Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Blaze of Glory

B&H Books Blaze of Glory

United States Sgt. Major Eric Moyer and his Special Operations unit have been called in to track down a wealthy Egyptian terrorist who is believed to have sordid ties to a sudden increase in female suicide bombers. Chasing El-Sayyed through Italy, they soon gain interconnected details about a Mexican drug lord who is plotting to kill the U.S. and Mexican presidents. Now Moyer and his team must stop not one, but two madmen on separate continents. And with a new member of the unit hiding his struggle with post-traumatic stress disorder, a third problem begins to boil.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blaze of Glory
Review 1 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hzwarrior
I really enjoy reading his books. They are excellent. They keep you wanting more. Can't wait for him to write more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jules
Wow was all I could say after reading "Blaze of Glory"! The writing team of Jeff Struecker and Alton Gansky is an outstanding one. I certainly hope they continue writing more books about Sgt. Major Eric Moyer and his Special Operations Team. "Blaze of Glory" and book one in the series, "Certain Jeopardy", are definitely both Five Star Reads!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Raymond Parker
Loved this book! It was certainly filled with excitement and action! I'm recommending it to all my friends as a must read. I'm also ordering the first book wtitten by this team, looking forward to more experiences with this set of characters!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leslie Julian
I have read this author before and have always found him to be hard to put down but this time I could Not put the book down until I found out the end. The storyline was very plausible and the way Chritianity was dealt with was very realistic. Thank you for another good suspense novel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Sergeant Major Eric Boss Moyer is the leader of six men in Special Operations that were deployed to Italy to intercept a wealthy Egyptian terrorist, El-Sayyed, who is allegedly behind a rash of female suicide bombers. Working with the Italian military and leaders, they are trying to annihilate any suicide missions ready to blow up the hotel where the Mexican and United States presidents and eighteen other world leaders were having a summit meeting. These suicide bomber attempts were also related to drug lords in Mexico.The missions are treacherous in themselves, but even more so because one of the six men is suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), making the leader and his subordinate leader wonder if they can rely on him in the heat of the battles.As a woman, I wondered how I thought this book would be a good read. Well, I had to strap myself down for the ride of my life!The reconnaissance and covert actions taken by these six men, along with Italians, were action-packed and heart-poundingly real. The intricate and precise military planning was intriguing and engaging. Once you think you have all the characters and plots identified, the author brings in another group that is intertwined in the actionagain and again, merging the story line into one complete work. It kept my interest throughout the whole book.All the characters were detailed very personably, letting you get to know them intimately, including the soldier with PTSD and his flashbacks. One of the six men on this mission was a Christian who lived out his faith without being preachy to the others. The men knew it and respected him, even calling on him when in need.This book was provided by Jonathon at B & H Fiction of BHPublishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Anderson
A string of female suicide bombers sends Sergeant Eric Moyer and his Special Operations team overseas to stop the bombings and to thwart a possible attempt to assassinate several heads-of-state. Thus begins the non-stop action in BLAZE OF GLORY by Major Jeff Struecker and Alton Gansky. In Strueckers and Ganskys sophomore effort together, they succeed in penning a book even better than their first (CERTAIN JEOPARDY). Not only does the reader experience continuous action, but the authors flesh out their characters more in this second book. With Strueckers experience as an Army Ranger, the reader knows the storyline is believable. The emotional tension is as intense as the firefights. Youve got one soldier who proposed right before they get the call, and another soldier whose battle with post-traumatic stress disorder is more terrorizing to him than a gun fight. His uncontrolled flashbacks may jeopardize the safety of the entire unit. This is more than page-turning adventure. You really care about the people involved. If youre looking for a great story, one thats set apart from the majority of books on the Christian bookshelves, then pick up Blaze of Glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Bushell
Wow!!! I bought this book to read on a long ferry ride...which is still over a week away. I couldn't put it down. I have read books by Alton Gansky before, which is why I knew this would be great! The pace NEVER slows down and I didn't realize how it would end until the last chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Prepare to hang on for an exciting ride if you pick up Blaze of Glory by Jeff Struecker. This author is a man who writes from a wealth of experience, and it shows in his newest book. Although Im not usually a huge fan of the war/military genre, this book piqued my interest because its about female suicide bombers. This story is so relevant it couldve been taken directly from the headline news. Blaze of Glory is the follow up book to Certain Jeopardy. Struecker is also the author of best seller Black Hawk Down which was made into a motion picture. A fantastic read for those who enjoy suspense, excitement and action. I appreciate the authors dedication and commitment to keeping faith in Christ as the center of his stories. Kudos to Jeff Struecker who proves that edgy, relevant fiction can be written without compromising your beliefs or integrity. http://redlilycafe.blogspot.com/2010/06/blaze-of-glory-by-jeff-struecker.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Dowling
This is the first book I have read by Jeff Struecker and will not be the last. This is a fast-paced, highly entertaining story. It gave me a whole new understanding of the work of Special Operations forces; what they do and how they do it and, often, the consequences to them and their families. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in what is going on in the world today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Toni Mcmurtrey
I LOVED this book. Have been waiting anxiously for the second to come in this series. It is well written, bringing the reader fully into the action packed missions of the special ops team. Relationships with the characters are easily developed and a better understanding of military life is understood. I can't wait for more from this author and want to express a huge respect for all who choose to defend our country.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Wow! Done it again! If this is more true to life than fiction I can't imagine a human being taking that kind of punishment to his body. I read this in one go. I just had to know the outcome and sneaking to the end of the book just would not do. Getting rid of the bad guys was some do. Other than some minor language confusion that the editors should have caught I enjoyed the race through this book. In case of reprint, Nairobi and Landstuhl are on the map and really ought to have been spelled rightly.I hope Capt. Struecker has some more stories, real or imagined, in his head and will pen another book - soon; alone or with A. Gansky again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blaze of Glory
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Indysmith
Great Read! Moves well without bogging down in too much detail. Hope there is more to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.