed the movie very much. The story was heart warming, and to life,this is the the stories I enjoy watching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Norah
What a beautiful movie, I cried and laughed, my husband and father also enjoyed this film.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Brooks
I love this movie. Warning - have the tissues close by, especially if you have lost a loved one recently. This movie has the approval of my 12 and 13 year old grandchildren. Good movie for all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
marcella Ballenger
Movie is a good clean bitter-sweet Christmas story-one I have enjoyed watching over and over again-even though we know it is impossible for someone who has died to return and spend Christmas with us, it really shows the need for us all to live life to the fullest-and to enjoy our families and not be bickering with each other. It in some respect shows life realities such as usually it is one child who takes on the most responsiblity for the aging or sick parent-and no matter how many children in a family, ther is always some sibling rivility-perhaps some of it imgained.I whole-heartly recommend the movie,maybe because I love Christmas shows with a good ending-
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Cadwell
I bough this as a gift but I think I will keep it to watch and to have on hand to lend to people who need this Christmas message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon P Alsop
A family member reappearing after death and tying up loose ends in the family - would be nice, but no basis in scripture. It's this kind of stuff that confuse non-believers and belivers alike. Those beings who are angels were originally created by God as such and humans don't "evolve" into angels or reappear to do good deeds. This DVD presented a lot of wishful thinking that is not true to the Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Feinberg
This was a wonderful movie for teens and adults alike. Really touched my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Huffman
This was sad, happy, inspiring, full of hope, everlasting love. It was an answer to a prayer that the miracle happened. Wonderful movie!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Twyla Collins
This was very good. It has become (as of now) a favorite for anytime of the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
LYDIA
This is a warm and touching family movie. One that you can watch over and over again. As christians we do know that once we die we are dead to the flesh and live eternaly in the spirit wether we make heaven our home or horribly miss it and suffer in hell. We don't become angels that return to make things right. So we know that this movie is not realistic. It is a clean enjoyable movie that can cause afew tears. Now I do believe having said this that their are afew whom God in his all wisdom and power allows to pass on and return. I have meet in person one who God allowed to pass into eternity experiance hell and heaven not saved and return. His name is Paul (Crewsan) He was invited to our churh that did missions and he gave his testimony of all that happened prior to and after his return to Earth. He was from Romania and He had death signed papers to show that he did die. it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Sorensen
I can't recommend this movie at all. We only watched 1/2 the movie. The mother appears to actually come back to life from the dead for only the Christmas holidays (this is the 'angel' in the family). This does not present a correct biblical view of life, death and/or angels at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deb Clews
Not totally sure about the "ghost" coming back to earth for unfinished business. My grandchildren 7 and 9 liked the movie. I had to explain that once with God, we don't come back to earth for any reason. Other than that it was a nice wholesome movie that we could watch as a family without worry of violence or swearing, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Angel in the Family, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Huffman
Very touching story. It was like a dream that we have when we lose a loved one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>