Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Certain Jeopardy

B&H Books Certain Jeopardy

Six American men live behind a protective facade, their real work hidden from neighbors and friends. Different in countless ways, they are intimately the same in one: at any moment their lives can be altered with a phone call, and their actions may change the world.They are Special Ops. And one team's mission is about to hit certain jeopardy status when the discovery of an Al Qaeda base in Venezuela becomes secondary to thwarting the transport of a nuclear weapons expert from that training camp to Iran.

Informed by the true combat experience of Captain Jeff Struecker and finessed by award-winning novelist Alton Gansky, Certain Jeopardy is an immersing and pulsating fictional account of what really happens at every level of a stealth engagement: the physical enemy encounter, the spiritual war fought within a soldier, and the emotional battles in families back at home.

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Certain Jeopardy
Review 1 for Certain Jeopardy
This review is fromCertain Jeopardy - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
zebrapmb
Location:Calgary, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good read, lots of action without the usual gratuitous violence one finds in a book of this nature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Certain Jeopardy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
In Certain Jeopardy we meet a Spec Ops team of six men. Although I had some trouble getting to know the names and nicknames of the men and to whom they were in a relationship--I really think it was a great read!
When I had the relationships all figured out, I enjoyed to have a look in the family lifes of special ops.
The book is believably written. It's always great to read a book by an author who knows where he's talking about. Jeff Strueker has been there and done that.
I highly recommend this book for fans of military fiction.
I'm looking forward to reading the other books Al and Jeff have written together!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Certain Jeopardy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brian M
Location:Mount Joy, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jeff Struecker and Alton Gansky have penned a Special Ops story like no other. In the other military/special ops stories that I have read, the authors spend little time on the family lives of the characters. Struecker and Gansky have done a great job showing that these people really do have to live two separate lives. The story is fast-paced and action packed. There are times when the authors would repeat a portion of the story or use similar sentences back to back making the story difficult to read at times. However, they do not occur often and do not take away from the story as a whole.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Certain Jeopardy
This review is fromCertain Jeopardy - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna Rodgers
Location:Fredericksburg, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only problem was I wanted it for my kindle... not formatted for the kindle... able to read it on the computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Certain Jeopardy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra
Ladies this may not be a romance novel, but it has real emotion for each pulse pounding decision. You are running with them through every twist and every turn from home to the heat of battle. It goes straight to your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Certain Jeopardy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Being a 'non-military' person, I found some of the book really nerve-wracking! Don't know if I have the kind of faith that kept those men sane. One reviewer said a next book is in the making? Great! I, too, hope for it to arrive soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Certain Jeopardy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Mabry
Captain Jeff Struecker, a decorated former US Ranger, and Alton Gansky, award-winning author, have teamed up to produce a novel that is filled with action and populated with unforgettable characters. While a clandestine operation is taking place in Venezuela, drama continues on the home front as families battle with the problems created by the absence of their loved ones.Despite its setting, the novel deals with emotions and decisions with which the reader can identify. There's tension on every page, and I found myself coming back to this book in every spare moment, anxious to see how the story would unfold. There were mixed emotions when I turned the last page--satisfaction at a story well-told and sadness that there was no more to read. But I hear there's a sequel in the works, and I look forward to reading it. Soon, I hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Certain Jeopardy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Toni Mcmurtrey
Loved this book! It is one of those books that you have to read in one or two sittings because you can't stand not knowing what happens. I'm very impressed with this new author and can't wait for more. I loved how he developed the main characters so you felt as though you knew them and were living their lives along side of them. Action packed, great story. Makes you SO proud of those who serve in the military who risk their lives each day to protect us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Certain Jeopardy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jules
The team of Captain Jeff Struecker and Alton Gansky should be congratulated for writing such a spell-binding Christian novel! The book revolves around an Army Ranger Team and the "Certain Jeopardy" they find themselves in. This book is riveting from page one until the very end. I certainly hope this writing team is working on a sequel! A Five-Star Read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Certain Jeopardy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Boyce
From the very beginning to the last page, this book was riveting. It seemed very authentic, not just in the military realm, but also in the daily lives of the men from the Ranger unit. In fact, that was one of the things I appreciated the most-the glimpses into the personal lives of the men. So often, authors write about a units forays into dangerous situations but neglect to mention that they have problems with wives and kids just like civilians have. I've read a lot of Tom Clancy novels, and Certain Jeopardy ranks right up there as far as the military terms and situations are concerned. I finished the book in 1-1/2 days and already want to read what happens next! I hope the publisher has a sequel planned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Certain Jeopardy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Certain Jeopardy by Jeff Struecker and Alton Gansky is like the TV show The Unit on steroids! A group of six men appear to live normal American lives, but at any time they can be called to report to a Special Operations group performing actions for the safety of their country at the risk of their lives. The men are called to Venezuela to investigate rumors of a Al-Qaeda training camp. Instead they stumble into the kidnapping of a nuclear scientist who can empower Iran to create their own nuclear weapons. To rescue him and his family that is being held hostage for his cooperation will force them to use every skill they know and may cost them their lives. I'm not usually a fan of military thrillers, but this book grabbed me on page one and didn't let go until I finally remembered to breathe again at the end. Struecker has served several tours of duty himself, so the writing gives an inside look at secret military operations and the incredible amount of skill and fortitude needed by its members. The action is written so that every scene is almost cinematic; I could see it play out in my head. Interspersed are scenes of the families at home coping with never knowing where their loved ones are or if they will come home. Together they create a powerful look at Army life. I hope that the authors will revisit this team, because I would love to read more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.